Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Havefunteaching.co.uk reviews

Is this your business?
10 reviews
SITE CLOSED

10 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

rossp
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/6/10

Please avoid this company at all costs. I've recently just got back from China after being taken for a ride by them. I hear the site has been taken down and the company are under investigation. I think JamesO's post summs them up very well. They do nothing for their money, just pass you over to a Chinese company who find you the jobs. This company is run by two Chinese nationals called Coco and Lucas, two of the most unsavoury characters I've ever dealt with, and I got off lightly!

One to avoid for sure.

jameso2
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/27/10

Note that in the following description, I have used £ sterling for convenience. Take into account that salary is paid in RMB (Chinese currrency, £1=10RMB)

This company was run by two brothers. One whose name we were told was Elliot Nash. This company is a piece of thieving $#*!. they had been running for one year sending teachers to China and even spoke about expanding to Japan. The problem is that this company does not send people to school, they just find anyone, those that even don't have the ability to teach, and give them to another company called Omega in Shenzhen for them to locate a job. You were told in England and on the website that the salary ranges from £500-£950 of which they take half for 4 months, which can only be known when you arrive in China.
It was also promised that during a half year stay, 50% of the airfare would be reimbursed as well as the cost for the stay in the Hotel in Shenzhen, before leaving for your placement. which is approximately £15 per night.
Upon arrival in china they change what they have said that you have a starting salary of £500 which then can increase monthly depending on performance, still taking half for four months.
They find me a job the following day and a leave a few days later on a sleeper couch which costs £36, across half of china. I was told that i would be residing in an old historic cultural city, which was a lie and in fact they placed me in a metropolitan area. Teachers were forced to sign contracts before departing to their schools.

After arriving at my location i spoke to the school and they had no knowledge of any obligation to increase salary, and they believed that it would stay at a constant £500. The company has continuously lied to the teachers throughout the trip. Recently it has been found that English International's boss Elliot/Billy Nash has stolen the teachers salary, as salary is paid to English international then rerouted to Omega and then paid to the teacher. He is said to have stolen £20,000 and flown back to England.

In the contract it states that English international is to pay the sum of the airfare and hotel expenditure. Omega is taking no blame for Elliot Nash's/English International disappearance and they are forcing the teachers to pay the full contracted amount. Omega is also to blame for this ridiculous problem because of their structure with English International.

Therefore currently, we are stuck here receiving minimal amounts of money and used by the thief Elliot Nash. I have to say this has taught be a lesson that you need to fully understand the function and coordination of a company before you use them. Even if they questions are intrusive they are necessary. Does anyone have any advice on how i can find Elliot Nash. Please email me at drawnpaper@hotmail.co.uk.

kirstyb1
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/11/10

My sister went to China in Feb and was firstly forced to sign a contract in China that she didnt understand and then was told she was to work in the city, she was sent somewhere near Mongolia and then re-sent back down south all in 3 days. She is now working in a school but its been 3 months and she still hasnt been paid, she complained the other week to the agency and was told that 'China is a big country she is all alone and she had better do as she is told otherwise she will get snatched'. she still hasnt been paid and is stuck out there until i can send cash to get her home as again the agency havent paid any of her travel expenses. This isnt the only bad experience with this company, there are thousands of horrific reviews all over the internet and i know for a fact that employees of this company are the ones that are putting bogus positive stories up so they can coax people into working for them. IF YOU WANT TO STAY SAFE AND GET PAID WHILE WORKING ABROAD THEN DONT GO NEAR THIS COMPANY

alexs11
2 reviews
15 helpful votes
4/4/10

scam scam, shame most forums are deleted, ie, ones with their address

timb
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/23/10

im in the same boat, have an interview in 3 weeks with them, 'meh' isnt a fair option really, im just after some genuine backround on them, it seems a little too easy to have got an 'interview' and ob don't want to be landed in deepest china with no way to get home. any info greatly appreciated, timllmixit82@googlemail.com, i will pass on anything i get too :)

frankb5
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/29/10

My friend went out before Christmas to china, with this company. I thought I might apply and go after the new year. Been down for a interview, and now am packing my suitcase got my visa back and booked my tickets going out on the 28th Feb. can't wait :-)

ivyp
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/24/10

i think it,s legit as they said everthing in august in england and thats whats happened. I applied through them and worked at the kindergarden and its fun. Be open minded as the culture will be a shocking and a nice expierence. If you want to contact me then email me ganmuli428@hotmail.com, thanks and il help u if i can

kk1
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/17/10

I got offered a job with English International, and yeah they only have one room on the fourth floor of the Forsyth Building on The Headrow; i accepted my job and did send my passport/money away for my visa from 5 star china holidays. I recieved my visa a couple of days ago, and i am flying out on the 10th of february. I did check out this company before accepting, but since then i have seen a few bad comments popping up about English International, any information would be really appreciated.

richardm1
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/2/10

website looks a bit dodgy, and the offices in leeds felt a little thrown togeather... they had 1 room on the fourth floor of a building near the headrow... forsythe building i think? not contacted the china office yet. i got offered the job and asked to send a cheque to the embassy for china but made out to some 5 star holiday company.. wanted to check up on the company before sending any money.

chrise2
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/31/09

Not sure if this site and the business is legit been to the office based in leeds looks as if they had the full 4th floor available to them also rang the office in china and there over there as well could do with a background check on them any advice is appreciated.

Cheers

Chris

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I am thinking of going with these guys too. Does anyone have any information on it? Is it legit? Charlotte x

By Charlotte A.
Questions? Get answers from the Havefunteaching.co.uk staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Havefunteaching.co.uk?
Post Review