SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of StartPage

StartPage reviews

7 reviews

People interested in StartPage are also interested in:

7 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

pf13
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/5/15

Google dropped the plus sign operator in 2011, but StartPage never adapted to this change, i.e., StartPage helpfully inserts a plus sign in front of each keyword. Hopefully the people who maintain StartPage will some day figure this out!

Ask P about StartPage
Advertisement
andrewc18
5 reviews
12 helpful votes
6/3/15

I personally use DuckDuckGo as my default browser, mainly because it includes shortcuts to directly search a website (for example, typing "!sp ducks" into DuckDuckGo gives you Startpage search results for ducks).

But because DuckDuckGo is sometimes lacking in normal searches, I often use the aforementioned Startpage shortcut to get more relevant results.

Ask Andrew about StartPage
id422
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/12/14

Startpage doesn't seem to find existing websites that are readily found by other search engines. I could not find one of my own websites for one of the businesses that I own AT ALL. What's the use of privacy if you can't find the sites you are looking for? No, there was not a problem with my site because I could readily find it using another search engine. So, I would have to say thumbs down on Startpage.

Ask I about StartPage
jonahh7
10 reviews
1 helpful vote
2/16/13

Startpage is a VERY awesome alternative to Yahoo & Google and they are working on Startmail which will work like Yahoo mail minus the gathering of information.

Ask Jonah about StartPage
bv7
3 reviews
6 helpful votes
2/12/13

This search engine is even more private than www.ixquick.com...... It doesn't allow links to work in the webpage you visit that would be able to trace back to you.....

Ask B about StartPage
duckf
3 reviews
6 helpful votes
11/30/12

private search engine where does not record your IP while enhanced by google

Ask duck about StartPage
ianm11
144 reviews
517 helpful votes
7/5/11

StartPage is an initiative by Ixquick.

StartPage works similar to Google. Go into your URL bar - type "startpage.com" and you can surf the internet like Google does. But - what's the difference between Google and StartPage? What makes StartPage better than other search engines?

Well StartPage.com picks up very similar results as to what Google would pick up. StartPage.com doesn't log your IP address and supports 256 bit SSL. A really cool part about StartPage.com is its proxy tool. For example - lets say you wanted to view the NASA website - enter NASA into the engine, then click "proxy". This will then take you into their site through a secure proxy server. However - bare in mind that it will disable Java.

Ask Ian about StartPage

2 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the StartPage staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
Q: If this search engine is so anonymous, why if i type a new search into the search bar and click a link then bring up a new window using google and search the same thing, why does it show up as if i clicked it already in google? doesnt that mean my searching is stored somehow where google can still see it because its obviously noting somehow that i clicked a link from startpage (and it wasnt one that notified me that there isnt anonymity if i continue like youtube links for example) ...???
3 weeks ago
Answer
andrewc18
A: That's a good question. The short answer is: No.

The color of links doesn't indicate your search activity is being stored somewhere Google can see it. It actually indicates that the link is saved in your browsing history (which is stored on your browser only). To test this theory, try searching (either on Google or Startpage) for a website that you've never searched before, but you visit all the time. If the URL is exactly the same, the link will be highlighted, because you've visited that link before. Startpage and Google don't necessarily know that, but your browser does.
1 week ago
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Q: also even if the searches are anonamously routed, if i sign into my facebook wont it be obvious that the rout you provided is for the user who always signs on?
3 weeks ago
Answer
andrewc18
A: I'm not sure what you mean by this question, but I'm sure it has more to do with how Facebook integrations work than Startpage.
1 week ago
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the StartPage staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?
×
Have a question about
StartPage?
Post Review