SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of GOG

GOG reviews

22 reviews
50%
Categories: Downloads, Games
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

22 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

danielj56
6 reviews
0 helpful votes
2/13/16

Best site to buy games drm-free.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Daniel about GOG
Advertisement
jackw93
5 reviews
4 helpful votes
1/12/16

Sadly I didn't find this site and saw other GOG reviews that praised it. I purchased a game described as "download for multiple platforms" and started to download it. I cancelled the download when I found out it was ONLY Windows, and then asked for a refund. Throughout the purchase and all over their site is a "30-Day Money Back" guarantee, but when I contacted the site they only offered store credit under the guise that the game was already downloaded (also a lie). Not only did they lie about the platform of the game but the refund guarantee as well. I refused to take their store credit as I would not be using this scam website again. It looked like a scam for a reason: it IS!

Tip for consumers: Don't use it! It's a scam!

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Jack about GOG
kelld2
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
11/3/15

They seem to have some fine games on there...but I wouldn't know, I couldn't get it to work on my computer. Then life happened and I got busy: a month or so later, I contact them and tell them it won't work, but they won't refund my money. The email I received from "Lisa" in their customer service was short and not very honest/polite (it ended with the phrase "I can't help you.") After I told them their customer service sucks, they begrudgingly offered a credit. I told them to stick it up their a$$. I refuse to support a company that treats its customers like crap and so should you. Look elsewhere for your games.

Ask Kell about GOG
ruhelu
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/30/15

After repeated emails, i am at a loss as the company won't refund me my monies (even though it accepts the programmes doesn't work on Mac, even though they clearly advertise that it does). Instead they offer a credit on their account. Why should i have to settle for a credit? Can anyone give me advise what i should do?

Ruhel

Ask ruhel about GOG
joshuag25
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/20/15

Gog.com has delivered countless titles, playable straight "out of the box." This site has made it easy to download and play classic titles immediately on modern versions of Windows. I am impressed with the service and the library of games available.

Ask Joshua about GOG
davel77
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/16/15

Got myself Kings Bounty on GOG.COM.Had every single bug possible,payed the same price at Steam.com.No issues what soever.Waste of money and time

Ask Dave about GOG
bobf42
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/8/15

Its a complete scam. I downloaded commados pack and it wont work. reinstalled gog and galaxy etc. all games too. wont even load. I cancelled the credit card i used just in case its a hoax. Oh and go ahead and try to use the site to contact customer care. Its not possible as they dont exist. Be warned I really think all the reviews and so called "users"are complete shills. I bet no one has ever downloaded a gamer from them.

Ask bob about GOG
ronalds61
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/28/15

Apparently if a CD-Key is bought from a third party and that key happened to be originally bought with a stolen credit card. They'll revoke YOUR game after you bought it legally, despite having no knowledge whatsoever about how it was originally purchased. Without any notification.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Ronald about GOG
mikem277
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/27/15

I bought NWN diamond and NWN 2 Complete and neither would even download. I tried the new Gog Galaxy and the older Gog downloader and neither will even start the download. I tried the use the report feature two different times and it pops up an error message. I contacted tech support and never heard back. Poorest quality game site I have ever seen.

Ask Mike about GOG
patrickw44
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/31/15

I bought the game "Torchlight" from gog.com on macintosh. It fails to work, and I've messaged their technical support three times and counting about it, over the past week. I've received no reply. Also note that three of the positive reviews for gog.com on this site are cut and pasted from each other, which is always suspicious.

Ask Patrick about GOG
johns890
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/18/15

No installation instructions requires you to download a 4 gig file in browser before it can install do not buy large games from gog.

Ask John about GOG
karlp15
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/28/15

Downloaded software and it would not run. Asked for refund and was told to send diag. files. So now I paid for the opportunity to be their debugger! Think not. They claim software would work - it did not so refund my money. DO NOT USE THIS SITE.

Ask kARL about GOG
shaunh14
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/5/15

If you ever have a problem with anything there will be no help. Their payment options also are quite odd. I had more then enough money and a card that allowed international. would not accept payment. then switched money to paypal account to buy it. told me payment was not accepted but got charged. Had to fight tooth and nail to get the money back but they could not give me the game. I find them to be garbage mostly. but if you can get your games might be ok. Go steam if you have an option. Also if you notice most of the reviews are copy/paste. clearly company at work.

Ask Shaun about GOG
jackc57
8 reviews
11 helpful votes
3/31/14

Good website. There's a lot of old but cool games you can buy and play on.

Ask Jack about GOG
emmaj10
5 reviews
21 helpful votes
3/26/14

I love this site, it's easy to use and I found a lot of games I haven't played for a looong time! Very fun and the games are at the right price. I'm really glad to have found this site. ^^

Ask Emma about GOG
chancep3
5 reviews
12 helpful votes
11/2/13

Been wanting to buy something off GOG for a few years and finally a Dungeon Keeper 2 promo came along where it was like $2.50. I couldn't pass it up. Well not only did the site actually do what it was supposed to, but the game was fully patched AND actually plays properly!!!! And on top of that I got Witcher for free which I wasn't expecting and didn't even know about that promo. Maybe my expectations are really low and I'm used to things never, ever working, but GOG did come through seamlessly.

So... obviously you need Steam due to some games ONLY being on Steam (and some content being workshop-only also, and multi-player 1st or 3rd party...), but whenever possible get your stuff DRM-free from GOG.

Ask Chance about GOG
dannys22
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
10/26/13

1 of the best site i found really enjoy with it! love!

Ask Danny about GOG
nealb22
4 reviews
8 helpful votes
9/9/13

FANTASTIC SITE! Great bargains on great games, always doing special deals, and entirely trustworthy. I've bought loads of games from them with not a single problem so far.

Can't recommend GOG enough.

Ask Neal about GOG
harolds26
7 reviews
16 helpful votes
6/18/13

Love the site. Good deals on games, delivery is quick. Never had an issue with them.

Ask Harold about GOG
marleya2
6 reviews
10 helpful votes
4/3/13

Great website for your old school games. Every game comes with it's own installer from GOG that works on all operating systems. Great prices and special deals are always running for many different games. I recommend this to anyone who is looking for classic games of any kind.

Ask Marley about GOG
marsc
8 reviews
38 helpful votes
8/14/10

I agree entirely with Chris O. review of GOG. Cheap, reliable, DRM free and a really great community and customer support to boot. I highly recommend them.

One word of caution, the reviews on the site often tend to rate games much more highly than they deserve, so take that with a grain of salt.

Ask Mars about GOG
chriso1
706 reviews
2,990 helpful votes
5/2/10

If you keep DOS mouse drivers on a floppy, remember the correct IRQ for a Soundblaster 16, and instinctively reach for the soundcard instead of the USB socket when you plug in a joystick, this is likely to be right up your street. And If the mere whisper of "3D Realms" brings a wistful tear to your eye, you'll be at home here. Because GOG stands for Good Old Games, and it's achieved (more or less) the classic PC gamer's equivalent of discovering the Holy Grail: making a whole swathe of the best classic DOS and Windows95/98 games run in Windows XP or Vista. No more emulations, no more DOSBox, and no need to keep a creaky old 386 machine in the garage for the purpose.

If you have absolutely no idea what any of that meant, this is not for you. But for those of us who blasted our way through Duke Nukem 3D or drove across the desert in Interstate76, and for anyone who wants to discover playability that doesn't depend on 21st century graphics, GOG has put together a collection of games which some of us never expected to see again and which newcomers to early PC gaming should find a refreshing change.

Amazingly, the games are also available at classic prices too, with most being in the $5.99 to $9.99 range. And as GOG has acquired international licences, they're able to supply the games for download at the same price to anyone, anywhere, legally. And there's more, in the form of free manuals, or strategy guides, wallpapers and other free goodies to be downloaded after you've purchased a game.

GOG games are "DRM-free", meaning that there is no copy protection involved. Once you own a copy, you are free to load it up on as many computers as you like, as often as you like. And if you run into troubles, there's an active community ready to help.

So that's the PR, and it seems from reading customer experiences that while it's broadly true, not every game runs as smoothly as intended. I took a look at the reviews of Interstate'76, a 1998 game which I recall fairly fondly . For five or six bucks, or the equivalent, it would be fun to see it again. But apparently this version, though claimed to run on XP, is still terribly buggy and crash-prone and there are some unhappy purchasers out there. I gather at least some of the issues are fixable - anyone who remembers Glide and the Voodoo Banshee card will know that back in the day, compatibility with your video card was by no means guaranteed and sometimes you had to go hunt for drivers. This appears to still be the case, at least with this game, which seems to have shipped with the Glide files missing. But it's the exception rather than the rule, as far as I can see, because reviews for the random choice of other games I looked at were much more favorable. I guess the later games may be easier to 'port' to XP, and as they are supplied fully pre-patched to the latest versions, any bugs inherent in the originals should be long gone. Still, check the reviews before buying, as you would do anywhere else.

The team behind the site has a nice sense of humor, as evidenced by this comment about being in "beta":

"As with every self-respecting website in the Web 2.0 era, we figure we have to keep the site in beta for at least a year before we can launch it. So be warned: if you don't sign up quickly and send us your feedback ASAP, we might think of launching it earlier."

Classic gaming (OK, playing old games) isn't going to be for everyone. I doubt anyone who's shelled out the big bucks for a top-of-the-line gaming machine is planning on running any DOS games, but maybe this will encourage them to experiment. After all, you can buy as many as ten of these games for the price of one modern game, and some of them are good enough to be fondly remembered and replayed ten or twelve years on. I wonder how many of this year's games we will be able to say that about?

Ask Chris about GOG

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the GOG staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
GOG?
Post Review