Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of How To Geek

How To Geek reviews

Is this your business?
8 reviews
20346 Cliftons Point Street
Herndon, VA 20165, US
Tel: 7901234567
contact@howtogeek.com

8 Reviews From Our Community

3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

vincenta68
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/12/18

I love this site. It offers a lot of good, vetted information on a lot of different topics. When I have a geeky-type question, I will often go to this site for answers, and I will usually be successful. Check this site out if you haven't already.

larrycodea
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/29/17

Lots of articles on various topics, timely, and interesting! Always great short articles that give me more to read, and original stuff I'd never see elsewhere!

susanp171
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/26/17

SloxSoft LLC is the one of most renowned software development as well as support service provider. With their own R&D, they have been designed and developed four of the ultra refined PCs utility software i.e. Disk Tuner, Reg Tuner, Shutdown Scheduler and upcoming Express Recovery.

davidg97
4 reviews
9 helpful votes
1/23/14

One of my favorite websites with very relevant information with subject matter for both novices and the skilled in computer hardware/software.

kathyh3
37 reviews
318 helpful votes
8/25/11

Although their search function could use a little work, this is an excellent site, especially if you are looking for help with Linux. Great resource for all things geeky.

jaimed
17 reviews
55 helpful votes
8/2/11

There is always something interesting on the site, I love to just wander through it. Its like walmart for geeks.

kumarm
99 reviews
270 helpful votes
4/8/11

An absolute must for all those people who need to learn basic to advanced tricks and tips bout windows or microsoft or computing related stuff. Great for all the wannabe IT geeks and already-a-geek people...:))

ronk
137 reviews
944 helpful votes
9/9/09

If link above is not complete/functional, point your browser here:
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/30264/wirelessly-sync-share-your-music-collection-with-any-mobile-phone/

_I've tried this and it works beautifully with my Droid X. Works with Android & iPhone.

"Have an iPhone or Android phone and a music collection too large to sync to it? Want to share your library with friends? Here's how to sync your library with your smart-phone over the internet, or stream it in any browser.

Subsonic is a powerful little cross-platform solution to these problems and moreit's an open source media streamer that is based on both Java and donations, so it's a cross-platform solution that is free for basic usage utilizing the web interface.

Note: In this guide we're going to be showcasing two mobile clients which use the Subsonic API which is NOT free. You'll get a 30-day window to try out the setup, after which you'll be required to make a minimum 10 donation, which will give you access to all the clients including an Adobe AIR client, and a few bonuses, like removing the ad from the web interface, free future upgrades, and a yourname.subsonic.org server address. If you choose to not donate, you can continue using the web client at no extra cost. You can more details at the Subsonic Apps page.

Head over to their download page and grab the installer for free. Double-click the file and Subsonic will be installed as a service which will automatically start with Windows. Note: While installing Subsonic on Mac OS X and Linux is also relatively quick and easy, to get support for transcoding requires a little more effort. Be sure to check the Installation Instructions.

Once you've installed Subsonic, open up a browser and point it to http://localhost/. Under the login, you'll notice a warning message that gives you the default username and password and reminds you to change it as soon as you login".

Great music sharing mechanism.
Best,
Ron

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the How To Geek staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
How To Geek?
Post Review