Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    American Kennel Club (AKC)

2018 CUSTOMER CHOICE AWARD

American Kennel Club (AKC)

Is this your business?
68 reviews
www.akc.org
Corporate Values

Overview

American Kennel Club (AKC) has a consumer rating of 3.69 stars from 68 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally satisfied with their purchases. American Kennel Club (AKC) also ranks 3rd among Dog Breeding sites.

  • Service
    0
  • Value
    0
  • Shipping
    0
  • Returns
    0
  • Quality
    1
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • They should be looking to find a dog from someone who has been approved by the American Kennel Club.
  • The AKC is the main registry for purebred dogs in the United States.
  • #5 in Pets Sites

Critical highlights

  • You can also lose your pet to the breeder because your paperwork is not proof of ownership.
How would you rate American Kennel Club (AKC)?
Top Positive Review

“AKC more like AK-great (my puns are bad)”

Alyssa N.
11/6/19

I love this site and the AKC in general they are amazing. You can find breeders,products,research breeds,etc.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“AKC is overrated and support complete corruption!”

Joseph g.
8/18/19

I absolutely HATE these guys! I would NEVER trust their word in regards to ANY matter. All these breed standards are ridiculous and completely arbitrary. I swear these guys just make things up as they go. If you're purchasing a dog, and they're "AKC certified". Take this with a grain of salt, because it means absolutely NOTHING! This is their way of making money, not assuring you that you have a healthy dog. This place supports puppy mills! This place is a scam! You're playing a game by their rules. I hope this place becomes nonexistent one day! Please don't support these people and spread awareness of their corruption! 0 stars!!

See critical reviews

Reviews (68)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

american kennel club (5) dog (25) dogs (11) breeder (21)
alyssan21
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
November 6th, 2019
I love this site and the AKC in general they are amazing. You can find breeders,products,research breeds,etc.
shannonm330
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 5th, 2019
Thank you for shedding a little light on the AKC. They slander, defame breeders who question them and have illegal practices which go untouched
margarets124
6 reviews
7 helpful votes
November 26th, 2017
There are many great aspects to the AKC. You can create an account. If you have registered dog you can add the dog via the registration number. If your into conformation showing you have..
cindyh68
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
June 19th, 2016
AKC is great........we always register our pups with AKC, would not register them any where else. Thank you AKC!!
davidm434
5 reviews
4 helpful votes
April 21st, 2016
There are many great aspects to the AKC. You can create an account. If you have registered dog you can add the dog via the registration number. If your into conformation showing you have all the info you need at your fingertips. Also if your looking for breeders of merit or just reputable puppies there is a good database for that as well.

Tip for consumers: Start an account if you have registered AKC dog!

ginat4
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
November 24th, 2013
This is an outstanding site that gives a great wealth of information on dogs that are recognized by the AKC. Not only that, they also list breeders located in each state.

There is also a section where you can type in what you're looking for in a dog, and it will give you suggestions on suitable breeds.
natalieh3
14 reviews
26 helpful votes
May 20th, 2013
This is the site I looked at before purchasing both my dogs. They have lists of trusted breeders. I was very happy with the health and level of care my dogs received as puppies. They are great dogs.
michaela58
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
April 12th, 2013
This site helped me a lot about dog health and training process. Very good service!
stephaniew2
1 review
1 helpful vote
October 3rd, 2010
I really love the American Kennel Club because they provide much needed canine search and rescue services in addition to all the support they give to breeders. You can read more here: http://www.akc.org/dogny/
sherryd
19 reviews
89 helpful votes
May 10th, 2010
For anyone looking to buy a new puppy or find a breeder, they should be going to this website. They should be looking to find a dog from someone who has been approved by the American Kennel Club.
carlys
7 reviews
33 helpful votes
May 23rd, 2011
The AKC is the main registry for purebred dogs in the United States. Their website contains a plethora of information, including:
- Detailed information, photos, and standards for all AKC breeds, as well as links to their official breed clubs and rescues
- Information on local all-breed clubs
- How to get started in all dog sports, ranging from lure coursing to herding to rally and everything in between
- The rules for all dog sports, along with lists of judges, all titles that can be won, events being held, results, and so on
- Breeder education, recording keeping, and other things useful to dog breeders
- Register dogs, litters, etc online
- Look up your dog's pedigree
- Learn about home owner's insurance, how to prepare for disasters, and other things that tend to get overlooked
- How to register your MIXED BREED to compete for AKC titles in agility, obedience, rally, and coursing
- Healthcare insurance for dogs, microchip registration with the AKC to help locate lost dogs
- Education sheets, coloring pages, and other things to help children learn about proper care for dogs

The AKC has a wonderful website, whether you're thinking about getting a dog or have owned them for years.
29 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Q&A (8)

Answer:

Scam-https://petscams.com/puppy-scammer-list/demainpoodles-com/

By Alyssa N.
Answer:

I believe this place is a scam. they answer emails right away until you ask for an AKC Registration number for the pup. Also they request payment via walmart or western union so you can't do a chargeback if they are fraud.

By a p.
Answer:

I believe this place is a scam. they answer emails right away until you ask for an AKC Registration number for the pup. Also they request payment via walmart or western union so you can't do a chargeback if they are fraud.

By a p.
Answer:

I am inquiring about the same business. And I was wondering if you ever found out any information regarding their legitimacy

By Steven S.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the American Kennel Club (AKC) staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

The AKC is the recognized and trusted expert in breed, health and training information for dogs.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about American Kennel Club (AKC)?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about American Kennel Club (AKC)?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business