SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

FreedomPop reviews

15 reviews
20%
11301 W Olympic Blvd Ste 112
Los Angeles, CA 90064-1652, USA
Tel: (855) 703-5785
support@freedompop.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

15 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

taniyah

I purchased the Groupon offered by Freedompop to purchase a phone for their service. (in 4 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

harryw22
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/5/15

Freedompop is a complete scam. I had purchased their hotspot device for something like $55 and I was supposed to receive FREE 500mg of data each month. Well, somehow they started charging me $3.99/month and when I denied paying them, they cancelled my account. Trying to get anyone on the phone is IMPOSSIBLE. this is clearly some type of major scam and I am surprised the government hasn't shut them down yet!!

kevins93
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/28/14

bought a phone on groupon for freedompop Dec 2 2014 and still today Dec 28 it doesnt work, the worst reception ever, and let me tell you about their support, or lack of. I have emailed support@freedompop over 10x and NOT 1 has been responded to. and yes I have also waited hours on hold. when I first got the phone it wasnt in their data banks and took 3 hours on the phone to get hooked up , doesnt work at all when I try to use it outside my house. the reception is so bad, I sound like a craklin robot. and NO ONE will help. they just dont give a $#*! about their customers. Im a disabled vet just needing a phone for emergencies and this has been the worst purchase ever. ZERO stars or NEG stars is what they deserve. I have never had such BAD customer support. I would HIGHLY recommend you DONT get involved with this company. the only support I have received is on their Facebook page and that takes days to get back to me. I literally HATE this company DO NOT JOIN FREEDOMPOP or you will hate yourself

sophiam8
8 reviews
11 helpful votes
11/25/14

Okay but not always reliable. We are discontinuing the service.

lync18
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
11/1/14

Purchased 7/30 for $29.99 activation fee with NO MONTHLY charge. They shipped item to me on 8/15 - on 8/16 my computer went into shop to be fixed. It was still in shop on 9/2 when company took another 39.99 out of my bank account. I returned FreedomPop on 9/5 per their instructions (with RMA). Note: I never used it. On 11/1/2014 I still have not received my full refund.

paulc114
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/30/14

It has been 12 days since I ordered a phone and it is still being processed. I have found a lot of misleading information if not a lie. 1 The time of shipping is exactly what it says shipping only. There are 3 more steps before shipping can occur. like finding the phone, setting it to work with Freedompop and testing it. 2 The voice mail they put in the charges (2.49) is video voice mail not regular voice mail. 3 the money back policy could not be found on the website. 4 The unlimited service (10.99) is limited to 2500/5000 min/texts. This should have been very open and easy to find before purchasing. 5 The free month does not begin when clicking activate like site says but when the phone actually ships so you just lose shipping time. IF THE SERVICE WORKS THE PRICE WILL MAKE IT WORTH THE INCORRECT INFO OTHER WISE I WILL BE USING THE 30 DAY MONEY BACK OFFER.********6 It doesn't tell you until you nave activated that porting your number may not be possible but as a courtesy they will give it their best effort. So 7 becomes getting a new number that for me was very limited. 8 when signing up the show you all these nice services in a package for 9.99/ mth while the no thank you button/link is almost blended in to the background color. Once signed up you can cancel but do not expect a refund. BUYER EWAR FREE JUST ISNT FREE IF YOU DONN'T FIND THE SMALL PRINT, BUT EVEN IF YOU DO NOT FIND ALL OF THE SMALL TACK ON ITEMS THE FIRST MONTH YOU WILL STILL SAVE MONEY WITH THE 19.99 PLAN VS WHAT YOU WERE SPENDING ON YOUR CURRENT CARRIER. I will reserve final rating once I have received the phone and have used it awhile. Then I will edit the post and tell you what the service is really like

Tip for consumers: Buyer beware. It it looks too good it probly is. f/or me it was worth the phone and services to try and know ai can get my money back by pqying return shipping.30-40$ is worth the ga ble to me

Service
Value
Shipping
Ask paul about FreedomPop
taniyah
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/26/14

I have called the company several times at different times of the day and have had to wait at least 45minutes to a 1hour on hold. I also had to wait 24-48hours to speak to someone for escalating my call for help. Which mint I had to call back & wait on hold again.
The service in the Seattle area barely works on a good day even though the "map" shows that it is. I purchased the Groupon offered by Freedompop to purchase a phone for their service. We tried it for 3 days the service doesn't work in our area. I requested my refund. Groupon said it comes from Freedompop. Freedompop refuses to give a refund & will just exchange the phone. That would be great if it worked in this area. The phone though a Sprint phone can be used by other carrier, but Freedompop will not Fully Release it allowing it to be reprogrammed/activated by another carrier.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask taniya about FreedomPop
lisad59
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/7/14

The network is good but many time we disappointed due to the weather. But overall you are providing good services.

dorisx
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/29/14

I got suck in on freedompop they charge me 118.00 dollors, they stole my money no services ,and have no one to get it back into my account? Watch out for scammers they are out there? Just got stck with the box. Doris

Tip for consumers: Watch out scammers?

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Doris about FreedomPop
ernestineb
5 reviews
4 helpful votes
9/11/14

The website FreedomPop is really useful for me in all aspects. It is well known to everyone that internet are one of the most important thing in day to day life, and so that from the website, they are generally providing all types of information in a greater aspect. So in general all these information is really useful.

jayd129
23 reviews
59 helpful votes
9/7/14

Freedompop sold me wireless service in Las Vegas that doesn't exist. I wasted money on the device. Don't join them. They hire orientals that don't understand English

sheenam6
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
8/31/14

Love it, really good!

saranshk
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/31/14

Great service...

oscarj
97 reviews
788 helpful votes
8/27/14

The concept is great, just like back in the day when companies were giving out free dial up internet accounts just to introduce the service to you. But there is always a catch with free and here it is that they are trying to up sell on a wide variety of additional services. $10 automatic top-up after you sign up....meaning they will bill you monthly to get additional services. Still, it isn't that bad of a deal and there is no contract which is very nice.

raymonds22
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/24/14

This company is the WORST!

Tip for consumers: Recommend this to those you hate

Service
Value
Ask raymond about FreedomPop
bobg8
33 reviews
174 helpful votes
7/14/13

Really great CONCEPT, free internet. BUT, after seeing a report on the news this morning I decided to visit their website to have a look. Somehow I think they are doing a little data mining, because after browsing around and clicking off the site I noticed that my "junk folder" had messages by guess who???? Yep, freedompop!!! I didn't give out any info when I viewed the site, so just how did they get my email address??? NOT COOL.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the FreedomPop staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business