SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

QuiBids reviews

857 reviews
19%
Categories: Penny Auction
4 NE 10th St., Suite 242
Oklahoma City, OK 73104, USA
Tel: (405) 253-2038
support@quibids.com

857 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

mattl38

My advice: Try it ONLY if you have money to burn and you really don't care if you lose it – like at a Casino. (in 372 reviews)

lloydm

This "person" could have bought this item using "Buy Now" at least 5-6 times over. (in 424 reviews)

ronm45

I, too, paid $60 for the original 100 bids and won $75 in gift cards and won a kitchen appliance valued at over $120. (in 65 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

benr3
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
3/8/11

Folks, I'm not going to write a long review. Unless you are prepared to buy something at full price, STAY AWAY! Its simple to lure people in with the win of an inexpensive item, then you feel like you can win more just by spending more money. I don't think you can. Remember this... these people have found a way to get 2x or 3x the value of an item. Im sure the government will shut them down soon enough.... they hate competition. :)

bcb
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/6/11

The operators of Quibids are printing money with this site. Is this the new Mafia money machine?
Not enough variety and too many bidders for any one item. You can get lucky and buy something for a penny (just like slot machines) but most people keep bidding and then lose out.
I was following an auction for an Apple Ipad and the price kept climbing to a somewhat high price of $43.00. That might not sound like much but at $0.60 per 1 cent increment, that works out to to over $2,500 dollars for Quibids for a $700 item. As I watch, the price is still climbing.
Every person who bid on this lost money and only one person will win the Ipad.
I feel sorry for those who get caught up in this game.
Can I buy stock in this company? It is more profitable than porn.

adamo
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/6/11

I personally love the site, you just can't be stupid with your bids. I started by by bidding on gift cards that came with free bids on top of that. A $25 Walmart gift card with 20 extra bids for $0.03 is simply a steal. Sure it took me 10-15 bids to understand what to look for and go after. The simple secrets to the site is start small and just figure you will never ever get an ipad for $15 so its pointless to bid on it. also don't bid on things that have a lot of people bidding on it because you will lose. BE RESPONSIBLE and you will love it!

ashleyg2
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/6/11

FREE REGISTRATION IS NOT FREE ON THIS WEBSITE! they have a pre-checked box when u register "the purchase is made unintentionally" According to Quibids "support".....They also only give you 103 bids (AKA $1.00) for $60 BASICALLY TRICKING you into thinking it's a free dollar worth of bids to explore their site. THEN AFTER YOU CHECK YOUR BANK ACCOUNT AND REALIZE YOU HAVE OVER DRAFTED they proceed in telling you that because the bids I "unintentionally purchased" were used and now they can't refund me. SCAM ALERT SCAM ALERT!

jacobs6
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/6/11

This site is NOT a scam. The scam is the United States Education System failing SO MANY consumers out there and defrauding them of real life know how so that they don't get screwed on bidding sites such as Quibids.

I've won quite a few auctions on this site, from headphones, to 2.1 sound systems, all the way to a 12" Subwoofer that retails at $400 MSRP.... The problem, is that people don't bother to understand this site... They don't bother to research it. They just see a bunch of counters in red lettering going down to almost 0 and they're all thinking "OMG I must bid on this item now!!! It's such a steal!!!" No, stop that. Quibids definitely is a cash cow for the operators, it really is, BUT, this site can also save you a good amount of cash if you know how to work the system. Please pay attention, as I will outline how to better navigate the Quibids site and not be burned by the "Too good to be true" offers.

1. Just because it says an iPad is currently being sold for $9.82, that doesn't (and almost never does) mean that the iPad will actually sell for that much.... This site utilizes a clock reset function, meaning that anytime ANYONE places a bid, it will reset the clock to either 20/15/10 seconds (all depending on the current bid price of the item).
2. PLEASE don't bid on a "High Ticket" item, i.e. a 55" LED TV, unless you are A.) Hoping to get lucky and you'll only use a few bids or B.) Actually plan on buying a TV similar to or exactly like the TV up for bid, and are willing to pay full retail price for the item.

Case and point for the above reason:

I wanted a 12" Boston Acoustics subwoofer for my home theater system, and I go on Quibids from time to time to see what type of items are currently on bid, and what will be on bid for the next few days. Typically I'm disappointed or well out of my price range, however, this last time that I checked, they had the exact item that I was looking for. So, since I now know that they have an item that I'm seriously interested in, I did my research on what it's retailing for at other sites/stores, and Quibids isn't too far off the price when it talks about your savings.

**BE AWARE, I'm fairly sure that they put the retail price at what the item first went on the market to be sold at**

Now with my research complete and feeling satisfied with paying full retail price if I had to, I went to Quibids ready to bid until I either won, or until my bid rebate reached the product's full price and then I'd just "Buy it Now". This is the most efficient way to use Quibids to your advantage if you don't have a lot of time to compile statistics and data charts (as some people have done). So, I bought a few bid packs at $60, put on the Bid-O-Matic, and put on my patience act. Plenty of bidders will come and go, but if you stick to it, keep firm to your item that you'd like instead of getting discouraged, this will increase your chances of winning the item for less than if you bought it at full retail price.

With that being said, people can and do get lucky at this site, but with any "gambling" application, the odds are stacked against you. Now I did end up winning the auction for the subwoofer, but I had to put up 244 bids to finally wear out the competition. Even with that many bids going toward just 1 item, I ended up saving $130 off the final retail price, and that includes all the bid packs purchased/final auction price/and shipping.

You can "win" at this site, and make Quibids work for you by getting great discounts on items that you were already planning to buy, or, you can get lucky (but the odds, again, are against you).

As other reviewers have mentioned, this site is a cash cow, and indeed if you do the math, it's raking in money hand over fist. However, it's not a scam, and you need to understand it before you lash out against it with such claims.

I'm personally for Quibids because even though I've been burned in the past by the site, I took the time to research it, study it, and understand how to make the system work to my advantage. I'd urge others to do the same if there's anything on that site that you'd actually consider buying, and wouldn't mind paying full retail price in the first place. If you have that mindset, I can almost guarantee you that you'll get more satisfaction out of this site than you're currently getting. You'll find that when you do win an auction and clear the bid for less than what you intended to pay, you'll be the happiest person in the world. On the flip side, if you don't win, you still can get the item that you want and buy it as if it was a normal day at the dept. store.

I look at the site as an opportunity to POSSIBLY get discounts on good items. Some people view it as a plague that steals your money. The difference between the groups? Know-how.

To sum this up, and to end this novel of a review, just do your research. This site is actually a good deal for both the site and the consumer if you know what you're doing. But if you're just hoping to win a big ticket item and pay next to nothing for it, dream on. You'd have a better chance of stealing the item from your local Wal-Mart

adama3
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/5/11

Quibids is a waste of your money. They show high priced items before you sign up selling for pennys on the dollar and then you sign up and pay for bids and you do not have the opportunity to bid on those items. Save the time.

mariad4
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/5/11

I received an email from Quibid,, & was amazed @ these deals, I rushed into it & sign-up,, right before I entered my creditcard info, I opened a new pg,, for Quibid reviews,, & thank God I did,, it looked like a scam,,& I'm petty sure it is,,, thanks to all those reviews I realize what this site was all about,, & for those who approve of this site; they can keep making their cash of from you, unless ofcourse you are an employee, is the only way anyone would approve of such ripoff,,thanks again to all those warning reviews about Quibid,, they'll never know my creditcard ## & I'll let every know about this site,,, the heck I'll even post a warning on my social network pg...again thanks!!!

solb1
42 reviews
145 helpful votes
3/3/11

My experiment is complete. My initial 100-bid purchase plus all of the shipping / handling charges totaled $83. I won three $25 and one $50 gift cards for a total of $125 in value. So I came out $42 ahead. I have already received two of the gift cards so I'm sure I will receive the others as well. From what I can see, there are no bots, shills, etc. The bidding seems very human-like with both reckless and careful bidding practices.

The business model is brilliant and the company can profit handsomely without resorting to illegal practices. As long as the company stays honest, and delivers the products they sell, they are really not doing anything wrong other than preying on credulous people. The only thing which may be skirting the line of legality is the advertising (i.e. "$700 Ipad sold for $1.35!"). Although this is technically true there may be some aggressive Attorneys General that may not like it since it is not representative of the results of most users.

The auction process seems very fair with a lot of competition on higher value auctions. To those who think that someone who bids more than the item value at $0.60/bid is crazy, remember that after many auctions, someone may have built up hundreds of free or low cost bids so their cost per bid may be much less than yours.

The process is explained fully in the help and FAQs if they are read in full. It is easy to overlook the little sections about "real bids" being used first, voucher bids having no "buy-it-now" value, how the bid-o-matic works, the additional charges, and so on; but it is all spelled out there in surprisingly easy to understand language.

The website actually seems very well thought out and advanced. I have not had any persistent clock problems, just a few minor glitches and skipping but to be expected with the high traffic the site receives. Every bid that I place went through as expected.

A few things irritate me about the experience - the excessive handling fees on voucher auctions, the "real bids" being used first, the worthless search box, and the high shipping fees (although anyone who ever paid $10 for shipping on Ebay when the item came with $1 in postage had the same experience). But several things worked well including the watch list and real-time bid count. Some little things like the free bids when earning badges were nice. The sheer number of auctions works in the bidder's favor as well since it can prevent reckless bidding due to the fear of missing out...there will always be another similar auction very soon.

Overall I had a positive experience but I will issue this warning: Pardon the CAPS but I need to stress this point - DO NOT BID ON ANY HIGH-VALUE ITEMS. YOU WILL NOT WIN! You will end up coming to Sitejabber and complaining about cheats, bots, shills, scams, etc. when in reality you were bidding against hundreds of other people trying to win the same item. Remember that after you and twenty others may have spent thousands of bids in total on one item, and you think many are all but out of bids, a new group of people may come and start a fresh bidding war on that item. Since there is no time limit on any auction, this can go on indefinitely, especially for high-value items.

So your chance of winning a high-value item is virtually nil. Conversely, by using some logic and intuition it is quite feasible to win a large number of lower priced items (generally $25 - $50 gift cards) and come out ahead. I would advise you to bid on items that come with free bids so as to refresh your bid inventory at no cost. Occasionally you may want to bid on voucher auctions but remember that you will be paying real cash in the final auction price plus handling fees to win something that may not have any real value in the end.

Finally, you should probably only bid on items that you need or gift cards for stores that you regularly shop in. There is no point in winning an AMC gift card if you never go to the movies. Also the $10 cards probably are not a good deal as after factoring in the auction price, the cost of the bids, and the shipping / handling charges it is difficult to come out that much ahead. Figure on using 50-75 bids to win a $25-$50 gift card auction. Counting the beginner auction, the voucher wins, and the bids that came attached to won auctions, my average cost per bid was about 20 cents so winning the gift card should cost between $10-$15 so overall you have a reasonable chance of coming out ahead.

The concept repeated on this site repetitively is that you should wait to the last second to bid. This is a holdover from EBay in which the last and highest bidder before the clock runs out is the winner. On Quibids, bidding at 1 second left or at 9 seconds left does absolutely the same thing; the clock gets reset to 10, 15, or 20 seconds and the last bidder is the winner. I found it best to bid immediately after I was outbid. I ended up in the same place as the high bidder, and it showed my aggressiveness to other bidders and may have contributed to my relative success in the auctions I participated in. I participated in 6 auctions ($25-$50 value) and won five so maybe the strategy works.

Remember – You are not bidding in an auction. You are buying tokens @ $0.60 each to play in a game of chance and skill with prizes for the winner and nothing for the losers. It is possible to increase your chance of winning by using strategy, but at the end of the day it is like Blackjack in which a skilled player can increase his overall winning percentage but not eliminate the role of chance or just a plain old bad hand.

I cannot repeat this enough - DO NOT BID ON ANY HIGH-VALUE ITEMS. YOU WILL NOT WIN! Stick to the lower value items.

I hope this review is helpful to all those currently using or considering using Quibids. I welcome any comments or questions.

winstonf
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/2/11

Stay away from this site, definitely a SCAM!!! They make you think you're bidding in 1 cent increments but it's actually costing you $0.60 per bid. And unlike ebay where you know exactly what time each auction will end, quibids keep on going, and going...raking in your money. Believe me, you'll spend $60.00 and end up with nothing but disappointment and regret. There must be a way to shut down this scam site.

lorenl2
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/2/11

Like so many others I got hooked into the idea of a more direct live auction and something other than ebay. They do advertise that their items sell for say 44 cents for an iPod. Given that they only give you 60 cents credit per dollar, you lose money the minute you sign up. I started by buying a $60 credit and started bidding on an ipod touch. I quickly realized that my 60 bucks was going nowhere and got out of that auction. I then realized that I should use my remaining money to my advantage and started bidding on a mini-camcoder listed at $56 (Flip MinoHD Camcorder to be exact) because it was cheaper than Amazon had it and I figured if I lost all my money on the bidding, I could at least apply it to the purchase price. When all was said and done, I still got the camera for about what I would have paid most places (and more than other places for sure) but I might have paid a lot less on ebay. I consider it a wash. I could have gone to Best Buy and enjoyed a day of shopping for the same money! GRRRRRR!
Bottom line - Terrible! Don't waste time or money. Make sure you know what you're getting into before you start! Even then...good luck! We'll see if they actually deliver the camera in a timely fashion.

solb
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/1/11

I have been reading about Quibids and other penny auction sites for several weeks now. Under the assumption that there are no bots, shills, software scams etc, (Maybe not a great asumption but I had to start somewhere) I determined that the only way to come out ahead would be bidding on bidpacks and by winning many small auctions of gift cards to stores that I shop at anyway.

I started by buying the 100 bids plus 10 bonus and then won a 25 Bid beginners auction for 1 bid, a 25 bid pack for which I used 25 of my existing bids (and then used buy it now - total cost $2.60). Then I won two $25 gift cards for 1 bid each.

Total cost so far was $68.62 and I have two $25 gift cards coming so I am net out of pocket $18.62. One more gift card win and I will come out ahead. I also have 147 bids left.

It seems that IF I actually receive the gift cards and IF they actuall work, there may be a way to actually make something here by sticking to the small stuff. And again, I bid for giftcards at stores where I regularly shop. I will absolutely not bid in any auction of high-priced goods - that is the quick way to lose money.

Has anyone had an overall positive experience just consistently trying to win the smaller items?

dianes10
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/1/11

Not to be hacknied but it is what it is. I knew what I was getting into but as it played out in real time, I was annoyed at having to devote so much time to win something. I can see if you stick to you and don't mind buying a hefty pack of bids upfront you could get some deals. I just didn't enjoy the experience so I bought enough $10 and $15 gift cards to cover my costs and maybe $25 additional and said adios.

harsha1
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/28/11

Total rip-off. Lots of hidden charges. You will end up spending much more than the price of the item and even then there is no guarantee that you will win anything.

bobr5
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/28/11

I don't understand all the negative reviews for quibids. I do understand that if you purchase bids and decide to blow all of them in one auction, and don't win, you'll have a crappy experience, but that's nobody's fault but your own.

First of all, this site is mostly for entertainment, like playing the lottery. Every time you throw down a bid you're gambling away 60 cents of your money. You must understand this going in and the site has plenty of information that explains how the auctions work and encourages you to start out in beginner auctions so you can get a feel for how everything operates.

I recommend people read all the info on the site and watch the auctions before signing up and purchasing bids. It's your money, so why rush into this.

I have only entered a couple of auctions, winning a $25 gift card to Home Depot for about a dollar and a Jawbone II bluetooth earpiece for 80 cents. I only bid twice in each of those, so add the $1.20 I spent on bids. It was clearly a steal. I have yet to bid on any big ticket items like a plasma screen tv or an iPad, as I'm sure those are a bit more competitive, but my experience so far has been positive. And no, I'm not a quibids employee.

eddiec2
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/27/11

Just for those who haven't stopped to think that the organizers of this bidding site haven't thought it out themselves, just take this into consideration. If the item you bid on, a vacuum for example, is sold for $60.00, at .60 a bid, it brought in $3600.00, after they pay the $450 (probably less as they by in bulk), they have profited over $3200 on a $450 dollar investment. A comparison would be your gas station buying a gallon of gas for $3.00 and selling it to you for $24. Ya just gotta be savvy when bidding or you will be losing your butt. If you can't afford to take a loss once in awhile, then don't get involved.

marshaj
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/26/11

I am very careful when bidding. I don't bid on high priced items. I have won many gift cards over 50.00 for no more than 15 bids each which is only 9.00 from the bid. I love this site!!!!!! You need to watch the bidding, find best day and time. It takes a little effort, but well worth it.

leonards1
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/25/11

I spend $120 in bids and didn't win anything. If anyone wins anything on Quibids, they get it at expense of everyone else.

garym12
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/25/11

I don't see how I am losing! I signed up, they gave me 100 free bids, I've bid and won on a $100 Lowes gift card (winning bid was $.37) and a $15 Walmart gift card (winning bid was $.24). Both came with additional bids attached. My bid total I have now is 122. I haven't bought any bids and I'm up about $110 bucks after you take away the $.61 plus the $4 processing fees.

What am I missing?!

cindys5
2 reviews
10 helpful votes
2/24/11

Whoever heard of having to PAY for EACH bid (being that you are only allowed to bid in 1 to 5 CENT increments) and LOSING that money when you are OUTBID?

richardp9
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
2/24/11

I bought the now requisite $60. for 100 bids. The only auction that it seems realistic to win is for more bids. I stayed up all night watching and bidding a Canon 5D MarkII. I know I should get a life. This is a $3300 camera/lens combo. All of a sudden, with 11 people auto-bidding, someone wins at $560.00. Same thing happened on a Nikon D7000. I thought, well I should aim lower. I did. A $100 external hard drive. Same thing. This is like playing the lottery. No doubt, this is a great business model. Every bid raises the price by 1 cent. I saw people put in over 100 bids and drop out. Thousands of bids for 1 camera or TV. If you like being glued to your computer, and seek the thrill of gambling, this may be the cat's pajamas. However, if something sounds too good too be true, it is. And in this case, it definitely is too good to be true.

bobo2
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/24/11

I jumped in without checking it out first.. I took only one item to convince me its a scam, scam , scam...I only lost $50 to learn my lesson.

dianep3
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/23/11

All I did was sign up and was reading the rules and they charged my bank account $60 in the first 60 seconds ...
They said I had made a purchase of 100 bids at $.60 each! I DID NOT!
I complained immediately and they said they would refund the money since no transaction had been made.
Now tell me this ... how can they charge me for a purchase they said I made and then say no transaction had been made???
Oh ... and was the money put back in my account? ... not for 2 to 3business days! They jolly well took it out in a flash with no problem! I will be watching and I won't return to their page, ever, for fear of being scammed again!

georgel6
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/23/11

No one here seems to understand that the site is intended for a CHANCE at a discount. You are very fairly warned when you are exceeding the amount of retail price and if you can not do the math to figure that out, then you should probably be spending your money else where. It is very simple bid on items you can afford at retail price and you won't be disappointed. Yes the site is making money off the retards who are not educated enough to examine what they are doing before they do it, but who shouldn't. This site is an altered design of other auction sites and every single person who hates on them should shut their mouth because there is no way you would ever turn down this kind of idea if it belonged to yourself.

randallc2
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/23/11

Quibids cost me $100. I foolishly spent me money trying to get a deal on a TV. I wish I could take it back. You are warned!

elizabethy
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/22/11

They tell you how easy it is and even start you on a beginners auction that you, of course, win for cheap, then you try to win anything else and you get outbid. Every auction I was biding on went for way more than the same item in another auction. Makes me wonder if I'm really bidding against someone else or a computer. I've used eBay for years and am a pretty savvy bidder, but this site is ridiculous. And the newbies don't seem to realize how much money they're actually spending in bids, on 1 auction. At least I was able to bid on over 20 auctions with my meager 141 bids ( kind of like playing the penny slots in Vegas). Quibids is making a fortune and I just paid $65 for a $10 gift card. Shame on me.

justina1
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/22/11

I signed up last night for quibids after hearing some thing about the site. The buy in was a bit steep at $60 since they make you purchase 100 bids your first time using the site.

I spent 1 bid and immediately won a voucher for 25 virtual bids.

I then spent another 3 bids and won a $130 pair of oakleys.
I then spent another 10 bids and won another $130 pair of oakleys.

After that I wasted some bids between the two pairs of oakleys on items that I didn't really want all that bad that were going for more than I bargained to pay. After winning the three auctions in a matter of 45 minutes the site cut me off for 24 hours, as your are not allowed to win more than three auctions within that time period.

All in all, as of now, I am up 24 bids than I originally paid for, as one of the pairs of sunglasses came with 25 free virtual bids. They also gave me some bids for winning auctions.

I am already up $200 and I've been on the site for 45 minutes in my brief experience with quibids. AWESOME WEBSITE. GREAT IDEA. USE STRATEGY!!!! Look for auctions with "single" bidders and the fewer the better.

I am a student at Boston College and I'm looking to sell these items on ebay to make some quick cash. GREAT EXPERIENCE. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

trm
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
2/21/11

Quibids is the cream of the crop for penny auctions. Don't get me wrong - you have to understand the penny auction paradigm. You buy bids - at say 60 cents each. Then you make irrevocable bids on a variety of great items from computers to vacations, cameras etc. Remember that once you place the bid, the 60 cents is spent. The idea is to strategically bid until you're the last one left. This can take a few hours for the bigger ticket items and requires discipline and patience to win. And you might not, so don't spend more than you're willing to lose. Just like Vegas. But the savings can be incredible. A $6000 Australian vacation went for $214 the other day. But remember that $214 translates to 21,400 penny-bids that cost 60 cents each. So the seller got roughly $12,000 for a $6000 item - but all the losers combined paid for that - to the winner's benefit. There are $25 - $50 items for the timid, so don't lose hope to win. You can if you're patient and smart. Anyway, Quibids is the best of the bunch. I've won a couple thousands worth of merchandise combined for hundreds of dollars. Not bad - and kinda fun.

squidm
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/20/11

Frustrating and deceptive. New TV ads say saving too good to be true can be achieved. Yes, but for an elite and lucky few.
Playing lotto may have better odds.
I did manage to buy a cool measuring cup for cheap. But if my $100 worth of bids winds down without a major win, that's one expensive cup.
I bit, so I can't whine much...but don't get suckered in. House wins.

pamd3
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/19/11

I can't believe I fell for Quibids. I should have known better. If they cared one bit about their customers, Quibids would close themselves down.

gp8
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/18/11

Very Sketchy! I think they are not 100% honest, see this thread from their customer service. In addition, I think they use bots.
_____________________________

Feb-16 07:40 pm (CST):
Several sketchy issues with your website... The clock increments say one thing and do other (i have the screen to prove it). When looking at a certain product i.e. ipad not all the auctions are shown, I was bidding for one 64gb+ 3G @ $33 when suddenly one (bidder) got it very strangely (many bidders disappeared in sync), then I was presented with an opportunity to bid for one that was @ $80 that never showed up in my searches before and was very far along the bidding process, soon after some one got it and the system did not accept my bid with 1 -2 seconds remaining. Is this a serious company? or what. I think I deserve an explanation. And my money back

Hi ,
Based on feedback from our customers, we have found that customers typically don't want to see an increase in their competition as QuiBids' popularity continues to grow. QuiBids has so many auctions ending at the same time that we can't simply show each customer all auctions. This means that, although you may not see every auction, others may not see your auctions either, giving you the best possible chance of winning a great deal.
Our number one goal is to maintain a great user experience for all customers, along with balancing heavy strain on our servers. If the product you want is currently not showing, please continue to check back as new and exciting products will be added frequently!
We have been notified of the clock issue and are currently having IT review the issue for a solution. In this case is actually just the increment indicator that is wrong. The clocks should be counting down in the correct amount.
Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance, and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Marshall
QuiBids Customer Support


Hi, thank you for your response.

I think that your intension to reduce competition for bidders by not showing all the bidding processes for a same product is good. I did notice that most of the peers were relatively new members. However, a few "veterans" always end up in the process and most take the price. You are basically "setting up" a bunch of rookies for an experienced player to make the better moves. I think that if you intend to "play god" with the bidding process searches you need to do better.

Finally, you did not address my most important complaint. My bid did not go through even though there were still 1-2 seconds left and someone else took the item at that precise moment. I had money invested in that process, although not that much, it makes me want my money back and never use the site again. I'm sure your systems allow you to review those issues, please do.

werw
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/16/11

The site has too many people working for them to bid against you! BidProApp for quibids proves it in their video. How much people spent and won. Many bots have spending records of over $20,000 on bids where as the value of all goods won under $2000 (nobody in a right mind will have that).
Simple example to prove: their policy states that a person can not bid for 28 days if they won anything over $200 (Unless it is won by using vouchers). ipadwon member who has been in over 1000 actions, won only 50 of them or so, has won Ipad worth $600 and in field "paid" was written that he used real bids (not a single voucher). Five minutes later he is bidding on something else, and actually won again with real bids. IT IS AGAINST THEIR POLICY TO DO SO.

One of people that are working indirectly for QuiBids "Big Max" http://twitter.com/BigMax2010 who has a link that links to "http://www.legitonlinejobs.com/", after signing up for it (paid version) their was an offer from QuiBids to promote the website!

"BBB accredited" easy, in a plain view it is just a simple website. Everything runs smooth, but to check behind the sense of entire operations, if request information on people that spend over $30,000 a year will only lead to fraud.

For legal department: BidProApp is an application that will help finding the leads to fraud, as it stores records of bids, winnings, losses and more!

taylers
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/16/11

Okay, Let me tell you the real thing. This site is a scam. It has no company address on it and i did not found anything company related to this site.
I've known this site for about 1 and a half year. And i know the truth. When i was in, the site was pretty much in the establish stage. They put some ads on dealnews.com and attracted some people. My first money in was $25. I lost them all. BTW, The earliest Buy it Now was only for the first bidder.
so, i put another 25 in it and started bidding on small item. And i won a logitech speaker and water purifier. The last item makes me win money overall, but they spent a whole month process it. (they may put the money into other business).
Overall, they were kind of control big items in the early stage. And then, about a semester later. I observed that there appeared a lot of robot bidder(their programming skill was advancing!). Then i gave up continuing bidding on this site. Another semester later, which is now. i find out they actually opened more than 10 items at the same time which is unbelieble. They do not do any ads, they don't even show in the first 100 results in google by key words: penny auction!!
And, if you view the statistics of the website view. YOU WILL FIND OUT, their bidding and their views are out of proportion. which means, They are using robots internally. WAKE UP PEOPLE, THIS ECONOMY NEEDS HARD WORK, NOT BIDDING. it's like gambling, overall all of us are loser. and They are the f**ing winner.

ronaldm1
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/16/11

I followed a link in Google and their website said i could register for free. No mention that I had to pay $60 for 100 bids!!! After I signed up it took mne to another page that asked for my name address, etc and credit card info for when I bought something. STILL NO MENTION I HAD TO BUY BIDS!!
As soon As I gave the info they informed me they charged $60 for 100 bids.
I am going to have the charge to my Credit card reversed. I am not getting ripped off by them
NOW READ THIS!!
I sat there afterwards and examined what was going on.
You bid in 1 penny amounts. Each 1 cent bid costs you 60 cents!!!
That means they are collecting $60 for every 1 dollar the item increases in cost.
Lets say an item sells for $5.00
Say it is an item you could have bought in Target for $30.
Okay you saved some money BUT>>>
They have made $300 on that $5.00 amount!!
Remember that 5 dollars is 500 pennioes!
60 x 500 = 30000 or $300
I saw a car sell For $1782.00 that car retailed for about $18,000 online!
so they are selling you a car for $1782.00 but
1782.00 x 100 pennies = 178200
178200 x 60 (60 cents per penny bid! remember) = $106920.00
That's right, they made nearly $107 thousand dollars selling a car for $1782 bucks!!
Lets deduct the $18,000 for the actual cost from $106920.00
That is $105120.00 = the $1782 you are still paying them!! + whatever taxes shipping etc.
They are making over 100 thousand clear profit!!
That is a scam!

cliffa
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/16/11

I don't think it is a scam, I won a $2,500.00 camera for $429.00 plus $607.00 worth of bids.
I did receive the new camera.
However where the problem lies is that they shipped the camera and most of their products with no receipt from an authorized dealer. Read your warranty card not valid w/out receipt from authorized dealer is not valid.
I sent 4 unanswered emails, and made 2 unanswered phone calls to try and get a receipt, and no response. I turned them into the BBB, and almost immediately got my receipt. (I kept telling them I was going to turn them in)
Bottom line they shouldn't advertise warranty with those expensive sexy items w/out producing all the required documentation.
I have won quite a few things on ebids, and it seems they deliver the product. However I am quite sure I have in all spent more than I have won.
But I had fun doing it.
QUIBIDS does make it fun, if it is for you, but a second big bottom line here, if you are compulsive you should stay away from QUIBIDS, in the future there will surely be a QUIBIDS ANONYMOUS!

justines
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/16/11

I 'won' a gift card 4 MONTHS ago and still haven't received it. I've contacted customer service by email (they don't give out a phone number-bad sign right there) at least half a dozen times and they've given me several excuses. The best being that I moved before it arrived and it was my fault that I didn't receive the product. I've lived in the same house for 12 years.

th187
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/16/11

No phone # for QuiBids listed on their entire web site, or anywhere in their 12 page response to Bank of America, that resulted when I requested a 'charge back' of my $60.00. Within QuiBids response was "ask this customer to contact our customer service, requesting a refund for any unused bids." So, I called Bank of America and asked them if they might have a phone # for them as I could not find one. They found one and said they would call for me. Then they came back and said they were place on hold for the next available agent, they then gave me the phone #, told me to press 0 and to call back if I was unsuccessful. Here is the phone number for QuiBids, good as of 2/16/2011. 405-253-2038

grahamh3
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/16/11

Alright, come on people....anybody that is complaining about getting scammed by this site -- CAN'T DO MATH!!! Every single sob story on here complaining about this being a scam - has to be the type of person that sees pictures of people holding giant Publisher's Clearinghouse checks with >7 digits, then decides they are just as special as that person and joins the fray only to get mad and frustrated when they haven't won, and then comes to a place like this where they can post reviews basically expressing all their resentments towards the company because they: A) Really thought they were going to win or B) Are just mad at themselves because they 'fell for it'....and 'it' being exactly what that picture of the old lady with the big check was meant to accomplish --They got you to join the fray!! The people feel silly and they are mad...

I have to believe that the reviews here of Quibids are very similar to what it would look like if this were the 'Megaball Powerbucks Super Lotto!' or the like! I have been adding things i'd like to my watchlist and checking in on the site whenever, over the last couple weeks and I just shake my head and just imagine what the pure joy of winning a 60" LCD for $2.80 something with *ONE BID* must feel like! I mean wow. It's the same as watching people win the lottery basically..."Sure I can do that!" and go buy a ticket...lose...buy more tickets...lose more...*get mad*...c'mon people!

Now...if you treat it like a store, and you enter/participate in auctions only for items you were going to buy at retail anyways, then it's a little different!! And THESE are the people that are knocking out all the negative reviewers on this site from the auctions they're trying to "win". The people with the mindset that they were going to buy it close to full price anyways, are the people that look like bots that will always outbid you. Now, granted there are some people that appear to have unlimited bids, bidding on everything at the same time and never winning type of thing. Now instead of assuming these are bots (there has to be some form of artificial play on a site like this, but..) how about just realizing this is a fairly new member, they bought 100 bids for $60, and didn't really realize how fast those will go! $60 for 100 bids....now if i was going to try and 'win' an Xbox (which is my goal), then think about it, i'd start with 100 bids...set the bidomatic to full bore, 4xTimes @ 25bids/BidOmatic session....and before you know it I'm looking like a bot, knocking out all the people who came here thinking they should be winning my Xbox360 at $4.20 with their 25bid beginner pack! They get mad, buy another 25bid pack and still lose out because I'm just going to buy the damn thing anyways, so I could be spending $240 on 400 bids, and unless somebody is going to spend like me, they shouldn't even be participating at all!! "If only they would have known..." then they wouldn't have even entered the auction for that item!! Duh...

So basically...C'mon people, stuff costs $$$, and if you're just here to play around with a couple of bucks and *maybe* win big, like the one super jumbo elephant stuffed animal they have at fairs/carnival games, then you're in the right mindset!! Got a couple of bucks to throw around? Might as well Step Right Up and try your luck at an Xbox or LCD HDTV over at Quibids! But if you're thinking this is just a site you're going to 'Buy Cheap Stuff' at or invest your $60 of grocery money for the week inorder to simply receive the $100 wallmart giftcard - you're not going to like this site at all. It's simple as that.

Anyone getting mad, or saying it's a scam...is obviously smarter than the people that play video poker all day long! Seriously, this is just like a Dotty's (which is a chain of video poker bars where people just come in to play video poker and order food/drinks and have people wait on them, getting them more change or cashing their tickets)...You gotta pay to play! I will win someday! And when I do I will be sure to tell everybody and upload a first person VOD of every bet on my way to The Huge Score and put it on youtube!! lol...I just like to stay positive ya know? But really... :)

Exhibit A -- http://goo.gl/v1OPw -- Explained in Comments Below...

lindap8
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/15/11

Well, in a word, it sucked. QuiBids is an absolute rip off and I can't believe how bloody stupid I was to get involved. I registered and then sort of lurked around for a bit, then went to work. On my way home I stopped at the store to buy some Cheese Puffs and Dr Pepper................imagine my surprise when my card was denied! When I got home, I immediately went to my online bank site and to my utter disbelief was a charge for $60.00 at QuiBids! I didn't buy nor bid on a damn thing! I will be writing the BBB and every other place I can think of to rid the Net of this scam. Avoid this site like the plague.

georgem11
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/14/11

I would not recommend this site to to my worst enemy. This site is built on fraud.
An item cost $1199.99 was bid on by a group of indivudals who spent $45.58 in pennies..Converting that to 4558 @.60 , correction .61 cents per bid times 4558, which gives you a grand total $2780.38
A gift card valued at $200.00 sold for $410.53 thats one hell of a mark up.
Samsung 3dtv do not know the size but....the bid was closed at $68.22 , that my friend is 6822 bids @ 61 cents $4161.42 actual cost $1418.00 a hugh profit of over $3000.00 plus.

What I am going to do is file a complaint with the FTC along with USPS fraud section.Times are hard these days so watch your pennie
I actually purchased 100 bids cost $60.00 in less than an hour it was gone what did I get for it a 9ft.HDMI cable. It's actual value I think was about $13.00.
Cost to was $65.00

julieb16
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/11/11

So far I think its been great. I got the 60.00 package with 100 bids. I didnt get any high priced item but i got 2 25.00 gift certificates and a 10.00 gift certificate. so far I have spent about 66.00 total and got 60.00 back. and I have 132 bids which more than i started with. Of course we still have to wait and see how long shipping time is.

chancew
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/11/11

Quibids wasted my time and money. I wish everyone in the world could read these reviews so Quibids could be put out of business!

clancyc
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/11/11

A COMPLETE AND ABSOLUTE SCAM. I was very interested in this site after reading an article about it on online. Being an analytical sort, I decided to watch it closely for a while. (and by closely, I mean i actually stared at my computer and counted, on paper, the number of bids being made by certain constant bidders) The item on auction was a simple netbook computer worth just over $300 retail. I witnessed not 1, not 2, but 3 bidders bid enough times so that their total cost was well beyond the retail price of the item. In the end, one of the three persistent bidders won a $300 netbook, for which he paid well over $400. No one, and I mean NO ONE, can tell me those three bidders weren't QuiBid bots!!!

I understand that all bids can be applied to a credit towards buying the item at retail. BUT... it is obvious to me that you are not always bidding against other hopeful customers. Instead, you are bidding against the company itself which is trying to keep the auction going.... at $0.60 a pop. This is unconscionable!!!

sirih
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/10/11

AVOID THIS SITE! This is the High Frequency Trading of online auctions. I wasted a hundred bux and 5 hours today -- am so mad at myself!
I won a $25 Borders giftcard for .50 right away and they straightaway sent me an email saying I'd won their "Scrooge" badge for winning a $25 auction with less than 5 bids. Oh, flattery! I decided to go for the Ipad. Well I wasted all my free time today sitting in front of the damned screen hitting the Bid button whenever the counter got to 1 second. I bid on Ipads, cameras, giftcards, GPSs...my pride was on the line...I had to win! Then I started noticing that for some reason, the auctions I was bidding in went on and on, and despite my most canny efforts, I never won anything...while a few other auctions for similar things fizzled out at very low prices. I think they let some auctions fizzle out that way as teasers -- then when they get a few live humans bidding, they turn on the bots. I complained to tech support -- if they don't refund my bid money, I'm going to complain to Paypal and my Visa card and dispute the charges.

colet7
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/10/11

I haven't used this site, but I want to give you all, that have, a tip.

Whatever you have paid them, you ask your bank to charge back the fee. You tell them the company is a scam, that you were lied to, or mislead, and that you want them to dispute, and reverse the payment you sent to Quibids, to buy bids, or whatever you wish to have reversed. This is your legal right and with enough CHARGE BACKS, this company WILL FOLD. DO IT NOW.

js21
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/9/11

This site is a total rip off. Site offers 100bids for $60 which every 1cent bid = .60 cents. When ad/commercial draws you in with ipad for $87 = Bull$#*!. That ipad is now worth $87x$60...every $1=$60...every cent=sixty cents. So this ipad that sold for $87 = $5220(real cost from bidders). Stay away total rip off

chadd
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
2/9/11

I guess if you're doing it out of curiousity or to kill time it's not bad for a couple of days. I personally lost ten dollars when it was all said and done. Assuming that the gift cards I won ever arrive. Here is the site in layman's terms and not an analyst. Here we go...
Shipping is $1.99 to send a gift card. Can you say gouging? Also, shipping time they say is within 15 days. Hello? Worse than ground. What a bargain?!
Next, vouchers are a complete waste. You CAN NOT use them to buy an item or to redeem. They are sneaky to let you blow your real bids before you realize this.
Next, you quickly realize how much $$$ this company is making. When little $10 gift cards go for 1000 bids and more. Translation $600+ this site is making a killing which I started to resent after an hour or so.
Next, if you do buy an item with real bids you might end up paying more than MSRP if you don't hit button quickly before more bids drive up the price of the item.
Next, they advertise this site as the next ebay.com. Sorry, but what world do you live in CEO. In an auction you don't have to prepay just to bid. Second, you can bet what you want not lame 1 cent bids. Third, if you lose you the aunction you don't lose your $$$. This is gambling to the core. It's not much different than the one armed bandits you find all over Las Vegas.
Next, penny bids actually cost you 60 cents each. Easy to forget this win you're caught up in the moment!!
Finally, they limit how many auctions you can even win in 24 hours. They limit how many big items you can win (by the way that number is 1) to 28 days. They will expire your bids (credits) after so long (6 months I believe).
Only positive is that the idea is a brilliant one. Feeding off peoples desire to get something for nothing. Cause, seriously, how many people are really going to win that 55 inch 3D TV for twenty or less penny bids. And monkeys are flying out of my butt. Ha ha ha.

roberts18
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/8/11

Because I did not read the terms carefully I found that I had bought $60 worth of bids while not receiving the 30 free bids promised. You can not sign up with out buying bids. Read carefully and be aware these folks are slick as an eel!!!!!!!

jm16
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/7/11

STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...STAY AWAY...

kishaa
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/7/11

Good if you don't make rookie mistakes by overbidding. Read the directions and you will have a positive experience. Don't and you'll probably be pissed off. I would recommend you watch a few before you jump in. Also lookup the same previously sold item and see what it will typically sell for. That way you know how much you are willing to spend..

joer12
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/5/11

To those who say it is not a scam and site capitalism as its true nature are themselve wrong. What makes this a scam is the ability to manipulate the bidding by the Sysop, (operator of the game). Based upon the complaints here and on other sites that is what they do, manipulate the bidding!

I realize most people can't accept good advice and have to blunder through life, and for those of you who buy into scams like this, "I have quicksand bungy jump idea you could buy into".

1 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the QuiBids staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
Q: I'm from air shall islands,
can I place my bit and get my stuff through post office box?
1/1/13
matth28
A: Well, considering he is making the option of getting it cheaper possible by being willing to take this chance, you Deb are the one who is being ignorant.
6/8/10
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the QuiBids staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

8 Photos for QuiBids

From reviewers