Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Pitchfork Media

Pitchfork Media reviews

Is this your business?
46 reviews
60647
Tel: +1-916-445-1254
dev@pitchfork.com

46 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

ethano8
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/14/19

After reading through a number of their album reviews, I can tell Pitchfork is as snobby and elitist as a music reviewer can be. They almost seem to be personally offended by some albums, as if the review is more of an attack on the artists due to some personal, unrelated vendetta rather than the actual music.

They fave Camp by childish gambino a 1.6, and sigh no more by mumford and sons a 2.1..... come on guys.

Forget Pitchfork exists and just enjoy whatever music makes you happy, they're a cancer on the industry.

andrewl287
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
11/14/18

I like pitchfork because I can get a lot of music related news on their website but also they do a bunch of other neat stuff on their youtube channel like interviews and interesting music videos.

miket287
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/16/18

Pretentious, petty and disrespectful. Constructive criticism is one thing, insults another. These guys could'nt write a song to save their lives!

paular59
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/21/17

When you read more than one review about how bad a band is, when said band's albums keep winning awards, it makes you doubt the competency of the reviewers. These same albums are being chosen by the listeners as being the top albums of the year. This makes you question how in touch with people these reviewers are. I do not believe that this site is a good source of reliable, unbiased information, I do not recommend it.

chrisn85
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/13/17

I've looked at Pitchfork a few times and it's a bit blah, very grey as if it were custard allowed to cool. OK< we know custard is cool, how can it not be right? but tepid custard is no ones friend and that's how I feel about this site. It's hard to see who it is written for as there is no real in depth insights into the reviews. There are no feelings behind the writing and a cardinal sin, the spelling is atrocious! It's as if there is no editor checking the work of the .....I struggle to find a word that correctly describes the team as reporters, reviews or journalists seem such strong terms for something they equally fail to achieve. An editor of note may join together the articles and reviews into some sense or direction for the site but I doubt there is one or they will chuck the copy back and tell them to try autospell on their work.

The stand out hack is by far Ian Cohen, who has so little grasp of musical talent he as opted to write about it. But instead of marveling in the splendor of the art he instead brings quality music down and rips into things he does not understand.

This site does have one outstanding feature, it obviously employs those who have not found work in proper music sites. This I feel is a service to the community. Not only does this site house the complete gutter trash of the musical commentator world but it keeps the other - better - music sites clear of their inept taint.

If you take my advice, you'd steer well clear of this site until they either employ some kind of direction to their work, sake the hack (Ian Cohen) or start correctly vetting their entries before posting. If I had my guess they run this site like a blog where anyone can upload an entry without anyone reading it first.

jayn176
5 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/9/16

Has been able to find news on all I was interested since found this place. Ofc some can be subjective but still its good!

hubertb19
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/29/16

For me Pitchfork is the best place for discovering new bands and tracking all the music news.

scottm149
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
3/10/16

I don't think I'm probably their main type of reader, but I found some interesting things on there about who is collaborating with who. And I find a new artist from time to time. I'm a big Spotify guy for my music and new music, but Pitchfork is really in the deep music scene.

marylm
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
2/17/16

Looking at the news you can find new artists that you might like. I found out about Slaves here.

karll25
25 reviews
36 helpful votes
9/22/15

Good mix of EDM, indy rock, rap and other random stuff.

jonathanv9
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/26/15

Pitchfork reviewers seem to care more about being cool than actually appreciating good music.

tracyh1
57 reviews
275 helpful votes
12/17/10

Found this site reviewed on SJ and it really does live up to the hype. Great way to discover new music. I had previously only looked at the iTunes top lists to find new music and was getting very dissatisfied with what I was listening to. I would suggest anyone reading this to just try out pitchfork for awhile and ditch the mainstream commercial itunes for discovering new music

asha
18 reviews
135 helpful votes
2/23/10

I can sit here and badmouth pitchfork.com all day:

Their reviews are so overcerebral they make me feel like I'm at a renaissance fair when I'm just trying to decide if an album sucks or not.

They think Animal Collective is the greatest thing to hit music since the Beatles.

They constantly use phrases like "Fleet Foxes are great, but their harmonics are derivative of early My Morning Jacket."

But this isn't the Player Hater's Ball, so let's take a step back and be real: it is THE premiere site for indie rock reviews, and the first (and usually only) site I consult when looking for music advice. There are other sites and blogs I can go to to get more succinct (and less pretentious) reviews, but when I want a thorough, comprehensive understanding of exactly why an album is great (or terrible), I go to pitchfork.com. It is my go-to, and though I don't always agree with them (Joanna Newsom, really?), they run the indie-music-review scene and I am definitely a pitchfork junkie.

jeremyg
106 reviews
509 helpful votes
10/23/09

Often, Pitchfork is so pretentious I can barely read it. However, I can't think of a better site to read music reviews (suggestions?). Can't live with it. Can't live without it.

Good Pitchfork calls:
10.0 - The Soft Bulletin (Flaming Lips)
10.0 - Aeroplane Over the Sea (Neutral Milk Hotel)

jackr3
4 reviews
34 helpful votes
10/9/09

This is a good website that has all the obvious music tools like reviews, downloads, etc. I am not a huge fan of the writing on the site but they do review a ton of music and do a nice job of organizing everything.

tn1
270 reviews
1,553 helpful votes
5/17/09

Some people call Pitchfork Media elitist and pretentious, but all I know is that it's still the best source, for me, of discovering new music that I'm sure to like and of being updated on my favorite bands. Living in Guatemala, I'm unable to see live shows or to talk to like-minded folks about the stuff I like, but Pitchfork.com keeps me feeling in the loop.

Pitchfork was the only place that covered U.K. band Flotation Toy Warning months after some friends and I heard it used by Martin Pickle in a short film. It's the only place where I can find out about a possible Camera Obscura/M.Ward collaboration, watch Weezer covering MGMT's Kids, listen to some good tracks, and wait excitedly for a new Broken Social Scene album. Of course I like Pitchfork most of all because I agree with almost everything they say as well. If only Pitchfork came in the form of a skinny, faux-hipster with a job so that I could fall in love with it in person.

30 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Pitchfork Media staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Pitchfork Media?
Post Review