Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of NPR Music

NPR Music reviews

Is this your business?
8 reviews
1111 North Capitol Street Northeast
Washington, District of Columbia 20002, United States
Tel: +1 202-513-3021
permissions@npr.org

8 reviews with 5 stars

twistad
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
8/28/13
I'm deep into jazz music and thanks to NPR it's possible to listen and read interesting articles about famous jazz musicians. I'm so glad for finding this website on google.

Thanks a lot,

Daniel T, London
stevel10
3 reviews
6 helpful votes
8/16/11
I've enjoyed this site for years. You can discover new bands and music hear that you might not find anywhere else!

You should also check out their "All Songs Considered" podcast!
tn1
269 reviews
1,629 helpful votes
6/27/10
NPR music's first listen series consistently features new music that I am bound to be interested in or to love. NPR not only produces great news features and stories but the music staff seems to have an impeccably sophisticated sense of what's fresh, hip, well-written and well-produced.
heathers3
39 reviews
222 helpful votes
1/3/10
Cool place to find new indie music and you can even watch some concerts. I don't regularly listen to NPR and was mostly looking for a new music website though now I might tune in.
jeremyg
106 reviews
541 helpful votes
10/23/09
There's a special place in my heart for NPR's music site. It's got a ton of great free live shows and all kids of new music. The editorial staff is very good at choosing an eclectic mix of new music so I don't keep listening to the same indie bands. And I even feel a little good about myself because by visiting and supporting the site I'm supporting public radio instead of just padding the wallets of rich people (e.g., Apple, Pandora or Last.fm).
mickt
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/21/09
Awesome! The band Flaw has a new album out and it is incredible! IN-CRE-ABLE!!
chriso1
656 reviews
3,162 helpful votes
10/8/09
For some reason it's never occurred to me to look for NPR online. I guess not being American by birth, NPR isn't an institution that I've grown up with and I don't appreciate it enough. I watch public TV but don't pay much attention to the radio. So having read the other review here I had to go look and this really is an important find and one you should really visit if you have any interest at all in any kind of music. It's full of free-to-listen recordings, news, features, sessions, interviews ... you get the idea. And all highly polished and professionally presented. My only nitpick is that the stand-alone player, though producing quality streaming music, would stop about fifteen seconds into the track and had to be restarted. Every single time. And somewhat disconcertingly, the player presented a message encouraging me to find out all I need to know about swine flu vaccine, while the tracks played.

The site is only one section of the parent NPR site at www.npr.org, but I'll leave the review of that one to someone else. Just now, I want to sit and listen to some music ...
sophien
145 reviews
879 helpful votes
6/7/08
NPR helps me find new non-mainstream music (like Dengue Fever!) - NPR has put up a HUGE collection of music, live music, music interviews, and articles. It's a great way to discover new music that is a little different from what you might hear on normal radio stations. It's good for Jazz, Folk, and Indie Rock, along with a lot of other cool random stuff from around the world. Like awesome awesome Dengue Fever, the Cambodian Pop/Rock band: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=88564788

Also, great stuff from Death Cab for Cutie:
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=90461964

And the Raconteurs
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=90769922

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the NPR Music staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
NPR Music?
Post Review