We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    GotShop.co.uk

GotShop.co.uk

43 reviews
Corporate Values

Overview

GotShop.co.uk has a consumer rating of 3.28 stars from 43 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Consumers satisfied with GotShop.co.uk most frequently mention admin team. GotShop.co.uk ranks 105th among Marketplace sites.

  • Service
    7
  • Value
    7
  • Shipping
    3
  • Returns
    3
  • Quality
    4
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • There's a Facebook group who provide support and help, great networking and a great website.

Critical highlights

  • Unbelievable customer service, no wonder everyone is giving up and leaving gotshop.
  • Service not working for over 6 Months and refuses to give back refunds.
How would you rate GotShop.co.uk?
Top Positive Review

“Cannot fault this new emerging talent!”

wendy e.
1/29/15

Cannot fault this new emerging talent! Was lucky enough to bag a shop during a sale. Made 5 sales so far with little self promotion, so more than got my money back. I'm a prolific craft seller so sell on a multitude of platforms-all other platforms I either pay to promote or am liable for listing fees and/or commission. Because I got a shop early on I have been able to feedback to the site owners and the new website will have all the changes we suggested which will be brill. Really hope it goes from strength to strenth.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Please don't open a shop.”

Sarah D.
2/3/16

This company only responds to positive comments. Numerous of us members are waiting for a refund as they changed policies after being closed for 6 months emailing time and time again to only get ignored. Then they plead on social media for the negativity to stop. If they replied to unhappy customers and gave them their money back for a service they didn't provide people might be more positive. In my opinion this is a selling platform to steer well away from.

See critical reviews

Reviews (43)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer service (7) 6 months (6) trading standards (4) facebook group (3)
sarahd98
1 review
96 helpful votes
February 3rd, 2016

This company only responds to positive comments. Numerous of us members are waiting for a refund as they changed policies after being closed for 6 months emailing time and time again to only get ignored. Then they plead on social media for the negativity to stop. If they replied to unhappy customers and gave them their money back for a service they didn't provide people might be more positive. In my opinion this is a selling platform to steer well away from.

nicolah9
1 review
17 helpful votes
January 4th, 2016

I have been with GotShop for just over a year and overall am pleased with the service. They have had problems with websites but i understand that they're a new business and very much learning on the job. There have been outages to the website over the summer but I received a free year as compensation which I thought was very fair but of course I would rather the site be working all the time. I am writing this review now as their newly launched and revamped site has been up and running for a bout a month and is really easy to use. I was surprised how straight forward adding products wer as the older versions of the site were a bit labour intensive. It's very pretty too. I am happy yo be part of something that is new and is British and is for crafters. Their Facebook presence is quite big so there is also a good community of crafters helping each other which is why I like GotShop that extra bit more than some similar sites like Etsy which is too big, imo.

Tip for consumers:
You get out what you put in. Use the forums. Ask for help if you need it.

Service
Value
Quality
wendye8
2 reviews
22 helpful votes
January 29th, 2015

Cannot fault this new emerging talent!
Was lucky enough to bag a shop during a sale. Made 5 sales so far with little self promotion, so more than got my money back. I'm a prolific craft seller so sell on a multitude of platforms-all other platforms I either pay to promote or am liable for listing fees and/or commission. Because I got a shop early on I have been able to feedback to the site owners and the new website will have all the changes we suggested which will be brill. Really hope it goes from strength to strenth.

Service
Value
sallyj18
2 reviews
123 helpful votes
February 23rd, 2016

Service not working for over 6 Months and refuses to give back refunds. Anyone else waiting for refunds please report them to trading standards as they currently looking into gotshop and any extra information will be helpful. To all of you who are looking to open a shop, Stay away! This company is desperate to take your money and you will not get the service your are promised.

bethm29
Beth M. – GotShop.co.uk Rep

Hi, this is a very loose statement, and untrue, Gotshop is also working with Trading standards that have agreed our free year is MORE than fair compensation for the 12 week disturbance we encountered due to the developer that is also being dealt with. We have a try before you buy policy for everyone to make their own judgment instead of listening to fake reviews on here.
We also charge no money for this free month and take NO commission or Listing fees.

kellys157
1 review
61 helpful votes
April 21st, 2016

Still waiting for a promised refund and very much unlikely to get one. So this is to warn anyone else thinking of joining gotshop DON'T BOTHER. Worst company to do business with, worst customer service ever. I'm totally shocked and out of pocket!

ninap13
1 review
75 helpful votes
February 24th, 2016

Me and a group of friends were looking to sell our craft work on-line and we were recommended gotshop on a Facebook group. So I decided to check it out and wanted more info so emailed this company but no reply and emailed a further two times still no reply. So gotshop has lost my potential custom plus my 7 seven friends. You need to sort your email system out.

debbieg22
1 review
22 helpful votes
January 27th, 2015

Gotshop is a brand new selling platform that enables crafters & small businesses to manage, advertise & sell items through their own 'online shop' within the site. It is very easy to set up & manage, very affordable, well managed & the support is outstanding! With gotshop reaching a huge audience through various social media sites as well as other means of advertising, in my opinion any small businesses & crafters would be silly not to join.

zoec19
1 review
11 helpful votes
February 2nd, 2016

At last a selling platform that doesn't allow any copyright products! They really help you get started and are around for constant support helping you advertise your items it has an amazing community feel. I feel really at home there.

Also they are very strict on making sure that items are not copyrighted which is great for those that stick to the copyright laws! Well done Gotshop you have it spot on!

zoen5
1 review
66 helpful votes
March 31st, 2016

The communication is really bad, I wanted more info and emailed and never heard back. Also a friend advised me they don't do any proper advertising, just on Facebook and twitter. Plus the photo rules are too over the top for my liking.

carlaf8
1 review
89 helpful votes
September 17th, 2015

I signed up in February this year during a offer period they were having, in the past 7 months I can count on 1 hand the number of weeks the site has working to a standard that I could actually use it. Stupidly I gave them chance after chance to redeem themselves and now can't claim through PayPal. They refuse to refund based on their terms & conditions which state 'no refunds' however they have voided their own terms & conditions by not providing the service I've paid for. They won't reply to emails so now I am passing it over to trading standards to deal with. AVOID!

billyp19
1 review
19 helpful votes
January 28th, 2015

I've had my gotshop since it opened, as a new selling platform Id highly recommend it.
It's opened up my little craft shop to a whole world of new customers and at a very reasonable price too!
They also advertise in various crafting magazines and all over the Internet so Is great for your business!

In my eyes to turn down the opertunity to join this online community with the support they offer for this price you'd have to be crazy!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
kb78
1 review
77 helpful votes
October 3rd, 2015

I bought a subscription for a shop in February 2015. It is now October 2015. In that whole time, GotShop has never been fully functional.
No refunds are being given because apparently it's in their terms and conditions. But if you pay for a service and their part of the contract isn't fulfilled, surely their terms and conditions are void?!
It's an absolutely ridiculous situation.

denised46
1 review
87 helpful votes
February 3rd, 2016

I'm still waiting for a refund which I was promised 3 months ago when the site went down for 5 months or so. What kind of selling platform just goes down for this amount of time, I'm so angry. I lost out in so many sales and had customers wanting to buy my things but the site didn't work. Where's my refund?

jaynec10
1 review
12 helpful votes
February 1st, 2016

I have a shop on here for my jewellery business and find it very easy to use. They have clear-cut guidelines for photos which has really helped me present my items in the best possible light. I love how easy the site is to use and how friendly and approachable the admin are. Yes they have had issues in the past but these have been worked through and the site is now better than it was before. I'm particularly pleased that they don't allow any copyright items to be sold through them xxx

bobbyk16
1 review
79 helpful votes
April 18th, 2016

This crank company is on it's last legs & for good reason - Every aspect of their approach to their platform is flawed. Their website is unreliable, their customer service consists of abuse & bullying, & response time is non-existent. They amend their policies as rapid as night & day to suit their own requirements, & if you don't comply, your posts are taken down. Even if it is clearly an error.

All contact with them is severed deliberately to avoid any responsibility; their Facebook group seems to be the only way to contact them & any questions, queries or problems are treated as negativity & are then blocked entirely. Then there's the E-mail! Non-responsive & therefore pointless. When you are simply trying to find out information or ask for a refund, they completely ignore you. They take the money & run.

I would advise anyone considering doing business via this outlet to look elsewhere. We've had a terrible experience, & nothing but abuse from their end just for trying to understand their (frequently changing) policies. On top of that, their website went down for 6 months. 6 MONTHS!

So in conclusion, I would advise anyone thinking of joining Gotshop to please consider alternatives first. Whenever there is a dispute on 'etsy', they always step in & resolve everything quickly & professionally. You don't have any of these reassurances with Gotshop. It is a great shame because I really wanted to like this selling platform.

I hope this helps other people from going through the dreadful experience we had.

nicolah10
1 review
3 helpful votes
March 16th, 2016

I joined Gotshop from the start. As a small business owner selling from a Facebook business page I wanted a way for customers to buy online, without having to contact me. Originally I had my own website which I designed myself but without SEO it didn't enhance my business in any way. Gotshop have provided a professional marketplace. I particularly like that shop owners need to adhere to photo guidelines, as I feel that this makes the whole market place more professional looking. I have linked my FB page and some of my custom has come through this and some directly through Gotshop. It hasn't been an easy road for admin and owners because there was a period of time where the site had to be closed in order for improvements to be made. However, through it all admin and owner have been supportive and fair. I was given a free extension on my shop for the inconvenience. I am really looking forward to working with Gotshop and as Facebook are making it more difficult for businesses to be seen without paying for sponsored links, I'm looking forward to seeing the SEO at Gotshop improve and grow. Will this be my only marketplace? Probably not but I will definitely be keeping it as my main link from my FB page.

peterg96
1 review
84 helpful votes
January 28th, 2016

Total waste of your time and money. They will have no customers left soon the way they are going about it. I waited patiently for ages with all the website problems and closure for 6 months only to have them say my photos are no good now. I can not recreate hundreds of items just to retake photos again to suit this tiny selling platform's silly rules. Had this been made clear to us in 2014 December and was actually a policy when I joined, then that we would fine but it wasn't. They also have a habit of deleting photos that don't confirm to what they think your items should look like in the photos. This is done without any warning or contact with you, not only that they delete the whole listings so hours of work out the window. Save your self money, stress and time and join etsy they don't care how to you take your photos.

cw68
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
March 16th, 2016

I signed up to GotShop close to the beginning, and yes it has taken a bit of time for it to be up and running properly (life's not perfect) but now it's here I am totally happy with it. I like how easy it is to list things, and if you're stuck you can ask for help from the GotShop team. It's clear to find details/shipping etc on the items you're looking at if you're purchasing. It's easy to share links etc. GotShop isn't just one person, it's full of small businesses like mine. It's great :)

ar6207
1 review
79 helpful votes
October 5th, 2015

As the previous reviewer said, nearly a year with no service. I've emailed asking for a refund to be told "as soon as I have resolved the issues I have with monies paid for none receipt of services I will ensure anyone wanting to end there subscription can get a refund. " Fabulous grammar! I shouldn't have to wait until issues are sorted with the developers, i want a refund now as they have not provided the service i have paid for. Totally unprofessional and very poorly planned this venture was doomed from the start!

natalieh11
1 review
22 helpful votes
January 28th, 2015

This wonderful new site has helped my small business grow, a fab modern new platform to share my items on a daily basis with no restrictions I would HIGHLY recommend. Great value for money you will not be disappointed x

karenh137
1 review
98 helpful votes
March 14th, 2016

After being unable to use this site due to it closing for months I requested a refund in July 2015! STILL WAITING. No communication and diabolical customer service. STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS. I have reported this site to Martin Lewis website.

bethm29
Beth M. – GotShop.co.uk Rep

Hi, this is a very loose statement, and untrue, Gotshop is also working with Trading standards that have agreed our free year is MORE than fair compensation for the 12 week disturbance we encountered due to the developer that is also being dealt with. We have a try before you buy policy for everyone to make their own judgment instead of listening to fake reviews on here.

If you message officialgotshop@gmail.com with your real name and info we can look back at the email you 'sent'

Thanks

jol200
1 review
6 helpful votes
March 16th, 2016

I've pretty much been a seller on Gotshop since the beginning, yes there were problems out of the owners control with website designers not doing the job they were paid to do. The owner has been more than fair and kept everybody updated on what was happening. The support we get is brilliant. I can't fault the team at all. People expect Rome to be built in a day but that's just impossible. Every business has it's hiccups along the way, I bet other selling platforms didn't run so perfectly in the beginning either. People just need to be a little more patient and understanding.

samc89
1 review
83 helpful votes
January 29th, 2016

Service was down for 6 months since about June 2015 and refuses to give refunds. Will be reporting to trading standards. Unbelievable customer service, no wonder everyone is giving up and leaving gotshop.

beckys37
1 review
113 helpful votes
March 16th, 2016

Only have to read the reviews to see what is really going on here, total scam don't waste your money here. Got two friends been ripped off and waiting for their money for months now. Its funny how anyone who paid for their subscription with paypal got a refund and anyone who paid by debit card didn't. This owner Beth thinks she can steal people's money and blame everyone else, well let me tell you something the buck stops at you as the owner. If you can't provide a service then give people their money back. The only fake reviews here are your ones and your team of fakers, who you have given a lifetime free subscription to, in order for them to defend gotshop. Also trading standards have made it very clear that you have to give refunds to people who request them and your 12 months free rubbish is just a alternative. STAY AWAY FROM GOTSHOP IF YOU HAVE ANY SENSE WHATS SO EVER

vickiem10
1 review
21 helpful votes
July 15th, 2015

Having sold through Etsy and EBay it's a pleasure to be part if Gotshop. There's a Facebook group who provide support and help, great networking and a great website.

Had been issues but was given SIX MONTHS free! For a couple of weeks out of order, that's customer service at its best!

Exciting to be part of the next big crafty selling platform.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Q&A (2)

Answer:

Use anyone but gotshop

By sarah b.
See more answers (11)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the GotShop.co.uk staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Company Representative

bethm29
Beth M.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about GotShop.co.uk?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about GotShop.co.uk?