We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    University of Phoenix

Corporate Values

Overview

University of Phoenix has a consumer rating of 2.27 stars from 22 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. University of Phoenix also ranks 161st among Education Other sites.

  • Service
    2
  • Value
    2
  • Quality
    2
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 50%
Positive
1
Neutral
0
Negative
1
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • They tricked me into signing up for student loans, stating that it was just incase the grants didn't cover it.
How would you rate University of Phoenix?
Top Positive Review

“I am 54 years old and disable UoP suits my needs”

Nicole O.
6/24/20

Could be cheaper. However, it is what it is! Second chance college for disable students who just like going to school. Meets my needs! Not too hard!

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Stay Away”

Glen H.
10/8/19

I went through their online courses and it took nearly 2 years before I actually started due to them changing up their site and charging my student loans to "teach me" how to navigate their site. Now I'm in debt because of the scam they're running!

See critical reviews

Reviews (22)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

student loans (4)
nicoleo289
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 24th, 2020
Could be cheaper. However, it is what it is! Second chance college for disable students who just like going to school. Meets my needs! Not too hard!
williamh8
1 review
6 helpful votes
February 20th, 2011
I took some accounting classes at the University of Pheonix and was disappointed by the quality of the courses and the response I received from employers after I graduated. In retrospect, I wish I would have saved my money or gone to a local college instead.
advanz
7 reviews
12 helpful votes
May 15th, 2016
Service
Value
Quality
glenh65
1 review
2 helpful votes
October 8th, 2019
I went through their online courses and it took nearly 2 years before I actually started due to them changing up their site and charging my student loans to "teach me" how to navigate their site. Now I'm in debt because of the scam they're running!
tylerf16
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
July 10th, 2016
Easy to take classes online, very happy.
carad7
2 reviews
12 helpful votes
September 6th, 2015
I think that most of the negativity about this school comes from people who are lazy and dont finish, or they quit going to class and have to pay for that class. Sure, anybody can get into this school, but who stays? The people that can actually handle the hard curriculum. I spend hours on my homework every week and i learn so much more than i did in brick and mortar schooling. This school is great. I haven't finished completely yet i am almost there and i have already found a job! Employers do not think negatively about this school, but you have to represent this school and show them what you have learned and how it applies to the job. You should also keep a high gpa. Don't listen to this negativity! I love this school, and i love being a phoenix.
richardl10
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
March 16th, 2011
I was highly looking at this school but after reading these reviews I am reconsidering. I do think many people have heard about them so perhaps they are well recognized by companies... thoughts?
brianw
9 reviews
46 helpful votes
March 16th, 2009
Schooling - Do you think you are to old for college? At 41 I am going back to college to get my degree. Now a days, there are grants out there to back to college and payed to do it, plus get money back every semster. Online college is not easy, but anything worth it, should be hard.
phoenixr
1 review
6 helpful votes
June 9th, 2012
I worked at UOP for over 2 years. I took advantage of the tuition assistance and earned my MBA. The MBA program was time consuming but not challenging. The work environment at UOP is dysfunctional and the management is completely incompetent. That translated into disrespect towards the employees. The attrition rate is very high. Over a year ago following awful press releases, UOP transitioned from a sales environment to a customer service business model. No one talks about number of enrollments anymore but there is still an underlying force to produce. To make matters worse the quarterly earnings reports for the past year have been dismal. Sometimes I hear comments about my degree not being accepted or recognized. I'm not sure if the rumors are true but it's very pervasive. UOP may have more MBA students enrolled than any other university and the numbers aren't even close but it doesn't mean it's a best school. I still depend on my bachelor degree from another university and my work experience to get me through. Going back to school is a big decision and it takes a lot of time and money. Choose wisely and buyer beware of UOP.
anony420
4 reviews
18 helpful votes
March 7th, 2018
I unfortunately chose UoP. What a mistake! They tricked me into signing up for student loans, stating that it was just incase the grants didn't cover it. They didn't even use the grant money! They just used loans. Now I have graduated and NO ONE will accept a college degree from UoP... why? Because it is not a real college, no matter what they say. Now I am 50 thousand dollars in debt and cannot even find a job!
crystalt
1 review
9 helpful votes
March 18th, 2011
I WENT TO UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX AND THEY SENT ME SOME MONEY THEN THEY CAME BACK AND SAID THAT I WAS SUPOSE TO SEND THE MONEY BACK FOR A CLASS AND THEY WANT ME TO CHANGE MY AUTHORIZATION BACK TO THEM HANDLING MY FUNDS SO THE LAST CONVERSATION WE HAD THEY TOLD ME I MIGHT NOT GET MY STUDENT LOANS OR MY PELL BECAUSE I OWE A SOME MONEY DO ANYONE KNOW IF I WILL RECIEVE THE MONEY THAT I ALREADY WAS APPROVED FOR OR WILL THEY KEEP IT
nancyc509
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
July 24th, 2019
I have been a student at the University of Phoenix for a few years now and I have finally had enough, I will be transferring as soon as my current class is over. There are several issues with their assignments, such as the course content not matching the assignments, the assignment instructions missing crucial information causing double work, and the forced team/group assignments. The team/group assignments were the final straw for me. I am constantly teamed up with individuals who are intelligence challenged (I'm trying to be nice), who are unable to comprehend the course material even though they are in a 300 level class, and who cannot compose a complete sentence. As a result, my grade is negatively impacted due to the shortcomings of my teammates. The university has also mismanaged my Pell Grant and will not release the funds that I have earned until I call and ask what the heck is going on. I strongly advise against enrolling at the University of Phoenix, unless you are one of those people that I was speaking of, if so then you should fit right in.
evans3
18 reviews
79 helpful votes
February 14th, 2011
Like everyone else looking for a job I keep thinking that if I had more education or training or something I would get hired for a job. I don't have the time or money to go to a 4 year school. I can't even go part time to a local community college. I see everywhere they advertise online education at university of phoenix and they have the degrees I want to get. They have great loans and I was looking at their degree in information systems. If I am going to take out huge loans to do an online degree then I would hope that I could use it to get a job afterwards. I did some research online and what I found somewhat scared me. First everyone seems to say that a degree from this online school doesn't mean anything and second many call it a scam. They even have an entire website dedicated to this so called scam.

http://myphoenixmistake.webs.com/

I understand that with any education it does not guarentee a job or a career and that it is only a stepping stone in that direction.

Then I saw this video by the huffington post
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/08/19/university-of-phoenix-rec_n_687681.html

The sad thing is that I really want to believe that if I can get an online education I can get a high paying job. Not sure I can risk this type of money. I read on the above report that only 2 percent of people enrolling graduate and that many defaut on their student loans at university of phoenix. I can't afford to go bankrupt again and my credit will be ruined.

If anyone has actually got a job after going to the university of phoenix I would like to know about that. I am sure some have and I know the people who complain make the most noise. Or are there other online schools that are more reputable?
ashleyr136
1 review
3 helpful votes
September 17th, 2017
I began the program and within two days, I made the decision to withdraw. They charged me $500 to do so and refuse to pay as I never made "attendance" that week. Absolute scam. You can tell that the classes and professors just assign busy work to make it seem intensive. PLEASE read reviews and stay away, I thought it was just all lies from disgruntled students, but it is the truth!
jenniferr214
1 review
3 helpful votes
August 29th, 2017
University of Phoenix Online classes are a joke. I graduated with a 3.95 which I was very proud of, but after thing about it, I am not really that proud. The classes were not challenging in any way. All discussions with my classmates were minimal at best. Many people were getting credit for making the most ignorant statements and not giving the rest of us anything to work off of to make our daily comments. I did not learn a thing from any of my classes. With that being said, I am held monthly to extreme loan payments, which started out around $22,000 and have now ballooned up to over $45,000 now even with regular payments. When I signed up for school, I was not helped as I should have been with the process. I went to one of the campuses, set up with an "advisor" who did not ask me much at all... just pushed me to sign the papers for the loans. It is all about the money for them. No best interest of the student at all. The school is not worth anywhere near the original $22,000 I got loans on. When I tell people I got a degree from UoP, they laugh and ask why the heck I went that route. The school advertises their "education" on people who do not have another option... single parents, people who cannot get loans to attend other schools, etc. This is a bad practice and they should be ashamed to call themselves accredited. Taking my money to pay joke "professors" who I found out are just students themselves a lot of times. After I received an associate's degree, I was never even contacted to either move forward with my bachelors, or on how satisfied I was with the classes. I would not have moved ahead with them anyway, but that is what should have happened. I should have had some support. DO NOT ATTEND UoP Online. You will be very disappointed.

Tip for consumers: Run away quickly!

Service
Value
Quality
nicih
1 review
5 helpful votes
March 9th, 2017
Worst school ever i ended up withdrawing and i enrolled in a different school. They just want your money and send you to collections do not waste your money and time or your creditscore for this big SCAM school. Trust me if you end up enrolling good luck you will need it!
toddo7
10 reviews
21 helpful votes
September 3rd, 2016
Only 7% of students graduate from this fictional college. Listing this "university" on your resume' will bring laughter from every employer. Do NOT waste your money on this scam like many others have.
lesliec42
1 review
3 helpful votes
April 1st, 2016
I was enrolled the new emergency management program. I found that most of the students were unable to put two words together to make a coherent sentence. During one class, a student attempted to submit plagiarized work for a group project on more than one occasion. I appealed to the instructor three times and nothing was ever done. As the team leader, I made the appropriate changes to the work. The student filed a student code of conduct complaint against me. The school found that I was guilty of violating that students rights. REALLY? She attempted to submit plagiarized work, and I got in trouble?! When the student threatened to "come find me and my family" I filed a complaint against her. What did the UOP do? NOTHING! Don't waste your money. They'll accept anyone as long as you can pay. No wonder they're in financial trouble.
gregy
10 reviews
31 helpful votes
May 6th, 2013
My wife took some courses at the University of Phoenix and I can safely say it was a very poor investment. I am very skeptical that any of these online schools provide very much value. I don't if employers care about the degree, but there are enough free classes out there online I think that would be better and then if you want to go get a degree it can be from a real school.
rossy
1 review
5 helpful votes
February 23rd, 2011
My son enrolled and went through one semester. He applied for a Pell grant and they got the money, but rather then use the Federal Pell Grant money, they used a bank loan and sent the Pell money back to the Government. They have been pursuing him for years trying to collect on that loan. Tell me, am I nuts or should they not have used the Pell instead of using a bank loan? I would not recommend this place to anyone.
timd6
1 review
6 helpful votes
March 19th, 2011
The University of Phoenix is engaged in all sorts of shady marketing practices which include affiliate programs that will do anything to get prospective students to sign up. I almost fell for it. I wouldn't trust any company which condones these kinds of business practices.
joshuak4
9 reviews
16 helpful votes
February 1st, 2012
Horrible school, horrible customer service. I started one class and I tried to withdraw from the class because I had just started a new job and I was living in a hotel room for two weeks. In that time I fell behind. When I approached my instructor, she gave me pointers on how to try for a D. When the class was over I was told that if I had sought help to leave the class sooner they could have helped me. Because I didn't pass the class financial aid didn't cover it and I couldn't continue the class until I paid the $1700 for one class. They are over priced for such horrible customer service. They wont help in any way and they will mess up your credit. They also have no fear of the Better Business Bereau. Save yourself the effort and just register for online classes with a community college or your local state college.

Q&A (3)

Answer:

I have been a student at the University of Phoenix for a few years now and I have finally had enough, I will be transferring as soon as my current class is over. There are several issues with their assignments, such as the course content not matching the assignments, the assignment instructions missing crucial information causing double work, and the forced team/group assignments. The team/group assignments were the final straw for me. I am constantly teamed up with individuals who are intelligence challenged (I'm trying to be nice), who are unable to comprehend the course material even though they are in a 300 level class, and who cannot compose a complete sentence. As a result, my grade is negatively impacted due to the shortcomings of my teammates. The university has also mismanaged my Pell Grant and will not release the funds that I have earned until I call and ask what the heck is going on. I strongly advise against enrolling at the University of Phoenix, unless you are one of those people that I was speaking of, if so then you should fit right in.

By Nancy C.
Answer:

I have been a student at the University of Phoenix for a few years now and I have finally had enough, I will be transferring as soon as my current class is over. There are several issues with their assignments, such as the course content not matching the assignments, the assignment instructions missing crucial information causing double work, and the forced team/group assignments. The team/group assignments were the final straw for me. I am constantly teamed up with individuals who are intelligence challenged (I'm trying to be nice), who are unable to comprehend the course material even though they are in a 300 level class, and who cannot compose a complete sentence. As a result, my grade is negatively impacted due to the shortcomings of my teammates. The university has also mismanaged my Pell Grant and will not release the funds that I have earned until I call and ask what the heck is going on. I strongly advise against enrolling at the University of Phoenix, unless you are one of those people that I was speaking of, if so then you should fit right in.

By Nancy C.
Answer:

Not unless you call them and raise hell. It still takes them about a week after you do to release the funds. Good luck.

By Nancy C.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the University of Phoenix staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

University of Phoenix offers campus and online degree programs, certificate courses, and individual online classes. Learn more about admissions, accreditation, tuition and financial aid options, or get started with your enrollment today.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about University of Phoenix?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

2.3
22 reviews
Have a question about University of Phoenix?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business