SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Companies

Flirt reviews

23 reviews
Categories: Dating
Tel: +441312201313
domains@easydate.biz
1st Review:
borisj

23 Reviews for Flirt.com

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

New Reviewer
4/6/14

Rubbish

If you wish to be robbed at least 98 us dollars for sitting in front of your screen and being attempted scammed, receiving cam offers, watching fake girls and receive offers of solicitation, then sign up

New Reviewer
3/8/14

Wish I would have read this before signing up. Does seem like lots of scams. I saw two different profiles with the exact same about me profile with same misspellings. On other sires the scams are easier to tell because the photos they use look more like models. This one the people creating the fake profiles use more average looking people Hope I can get untangled without a problem.

New Reviewer
3/8/14

What a load of rubbish. Bits of it entertaining but in terms of real relationships etc highly unlikely.

Fraudulent practice, too. To cancel membership, you have to phone an 0844 number, which they close at 5pm. So you would need to have cancelled the day before to save £45.99. At best a scam, at worst fraud.

New Reviewer
3/4/14

I had cancelled my trial membership on the 1 st day, then they billed me for one full month after the 3 days trial for $39.99.

New Reviewer
2/25/14

All total bs might as well drop dead than use this bs

New Reviewer
2/22/14

What a crap !! fake profils fake messages, fake photos, and same goes for there other site NAUGTHY.COM . DON'T TOUCH THESE SITE WITH A !0 FOOT POLE

New Reviewer
1/17/14

Do not register or pay a membership to that site. The site is full of spam bots, scammers, porn girls and strippers. No one on that site wants a OFFLINE date, they just want to get you to their site to see some silly cam and rate them. Which the site pays them for "hits" to their page. I been a paid member and you always get women who are so eager to give out their cell number. Like a real lady would give their number out to a total stranger. You get hit with tons of chat messages and emails. Only to find out that when you contact this women off the site. Its all about going to a website to cam. Nothing more, Nothing Less! Stay away.

New Reviewer
10/29/13

So far the site is full of $#*!, same old flirt winks and pre written messages...don't waste you time and $$.AC

New Reviewer
10/21/13

lots of cam girls who try to sell their sex show , lots of scammer too from ghana and all over the world , I'm from Montreal , a french city , but the woman of Montreal in that site don't understand a word of french , and if a woman contact you she is always a thousand milles from you . Waste of time and money ,I try to contact them but it was another waste of time , they do nothing against all the scammer on their site

New Reviewer
9/21/13

this site all scammers the most girls said in the beginning that they introduced to the
site by a friend .. and the funny thing they will says to you in the first email
that you are the first person they meet on the site .. after you and her knowing each other a little bit she start to ask for money ... most of the girls here .... NOTE : most of them they will says to you they are stuck without money somewhere in neggeria
south affrica or something like that . it is all bull$#*! guys do not trust these $#*!es
at all ... guys this site all scammers a 100 per cent ... you can use the site and enjoy
the $#*!es no problems with that but never give money to these girls .. cos you will never get it back ..

New Reviewer
8/29/13

Fake profiles; dormant profiles. Profiles with incompatible statements, for example, Introductory line will mention the city, the profile is from, while further down in the profile's self description, the person mentions they are in another part of the country, or another part of the world. The one from another part of the world come peddling for monetary handouts, or request you to rate their pole dancing abilities by joining a third party site. No dates here.

New Reviewer
8/18/13

Cupid plc’s terms and conditions applying to their online dating services are extremely binding.
Anyone willing to subscribe to their Services may want to read carefully their terms and conditions.

We have found the below post on a consumer website (consumer a ffairs). Please note that at this stage we haven’t been able to confirm if the alleged facts are accurate and a true reflection of the situation although the complaint appears genuine, thorough and factual to us.

“Laura of Liverpool” has posted on 26 August 2012 on consumer a ffairs:

“I was absolutely horrified recently when both a customer along with friends and family informed me that they had seen dating agency advertising banners on YouTube and Facebook with my face. I was sent copies of these advertisements and was furious that Mature Dating UK was using a picture of me to advertise their company. I found out that this company is a subsidiary of Cupid PLC”.
[…]
“I received a non-apologetic email back explaining that I had joined an online dating agency back in 2011 and as part of their T&C's, they can use my images as they please. I was absolutely dismayed for several reasons. The first being that although I do recall joining an online dating agency at the beginning of 2011, I ended my membership shortly afterwards (mid 2011) and have been in a relationship with my current partner since. It is ludicrous that they can use my pictures when I'm not even an active member. Secondly, surely this is false advertising for Mature DatingUK, as I was only 28 years of age on the picture and I have never been a member of this particular website. Finally, had the T&C’s been clear that they can use my picture for advertising for whatever websites they please and whenever they like, I certainly would not have shared my pictures. I am horrified to think how many other people could have their reputations tarnished by this exploitation and wonder how many members Cupid PLC would actually have if it made it very clear of its unacceptable intentions.”
Laura adds:
“I have since received an email back from Cupid PLC detailing their T&C’s. […]
I have included what they sent me below and I continue to pursue them for an apology: "License to your posted content - By posting information or content to your profile pages or any public area of the site, you automatically grant, and you represent and warrant that you have the right to grant to Cupid an irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, royalty free, worldwide license to use, copy, publish, display, reformat, translate and distribute such information or content and to grant and authorize sub-licenses of the same. You further waive any moral rights you may have in any such information or content."”

We present below a review of the recent changes applied to the Cupid plc’s terms and conditions applying to their online dating services.

1. Data protection

In Cupid plc’s terms and conditions appearing online as of 02 August 2013 that we have recorded, it is stated indeed that “by posting information or content to your profile pages, […] [you] grant to Cupid an irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, royalty free, worldwide licence to use, copy, publish, display, reformat, translate and distribute such information or content”.

It appears that the terms and conditions have now been amended as they state as of 14 August 2013, section 6 B, that “by posting information or content including but not limited to copyrighted content, name and likeness and photographs to your profile pages, […] [you] “grant to us, our Partner Sites and Group Companies, a non-exclusive, royalty free, worldwide licence to use, copy, publish, display, reformat, translate and distribute, and broadcast, such information or content.”

We do note that the terms “irrevocable” and “perpetual” have been removed and that the TCs now explicitly include all partner sites and group companies.

We note that this coincides with the official news statements from the British Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO) dated 29 July 2013 published on their official website.

The ICO news say:
“The letters follow a recent survey by the ICO of major UK dating websites, which identified areas where the Data Protection Act was not being followed. The ICO has now written to the four biggest UK-based providers of online dating services, highlighting the main areas of concern that the survey found. The companies are asked to respond with how they are meeting those concerns.
The areas of concern highlighted include:
• Poor visibility of the terms and conditions that give the website consent to use personal information in certain ways
• Those terms and conditions making reference to the dating company having “perpetual” or “irrevocable” licence to use members’ data
• Websites claiming to take no responsibility for the loss of or damage to personal information
• Users being expected to provide personal details before the terms and conditions are provided
The letters have been sent to eHarmony, match, Cupid, and Global Personals, as well as the industry trade body, the Association of British Introduction Agencies.
The work by the ICO’s enforcement team comes as BBC’s Panorama programme (“Tainted Love: Secrets of the Dating Game”.) reports on the scale of apparent unscrupulous practices being employed by some dating websites.”

Simon Entwisle, ICO’s Director of Operations, said:
“The evidence we’re being presented with by the media suggests quite concerning business practices by some dating websites, and there are particular questions around how people’s information is being used that need to be answered.
“It’s concerning to see that there appear to be sites which, as a matter of course, are falling far short of the legal standards for ensuring information is accurate and up to date.
“While media reports are painting a disturbing picture, the number of complaints we’re getting from the public is not very high. That could be because this is only an issue with a small minority of websites, or it could be because people are reluctant to come forward. The work we’re doing now will help us to better understand the scale of the issue.
“As part of that work, we’d urge anyone who believes a dating website has misused their data to get in touch with us.”

The latest version of Cupid plc’s terms and conditions explicitly indicate section 1 that you “authorise us to reproduce […] the information contained in your profile including your name, photograph, […] description etc. throughout all or part of our Partner Sites and our Group Companies for […] marketing and other purposes”.

We note that the term “other purposes” is intentionally sufficiently vague.

Section 6 B reaffirms that “we may use any of your content, including your photographs, for the purposes of advertising or publicity.”

If you combine this clause with the clause mentioned Section 5 B whereby (i) “you warrant that you will provide all the information required to complete the registration forms for our Services” and (ii) “ensure the information you provide is complete, accurate and up to date”, you fundamentally grant to Cupid plc the right to use your data for commercial purposes and you commit to provide accurate data about yourself.

In other terms, as soon as you agree with the terms and conditions, Cupid plc can use your personal data, including for “marketing and other purposes” as they see fit and they might force you to indemnify then if you breached their clauses:

Indeed section 9 D, “You agree to indemnify us […] for any claims, causes of action, debts, losses, costs, liabilities and expenses (including reasonable legal fees) relating to or arising […] out of: […] any content or information posted by you.”


2. Clas s action

An additional clause has been added section 10 C of the terms and conditions whereby Cupid plc’s clients are “giving up [their] rights to participate in a class a ction.” This additional clause is likely to have been introduced between 02 August 2013 and 14 August 2013 as there does not seem to be any mention of such a clause prior to 02 August 2013 in the TCs we have consulted online and recorded.

In la w, a class act ion is a form of lawsut in which a large group of people collectively bring a claim to court. They allow consumer organizations to bring claims on behalf of large groups of consumers.

We note that the timing of this clause being introduced does coincide with the recent BBC investigation program on dating websites aired on 29 July 2013 and the news statements from the ICO dated 29 July 2013.

This seems to imply that Cupid plc now considers that it might become the defendant in a cl ass action.

Note that common-law principles do not favour the retroactive effect of clauses in the majority of cases, and canons of legislative construction presume that legislation is not intended as retroactive unless its language expressly makes it retroactive.

New Reviewer
5/18/13

I immediatly knew this was scam. I did not even posted a picture or wrote any intro and i already had 4 emails from beautiful young women in my inbox, from all over the world except near my place. This is usually a big red flag about site that scam. They hit on vulnerable guys who dont see that its impossible that a beautiful woman contact you when you dont even have a profile picture. I tried to remove my profile, but the option to do so is nowhere to be found. Only found out how to stop all email notifications. Since i've put no personnal infos of picture on this, hope doing this and then forgetting about this site will do.

New Reviewer
4/5/13

Did not like the video chat hits which slow down the site. Spent a few days on it got a few contacts. Can't say they were the cream of the crop but were fun to chat and talk to. I was just looking for the flirting. Cancellation seemed to be ok, we'll see once the statement comes in

New Reviewer
2/9/13

you click on the option to stop auto-billing and you put in your password. after this it gives you a phone number, you have to call. this made me nervous. i found this site and other reviews on the site and called the number to delete everything. they tried to give me 2 weeks free and i argued with them for 5 minutes telling them no, i dont want it. the opp finally get pissy and short with me and said everything will be deleted and to never log back in or my profile will be restored. i told them i want a confirmation number that everything was canceled so i can show the bank in case i get charged any more money and they said there is not confirmation number...

the website itself is a scam.

New Reviewer
10/18/12

I wouldn't waste your time, anything underwritten by Cupid Plc is a scam or a waste of money, I spoke to ONE genuine woman but it was during a 3 day trial, cancelled it but somehow I got charged just over £32 today, while I was asleep as I'm poorly, rang them this evening saying I didn't opt for full membership but they say when you opt for a 3 day trial you agree to repeat billing for higher amount. Ridiculous. Now I've contacted not only their billing returns department but my bank as I'm disputing it. I'm absolutely infuriated,8 times they tried to get me to accept a % off next month's bill, told them to shove it up their arse and shut the hell up to let me speak, couldn't get the hint could they. if they don't return my money I'll fight it all the way. Being severely disabled I thought it was only chance of meeting someone, I'd rather cut my balls off with a rusty blade than stay on that pathetic excuse for a site. I'm in the UK, how the hell is Amsterdam a 'local match' screw them.

They've a fight on their hands.

New Reviewer
7/25/12

Made a complete profile. I only tried the FREE portions for about 5 days. Yuk, lots of sleezy profiles that are not real.
When trying to remove my picture and all the details, my password will not work.
Even had them send the password, and they did, then with "copy & paste" it will not work. (only when removing a profile, it works for everything else)
They are not a friendly site. Stay away!

New Reviewer
5/23/12

Everyone has a funny pick-up story in their past, i have it with flirt)
i found my love!

New Reviewer
4/14/12

Huge Scam! Many many bots and fake profiles... Cupid runs a network of sites including flirt, benaughty and many others. The profiles are sources from many locations. It's almost always a fat pimpled pig sitting behind the profile of a 1000 pretty girls.

New Reviewer
10/11/11

I like this site, because i made so many contacts here. Some of them were very good and are still in touch with me. Not all people are good, of course, I met some stupid men and women on here, nut it's a fantastic site. First thing you see bright colors and great design make it so attractive, and easy to use chat made me an addict ;) I'm using it everywhere to contact my friends! Bravo bravo!

New Reviewer
9/28/11

Love this site! I've been chatting with some really cool people and have gone on to meet up with a few of them after getting to know them a bit through the site (and to my relief, they all turned out to be exactly the same person in their profile picture and actually were who they said they were!)
The site does seem to slow down a bit at time as there are a load of users, and if there all on at the same time you notice it, but it's not that bad, it would be nice if they sorted out that tho, then the site would be perfect!

New Reviewer
7/14/11

This web site is the most used by more scammers then I have ever associated mhyself with. These people need to police their website. I personally was scammed for over $6,200 and they just prey on men. I cannot go on that site and have a woman IM me asking me for money...they need to get it together or they should be punished.

Apprentice Reviewer
6/10/11

After signing up, I've tested it and found again, more obvious scam problems. For instance, there are many scammers from 3rd world countries, who want to get your money by presenting themselves as Playboy-alike bunnies. Come on, why would gorgeous woman even signup at such a site?
Beautiful women just have to show up anywhere, and immediately they attract all the men there:)
So, for all guys around SJ, please don't fall for such schemes, ok?

About Flirt
Specialties & Business Description
Flirt bills itself as a new, social online dating experience. Flirt's spin on online dating includes chat rooms and fits into the broader online dating strategy of its parent company, Cupid plc www.cupidplc.com.