Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of First Editing

First Editing reviews

Is this your business?
274 reviews
Tel: (321) 251-6977

274 Reviews From Our Community

All Reviews

robq2
Rob Q.
5 reviews
0 helpful votes
8/9/18

Thank you Heather and please thank Christine for the fast turn over. I look forward to a continued business relationship as we add more books to the Life with Patty book collection. Fingers crossed for a successful marketing strategy and launch thank you very much guys all the best. Rob Doyling

jeanj58
Jean J.
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/9/18

I like how FirstEditing interacts with me, they are very professional, they do what they promised in terms of deadlines, and they offer the best price so far.

bj61
B J.
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/24/18

Hi Michael,I looked over the work you did. Thank you so much for the excellent work you have done. Warm regards,Brenda

andyn42
Andy N.
5 reviews
0 helpful votes
3/2/18

Dear Jefferson,Thanks very much for the editing. I was a bit stressed as it is my first attempt. It looks better and after removing the comments, it certainly reads better. I am exuberant!I hope to make use of your services in future.Have an awesome day!Andy

williame125
William E.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
2/27/18

Dear Tereza,Thank you very much for super fast completion and doing what I was really looking for so long. I will definitely use services of FIRSTEDITING and will have no problem at all to recommend to others.with best regards,Naiknam

vrl
VR L.
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/16/18

First Editors, one of the best and affordable editing professionals I have encountered.
Their quality of work is highly professional, cost-effective and amazing.

Thank You, First Editors for helping me get my project completed.

andrewb371
Andrew B.
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/12/18

Have only had a very brief scan. First opinion is, just what I was hoping for.As a debutant author, I am much encouraged and moved by Dr. Vondas feedback.

danielm450
Daniel M.
10 reviews
0 helpful votes
8/31/17

Hello Max:Thank you for doing great and wonderful editing. I am well pleased with your generosity and kindness in seeing that my book meets all the required standards and the needed comprehension.

annc147
ANN C.
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/19/17

What I like the most? The personal comments about my work from my editor, Joanne, which clearly show me the way to improvement. I appreciate her honesty and the little boosts of confidence she offers from time to time.

seanr100
Sean R.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/7/17

I had a good job done. I really think the review of my work improved my novel greatly. Also communication was very good.

billc250
Bill C.
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/2/17

Please tell Joanne she is very talented, a crisp document without clutter was what I was looking for.

julieh219
Julie H.
7 reviews
1 helpful vote
2/17/17

I just wanted to share with you and my editor, Jefferson, how very pleased I am with his editing work for my cookbook! I was impressed at his level of knowledge and also the time he took to give me comments on why he made the corrections that he did. I learned a lot about writing just from reading his comments! I definitely plan on using Jefferson again for my new and upcoming cookbooks. The overall experience with this company and Jefferson has been great, and I will be sure to recommend you all to my friends and colleagues. Thank you again.

seanw104
Sean W.
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/16/17

My book is my story about being trafficked as a child and the effects of that experience. Virginia did the editing and was awesome at that. It's now on sale in 9 countries out side of the United States.

aurorad5
Aurora D.
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/16/17

Some bookstores and libraries have doubts about accepting self-published books. My thanks goes to Nick. He made my book stand out. My 400 page book was finished in less than six weeks. "Your vocabulary is very good, and your sentences are easy to narrate," is what a my audio book narrrator told me. FirstEditing is just the right place for professional editing. Their coupons are a great bargain. I highly recommend.

lindas686
Linda S.
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/22/16

Dr. Michael did a fabulous job editing for me. The kindness and professionalism is great. I actually feel as though the person editing my manuscript cares about what I wrote. I love the feedback and will be continuing with the services

seanw105
Sean W.
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/22/16

My book is my story about being trafficked as a child and the effects of that. It's written from a Christian faith perspective and your editor, Virginia, not only provided exactly what I was needing, but also encouragement when she felt a particular point was well made. She is really the first total stranger who knows nothing about me to read this. It is not an easy story to tell but it has to be told, because I found freedom from that hurt through the process I describe in the book. So, I am one step closer to publication now. Thank you, Virginia, for everything. I am excited and apprehensive at the same time. Virginia has made the process easier for me

mindym20
Mindy M.
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/30/16

My personal editor, Lee Ann, was exceptional! When I called, emailed or chatted via your website, the staff was friendly and supportive.

rachelr116
Rachel R.
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/3/16

This was an amazing job! It has been a pleasure to work with both my editing consultant and my professional editor. I learned a lot that will be very valuable when I start writing my next book. I will keep you posted on when the first one is being published!! Thanks a lot again.

patriciah210
Patricia H.
7 reviews
0 helpful votes
8/20/15

First Editing contacted me after I noted the issue and it was resolved to my satisfaction. I appreciated that the situation was resolved, but still think the website should be more clear regarding what is offered for the price listed, with the options clearly laid out to pay more if needed for an upgraded service.

melitaf2
Melita F.
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/9/15

This is the third time I've used FirstEditing.com. Firstly to edit a 65,000 word novel, then for a book jacket blurb and now for a childrens story. I expect I'll be a regular.

susanl284
Susan L.
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/7/15

Lightening fast response with quote and sample edit. Quick and helpful online chat is available for further assistance.

williams570
William S.
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/6/15

Well we have no problem with the overall price, but when I ordered the edit I was told that I would receive a 16% discount and I have a followup email I can send you that confirms that. A day or two later I received a marketing email from FE that offered a 20% discount until 8/16. (It was not yet 8/16). When I inquired about that discrepancy and asked that I be credited the difference toward some planned future services, I was told I had actually received a 19% discount but I don't see any evidence of that.

Secondly, we have no way of knowing who edits our material. "Ken" did our first project and we were happy with what he did and requested him again if he was still available. You said he was. However, I seriously doubt if it was the same person. The style of the edit and the editor's comments were very, very different and it is easy to see that it was not the same person. "Ken" or whoever, was at a much higher level in our opinion. The biggest "tell" was in the editor's comments. Not sure if we will continue to use FE's services.
What I have seen so far in going through the edited material is okay but at the most basic level...good editing software. We were so impressed by the editing job on our first submission, "Life Stories," that we knew we would use you again. But after this time not so sure. In fairness, we are not finished reading through the edited version yet. Maybe it will improve.

Mahalo

jamesh575
James H.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
8/5/15

I'm getting used to First Editing and have been real happy with the service and especially quality of the editing. Vonda really does some nice work and I'm glad she has been assigned and helping us out.

Thank you

jamesh660
James H.
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/30/15

Vonda has done a great job four me and our community here in Portland Oregon.

Thank you all for your great work and service you provide.

Thank you.

Jim Hill

douglasw60
Douglas W.
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/16/15

These folks are awesome! Especially Kathy. She is so smooth and adept at handling my very particular editing requirements. You will NOT be disappointed.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the First Editing staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
First Editing?
Post Review