SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

RocketLawyer reviews

69 reviews
9%
Tel: +41.57386337
webadmin@rocketlawyer.com

69 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

robertw89

Never a fee charged to my credit card and an nice email thanking me for my time in visiting their site, etc. (in 20 reviews)

pissedo13

but monthly charge is bad when I forgot this service. (in 19 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

jimn24
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/22/15

Scam artists is my term for RocketLawyer. Mom is 96 and I needed a Power of Attorney form. They boast, "We invite anyone to come make one document for free." I did. Then mom started getting charged $39 a month.

Tip for consumers: Don't

Service
Quality
Ask Jim about RocketLawyer
richb23
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/19/15

The lead-in on the internet said, "100 % Free" and it named the form I wanted. 100 % FREE! I answered all the interview questions and when I got to the end, I had to enter my credit card before I could get my form! Now, I'm no lawyer, but, to me, that's not 100 % free. If that's the definition of "free" to these guys, they must have graduated from MORON lawyer school. You know, I think it's lawyers that give lawyers a bad name.

Tip for consumers: RUN!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Rich about RocketLawyer
jimr54
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/18/15

I had contacted Rocket Lawyer in 2014 regarding landlord rights. I did receive the answer to my questions along with forms that I had printed. The problem is however, that since June of 2015, Rocket Lawyer has been charging me $39.95 each month until now. Shame on me for not catching it sooner. I contacted my bank, who investigated my claim and found that the charge was fraudulent. I'm in the process of filing for the additional months and contacting the MA Attorney Generals office. In my opinion, the credit card number that was charged each month was entered at Rocket Lawyer. I will not use this site again. Should I have the need to inquire or obtain legal advice in the future, I'll try Legal Zoom.

Tip for consumers: Keep track of what you're being charged particularly if you order online.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Jim about RocketLawyer
cameronk18
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/8/15

Rocket Lawyer. For the cost of a real lawyer on retainer - 90% you can have this service. The idiots who are reviewing at 1 star have no idea how amazingly cheap this service is. I got a Cease and Desist letter, Patent, Incorporation, General Services contract, you name it, at my finger tips and customized by answering a few questions. The people leaving 0 reviews have no idea as to what a real lawyer to craft such documents would cost and verified with the proper wording. Sorry folks, but as a business owner this company is a life saver, and those leaving 1 stars have really no concept as to what legal fees really do cost to draft these documents. 5 STARS!

Tip for consumers: Understand that this site provides a service of crafting legal documents that they hold as lock tight. If you do this often, this service is priceless. If you only need 1 document, go find one on the internet, customize it and bring it to a lawyer who will charge you 110.00 for 30 minutes of your time to look over it and then you will save yourself some money.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask cameron about RocketLawyer
monaj5
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/5/15

I found Rocket Lawyer on google search engine. I went straight away to creating document by clicking the link. At the end before I could print off the document, it required to enter payment info. And I had a look and so sure the amount being charged was $0. I didn't see anything about trail membership or other options regarding any memberships. (* they might have changed the interface or setting at the backstage anytime they like. Who would know?). But I am sure I wasn't presented to any choices of memberships or monthly fee before I submit my payment info. It was 12/31/2014. On 1/3/2015, I was shocked to see $99 was charged by Rocket Lawyer. I didn't receive any invoices, no receipt either, no email regarding what this payment for. I logged in to the account they created for me (I received email and was told they created an account for me to store my document after I submitted payment info, but nothing about fee and membership). So I found out my account was set to a monthly payment membership, which cost $40 per month. So I quickly downgraded it. But no way to remove the account and payment info.

Tip for consumers: Stay away from these scammers.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Mona about RocketLawyer
carriew20
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/30/14

free trial means it will charge you month by month and without any notification, never try it's just terrible.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask carrie about RocketLawyer
chadp8
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/28/14

The best you are going to get with this site is a $40 document review. When I signed up, I thought I was getting at least a document review with my free trial. Nope - just as expected from hell hole that is San Francisco, you don't get much for free. $40 is the monthly rate and even then it's terrible. All I could get was a document review. A simple question of mine could not be answered because the lawyer I was put into contact with independent contract lawyer stated that my monthly membership was outside of the scope for Rocket Lawyer and wanted money upfront. What's even pissed me off even more was when I complained about this to Rocket Lawyer, they cancelled my membership and that was it. No refund, no response.

Tip for consumers: Don't bother with this site. It's just another startup that will fail and the greedy lawyers just want money to pay for their student loans and $3000 monthly closet.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Chad about RocketLawyer
ruthd10
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/21/14

This is a scam to get your credit card. I worked on the draft for at least 10 hours under the "free trial," went to print it, Rocket Lawyer demanded a credit card that you can "cancel at any time," now the draft (which I saved throughout the whole process, is gone. Not starting over--just canceling card.

Tip for consumers: Do not use this site.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Ruth about RocketLawyer
aurin
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/10/14

Shortly after visiting RocketLawyer website and setting up a profile, my yahoo email account was compromised. I would advise anyone needing online legal documents to go in a different direction. I highly suggest you do not create a profile.

peterf42
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/9/14

It seems nearly all of the negative reviewers didn't bother to read what I saw very clearly. Use your head - any "free" website asking for a credit card will always have some sort of automatic billing that you need to back out of after a trial period, just like your "free" HBO/Showtime Comcast/Xfinity deals; they expire, then your bill goes up because you forgot, too bad, so sad. So what I did after saving and printing my form, which I always have free access to whether I pay or not, just like they promise, I "downgrade" my subscription immediately. No fuss, no muss, no bill. Don't blame this website for nailing you later for not reading what you agreed to.

Tip for consumers: READ THE INSTRUCTIONS - It's not free unless you cancel before SEVEN DAYS.

Value
Quality
Ask Peter about RocketLawyer
jazzym
2 reviews
62 helpful votes
11/21/14

Definitely do not give your credit card as that is a scam to bill it. There is s loop-hole though to getting a document made and not having to give them your credit card. When it tries to collect your number, just quit. Do the document, get to the finish, add you login/email info...but don't complete the CC part. In a few minutes you'll get an email with a link to your document. You can't copy and paste but you can download a pdf version. Open the pdf in Gimp or Photoshop and white out the spam at the bottom of the pages. Save each page as a jpg image, then use imagemagic (free) to combine the jpgs back into a pdf. Actually not hard- I did a five page loan agreement all told in under 30 minutes.

Tip for consumers: Your credit card WILL be charged in all cases.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Jazzy about RocketLawyer
mikeg95
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/10/14

Beware the 7 day free trial is a scam to automatically charge your credit card . I was automatically charged $39.95 and when I asked for a refund the company refereed to the terms and agreement (small print ). Very disappointed because the site is easy and user friendly and if I needed the service in the future I would of paid but the way they scam you out of a monthly fee is deceiving and not necessary for a reputable company .

Tip for consumers: Beware of the FRED trial offer .

Ask Mike about RocketLawyer
susanm92
1 review
8 helpful votes
11/2/14

I signed up for a 7-day trial and then decided that I did not want to use this service. Of course, they ask for credit card information just to try out the service, which is something I generally will not do, but I really wanted to see what this service could do. I tried logging into my account, but it would not accept my credentials. I tried having a password reset, but that feature would not work. So, I sent an email to RocketLawyer stating that I wanted to cancel. I did all of this to make sure I would not be charged anything. Now, there's a charge on my credit card that I am disputing. I think this company is scamming people.

at377
1 review
18 helpful votes
9/18/14

If I could but negative star I would. I have been fighting with them because they are taking 39.99 out of my account every month. I have 3 emails and they all day that there is no record and they don't know why I am being charged but they still continue. I will be going to the BBC. This is ridiculous. I am so frustrated with this company and its employees. Stay away!!! Far far away. They with scam you out of money and play dumb.

Tip for consumers: Stay away!!! Scam.

Service
Value
Ask A about RocketLawyer
michaels210
1 review
11 helpful votes
9/15/14

Patent applications are not documents but forms to them, which they don't tell you in the first place. So they are not elligible under the On Call Benefits...
Rip Off.

Tip for consumers: Patent applications are not documents but forms to them, which they don't tell you in the first place. So they are not elligible under the On Call Benefits...

Service
Value
Ask Michael about RocketLawyer
paulr89
1 review
12 helpful votes
8/20/14

I will never use this service again, I lost nearly 600$ hundred dollars; I actually spent less money by searching the internet for my own attorney. And another $400 on the attorney. $1000 for what could have cost me $400.

Tip for consumers: Use google and find a real attorney, two hours of the attorney's time less than 400$ vs 2 months of my time on Rocketlawyer and about 600$ lost.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Paul about RocketLawyer
patb39
1 review
15 helpful votes
8/4/14

All I wanted was one of their "free" forms, what I got was months of debits to my credit card. The best advice I can offer is run away from these cretins, they are at best scammers and at worst criminals. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD NUMBER, BETTER YET, DON'T EVEN GO TO THEIR SITE. Just going to their site will require that you take a shower just to get the slime off. Heed the advice of all of us that have been ripped off, STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!

leeb36
1 review
11 helpful votes
8/3/14

Allows you to create a "Free document" then at the last page before the document is ready, they ask you to register, so they can send you emails, and you lose the document completely. Don't waste your time. Run away.
There are better alternatives out there.

crystalw9
1 review
9 helpful votes
7/29/14

Would not refund my money after I was unaware of being billed. My "account" screen has no record of my credit card information, dates or amounts billed, and I never received any receipts that they claimed to email me. I am reporting them to the BBB.

kkm
1 review
8 helpful votes
7/16/14

They wasted my time, by showing no information about that at the end they will ask my credit card information. I wasted my time creating a document I could not get unless I pay them $60 or give my credit card information.
Did not like business practices.

joang9
1 review
8 helpful votes
7/14/14

If you do an internet search Rocket Lawyer comes up with the results. The reason I chose to go with them was the word "FREE". Yeah not true. You go through the whole filling of files, forms etc and then you get a message "you can try for 1 month free and then your "credit card" will be charged after the month. I would have been happy to pay about $3.00 for this document but that was not an option. This

ss99
1 review
8 helpful votes
7/6/14

I read a couple reviews of the best online software for creating living trusts and Rocket Lawyer came highly recommended. However, when I went to the site I couldn't figure out how many forms to fill out for a living trust and power of attorney so I chose 2 of them and spent an hour or two answering the questions. When I finished I could not retrieve the documents and could not see them until I provided my credit card information for a free one-week trial. It also indicated after the one-week monthly trial I would be charged a monthly fee. I don't want continuing service. I really only wanted to create a legal living trust and durable power of attorney document. After reading other user's reviews I think I will shop elsewhere.

elizabethw32
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/23/14

In order to ask a question you have a very limited space in which to ask (700 characters) my question was a little complicated so I was unable to really explain it with that limitation, but I did my best condensing it. They were supposed to be fast with their answers but a couple days later there was still nothing, so I ended up cancelling the membership and going on justanswers.com and paid for a QUICK and detailed response. Then tonight I FINALLY got an answer on rocket lawyer. It was the worst answer ever, the guy didn't understand anything I was asking, which I partly blame on their limit of 700 characters and partly on the fact that the guy didn't seem like he really even read the whole thing. This company is awful, don't waste your time.

kk51
1 review
6 helpful votes
5/6/14

I too had trouble with site. I couldn't find the place to cancel on the site. Says first doc. Is free but beware as is you don't cancel before 7 th day you will be charged 39.99 regardless of only doing one doc. I disputed unsuccessfully and will be watching closely for future charges. Stay away from this site.

andreaw15
1 review
8 helpful votes
5/1/14

Charged my credit card for 5 months even though I never gavethem my card number. They would not tell me the email account which signed me up for their "services". Had to have Bank of America fraud division investigate this matter. They are a scam.

jamesd93
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
4/30/14

This website is a total scam. They purposefully obfuscate your account/billing information, making it impossible to remove/change your credit card information once they have it as well as see when you will be billed again. I will end up having to dispute the charges with my CC company. Absolutely shameful and unscrupulous business practices, even worse behavior than pornography websites.

daryl-dmoneyg
4 reviews
8 helpful votes
4/25/14

Best staff ever! Very attentive. Any services offered for Corps and business structuring are actually done by real people.

davidm182
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
4/21/14

RocketLawyer.com is a scam. Their 877 number is a waste of time as nobody answers. RefundRequest@RocketLawyer first responded after about one week of my first e-mail. Then, they referred me to my credit card company. I requested a complete record of my account and intend to move my grievance forward. RocketLawyer is doomed for failure based on their ongoing illegitimate business practices. Don't waste your time and money with Rocket Lawyer.

macd9
4 reviews
8 helpful votes
4/6/14

total scam. they are not legit and totally dishonorable in how they do business. do not sing up for anything.

robertw89
1 review
11 helpful votes
4/4/14

Despite all the other negative reviews, I signed up on Rocket Lawyer in need of a Form for Selling a piece of property. It was easy to use and completed my sale. Before the 8 days, I went in and cancelled using the drop down menu that they instruct you to use to end your subscription. Very user friendly and extremely easy to use. It was cancelled immediately. Never a fee charged to my credit card and an nice email thanking me for my time in visiting their site, etc. I think most people just don't take the time to read, don't cancel in time and then end~up getting charged. My advice: Read the fine print & follow the cancel instructions.

ericw38
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/28/14

This is a horrible site. The forms are impossible to use and it's impossible to downgrade after the "free" trial, they keep billing you even after you cancel. Total scam artists. Had to open a CC dispute.

emilyw22
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/23/14

Total scam. Offers "free trial" with nowhere to cancel free trial. When you select free trial it also does not inform you that you will be billed a couple days later a ridiculous amount of money. Terrible customer service... They won't answer the phone or return emails promptly. They will then use fine print to justify their scam. Dishonest website.

angieh9
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/14/14

Total scam. Don't sign up for the free trial. You will not be able to speak to a real human being. they'll just throw you in circles.

scottw45
1 review
8 helpful votes
3/9/14

Awful experience regarding getting legal help (got run around), and trying to cancel (not yet done successfully).
Scam - will be fighting them with creditcard.

heatherc22
1 review
8 helpful votes
2/19/14

Free trial is a scam. I went onto site after 6 days and 'downgraded' there was no place to actually hit 'cancel'. I was still charged $35.95 for one month. Tried to call 877 number to dispute, was on hold for 27 minutes, no one picked up. I also emailed my complaint, never heard back. Stay away from this company, there is ZERO customer service, free trial is not free and and they will charge you.

timb50
1 review
6 helpful votes
2/15/14

Like so many others, I wanted one "free" form. It cost me $80 for a simple loan document. Total scam.

momi9
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/12/14

Tried the site for a Quit Claim form. Seemed easy enough to input my info...but at the end the form printed wrong (names were in wrong place!) so I couldn't use it. Ended up going to Office Max for a paper form. I cancelled my plan...Then they STILL CHARGED ME. I called to have them refund my money, she said she does show that I cancelled before the week free trial was up, but now I had to send an email stating that I require a refund, with all the details etc. Bad Experience with RocketLawer.

dn14
1 review
6 helpful votes
2/10/14

Rocket Lawyer automatically charged my checking account just under $300 to renew a generally worthless membership. Not realizing that they would automatically renew, I downgraded my account immediately and requested a refund. After the first e-mail, I received a response saying that I needed to direct my complaint to a refund-specific address, which I then did. Four additional e-mails and two and a half weeks later, I have still not received any response.

I am not normally one to complain, and if there was a mistake made on my part to cause the automatic withdrawal I would certainly have accepted that and dealt with it. However, they have made absolutely no attempt to contact me or to resolve this issue. Absolutely poor.

This is also not the first time that I have received no response from Rocket Lawyer. Though they were generally useful in helping me form my first LLC, they completely ignored my questions regarding forming another. Of course, my current situation is a lot more frustrating, as they have $300 in charges that I anticipate having to dispute very soon.

davidr81
1 review
5 helpful votes
2/6/14

Wasted over an hour typing my information into the "free" template, only to discover that it wasn't free at all!

Don't waste your time or money on these clowns.

williamh66
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
2/4/14

What everyone else is saying about Rocket Lawyer is 100% true. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR TRIAL. Better yet, google other legit sites to get legal assistance or documents.

tadh90
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/25/14

All that was written so far in previous reviews is 100% accurate. Without parroting others, I'd say this: THEY ARE SCAMMERS!!! STAY AWAY.

barby1
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/25/14

I, too, tested a Trial Subscription in May of 2013. I NEVER signed up for an ongoing subscription. Without warning, Rocket Lawyer started charging me $39.95/month. It took me a few months to discover this (OK, I'm not on top of my business accounting the way I should be). I emailed Support demanding a refund and all I got was a generic email saying this;

Thank you for using Rocket Lawyer for your legal needs. This message confirms that you have been downgraded to a Free Membership and will not be billed in the future.

While some of the legal documents that offer are helpful, just BEWARE that their Free Trial is a bait and switch!

I guess I need a lawyer to go after Rocket Lawyer. What a joke.

johnk103
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/23/14

Like so many reviewers, I tried what was advertised on the RL web site as a free will download and discovered three months later they had charged my credit card $39.95 each month. They are a scam outfit with no integrity. I wish I had seen this web site before I used them.

jewelm5
1 review
5 helpful votes
1/16/14

I cancelled my account on the seventh day after I signed up on 1/3/14. I was still charged the $39.95 subscription fee even though I cancelled my subscription during the 7-Day free period. I sent an email to their refund request department and I received a responses stating:

“We show that a 7 Day Free Trial was started on 1/3/2014. When that account was not downgraded during that trial period (which included the day of sign up,) per the agreed upon terms of the trial, the account entered the paid Legal Plan on 1/10/2014. Please note that this account is confirmed downgraded as of 1/10/2014. Unfortunately this account is not eligible for a refund. To avoid billing charges you must downgrade your account in advance of your billing date.”

Essentially, I really only had six days to cancel since Rocket Lawyer considers the day you sign up as the first day. However, nowhere in the terms & conditions does it say that the free subscription begins the day one signs up. One would think that “7 Day Free Trial” means that one has to cancel their subscription within a week.

I contacted my bank (Wells Fargo) and they disputed this situation for me since was sent on the runaround at Rocket Lawyer and no one would respond to my emails or facebook posts. I was supposed to receive a phone call from Kendall in the accounting department at Rocket Lawyer and I never received the phone call. I sent to emails to them and they never responded. I posted on their facebook wall and they deleted my comments and BLOCKED me from commenting. My comments were not bad either. I was simply agreeing with other customers that had a similar experience. It looks like they delete any negative comments so they look like a “hero.”

I had a TERRIBLE experience with this company. Considering the other comments on yelp, it appears many others had the same experience. Be ware of this company. It appears they generate revenue by scamming customers into subscribing to their free trial only to charge the $39.95 fee anyhow. Luckily, my bank disputed the charge and recovered my $39.95—Thanks Wells Fargo.

It’s no wonder there is distrust with businesses nowadays. This company really causes Americans to lose trust in U.S. companies. It is very unfortunate. Rocket Lawyer, you should do us Americans a favor and restructure your unethical business model and stop charging hardworking Americans fees on cancelled subscriptions. If you’re going to be a capitalistic corporation, at least conduct your company with integrity.

williamp38
1 review
6 helpful votes
1/8/14

password doesn't work. email followup is nil. billing department can only be contacted by email, which is a joke. cancelled after one billing - we'll see if that works.

bobn15
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/7/14

This is a white collar scam. They make you believe you can get something for free but then you can't cancel and when you call they still don't cancel and the only recourse is to cancel your credit card. Do not use, tell your friends and family. I don't know how they sleep at night.

ashleyh31
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/18/13

Minus ten, frauds and scamm, I have had to change my bank cards! They have been billing two of my bank cards for three months and I just found out. This is advertised as free legal documents. I knew nothing about signing up for a service, it said they needed a dollar for something I don't remember that's how they get you're card number to defraud you. Cannot get through to their customer service and the passwords don't work. That's how they got me on two cards..

dickw18
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/4/13

They get you all sucked in with a FREE advertisement but then bill you $33 bucks a month. Don't patronize jerks like this. I would consider signing up for future documents had they given me my first free. They seem easy to use. Rocket Lawyer here is a tip....fire your marketing manager, they are costing you business. Have a document charge of $5.00 or so. My dog could do a better job with more ideas that your people have. That being said, they are lawyers, hence they look for ways to screw people. If you know that ..go ahead.

ritag6
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/26/13

No star at all was not an option. DO NOT USE! I needed just one form and was suckered into a membership and charged for several months before I realized it. They would not refund the charges. It is a SCAM.

jackg25
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/25/13

SCAMMM!!! They will charge you 39.95 per month if you download a single document. Good luck with trying to cancel it. You are at the mercy of there system as to whether you cancelled it or not. Pay attention to your card charges because that will be the ONLY indication that anything is going on. No ongoing emails such as "we just charged your card." STAY AWAY!!!

1 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the RocketLawyer staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
Q: Has anyone had a good experience with the lawyer referral service?
6/11/13
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the RocketLawyer staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?