Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Meez

Meez reviews

Is this your business?
10 reviews
94107

10 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
2
Shipping
2
Returns
2
Quality
2

All Reviews

rojhanm
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/16/18

I love youu
You are my fan and im so love you all my loves
My song is coming soon and this name is bigharar

andriaf
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/11/18

When I was just shy of the age of 13, I came across this website and decided to give it a try. Everything went smoothly for a few years until the upcoming decision to change the whole layout of the website caused a huge stir, with MANY Meezers being against the idea because Classic Meez had many perks, which include games that reward you with coins to spend in the Meez Maker so you could doll up your avatar to your liking, rooms that had all-around better features, options to filter room listings via categories, and a discipline system appropriate for a website that advertises as PG-13. They even added a feature that let you add a friend's avatar alongside you on your profile for a few thousand coins (rip-off, I might add as you never went on the profiles as often to cost that much). Soon after the feature a friend option was implemented, Meez decided to release some of the Beta Meez features (from my memory), which removed the feature and didn't refund anyones' coins. The layout change in the Meez Maker also removed animations and backgrounds, which no one received a coin refund for those, either, but they did promise that they were going to be adding the animations and backgrounds at a later time.
Well, a year or two goes by and Beta Meez finally becomes the main layout (with a few tweaks) with the explanation that this new layout was much less vulnerable to being hacked than Classic Meez, along with other promises, but they were very incorrect; not only were the promised Meez Maker animations and backgrounds never added, the filter feature that helped keep your search between public and private rooms was removed, the games were removed, as well as many other features that made site navigation easier, but the new website was getting frequent hack attacks; more than Classic ever did.
Time went on with many complaints from the long-time Meezers and the hack attacks got more frequent, with many popping into the forums to offer some frustrating, yet entertaining time in between their hack attempts.
The summer of 2017 started Meez's downfall, which could have been caused by the constant hack attacks, poor attitudes from supervisors (Glassdoor employee reviews), or the from the CEO's unannounced surrender of the company.
It is rumoured that the employees completely abandoned the website unannounced around August of 2017 because many abuse reports went unanswered, Admins suddenly stopped doing their "meet the Admins" events, many emails to the support staff were ignored, and porn bombarded the forums for hours with no bother to remove it, which many lewd posts disappeared within minutes in the past. All of this wouldn't have bothered me because the negative aspect of the way they handle their businesses will forever be a tarnish in their resumes, but what got me was the fact that everything else was let to the dogs (so-to-speak) except for the VIP perk payment options. The VIP payment option page was kept in tip-top shape and a vast majority of Meezers had money successfully taken out of their bank accounts, but the rest of the website couldn't hold its own. Everything was also kept hush-hush when it came to what was going on; if they were updating, planning a shutdown, or trying to fix their vulnerable website.

Well, to conclude this review, I honestly feel that the developers of Meez.com scammed many clueless Meezers out of money starting in August of 2017. I have stated previously that they would not give any updates on what they were doing with the website to repair the damage done by hackers on their website and ignored emails and they also had no problems making sure that the money portion of the website was in perfect working order, but many Meezers paid for a service that they did not receive the promised perks for as the website was abandoned by the developers. If you swallow your pride and make a decision to shutdown your business, that's less money for your pocket if you have a payment option in place. This business was struggling financially and let the hackers ransack the website because what better excuse is there to not refund your customers than to blame hackers for all of your problems while you're anticipating your website's domain contract to expire on said date?

meezyp
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/1/17

Do NOT spend your money on this website. There hasn't been an official word by the developers of this website, and probably never will be, but upon further investigation, the CEO apparently stepped down without notice in July of 2017, and the website's domain "contract" expires in February of 2018 so you'll never get much use out of your money from now on, but it's not like you have anyway with the constant hack attacks the developers allow to happen almost weekly for weeks at a time. I can say that, at this point, this website feels like a scam and you pay at your own risk, I guess.

anonymoush6
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/3/17

Meez used to be a website that was overrun with users, had easy navigational features, and was a friendlier place to be, but after ten years and a new layout, that all changed.
Meez's downfall started to happen after the launch of "beta Meez," which was a downgrade that was over-hyped by the developers to make it seem to be an improved version of the old website. They gave us an option the switch back to the classic version of Meez and many made the switch, along with MANY complaints about how bad beta Meez was. Some users did like the beta version, but most preferred the classic version and here's some comparisons:

Classic:
1. Meez Maker had a variety of categories to choose from, which ranged from punk to military, and the category list was easier to navigate through.
2. Meez Maker had a variety of animations/backgrounds to choose from, which were bought via coins that were earned via games or from extra cash lying around the house.
3. Many items in the Meez Maker worked correctly, but if they didn't, it was fixed immediately.
4. Forum's sub-forums were kept separate in an orderly way so no one stepped on any toes.
5. Reports/bans were watched more often and more carefully to avoid any conflict.
6. Hacking attempts were less frequent, but when they did hit, it was acted on by developers right away.
7. Users were more friendly because the developers weren't lenient with putting a stop to harmful things, making Meez truly 13+.
8. Virtual rooms were bigger and clearer.

Beta/New:
1. Meez Maker's category feature is buggy so you lose your place while searching within them.
2. Meez Maker's items don't work as they should so a pop-up tells you the item is unavailable and many have been reported to the developers via email, but those same ones are still broken to this day.
3. Meez Maker no longer has animations/backgrounds due to the new layout, which no compensation for lost money/coins has been offered despite a long, empty promise of bringing those items back.
4. Forums were completely redone and sub-forums were merged, confusing many people and causing a conflict of many topics.
5. Reports/bans are no longer being monitored as much, if not at all, which has let many folks make threats within the forums/Meez Nation with nothing done about it.
6. Hacking attempts are now treated with the "let it pass" routine, which leaves Meezers' credit card numbers in their database vulnerable.
7. A rise in harmful users has been seen within the website since the lack of authority, which those users show some psychopathic tendencies and they like to target younger, more gullible children. This has made Meez more of an 18+ website.
8. Virtual rooms seem small and grainy due to change in technology used, which has brought about a lag code that people constantly send to lag users out of rooms and also crash their computers.
The developers seem to be milking new/gullible users dry of money via VIP status promises before they close up shop on this whole website. Meez.com has been declining slowly for a few years now, with this year being the worst it has ever been. Meez is currently down (November 3rd, 2017) and who knows if they're actually doing something about their website, or just being hacked anymore?

sundaeo
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/5/17

As a long-time Meez user (joined back in 2009), I've recently come to find that there is no one taking care of the website anymore. I went into the forums just today and have seen porn posted in multiple threads. I even saw pictures of the dead victims of the Las Vegas shooting posted. Donnerwood Media doesn't care. They've let the website run wild. I've also seen vulgar language, including racist language. I'm not sure what happened, as I have not been on Meez for a few months now. I did visit every once in a while to see what was new on the website, since, last I read, they were trying to update the site with new and improved attractions. Everything still looks the same, except, there haven't been any new updates. The home page hasn't been updated since August. The VIP animation of the month for August is a BIG clue. I have a feeling they're still letting people purchase things such as VIP, Meez Cash, Meez Coins, etc until the website dies, which looks like it will be by the end of this year, maybe sooner. I'm very disappointed in Donnerwood Media. You let your loyal users down. You messed up when you started showing that money was all that mattered to you with the Limited Edition items, bringing them back when they should have stayed gone. That was the first sign of the website going downhill. The website going Beta is what killed it in the end. Terrible business decision. Meez is no longer the website I enjoy visiting most. It used to be ...

Tip for consumers: If you want a tip for using this site ... DON'T.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
andil4
11 reviews
11 helpful votes
2/7/17

I signed up for Meez in mid-2007, which it was great for a few years, but now Meez is a cesspool of hackers/coders that screw with the layouts of rooms, people that obtain your IP address and copy/paste it in the chat logs, and dangerous people. This website is definitely not for anyone below the age of 18, like the website falsely claims. It is no longer a fun website. Do not put your personal information on this website.

sfwefsds
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/1/16

People get banned for dumb reasons, sometimes made up reasons. I got banned for owing money for something I didn't purchase to begin with. They wanted me to pay up to get my account back and they couldn't even tell me what for.

vickyv2
3 reviews
8 helpful votes
1/30/15

I really like this site, easy to use, not allot of bullying. If you buy items on it (with real money), the payments are secure and go through 99.9% of the time. The moderators are actual employees on the site (are payed for their services), and are fun to hang out with. The main thing that I like is that non VIPs are not discriminated against and most who play this game are non VIP. VIPs do not get huge unfair advantages that make them seem like they are above any other players. Most players abide by the rules and this makes the game very fun and safe to play!

Tip for consumers: If you can, use http://classic.meez.com

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
amya24
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/18/14

I find it enjoyable. Its a PG13 website so nothing bad can be discussed or promoted such as sex and hate speech. Everything is monitored and appropriate. The only thing that is an issue is that sometimes words can slip and your account may be banned for some time. Some people's accounts have been banned forever even when they spent a lot of money on it so you need to be careful. Once you get into the game, it is not so boring. I really like it because its easy to customize your avatar and plus there is an app for it!

caitlynb1
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
9/17/12

its totally boring i recommend none play it lol ;dd because all you do is go in a dumb space chat with friends jam to music and dance thats it the emotions arent even free like seriously meez wow i started playing a few days a few weeks ago or months anyway you cant even order food at resturant so stf wtf meez iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii hatttteeeeeeeeeee meeeeeeeeeeeeeezzzzzzzzzzz................commmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!! hope this was helpful ;)

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

They shut it down because lack of players so u just lost your money

By Miggy M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Meez staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

1 Photo for Meez

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Meez?
Post Review