SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of ScentMatchers

ScentMatchers reviews

163 reviews
68%
Categories: Perfume
PO Box 1550
Gaylord, MI 49734, US
Tel: 800-859-9878
Support@Scentmatchers.com

163 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
22
Value
21
Shipping
22
Returns
10
Quality
20

Review Highlights

wesleyt10

I am very pleased with the product and the customer service. (in 27 reviews)

janea2

I just got my perfume Fendi and I am so pleasantly surprised to be able to enjoy my favorite perfume again. (in 65 reviews)

reons

be back to order my perfume from them in the near future. (in 94 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

janep40
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/1/16

Although no longer being produced by Fragonard, my replica was a great match. Worth the wait and additional bottles are available at reduced prices. I am very pleased

Ask Jane about ScentMatchers
Advertisement
tatas1
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/28/16

I hate being negative, but don't think it smells like escada tropical punch. It's not very strong and definitely an imitation. Just wish I was charged imitation price

Ask Tata about ScentMatchers
mm215
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/26/16

When my mother and father first met circa 1957, Avon Nearness was her fragrance. After they married in 1960, Avon discontinued it. My father tried in vain to find a spare bottle of it somewhere, even called Avon to see if they would bring it back. Alas, it was long gone and they were both crestfallen because she loved it so much and my father loved it on her. He died in 1984. Flash forward to the present: while visiting the Fragrantica website I had a discussion with someone re the discontinuation of a Tom Ford fragrance I wanted. He suggested that ScentMatchers could replicate it. While checking for it I happened to see that Avon Nearness was on the list as one that they could reproduce. I was ecstatic for my mother and ordered it for her. It just arrived today and she is so pleased and touched to have this fragrance again and says it smells near-identical to the 1950's original. Thank you so much for recreating a beautiful memory for her.

Ask M about ScentMatchers
tammyb53
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/25/16

You Rock!!! I got my fragrance in the mail, it passed my ultimate test. I've worn Dolce and Gabbana for women since 1993, the year my youngest daughter was born. I kept my composure after putting some on as I excitedly recognized the scent, I called my daughter to come downstairs and she said, mom that's you, I smell YOU!!! That's the first time I loved hearing those three words strung together. Hours later my oldest daughter came home and said they nailed it. Double confirmation. You just earned a new, loyal customer.

T. Brady

Ask Tammy about ScentMatchers
jimc143
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/23/16

In the 80s I used a cologne and after shave called, Yardleys Musk for Men and always received compliments from women and men, mostly women, about the subtle pleasant smell and wanting to know the brand. This product was available at most discount stores for about $8. US per bottle for the cologne and $5 for the aftershave. This division of Yardley was bought out by Maybelline and the cologne gone forever. After years of searching I thought I would give SentMatchers a try and THEY DID IT. Im hooked

Ask Jim about ScentMatchers
marg1555
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/11/16

Just got my bottle of perfume Scentmakers made up for me. I ordered the "old" formula of Opium and it is wonderful! I had my doubts but the scent is terrific. I am so glad I gave this a chance, it is well worth it. I am sure I will order in the future, I am so happy with this!
Mar Gryz

Ask Mar about ScentMatchers
denisl16
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/7/16

When we were newley married, ( Now 53 years) my wife was a letter carrier at the US P.O., a lady on her route gave her a gift of Frances Denny Interlude Perfume. We both loved it, it became her signuture scent. Any time we went out people remarked how good it smelled. It, is no longer on the market. I have to go on Ebay to find her scent, and now when I can find it, instead of $35 to $50 per 4oz it is up to $250 to $500 a bottle. How happy I was to be able to get 2-2oz bottles 2- 4oz bottles plus 1 body lotion. and one 4oz bottle cane in a personlized bottle. What probably would have cost me 6 or $700, I was able to buy fro this site for less than $120. Couldn't be happier with this site, delivery, service and scent was perfect. Denis and Sandi, Palm Coast, FL.

Ask Denis about ScentMatchers
merryg5
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/5/16

I was a little skeptical that ScentMatchers could really duplicate a fragrance that's been discontinued for decades, but I finally decided to give them a chance. My "April Evening" arrived yesterday.

I absolutely love the fragrance! Despite the fact that it's very long-lasting, it's not overpowering at all--fresh and light, yet warm. It's perfect! The bottle is lovely--absolutely industry standard, as is the very attractive labeling. The packaging was perfect, and my bottle arrived in a very nice satin drawstring bag. Classy all the way!

I'll certainly be asking ScentMatchers to duplicate more of my discontinued favorites!

Ask Merry about ScentMatchers
allyh7
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/12/16

They made a nice replica of a long discontinued scent that I loved and it came in a pretty package. It does take a little longer than most standard shipments but I personally didn't mind. Especially when you consider what they do. Their customer service is excellent. I'll be back to reorder.

Ask Ally about ScentMatchers
marcias17
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/8/16

Great business practices and while I haven't worn "Initial" yet, it smells heavenly.

Ask Marcia about ScentMatchers
evelyng15
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/4/16

My experience with Scentmatchers has been really excellent. When I furnished them with a sample of the original scent, Prince Matchabelli's Aviance Night Musk, they really nailed it! I thought I would have to give up on my favorite scent forever, but am so pleased that I decided to give Scentmatchers a try. I will be a customer for life!
E. Graham

Ask Evelyn about ScentMatchers
yanz4
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/2/16

I bought two bottles of perfume on this website and it's kinda takes too long to get in non-labeled bottle. The most funny thing was the company mailed the parcel to wrong address even they had informed me that they have corrected to the right address before mailing. It costs me more than 30 extra dollars to get the bottles. What a service!? Will not come back and hope others be cautious about this.

Ask Yan about ScentMatchers
gigip2
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/1/16

I was excited that my signature scent that everyone commented on Cachet which smelled go good on me could be reproduced. BIG FAIL!! The scent I received was ok, but nothing at all similar to cachet. I'm so sad I don't know where to go next. The packaging is very nice and pretty, but the product falls very short.

Ask Gigi about ScentMatchers
judyf16
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/24/16

I was very worried that the fragrance you sent me for So Pretty by Cartier was going to be too strong. Once I tried it on it was wonderful. I have a lot of allergies and So Pretty is one of the only fragrances I can use. I think it might be a bit stronger, but works just fine for me. You have a new customer and I'll spread the word. Thank you so much!

Ask Judy about ScentMatchers
cindyh55
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/16/16

They claim they can reproduce Victoria's secret #88 and #55 but failed horribly

Ask cindy about ScentMatchers
sheilar17
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/15/16

I ordered dazzling gold by Estee Lauder and they nailed it!! Perfect match, thank you so much we will be buying from you again and again.

Ask Sheila about ScentMatchers
marye90
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/15/16

Scentmatchers did not even come remotely close to my perfume. The scent I wanted was blackberry and what was sent to me was something floral - like gardenia. We wrote them to let them know and received this response: Thank you for contacting us.
We are very sorry if our reproduction did not completely live up to your expectations. Our scent experts gave it their best shot from the sample they could obtain. We appreciate your feedback on the reproduction made by us.
Thank you for being our customer.
I would not use again. Pretty poor customer service if you ask me.

Ask Mary about ScentMatchers
donnal68
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/12/16

OUTSTANDING PRODUCT AND SERVICE, WILL BUY FROM SCENTMATCHERS AGAIN!!!!

Ask Donna about ScentMatchers
biffh
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/7/16

I ordered my favorite discontinued cologne Eddie Bauer's Adventurer. Bottles of the original stuff that folks have lying around are going for well over $100 on ebay, so when I saw the scentmatchers add...I thought I'd give it a try. I originally just wanted to try one bottle, but they gave me a good discount to add an additional bottle and two bottles of lotion as well. I got my package in the mail and I am happy to report that it smells just like I remember. I did contact them because only half of my order arrived, and they apologized for the error and have sent the missing items out promptly. Thanks Scentmatchers!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Biff about ScentMatchers
lynng32
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/7/16

I gave up looking for Flora Danica years ago! It has always been my all-time go-to fragrance. Then I found Scentmatchers and I now have 2 bottles of Flora Danica and the lotion, as well. The people I dealt with were superb and kept me informed during the process of replicating my fragrance. I received it faster than I had expected and I am beyond thrilled. What a great company this is!

Ask Lynn about ScentMatchers
danm122
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/19/16

I not only received my products in time for my Sister’s Birthday, which I cannot Thank you enough for, but she was ecstatic with the personalized packaging and the overall fragrance you created.

Thank you Again for such a wonderful first time experience. Much success to you and your company.

Ask Dan about ScentMatchers
rodneya20
7 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/9/16

How do I get your reorder code so I can order?

Ask Rodney about ScentMatchers
susanb134
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/6/16

The long-discontinued scent I ordered was perfectly replicated, and they will receive repeat orders from me.

Ask Susan about ScentMatchers
jessicaa69
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/6/16

You should try out Scentmatchers duplicate Sinful Blue Anchor. It came in the mail delivery was fast and everyone was so good with helping me. I got what I wanted as the label on my perfume bottle. The perfume doesn't smell exactly like Sinful Blue Anchor but has it's own special sweet smell to it. It is defiantly worth the price. It last long and it just amazing. I will be buying more and more. Since I cannot get Sinful they stopped selling it. The team that creates this duplicate does a excellent job. If you love to smell good and love Sinful this would be a great place to get it. I have been buying Sinful since 2014 & every since they stopped selling I've been looking for similar and this is it. Thank you again Scentmatchers for being here to bring back our favorite perfumes. 5 * Stars.

Ask Jessica about ScentMatchers
kimo25
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/5/16

I wanted a match for the body shop Indian gardenia. Unfortunately, the fragrance I received was not a match. I contacted scentmatchers for a full refund. They replied promptly and even though they couldn't resell the product, gave me a full refund. I wish the fragrance would have been a match, however their customer service was excellent.

Ask Kim about ScentMatchers
angelat37
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/1/16

We ordered 2 different scents. They were good about taking it back or refunding the money, but it wasn't anything like the perfume it was supposed to be. The Tommy Bahama for men wasn't even a men's scent...We sent a sample and they remade it. We now put it on the dog. The sprayer on BOTH was broken within 5 sprays. Don't waste your money...just find a new scent and hope it doesn't get discontinued.

Ask Angela about ScentMatchers
stacyg26
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/22/15

Years ago when my Deneuve eau de cologne ran out, I was devastated to hear they had stopped making it. While E-Bay has mini sample bottles for sale, at horrid prices!, I found ScentMatchers and they were able to duplicate Deneuve, along with a lovely, personalized bottle and offered body lotion and a travel size at a low price to make a nice total package. I would recommend you try them for any fragrance, available or out of production! What a find!!

Ask Stacy about ScentMatchers
heidiz3
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/21/15

I love Sun Moon and Stars, thought I would never find it and wasn't paying what ebay sellers want so I took a chance and ordered a replica. This company not only exceeded my expectations, they surpassed it by having a loyalty program. Don't be afraid, if there is a cologne no longer offered, give them a chance. You won't be disappointed! !!!! I will order again!

Ask Heidi about ScentMatchers
samanthal47
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/20/15

This company is genius! I received a matched scent with my name on it for my birthday of a scent that was discontinued when I was in high school. The scent was spot on and the price unbelievably affordable! This company is truly a treasure!

Ask Samantha about ScentMatchers
janetm53
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/18/15

I received my order today, and I am blown away!
The fragrance is awesome. I will be ordering again, and again!!
Love it!

Ask Janet about ScentMatchers
keithr32
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/16/15

My search is over. I have been looking for a certain fragrance for years now. Well after all the looking, I had run into a website called ScentMatchers. I read everything what the company is all about and what they do. I have to say I was nervous about it, because I didn't know what to expect. Needless to say I went ahead and placed an order for this fragrance I wanted my wife to have. My whole experience through finding the scent, picking the bottle I wanted, and to top it off I got to personalize the bottle for my wife. I had gotten excited about it even more. I was still very curious about the scent. If anyone knew what this fragrance smelled like it would be me. It was one that has stuck out since a long time ago. I had just received it at my house. It was more than I expected and more. Thank you to ScentMatchers. You all deserve a standing O.. My wife And I will For sure be ordering again.

Ask Keith about ScentMatchers
shannone16
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/12/15

My dad has confirmed the smell my mom wore for her honeymoon/wedding (Victoria by Victoria's Secret) that was discontinued! This is amazing, she's going to freak out. Thank you Scentmatchers!

Ask Shannon about ScentMatchers
vickig7
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/11/15

Was suppose to be Frederick's of Hollywood f fragrance didn't have any of the musk or warm spice scents such a let down

Ask vicki about ScentMatchers
lesliel29
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/9/15

I'm so excited to have my perfume back! You did an Awesome job creating it! It's been years since I could get it! People post it selling it for 500 - 600 and used for 300. I will definitely re-order! Thank you so much!

Ask Leslie about ScentMatchers
jank41
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/8/15

Dolce and Gabbana for women was their first fragrance and I wore this scent for years. When the fragrance was discontinued I was so disappointed and could never find anything that I enjoyed as much as that scent. I came across Scentmatchers and thought I would give it a try. My bottle arrived yesterday and it is wonderful. I can't tell any difference between the original and this matching scent. I will purchase again and again. Thank you so much. I liked it so much that I have purchased a bottle of the original Opium for my Mother for Christmas and I have every expectation she will be as thrilled as I am with the experience.

Ask Jan about ScentMatchers
augustb24
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/4/15

The Gucci Nobile that I wore has been discontinued for years. I had looked on Ebay for a replacement bottle only to be shocked by the $400 price. I came across your site and thought I'd give it a try. The product that I received was so close to the Nobile that I couldn't tell a difference. Thank you for the wonderful job you did ! I'm a repeat customer, now purchasing a fragrance that was discontinued a while ago for my new wife. In this day and age of "Just making a quick buck", I appreciate the time and care taken to make the scent that is personal to me. Thank you again! You've made me a customer for life !

Ask August about ScentMatchers
jeffp40
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/27/15

Ordering was easy. Shipping was fast. But my scent does not smell like Yves Rocher's Eryo...I still have some original left and it's CLEARLY two very different smells. I'm even willing to ship the company some original Eryo if it would help match the scent better in the future. Update: I shipped a small sample and they re-did it and sent me a new bottle. As I teach adults for a living; I passed the samples around my classroom and had several people smell them. They are still two very different scents. The new bottle's sprayer broke quickly as well. I won't bother for a refund - just be aware- it not the same as Yves Rocher Eryo.

Ask Jeff about ScentMatchers
glendaw7
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/25/15

I was impressed with the delivery of the bottle itself, and the match of the perfume; was on target. It is nice to be able to wear high ended scents for a fraction of the original cost. KUDOS to scentmatchers I am impressed

Ask glenda about ScentMatchers
kleshettac
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/19/15

My daughter's favorite fragrance was discontinued and she wanted a bottle of it for her upcoming birthday. I found ScentMatchers online and decided to give them a try. My daughter was ecstatic.....she loved the bottle that I had designed and she stated that it
smelled exactly the same. So without a doubt I will be using ScentMatchers for future gifts!!!

Ask kleshetta about ScentMatchers
wesleyt10
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
11/18/15

I ordered a reproduction of the original calvin from 1981 and received it promptly. However my initial impression of the product was too powdery and dissimilar from the original. I notified Scent Matchers and a full refund was given immediately without question and no need to send the product back, just keep it I was told.

A month later I retried the cologne and with several friend and family inputs, I changed my mind and decided to wear the cologne, while not exactly the same, it is still very close and got approval from all who have smelled me wearing the original calvin for the last 34 years!

I notified Scent Matchers of my changed decision and requested they recharge me for the cologne. I received a gracious email confirming my request and a discount offer for my next order.

I am very pleased with the product and the customer service.

Wesley Thompson, Charlotte, NC

Ask Wesley about ScentMatchers
jand47
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/18/15

I have used Spark by Liz since 2003. For some reason they have discontinued this scent. Every perfume site I have visited to try ordering is "out" & I resigned myself to finding a new "favorite" scent. My sister happened upon ScentMatchers and told me about it. I was desperate and went on site, ordered (it is sooooo easy) and within a short time my mailbox was blessed with my 3.4 oz bottle as well as a second bottle on the way! I LOVE IT!! I have been amazed at the responses of the people at ScentMatchers. Every inquiry has been answered almost immediately! This site and it's products are AMAZING! I highly recommend this site and am a dedicated customer from now on! Thank you, ScentMatchers!

Ask Jan about ScentMatchers
jamesg150
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/16/15

This is my fourth order from Scentmatchers in the past year.
I was a long time user of Caswell Massey Aura of Patchouli and was disappointed when they quit making it.
I asked Scentmatchers to make a slight change in the usual mix they send me, by adding a little more patchouli, whatever a little more was--- is perfect!!!!
Thanks so much for accommodating me, I will be a long time customer.
James

Ask james about ScentMatchers
barbarar77
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/2/15

I was shocked to see my favorite perfume, long since discontinued on Scentmatchers and had to try. Baroque from Fragonard purchased in France in 2006 and reordered several times. Then discontinued.
Scentmatchers is very very very close to the original, a bit more cinnamon than I remember but the spicy oriental feel is there. I love it!
I will be reordering.

Ask Barbara about ScentMatchers
kimberlyb37
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/29/15

I was looking for a gift for by best friend's 60th birthday and I remembered that she like Anne Pliska perfume. When I went to Nordstrom's they told me it was not longer in production. I went to my source for all products AMAZON, and they directed me to ScentMatchers. I was pleasantly surprised that the perfume smelled just like Anne Pliska. I really like the option of choosing your own bottle and personalization of the bottle. My friend was ecstatic to have her favorite scent and a personalized bottle. I had a few questions and the customer service was excellent. I will definitely use ScentMatchers again.

Ask Kimberly about ScentMatchers
danaw23
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/25/15

I wore a cologne (Gravel for Men) through the eighties and nineties which was a little hard to find and I never replaced my last bottle. Years later when I looked for it I found that the 1 person who had created and produced it had passed and it was no longer available . I found Scentmatchers and to my surprise I saw that they offered a copy of this cologne. With some trepidation I ordered thinking they couldn't really exactly match the scent. I was very surprised and pleased when my order arrived and they had totally nailed it. It was like being reunited with an old friend. I am very happy with this transaction.

Ask Dana about ScentMatchers
cristinag14
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/24/15

I am thrilled with my ScentMatchers purchase! It was a gift for my mom's birthday. She had been so dissapointed that her favorite scent was discontinued. She even traveled to NY to try and find some. Imagine her delight when she received this scent, made just for her. I may now be her favorite child! Thank you ScentMatchers!!!!

Ask Cristina about ScentMatchers
chriso34
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/23/15

I am so pleased with my perfume New West by Aramis. Customer service was spectacular and I will definitely order again and again.

Ask Chris about ScentMatchers
maureena6
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/20/15

I accidently found this website and thought I would give it a try as I live in Australia think I was taking a bit of a chance. However it paid to give it a go as very happy with my perfume which has many happy memories of my teenage years and my husband remembered it as well. Would be more than happy to advise people to do the same thing, very happy with my decision.

Ask Maureen about ScentMatchers
cheryll30
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/17/15

I have been using this product since October 2012. They have always gone over and above to keep there customers coming back. Thanks to you and all your staff.

Ask Cheryl about ScentMatchers
alaas3
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/12/15

I have asked Scent matchers to duplicate the original Drakkar (before Drakkar Noir). This Drakkar was very popular in the 70s and 80s and was discontinued in the early 90s. Scent matchers worked on reproducing the scent and sent me the product. the result was not matching at all, however, it had a hint of the original Drakkar. I sent them an email stating that I would be willing to work with them and send them a sample until we get it right. I am glad to say that Scent matchers worked with me until they got the scent very similar to Drakkar original, they even sent me a replacement for free to replace the product that I was not happy about. I am so pleased with the level of the prompt customer service, the professionalism and the outstanding skills and service, I have received. First class team and product and honorable people. I am their customer for life and I also ordered fragrance oil and perfume of the original Drakkar. Cannot wait to try it on.

Tip for consumers: my advise if you are not pleased for any reason is to contact the most wonderful customer service manager, She is very responsive.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Alaa about ScentMatchers

36 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the ScentMatchers staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
2 minutes ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
1 week ago
Answer
adams81
A: Hi, one of our customers ordered Woods reproduction. Please check their review here: http://www.sitejabber.com/reviews/www.scentmatchers.com#92
1 week ago
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See more Q&A
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the ScentMatchers staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?
×
Have a question about
ScentMatchers?
Post Review