Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of DebatePolitics

DebatePolitics reviews

Is this your business?
7 reviews
705 E Lincoln St
Normal, Illinois 61761, United States

7 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

tonyd174
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/5/18

I joined Debatepolitics.com about 4 weeks ago and have been an active participant in the site,having started 24 threads and written over 680 points in that period of time.

I have been warned on 3 different occasions and now have 6 infraction points with the last one being in my opinion totally unfair as I drew an infraction from a post where I said of the poster that I was debating with that he sounded like a "true Trumpian". This was not meant as a dis of him but as a categorizing statement, like saying "said like a true Democrat and/or said like a true Republican".

I did contest the infraction and was given as my contact person a poster that is clearly "for Trump" as he has on his "about me" page that he is a member of the tea party. As such, not an impartial contact person.

I have also found the site not all that valuable given that my interest is more in debating about Trump and his policies and yet the people that are "Trumpians" generally do not debate with facts and figures but with opinions not backed up in any way. Meaning that debating with them is a waste of time.

In the entire time I have been there have been about 15 Trump supporters that have contested my posts and I have only found "perhaps" one that I was willing to further debate with.

I give the site a grade of "D" so far.

On the other side of the coin, the members arguing against Trump have been mostly informative and well researched but even in their case, the responses have been mostly opinion without much research behind them.

erice113
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/19/18

I have been on Debate Politics for nearly 10 years. I have posted about 10,000 times. I am also an outspoken critic of Donald Trump. I have not had any of the experiences that others have talked about. I have debated moderators without an issue. In my tenure, I have never received an infraction point (though I know that is rare), though I have been warned a few times. The warnings, however, were polite and appropriate (I deserved to be warned).

I have not been on that many debate sites, but I find this one to be pretty good. I usually can find good posters to debate with, though since Trump's election the character has changed a bit... the best conservative posters have become never Trumpers., while the Trumpers are zealots and not always interested in reason. It is often difficult to have a serious conversation with them. The pre-Trump era debates were much richer.

I actually think it is a well moderated site. Most of the people that have been run from the site, should have been run from the site. There are probably two or three that need to go, but I bet they are gone by year's end replaced by three more classless idiots... but, that is debate on the Internet.

The Basement is its own sub-culture and bit clicky, as represented. But, if you come to the site, bring your best debating game, are reasonably well informed and can disagree without being disagreeable, you would be a welcomed addition.

danielk269
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
7/9/18

Don't even bother wasting any time on this site, unless you are a Trump Supporter! The so-called Conservative Monitors will infraction-you-to-death! There are forum rules- but because of the obvious double standard, I'm totally convinced they only apply to liberal posters and others who do not support Donald Trump's policies and actions. It is the most unfair Political Debate Forum on the internet with some of the most unintelligent members on the planet!

charlesj75
6 reviews
15 helpful votes
10/31/17

Unless you're going along with the Crowd, you'll not last on this Forum. Since the Trump Election, The Ault-Right has the ear and access of Forum Moderator. If you're a Left Leaning Member, better not make them Mad, or they'll get their friends in the ever changing Moderator Pool to start racking up the points against you. If you want to really Debate, find a place that allows different points of view.

juniorb28
3 reviews
29 helpful votes
9/6/17

Several of the Mods have turned debatepolitics into a creepy, overly- and unevenly and unfairly moderated forum. They include Kal'Stang, Nota Bene, and Captain Courtesy, who act politely but certainly punish philosophies they don't like. They permit privileges in baiting, flaming, and trolling to pet posters while smashing the same actions of others they simply don't like. They deliberately misdefine "ad hom" and use it to give infractions and bannings.

Still, once the wise and sly poster realizes the game is rigged, that poster can use the system against the Mods and do pretty much whatever he or she wants. I have been under this name, and they are searching for the others.

koshergrlk
3 reviews
39 helpful votes
8/23/17

The site is rigorously patrolled and maintained by mentally ill death cultists who ban anybody who can pose an argument they can't counter without breaking their own *civility* rules. They banned me forever, of course. They have some of the worst trolls from usmessageboard, this seems to be a site for trolls to roll. Avoid it. They're creepy.

gt32
3 reviews
49 helpful votes
11/26/16

Debatepolitics seems pleasant enough at first. Most of the people are nice, and the community is undeniably quite a bit more mature and intellectual, on average, than most. Beneath the surface, however, the board is actually something of an Orwellian nightmare in terms of moderation, administration, and the culture behind it.

Have you ever had the misfortune to work in a truly toxic environment? One where management always makes sure to be on their soft-spoken "Ps and Qs," but are backbiting and manipulative authoritarian low-lives underneath it all, making decisions based off of petty personal biases, rather than any sort of real professional interest? Yeah... That's DP's moderation team in a nut shell. They'll swear up and down that they're all just as professional and impartial as can be, and that they are absolutely bound by the board's rules in laying down judgement (and God help the poor fool who suggests otherwise on the open board).

In reality, however, they clearly show favoritism towards some posters, and negative bias towards others. What gets one person a slap on the wrist, or is allowed to pass entirely, will get another punished to the fullest extent possible. And if, for that matter, the mods decide that a certain poster needs to go, they will not hesitate to bend, twist, and distort the rules in basically any way necessary to make it happen as quickly as possible. They will usually do it all with a smile... At least where other posters can see the interactions in question.

That's before we even get to the "good ole' boy" circle jerk that is "the Basement." In theory, this "special" area of the board is a place, mostly free of moderation, meant for blowing off steam, and the settling of grudges. The reality of the place, however, is a veritable no man's land of clichish and caustic board vets, psychopathic trolls, and bullies. These supremely unplesasant people operate with near total impunity, and viciously rip into any new-comer unfortunate enough to cross their paths.

Which... Finally... Brings us to the board's last and most serious problem. It's - really rather bizarre - "troll culture." One fact serves to illustrate this point above all others: that among the number of those "Basement-dwellers" mentioned above one can even find a Senior Moderator - having served in his position for several years. This individual claims to be a psychologist in real life. However, he not only openly boasts about using his skills in that profession to manipulate the rest of the moderating team, but he also claims to use his advantaged position on the board to drive posters he dislikes into nervous break-downs for his own amusement.

Most shocking of all, however, is that - while this mod's antics draw numerous complaints from board members - no one with any power or influence seems to care in the slightest. Some even congratulate the probable psychopath on his "smack skills," and will gladly toast along with him to his many victims.

Likely due to the Basement's influence, this seems to be a sentiment shared by many - if not even most - of the board's longtime members towards trolls and trollish behavior of all measure; both in the Basement, and on the greater board. They feel that it's perfectly acceptable to be an actively malicious troll; deliberately lying, baiting, or otherwise trying to cause harm to other posters. It's just not alright for the intended victim to draw attention to it, or try to fight back. They feel that deserves to be punished. Hell! The moderators even count accusations of "trolling" as being an infractable offense, regardless of if the poster accused openly admits to being a "troll" in other contexts, or is well known by that reputation across the entire board!

Yes, I'm almost certain that this plays into the favoritism and biased moderation I mentioned above. Some people seem to be able to insult, bait, and abuse other posters with near impunity even when operating outside of areas in which the board supposedly deems this as being appropriate behavior. It is likely more than just coincidence that these favored posters also happen to be board vets, and usually the Basement's most well known agitators as well, more often than not.

In any case, DP can be a lot fun. Most of the rank and file membership is nice, and the atmosphere is generally fairly relaxed in most areas. It might behoove one, however, to keep their head down, and avoid some of the more corrosive subforums likely to draw attention to one's self from the board's more malicious and corrupt "elite" members. Simply speaking, no good ever seems to come from it.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the DebatePolitics staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
DebatePolitics?
Post Review