SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

OkCupid reviews

106 reviews
Categories: Dating
39 W 14th St Ste 502
New York, NY 10011-7403
Tel: +1.6173954187
dns-admin@okcupid.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

106 Reviews for OkCupid

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

kristens12
New Reviewer
9/14/14

I was very skeptical about this site when I first went on. I'll admit, they do ask you to answer a ton of questions when you make your account (I only answered them all because I had insomnia and nothing better to do). Yeah, I got a few messages from scammers, but after only a month, I met my boyfriend of two years who I now live with. And for the record, I did this with NO pictures uploaded- I find that cuts down on the scammers. I can't really compare to other sites, but I can say that someone who is honest in their profile and knows what they're looking for can definitely find what they're after here without too much trouble.

I've read a lot of reviews from guys who have had problems finding a serious girl here- to them I say, be a little more patient. There are a lot of creeps on the internet and a girl has to sort through all that to figure out if you're a serious guy, particularly on a free site that any psycho could be using. This site updates your matches pretty regularly, so if you keep at it, you should be able find a girl who is willing to give it a try. But to the guys saying they pushed for a face to face meet really quick- BIG MISTAKE! I would NEVER meet a guy I met online until we had talked enough via email or phone that I was sure it wasn't a trap. My boyfriend messaged me for about a month before I was willing to meet him. If you're truly a serious guy, then you should know that a serious girl needs (and is worth) the wait to be sure. If you're going to be an ass about it, then it's no wonder you don't get responses to your messages.

arielh6
New Reviewer
9/14/14

OkCupid is a very well made site. Sometimes the people can be a little strange but you will run into that anywhere. Really helpful as of location of people, their interests, and their values. I met my current boyfriend of two years on OkCupid, along with some new internet friends. Thanks, OkCupid! :D

Tip for consumers: If you're looking for "the one", be patient! I had my account for almost two years before I REALLY found someone I clicked with. Just talk to multiple people and experience new people! Everything is a learning experience.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Ariel about OkCupid
carriem29
New Reviewer
9/12/14

Believe it or not, I met my husband on this site! We have almost been married a year and have a newborn baby girl. I honestly never thought I would meet my husband on a dating website, but I got a surprise when everything fell in place. I have referred 2 good friends to the website and they both are happily dating someone they met on okcupid. I think it all matters on what you put in... Me and my husband took time to answer all the questions and write a decent amount in our profiles, so our compatibility percentage was on point. You'll have to read through some perverts and D-bags messages buying the end you might just find Mr. Right. (-: it's hard to believe my husband lived 20 minutes from me and I would have never met him if it weren't for okcupid.

Tip for consumers: Fill out your profile and answer ALL the questions.

Ask Carrie about OkCupid
gxy1
New Reviewer
9/11/14

Guys don't be stupid. I have a wonderful dating site that is sure to deliver at least 90% of the
time. It's call Back Page. Caum The women are mostly single mothers, young college girls looking for financial arrangements to keep them in school or off of the street. Best part about it is you don't have to pay a ripoff site any fee. It's free to browse all day. Real new girls come on the site daily. Stop wasting your time and money on dating sites. One sure date with these back page girls will cost less than paying these ripoff dating sites and a date with an old ugly lady who is desperate for a pay check.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask GX about OkCupid
benm56
New Reviewer
9/7/14

What do women love?! Confident and bad guy type.
What do women hate?! Depressed men,not confident to approach women.So just by been on OKC and other dating sites we loose a lot of points,let alone the messages that we send which make as look like losers by putting this women that we don't even know on pedestal.
Like all the other dating sites OKC is made of 50% fake profiles,30% ugly,overweigh with kids women that are looking for handsome,tall and rich guy...go figure.
10% paid for sending messages and 10% women that just got depressed one day and opened an account.
As soon as you open the account you get a message from some woman that want to chat and meet you.When you try to reply her account is deleted.
Next some women messages you saying that "it's a match" or "what's going on" but after you greed them they never reply back.
Then you start sending like 50 messages and after that nothing happen...Nada!
Seriously guys there is no women on the internet...not even average women!If there is there must be something seriously wrong with her.

Tip for consumers: Real world guys!Take chances!be real!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Ben about OkCupid
chrisr81
New Reviewer
9/7/14

Joined OK Cupid thinking it would be a fun way to meet new people. Immediately after signing up, I was bombarded with extremely explicit message from girls of lower than average attractiveness asking for pics. Received a lot of obvious phishing scam messages and crude crap, but never anything genuine. Best part of all: my IP was banned after 1 week after having done NOTHING wrong. I created a dummy profile right after and saw that my picture was still up and the sure had me marked as 'active'. An absolutely deplorable business practice; they should be ashamed of themselves. I found out later that Ok Cupid compiles preference data on its users and sells it to marketing corporations. I suppose they just terminated my account as soon as I had filled out enough info to make them a buck. Easily the worst dating service I've ever used(I'm hesitant to even call it a service); save yourself the grief and just use tinder.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Chris about OkCupid
williamg45
New Reviewer
9/6/14

OkCupid should change their name to OkStupid. They won't help you if you are having problems by answering simple questions. However, they expect you to answer a gillion or so questions from them. How many do you have to answer before the let you in? Who knows I answered almost 300. This is crazy. Then they gave me $#*! about my one and only photo of myself, saying that it's too small, select another. Well, I don't have another. Nor do I know how to post one if I had it. Then, when I finally did get in, my conversation was one way. I don't know if she got it or not, because I don't know where my mailbox is. It's not like facebook where you can see the entire conversation right there. This site sux. It is NOT user friendly at all.

Tip for consumers: Don't waste your time unless you are very computer savy.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask William about OkCupid
ianh40
New Reviewer
9/1/14

I've been actively using okcupid for about two and a half years. The UI is better than POF and the app is LOTS better, but the users are just not serious about meeting. In Oklahoma (boring place with absolutely NOWHERE for an interesting yet tame place to meet that also doesn't have the pressures of a date) many of the 18-24 year old women are overweight, a parent, or too far away to be convenient. Okcupid could at least clean up their matching by distance technique (748-zipcodes are not anywhere close to 731-zipcodes). But yeah, I've had just as much luck online as i have had in real life: 0. I've answered almost 2400 match questions. And have met TWO people in two and a half years: one was weird and completely unlike me, and all the other wanted to talk about was her clueless idiot 26-year-old virgin boyfriend (even though I messaged her first! She said "well you have 'new friends' under 'looking for'" which has an entirely different meaning if it's on a DATING site. Searching by body type is a premium feature which is frustrating when you're a lean, muscular 22 year old in an obese state (and who has a higher propensity to be on a dating site? Fat or thin people?). Maybe it's just Oklahoma, but I have had NO luck for THREE YEARS (on and offline). You only get one shot with your first message and it's rare I get a reply. Maybe restrict browsing or other features if you don't reply enough? As of now, I do not recommend the site.

xxxx3
New Reviewer
8/30/14

after 1 week cannot login anymore nor website nor mobile.
"we have some technical difficulties" is the answer from the website if you login.
"there us something wrong with your account" is the answer on the mobile app.
i sent them an email, never reveived an answer.
they are not capable of maintaining a database.
lucky i am a free member otherwise the money was gone.

Tip for consumers: find another dating website

Service
Value
Quality
Ask xxx about OkCupid
kurta7
New Reviewer
8/29/14

The email address and password I've used for years suddenly denies me access to "my account." I've had enough.

Please cancel my account under Kurt Austermann, Medford, Oregon.

Tip for consumers: FREE dating? Don't believe it!

Service
Value
Ask Kurt about OkCupid
joannar4
New Reviewer
8/18/14

OKC is the best website I've used. Match, Ourtime and Chemistry were a complete waste of time. They and others are very conservative. I am an atheist; on other websites, there simply aren't any. You won't see "cuddle in front of the fire" or "moonlit walks on the beach" (especially when the nearest beach is 400 miles away) and my favorite "I will go shopping with you and hold your purse and lip-lock you in public" (you'll get bit if you try that with me). Detailed lists of favorite books, authors, movies, etc.) On OKC I can say exactly what I am - atheist, liberal - and I get lots of responses. Profiles mean very little to me. The matching system is the best. It really goes into detail, and if the system says you are less then a 75% match, pay attention. The key is to answer enough questions. There are about 5000, I've answered 2,000. Many people don't answer any; what's the point? The profiles/pictures don't have to be approved. However, if you find something offensive, report it and they will do something about it. You can even write "$#*!," and it won't be deleted. I've had many dates from this site. Another plus: you can filter mail. I filter by match % (I don't want to see matches less than 75%) and age; there are other criteria, also. You can see the filtered messages, if desired.

Tip for consumers: If you are liberal, aren't religious, and want very specific qualities, this is the place for you. Fascinating profiles and the matching system is the best. I've had more dates from this site than all other combined.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Joanna about OkCupid
julieg33
New Reviewer
8/8/14

No one is serious about meeting on this site, like all the rest...are you people afraid or what? I hardly receive any interested on okcupid...men are so petrified to meet in PERSON.. What is wrong? Im nice looking with great personality..The fat women with crazy personalities get more men than i do.. I guess i better start eating double pound cheeseburgers and be crazy to get a man..I dont want to grow old by myself..

ryan
New Reviewer
8/8/14

Total waste of time at least for men. I have other guy friends that have tried okcupid as well and im the only one that hasnt given up yet and thats just because its free and I got time to waste. The girls virtually never reply and when they do its basically just to mess with you. Of the few that even do theyll message you once maybe 3 times then never again. Ive tried everything I could think of to get them to reply too. It doesnt matter what your profile says, what kind of pics you post, what kind of message you sent, or how high of a match you are they simply will not message you will not reply to yours. I have been on this site for the last 5 years whenever I was single and of the time i wasnt it was never any thanks to okcupid. I think this may be because it's free a lot of girl might figure theyll sign up just too mess around (not cool some of us are actually on there looking for someone). Maybe I got something maybe I dont but whatever the case is no matter what you do it is not likely you will have any luck whatsoever with this site.

bonniek33
New Reviewer
8/1/14

I have been okcupid off and on for several years, and up until this year, I liked it better than most other dating sites out there. I've had difficulty lately with my profile name being stolen on Plenty of Fish THREE times in the past 6 months. Nobody responds to me on eharmony. That's why I don't pay anymore.
Many men consider me to be an attractive and sexy 50 year old woman. I have more 20 year olds contacting me than anything else. I will talk to most anyone out there who emails me unless I'm downright repulsed by their picture. I don't respond to shirtless men or men who look depressed, don't smile, or appear "off" in their picture. I have been dating online for a long time and after meeting so many men in person after sending minimal emails back and forth, I will not do it anymore. The reason many men want to meet so quickly is because they fear that if you continue to text or talk on the phone for more than a few days, you will figure out their "baggage" and not want to meet. And when I say "baggage," I mean mental baggage. Crazy, angry at the world or an ex, whatever. I think if a man is good and respects women, they should give a little longer getting to know each other on the phone. I understand that this can work both ways and that there are women who delay meeting because they are not who they say they are.
As far as OkCupid lately, like in the past couple months, I have been getting the message that the robot had a meltdown. I was able to get into it for the past couple weeks but yesterday, I got the meltdown message again. While I was on there, I received several emails from scammers. I can tell by their introduction to me when they say "I am Richard by name" as opposed to "my name is Richard." Or their profile is very vague about their interests and all they talk is poetry and romance. Usually they are widowed and have an only child that they are raising on their own because their wife met untimely death. Their Language is a little off and when I try to pressure them to give me an exact location here in town, they can't do that or they give me the name of a mall or something.
I believe that the site has worked for some, and I believe that if you are extremely attractive that you won't get many responses. I think that many men are intimidated by me because I have my stuff together really well, have a very good job and I know I am. I think that it's very easy for men to take advantage of women who don't know who they are or can be on the inside and the outside.
But since I'm a glass full kind of girl, I figure that if there is someone like me out there looking, then there's got to be men out there just like me looking as well. I may be a romantic at heart, but I'm also a realist. There's just not that many real people out there to balance out all the garbage. Not to mention the scammers and the bots and that the customer service is lacking.

roberth136
New Reviewer
7/30/14

The site looks good, but at one point I got to a page that if I wanted to know what someone thought of me I would need to pay a monthly or year fee ! Now that does not mean I can not have contact for free, but I found it strange that in a free dating site I would have to pay. Strange have not seen other people mention this. When I sent an e mail to customer service no reply. Then a few days later my pass word and email , when login in, where not recognized ! I then started to join again, at this time it told me I that my email was already used! So in fact it did recognize my address !! Sent 4 mails no reply. To me it sounds like they did not liked being questioned ! How can it be called free if for a service you have to pay, and how come every one recommends it as a free site if it is not.I would like to have contact with them so I can make sure that my photos and info is taken out.

ashl701
New Reviewer
7/28/14

I met the perfect guy for me on okcupid :) at fist I was kind of iffy about the site, but I'm glad I went on :) we have been dating for 2 months so far, and it's been going great *knock on wood* for this site, I suggest being 100% honest with the questions, so you do find your perfect match! :)

ajj4
New Reviewer
7/26/14

I met my girlfriend on here on January 5th, 2014. We had a very high match percentage, something like 95%. We knew from the first date a week later that we were a match. We've been dating for 6 1/2 months now and our relationship has been literally perfect. We are moving in together on September 1st. Yes, it is hard to find the person for you on here or on any dating site for that matter. The truth is it relies mostly on luck of the draw. I talked to quite a few people on here. Most of them replied to my messages at a snails pace. It seemed like a lot of them were juggling 4-5 guys at one time which is obviously a bit too much. When my girlfriend and I met I never went out on any other dates after her. I'm glad I joined here and keep on trying, you may get lucky like we did.

anonymous69
New Reviewer
7/26/14

Okay, so it seems like most of the girls/profiles in here are:

a) Bots. They'd send me a message along with their #, and as I greet them back, I get no response.

b) Impostors/scammers. Example: Hi, I'm looking for a guy that would cam $#*! with me and it would only cost $5.

Now, I'm not saying that I'm interested in having sex with a complete stranger just for $5. That's absolutely retarded/risky and I'd go to a massage parlor for that.

.. But then again, the real point here is.. How dumb can this impostor/scammer be if he/she actually thinks anyone would fall for that. If it's real though, congratulations, you're dumb as $#*!.

c) Girls who're friendzone'd irl and has way too high standards considering the fact that they're not even good looking. No offense, but most of the girls I've searched near me are subpar looking at best. I could find better looking girls irl.

Regardless, I would say the site itself is pretty good. The layout is nice, self intro questions are short & simple as well, and the best part is that it's free.

It's a shame though because the girls in here are really mediocre.

leithr
New Reviewer
7/15/14

This is the best dating/hookup site out there that I know about. It has lately added some ads to the top and bottom of the page, but other than that the buyout by match hasn't changed it.

All for free: you can put up dozens of pictures. You can message whoever you want as much as you want. You can rate each other and be told if you both like each other. You can look for marriage, friends, casual sex and everything in between. You can be a guy looking for a guy, a girl looking for a girl, or anywhere in between - though they don't have an option for a couple profile (yet.)

The questions are fun to answer and help you match each other. I've dated long-term and had great one-night stands from OKCupid, and you can't ask for more!

adamw51
New Reviewer
7/12/14

Great site for woman you'll have your pic, Forget it if you're an average looking dude. There is no way the site is anywhere close to 50% woman. I was on the site for 12 months, sent out 60 messages, got about 6 replies and one almost date who chickened out. Don't think you have a better chance because she's a 95% match, it's the same crappy reply rate as you would get 50% matches.

jerryj13
New Reviewer
6/27/14

Waste of time-- women have airbrushed glamor photos-- the profiles what they write is just total bull$#*! the women are high on themselves the response rate is 1 out of 50 emails its a bad trip.

annel25
New Reviewer
6/22/14

From all the comments I've been reading I can see not a lot of people are having luck in this site. A lot of people on this site are not looking for something real. I was lucky enough to find my boyfriend on there after 3 weeks of being on there we started talking then we decided to go out now we're living together and plan on getting married soon :)

petert51
New Reviewer
6/21/14

I found lots of matches, but too many women seem to be using the site to fulfill some sort of romantic fantasy. I have little patience for chat relationships so I push for a face to face meeting - something relaxed, no committment - like a cup of coffee in a public cafe. Of the half dozen I met, all seem extraordinarily confused about what they want. In other words dabblers. Maybe it is because it is free that is what attracts them.
Is it me? No I have had much better success at another dating site reaching my goal, which is a second date with someone I want to spend time with.

tedj8
New Reviewer
6/19/14

I have been on OkCupid for awhile now. I have also done eHarmony, Match, and PlentyofFish, and I have to say that I like OkCupid the best out of all of them. The reason that I like OkCupid best is because of the format of the website. I like the questions that it asks users to determine compatibility and the "sections" that it has on people's profiles. I will admit that it is hard to get women to respond to men on there, but I know that they get bombarded with messages and have to be very careful about meeting guys on there.

However, I do have one complaint. I have been on OkCupid on and off since 2010, and over the last 6 months I have had a harder time finding new profiles of women who I want to message. Maybe new membership has declined, but it seems to me that the website's search function is messed up. I most notice this when I search for users who are new to the website. It seems that the search results more frequently yield profiles that I have already seen. I am curious if anyone else has had this experience.

martink30
New Reviewer
6/19/14

Not bad. Better than plenty of fish. The girls on there still seem too picky and shallow but you at least get some responses to messages. The star rating and quick match system works pretty well and seeing if someone else likes you makes it easier to know who to message. But I only had a couple conversations and it is seemingly hopeless still unless you look like a damn model. So better than some other dating sites but still lacks what you want to get out of it which is real people and a good relationship.

myb2
New Reviewer
6/18/14

Very low response rate unless using carefully tailored messages that require one to behave like an empty headed idiot to get to home base. Easier to chat up the soup chikkins in the local dive and in person one can spot the people with problems more easily. Great place to collect a stalker. Online dating used to be great - maybe 10 years ago - now it's a waste of time - women are bombarded with junk. The women are not fake. Didn't see any fake profiles. And they're not all ugly. But the response rate is close to zero. And your details ARE NOT CONFIDENTIAL!!!

johns697
New Reviewer
6/16/14

I have been on OKC and POF. Nothing so far from OKC and obviously some only look at pictures and write as if they read the profile. POF was a bust because the women on it were not honest or sincere More like a bunch of sour old cows been put out to pasture and got bored so they put their pics, if the pics were really theirs, on a web site to wait for replies and break the monotony. One was really criminally offensive. I am sure she / he / they have placed a phony complaint. OKC is up in the air. I live in Florida and plan to bicycle to PA. I want to meet a woman there. I definitely am completely on the level. Nothing but some answers or "We are not a match."

bethw15
New Reviewer
6/9/14

I was scammed by a man professing to live in the Us and was working in London. Said he would be home in less than 2 weeks. The went by Mike Grove, 51 of Fremont. My son became suspicious and started copying and cross checking it on the web. Not only were his emails word for word copies the mans identity he was using had died at 51 in 2013 when this Indian scammer took over his identity with someone else's photo. I was lucky, they usually start asking for money after 2 weeks to help with a problem or get them "home". Even the FBI is aware of the on line dating scams.

kalindat
New Reviewer
6/2/14

Had a profile on OKCupid. Met some guys, however, all of them are just looking for one night stands. Or constant sex hookups. My experience was horrible, lots of weirdos emailing me, or lots of indian males looking to cheat on their wives. And then there was the guy that I met that claimed he was single, great southern guy, we got along quite well from the first date, but after all was said and done, he was actually still married and never filed divorce papers. His profile said he was single. So, that's what you'll find, lots of fakes, lots of liars, lots of cheaters. I became a moderator, and it's surprising how many profiles men would make even if they were banned. You can have someone banned by their email address, which is what I did after someone was cybstalking me and still creating profiles. Just be aware,and google that person, get their last name, and make sure that person is reputable and not on any cheater websites, or the dontdatehimgirl website. That's my mistake. I should have been more cautious. After all was said and done, southern guy sent email after I had surgery (this is when he was hooking up with other unsuspecting women) to say he was just using me for sex, and that we had never dated, and that he would never date me. Yep those are the types of men on OKCupid. All losers.

deet20
New Reviewer
6/2/14

I was notified of 17 people who "LIKED" my profile and if I wanted to communicate with the 17 interested clients I had to pay a fee. How is this a free site?

emilyg17
New Reviewer
5/5/14

Unfortunately there seriously not enough people on there looking for something real. However, I met my boyfriend on there awhile ago, we're so happy, and expecting a daughter in about a month

mariem32
New Reviewer
4/28/14

I never rate anyone this bad but because the site refuse to deal with the issues that they are having I have resigned to this!
Last October I joined the site and within a week I had two scammers, I reported them to OKC, however no one replied to my concerns and nothing was done about the scammers. I left the site after two weeks, however a month ago two of my friends talked me into giving it another shot which I did, in the past two weeks four scammers have tried to extract money from me and guess who showed up, you got it, Mr Scammer from last October, so that just tells me that no-one is monitoring the site. I had this issue with E Harmony in the past and the scammer was removed from the site within 3-4 hours of my complaint.
Watch out for the following which is quite common amongst them!
The one story that they like to use is that they have lost their wife, their english is usually poor, which they will explain that they lived in Peru for the first 20 years of their life, they will give you a Chicago telephone number (I cannot understand how they can get these from outside the country!) but if you call it there will be a delay in them answering and sometimes a different tone, like outside of the country and if you speak to them, the accent is usually South African and there is a delay in the conversation. They are nearly always unemployed through the hardships that they are experiencing and have no family or friends around.
Watch the times that they will be online or contact you as there is a six hour time difference. It is always fun to send a text at 6-7pm to see would they like to meet up and they will have a silly excuse or they are asleep!!
One guy had an 847 telephone code, said it was his home phone number however he had a 323 mobile tel code, on the site he lived 27 miles north of Chicago, however when I asked what neighborhood he was in he said he lived in Lincoln Park which would be 30 miles south of where he supposedly lived. His mother lived in Michigan, however he ran daily errands and did grocery shopping for her, a joke and impossible because of distance! Which means this guy did not have a clue about distance or neighborhoods.
Anyway hope this helps and prevents someone getting scammed.
Thank you

gabrielf8
New Reviewer
4/20/14

Okcupid.com has revolutionized the world of online dating by providing a free, easy to navigate dating website that offers a service comparable to the paid sites. While the matching system has its limitations, the fact that the site is free means that it has one of the largest databases of users in the country, which is crucial in this industry and is directly related to its positioning as the leader in the online dating world.

marvinp5
New Reviewer
4/20/14

OKCupid, as a site, its excellent. Its probably one of the best dating sites out there. However, as the case with any dating site, you'll often have shallow, superficial, stuck up people on it.

As a site, OKCupid is almost perfect. It has detailed profiles, a question matching algorithm, an early warning system to let you know if you'll be wasting your time by writing to users who never respond, and more. However, its not perfect. The matching algorithm is flawed. Once you answer a good 600 or more questions, it becomes nearly impossible to match anyone who's answered just as many. In other words, the more questions you answer, the less compatibility you'll have with others. Also, over time, OKCupid has gotten rid of some cool features, like the blog, the Private Notes section, and most recently, the tally of new messages or matches you have. They no longer tell you how many new messages are in your inbox or how may people have viewed your profile. Also, the browsing options are limited, even if you upgrade to paid-subscription A-List. You cannot search by response frequency, common interests, or sometimes height (which is limited to 5'0" to 6'4").

OKCupid is one of the best dating sites out there, but it could be better. They continually get rid of cool features over the years, and more can be added into the site to make it more popular other than searching among the same old lame profiles. It could be like Facebook, in many ways. The questions and quizzes are cool, for example. And you could visit the site for reasons other than writing to people (and getting snubbed by them).

As a dating site, OKCupid is nearly perfect. However, it does have its flaws and like any other dating site, is often filled with very shallow people.

gracen7
New Reviewer
4/15/14

I've been on and off of here for 2 years. I filter the guys that contact me to see who's an actual match and who's just a jerk looking to get laid. I sometimes get contacted by older guys trying to find a girl with daddy issues which in my case is not the case and I'm quick to shut them down because it can get really creepy.

I went out with one guy on here for around 5 months gibsondude29 aka James Ryder aka James Butka. We didn't work out, and it became very obvious to me towards the end of the relationship. A few months after I broke up with him I found out quite by accident that he slept with one of my friends that also lives in my building and thought I wouldn't find out. She didn't know we were dating because he didn't want people to know we were dating (the only guy that has not been okay with telling people we're together and yes this was a red flag for me). Well she tends to use guys for sex and apparently receiving a taste of his own medicine didn't sit to well with him.

He keeps coming back to my campus, most recently for a radio interview. He's incredibly narcissistic, if the conversation doesn't revolve around him it's boring, and he's always right.

He did teach me to be more careful with whom I choose off this site because there are some really cool guys out there, it's just since I'm in the younger age group I have more to sift for to try to find someone that I'm compatible with. I also am posting this to anyone that may be considering dating him, and should have some perspective of someone that actually dated him for awhile.

alixzanderh
New Reviewer
4/12/14

I have been a member for over two years and I have had no luck whatsoever. The girls are too selective, the picture guidelines are too ridiculous, and the matchmaking is poor. Out of my entire time being on OkayCupid, only about six women messaged me, but those conversations never lasted long. The majority of that 6 also took a while to reply, while I replied almost instantly. Now you may be thinking that 6 is a lot, but over the course of two years, six is quite low. Of course I'm not expecting swarms of messages, but I would have expected a little more than six.

Me being a male 19 year old Atheist, I wanted to be be matched with like minded people, but nope. I get matched with 30+ year old people, highly Religious people, etc.

Based on the amount of questions I answered (I answered at least 1,700), I expected decent results (I was told my highest match would be 99.9%). But that would take effort from their staff.

Also being someone who has never dated before, my experiences only make me dislike OkayCupid even more. But I still keep my account up in hopes that something might happen. Though if this keeps up, I might just give up and delete my account.

jamesw113
New Reviewer
4/6/14

Totally worthless and a big waste of time. You are better off calling numbers randomly from the phone book. The interface is annoying, and the matches are brutal. Don't waste your time.

mmmn
New Reviewer
3/30/14

after weeks of waiting i finely was asked on a date by my prince donging we both new where we would rather be 10 min in to are date he was a real hunk, i took him back to my place he reviled his ass distraction it was officially the biggest dong i had ever seen, i knew i wouldent be able to walk any more if i went a head so as i turned to say no to him i found the piethiaon half way in to me mouth i couldent breath in one hand me dreams where becoming true and in the other hand i was chucking to death. then i thought to me self i rather die knowing then live woundering. next thing i know i woke up 2 weeks later in icu iv permanently lost me voice and got me rear door kicked in so hard that when i eat now comes out 2 sec later. but the mystery is that is this a good experience or...... plz u gays help me

joea43
New Reviewer
3/21/14

I think, hands down, ok cupid is the best free site...and coming close to the best site overall. It has thousands of questions and tests...the more you answer, the closer it can match you (so it claims) though some of the matches are baffling. It also forms a personality profile on you based on your question answers and test results. There also seem to be a wider variety of people on this site than most.

UNFORTUNATELY, match.com bought ok cupid a couple of years ago. And they've slowly been removing functionality from the site ever since. Dumbing it down, removing useful features...by stealth. For instance, you cannot locate profiles without pictures now if you do a search. Before it was a checkable option. They've removed the Forum and Blog component entirely...where many members were complaining about the recent changes. Now they no longer show you when your 'favourites' are on line...a useful feature.

Perhaps these features will return one day...with a price tag on them. But, from a commercial point of view, it doesn't make much sense for match.com to maintain a free site they own...that is a much better dating site than their pay site. It's only going to get worse.

You've been warned.

kevinf22
New Reviewer
3/10/14

i was skeptical going in but was gld to be found wrong. Chatted with a few women and had some, that i thought, possibile matches. Went out with one woman who was nice but i jsut had no chemistry with.
Than one day i was scrolling thru some of the computer amtches and came across one that had a high percentage (plus a spunky profile message) so i contacted her. We talked for a bit and made a date for that coming weekend and spent th whole day together.
She is now living with me and i could not be happier. She is everything i had been looking for and i feel so lucky and blessed o have found her. I know this does not happen for everyone, but the site can and does work.

davidh153
New Reviewer
3/9/14

This website sucks signed like five weeks and I had my profile for only three weeks and I didn't receive no messages which is frustrating the only stupid thing was that a girl accepted me as a match then I message her and never responded back so I deleted my account for good

nickl32
New Reviewer
3/5/14

I had little to no luck on OkC. Figured I'd put in a sincere effort to find someone but fate had other plans. I expected the women to be extremely selective in who they chatted with and why wouldn't they, the market is in their favor. If I had to guess it's probably ten males to one female, so the odds are stacked against dudes.

Advice to the guys, sign up with very low and I mean LOW expectations, don't set yourself up for failure.

ericg26
New Reviewer
2/27/14

I met who I thought was the love of my life. Only a few things would I have changed at all. He contacted *me* first, and after giving it some thought, I decided to get us in deep. I thoroughly looked forward to getting to the point where we spent the rest of our lives together.

Then, after a while, he stopped messaging me.

I talked to someone earlier today, and he said he was probably either a middle-aged pervert who creates fake profiles, or a robot.

As a person with autism, I had never been in love before and now, for the first time, I experiencing my first genuine heartbreak. My depression has also gotten a promotion from intermittent to consistent.

After reading about the bad customer service, I’m afraid to report it.

jadelj
New Reviewer
2/23/14

I had sign up for ok cupid for less than a week. I received a message from a user called stuckey530 ( Paul Stuckey). He claimed to be a Sargent with the ARMY and that he was stationed in Afghanistan. He stated like that he was 41yrs old looking for long term relationship and that he made 100,0000 a yr. At first, the conversation was very short and basic., then he gave his email address and he eventually disabled his okcupid account. As we started to communicated.I asked him basic questions like, where are you orginally from, how long have you serve in the Army etc. I had did some research and found him on facebook with six different fb pages all with his pictures with him in field in Afg. and with other soliders. One page was updated as recent as feb.1,2014. He didn't say much, all I got out of him was that he was from Albany, NY. Yet his fb had listed as orginally from Washington D.C, was in Albany and he that he was in Brooklyn, NY. He stated that he was busy and that was why the communication was stagnant.( which was understandable). However, one day I did not receive any message from him until 11.oopm and He stated that he was Ok but worried. When I expressed my concern and asked him to tell me what is wrong. I stated that he had sold his car in the States and the buyer had his check with money but he did know how he was going to get the money. I responded and stated that he should contact the buyer, a close friend or family and handle his business. He wrote back that he was the ONLY SON and that his parents are dead. I immediately knew that this was a scammer. I wrote back and referred him to check out www.meetastudpidchic.com and to find himself a sucker. He wrote me back and stated "I see That is why you ar Poor and you never get married you will die in poor (M...Fr) I complained to Ok cupid and to dat no one has reponded. I will be filinf a complaint with the internet crime unit. Meeting people should not be a nightmare..

anthonyp31
New Reviewer
2/17/14

So not being comfortable with on-line dating I gave this site a try. The site will email you every day or so "compatible matches" that are selected from your answered questions. The first week of those matches was "ok" but no one that really interest me. Then I was sent 3 matches of women that I had recently worked with."How does that happen"!!! And, these were women who I knew I was not compatible with. Not only was this weird but it made me think there is really no logic to the site when it comes to matching couples. I really think they just randomly match up anyone. Needless to say I'm no longer dating on-line. Note: I live in the Los Angeles area not in some hidden mountain area where there are only 5 ppl living...

bg23
New Reviewer
2/11/14

Okay, so I am little biased because OK Cupid worked for me. First off I was pretty selective and would only respond to people who were nice and polite, and showed a decent profile - no 'selfies' in the mirror, shirt off, gangster style, and so on. Out of these I went out with two men. The first one turned out to be on outing and FB friends where we still talk and are very friendly towards each other. The second one was a successful business man who asked me what my income was - first and last date which consisted in ice cream and good-bye. I was 'gone' for a while and always left the IM off. One day I was logged in on different things, including OK Cupid, and received an IM that I have no idea how it turned on. That was July 2011, August of 2012 we became an official item, February of 2013 we moved in together, and August of 2013 we were married. Happily married! What I can say is to not wait for overnight magic and Prince Charming, select what you want based on what is good according to your moral standards, and give people a chance. Not everyone is a douche bag nor a saint, but there are normal guys and gals out there waiting for an opportunity for something good. Best of luck!!

jennifert21
New Reviewer
2/9/14

A lot of cool features. Met a few black men on here. One claimed he was rapper T.I.'s third cousin. Yeah ok. Anyway they were all extremely friendly as long as I was in a good mood. Yeah ok. Only met one in person. The other two were flakes.

lenam6
New Reviewer
2/6/14

My biggest complaint is that you cannot select the racial background of the men you would like to date. In my case, my parents would freak if I ever brought a black guy to their house. My inbox gets flooded by messages from black guys. I have a red dot (responds very selectively) due to this, which makes other members less likely to message you. I sometimes wonder if these guys just do it on purpose since they know you won't respond. Aside from that, I dated three guys off the website. One was rebounding, another looking for casual, open relationships, and the third was thirty and still living with his parents.

katm11
New Reviewer
2/6/14

Okcupid is a free dating website which means that most of the men on there are basically looking for something for free. I met one person on this site and he was a total pervert. I should have known because look at the questions they ask and really the Swiss cheese pervert was on the site. The guys on here are low class low grade me. The conversation I had with the last and final guy told me to go $#*! off because I wouldn't flirt with him through IM. That is when I closed out my account and had enough. I have better things to do with my time than talk to low class degrading men. If you are bored ladies by all means this site might be for you but other than that its a waste of time. This isn't a dating website. Its a site for men to get laid for free who have no respect for women.

roia
New Reviewer
1/31/14

Found my husband cheating on me .... his username is thecrow1984.(aka Andri Krita) i really hope he deleted his profile and never had any dates with any of those dirty women.....
if someone recognize this name, pls reply to me....

Best Online Dating Sites Reviewed by Consumers on SiteJabber

See more »
Girlfriendapp.com
Girlfriendapp.com
1 review
Couplesspark.com
Couplesspark.com
1 review
Thematchup.net
Thematchup.net
1 review
Ivyplussociety.org
Ivyplussociety.org
1 review