SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Flickr

Flickr reviews

54 reviews
83%
701 1st ave.
Sunnyvale, California, USA
Tel: +1.4083493300
domainadmin@yahoo-inc.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

54 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

johnh47

It is good for showing off your favourite photos and videos. (in 18 reviews)

gabyp

Overall, this is a great site to share and view pictures. (in 5 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

hankw
9 reviews
17 helpful votes
1/16/15

The website has a lot of offer but in the last couple years the site privacy has issues as well as the changes made by Yahoo no longer make it a very user friendly site. There is a lot of hard core porn photography there if that is the type of photography you are looking to find. The hard stuff is well filtered if you do not wish to see it. There are some great photographers featured on the website and you can not beat the price, 1TB of space for free, for now.

Service
Value
Ask Hank about Flickr
Advertisement
madisonm23
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/3/14

Flickr is an excellent photo-sharing website. Even though you don’t have unlimited space to store photos, there is 1 TB of space that you have, so you shouldn’t run out of storage (Muchmore). If you do, you could always just make another account, anyway, but I didn’t like that I had to make a Yahoo email account when I sign up. Otherwise, I found the process to sign up simple, and was delighted to find that it was free. I find that Flickr is a much better photo-sharing website than something like Instagram or Facebook because Flickr really focuses on the photos instead of the social aspect. On Instagram, you can only upload square photos and it is also notorious for its filters that somewhat hinder the picture. On Facebook, your photos are not the centerpiece and usually, the pictures concern the people who are in them instead of the setting, perhaps. On Flickr, the pictures are the complete focus. People really care about the photographical integrity of their photos, instead of taking pictures of their coffee. I love that you have the option to share what kind of camera someone uses, the shutter speed, and more features that I might want to know about when I’m taking pictures.
Flickr is delightful and easy to use. It is easy to access all of the people that I am following and their most recent pictures are right in front of me when I log in. It is very intuitive, much like Facebook and other social media sites, so if you know how to use those, then you should be fine navigating this site. I think it would be a great idea to keep your academic photography portfolio in Flickr, since your teacher and peers would be able to access it and also write comments on your photos saying what they like, dislike, and critique it. It would be great to use Flickr if you are a small business, especially if you specialize in something creative because Flickr is a great way to showcase what your business has to offer. Personally, it is good that there are so many features on Flickr that let people interact with each other and that there isn’t a lot of competition. There are also a lot more ways to edit your photos on Flickr than ever before (McCane). However, I read one woman on this website was happy to be able to share her photos with her family, but there was no way for her to order her family’s photos: Only her own. Another review emphasized that if you need help on the website, it is hard to get precisely what you need because everything has to go through Yahoo (McEntire). Overall, most reviews are mostly positive on Flickr, and it is one of the best photo-sharing websites around.
McEntire, Katherine. “Flickr Ad-Free.” Top Ten Reviews. Purch, n.d. Web. 16 Sept. 2014.
McCane, Camille. “Flickr vs Instagram: Which is Better and Why.” Bloggingpro. Splashpress Media, n.d. Web. 15 Sept. 2014.
Muchmore, Michael. “Flickr (Spring 2013).” PCMag. Ziff Davis, LLC, Spring 2013. Web. 15 Sept. 2014.

Ask Madison about Flickr
dorothys12
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/4/14

After a family reunion, many of us joined Flickr so we could share and buy each other's photos. Unfortunately, we just realized after our pictures have all been uploaded to a private group site, that we cannot order each other's pictures…you can only order from your own photos. Very disappointing.

Value
Ask Dorothy about Flickr
candacef
11 reviews
28 helpful votes
6/28/14

I like this site it is much better than photobucket.com or imgur.com.

Ask Candace about Flickr
bellet1
8 reviews
9 helpful votes
4/8/14

This site is good The best online photo sharing site. You can see beautiful pictures in this site.

Ask Belle about Flickr
bethw12
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
3/31/14

They are really great!!! I love their services specially their employees. So hard working! Anyway for any Electrical needs near Orlando check them out! A-Lumination Electric is the best Orlando residential electrician for you is that they are invested in your safety and security. They want to make sure that your house is up to standards, and that you have all of the information that you need to maintain an electrically stable home. They have helpful information about home safety on their website, so that, even after your service, you can stay connected and informed. call them! 407-298-1412

Ask Beth about Flickr
cindyc27
9 reviews
8 helpful votes
3/13/14

Flickr is an online photo management. It is good for showing off your photos and videos. You can even make photos private so only your family can view them.
There are lots of apps to customize your viewing.
Only allows 200 pics if you are on free account .
Uploading photos in this site is good!.

Ask Cindy about Flickr
peterg50
6 reviews
7 helpful votes
3/5/14

sometimes slow. Search needs improvement.

Ask Peter about Flickr
jk47
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
1/28/14

Good site for photography.

Ask J about Flickr
jennye3
25 reviews
28 helpful votes
12/4/13

Very cool photo sharing site!

Ask Jenny about Flickr
ianb51
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
11/13/13

i prefer the older version :/

Ask Ian about Flickr
chiaraf1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
9/11/13

Excellent site for putting all your fav pics and finding others too. Share it with others or keep it private.

Ask Chiara about Flickr
naomit
6 reviews
8 helpful votes
8/5/13

So, 8 years ago I posted a bunch of traveling pictures on Flickr.com, with public access (bad mistake). Time passed, and surprisingly, I've matured, and now I want to remove the pictures that I posted 8 years ago, because some of them are REALLY embarrassing, and I don't want anyone in my current social circles to come across them. BUT since then I changed my email address a couple of times and I cant seem to match the email address of the account = Flickr.com are refusing to remove these picture or even un-publish them! Its driving me crazy! I understand security issues and all, but seriously, I want them off the platform and I can't do any thing about that!
So my advice to you - if you are thinking of posting pictures and making them available to the public - take in mind that if you change an email address throughout the years and lose the one (email address) you registered to that website with - you will never be able to remove them!! FML.

Ask Naomi about Flickr
stephenb56
7 reviews
7 helpful votes
7/18/13

i'm not a pro photographer so i don't use it for work or anything, but since the big redesign happened, I can't get my head around the site. It's awkward to navigate and actually considering deleting my account. As i said, i'm not a photog, so it might be different for you guys!

Ask Stephen about Flickr
kristym1
5 reviews
6 helpful votes
7/8/13

I enjoy photography so much a d when i downloaded the flickr app for my iphone I just loved it, there is so much to share and see.

Ask Kristy about Flickr
randyw20
6 reviews
8 helpful votes
6/9/13

Flickr is, simply put, an excellent website. The photos are incredibly easy to search, and the advanced search makes it very easy to select exactly what kind of photos you're looking for. The photos are mostly high quality as well. Giving you a terabyte of data is also incredibly generous. Would highly recommend using this site.

Ask Randy about Flickr
larryg27
5 reviews
4 helpful votes
5/29/13

Flickr used to be bigger, now its kind of whatever I barely use it compare to how much I used to use it 2 years ago.

Ask Larry about Flickr
susanz5
5 reviews
5 helpful votes
5/23/13

this website my useful which is the wonderful pictures collection, and I use this site everyday. Good technology website .....

Ask susan about Flickr
adahv
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
5/20/13

One of the best websites for sharing own photos. Just love people responding and commenting my photos! Great site!

Ask Adah about Flickr
chrisj34
27 reviews
39 helpful votes
2/22/13

Anyone can say anything about my photo, and I cannot stop them!!!

Ask chris about Flickr
davisonhs
9 reviews
8 helpful votes
1/18/13

Flickr is one of the best image sharing website. The video area of Flickr is not as good as Daily mOtion.

Ask DavisonH about Flickr
chemag
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/16/13

One of my favourite current websites, it is extremely useful and has many uses. Perfect for displaying your portfolio, art, designs, etc.

Ask Chema about Flickr
robertr45
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/3/13

First place for a newbie to share your artwork

Ask Robert about Flickr
heatherp5
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
9/6/12

I love this site..

Ask Heather about Flickr
dougs12
3 reviews
16 helpful votes
9/6/12

Pretty cool site. I joined a few months ago and I have really enjoyed the ability to show off my pictures. Plus I've met a lot of cool people on Flickr too.

I'd really recommend the site.

Ask Doug about Flickr
janiceb6
11 reviews
11 helpful votes
7/7/12

If you love pictures and photography, you have got to be on Flickr! I think it's pretty cool how you can arrange your pictures as per sets and categories.. moreover it comes with online photo editor, so no need for expensive editing software licenses!

Ask Janice about Flickr
juliak3
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
5/24/12

What a wonderful site this is.
Yuo get to see photos of your friends and relative
and they are always there when you return...Julia

Ask Julia about Flickr
maryj12
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/30/12

great for sharing photo's with friends and family!

Ask Mary about Flickr
nerfg
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/3/12

favorite photo site but usually just go to facebook now

Ask nerf about Flickr
staciek
13 reviews
64 helpful votes
3/28/12

Flickr is a nice website. One can share photos with their friends and family. I like it.

Ask Stacie about Flickr
markr28
3 reviews
9 helpful votes
2/4/12

Flickr is an inspiring little thing, very awesome site indeed

Ask Mark about Flickr
gabyp
17 reviews
23 helpful votes
1/8/12

Flickr.com is a site where you can post your photos. They give you the option of making your content private or public. The site also has groups that you can join and you can post photos onto the group page or start your own group. I find the search for photos and groups to be a bit of a pain because it doesn't offer enough options to narrow down results. Overall, this is a great site to share and view pictures.

Ask Gabby about Flickr
candacew
3 reviews
9 helpful votes
12/24/11

best photo sharing site ever!!!

Ask Candace about Flickr
marcusc2
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
9/22/11

Awesome website i use it every day !! Great quality ! I'm not a pro photographer or anything, but I love uploading even my not-so-great photos onto this site! I reccommend this to anyone!

Ask Marcus about Flickr
makiyon
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/18/11

Some of the best photographs are available on this site. Most are just for viewing and sharing, but you can even download some pictures to print. Very cool.

Ask makiyo about Flickr
manekin
5 reviews
11 helpful votes
8/3/11

Just that. <3

Ask Maneki about Flickr
karend4
11 reviews
36 helpful votes
6/18/11

Flickr is awesome for photographers!! Such great quality and they protect your images! I'm not an aspiring photographer or anything, but I love uploading even my not-so-great photos onto this site! Definitely reccommend this!

Ask karen about Flickr
jonb9
14 reviews
57 helpful votes
6/15/11

Ive been a member of Flickr for 5+ years. Great site, millions of images. The "community" aspect of Flickr - "friends, followers etc" has eroded a bit over the years - probably due to Facebook. There are several excellent iPad apps that access Flickr to get wallpapers etc.

Ask Jon about Flickr
johnh47
26 reviews
104 helpful votes
5/3/11

Flickr is the top for online photo management. It is good for showing off your favourite photos and videos. You can even make photos private so only your family can view them. There are lots of apps to customise your viewing.
On the downside the free account only allows 200 pics.
Overall If you want to upload photos this is the site to use.

Ask John about Flickr
keythr
236 reviews
841 helpful votes
2/13/11

Most people already know Flickr (http://www.flickr.com/) as a great, simple to use, free photo / album / picture sharing site.

What I hadn't realised is that it also hosts some excellent time lapse videos.

Depending how much time you have to lapse:

http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=Time%20Lapse%20Videos&w=all

or for a tighter Yahoo editor's selection of some of the best

http://www.flickr.com/photos/yahooeditorspicks/galleries/72157625888896725/#photo_5386024624

Some great sequences. Have fun!

Ask K about Flickr
shellyr
11 reviews
24 helpful votes
2/4/11

I use Flickr all the time and have spent the $ to be a "pro" user. For the most part think it's a great service. The only reason I don't "love" it is I find the Organize section to be a bit cumbersome. There's always a bit of a learning curve when I go there to do mass editing/tagging/etc.

Ask Shelly about Flickr
whetumaramat
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/20/11

This is a terrific free to join site for photographers at any level. Privacy settings are really good, lots of groups to join and friends to make. This site has the best copyright and download protection for photos. It is the BEST site on the Internet for Free Photos in their extensive 'Creative Commons' - genuine sharing by people of great talent. The galleries are really good, and you can link your flickr gallery to your website. Its well styled and easy to navigate round as a user or a visitor.

Ask Whetumarama about Flickr
maggiet1
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/20/10

Some of the best photographs are available on this site. Most are just for viewing and sharing, but you can even download some pictures to print. Very cool.

Ask Maggie about Flickr
skyk
61 reviews
243 helpful votes
4/13/10

I love flickr. It is the best photo sharing site and has a vibrant and active community.

Ask sky about Flickr
bobbyk
88 reviews
311 helpful votes
11/29/09

I never saw the appeal of flickr but people kept sending me their photos through flickr so I finally joined. Very well thought out design of a website. It has a simplicity to it that just can't be beat. There is not much more I can say about this site that other reviewers have not already pointed out but just take my word for it and join this site, upload your photos and share :)

Ask Bobby about Flickr
jeffm1
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
10/5/09

This is a terrific site and taking over Yahoo by a landslide !
I am a paid member and I find it WAY better then Photobucket .
Highly recommend to those who have never tried it !

Ask Jeff about Flickr
maryt
15 reviews
46 helpful votes
10/3/09

I put all of my photos on flickr to share with family and friends. The main reason I like it is that I can easily share photos with those relatives who have ZERO computer knowledge. I sent a link to my flickr account to my 70 aunt and she figured it out. I have tried that with other photo sharing sites and she was not able to navigate the site. My 70 year old aunt is my litmus test on how easy it is to navigate a website...if she can do it, anyone can do it.

Ask Mary about Flickr
chriso1
707 reviews
2,897 helpful votes
10/1/09

Flickr is that rare phenomenon, a site that has survived being taken over by Yahoo. Although some of the resulting developments haven't been entirely welcomed by the whole Flickr community, by and large the site has managed to retain its independent feel and hugely enthusiastic membership, and it's benefited by access to Yahoo's vast storage space and (usually) fast servers.

I think most people would agree that it's the community that makes the site, so it becomes more than just a place to dump the contents of your SD card (though you can still do that, too, if you want). It's hard to spend much time here before wanting to jump in and praise someone's work or start asking questions.

The best experience is as a paid-up member, which allows you to view other folks' images at varying sizes and organize your own images more effectively, amongst other things. Further, several third party apps have popped up in recent years to allow you to manipulate and reuse your images in a variety of ways. Flickr began by being the choice of the savvy web 2.0 photographer but has widened so considerably in its community that it has become *the* photo sharing site for most of us.

By the bye, Flickr is also a landmark site for another reason. It established a design style that would be seized on by many websites to come, and became a Web 2.0 icon for its clean, uncluttered interface, lack of advertising, and of course, the idiosyncratic spelling of the name, which would lead to a whole slew of snappy, single-word titles (think Twitter, Blippr, Newser, and so forth).

While there are other photo repositories and sharing sites, none of them have quite got the feel of Flickr. If you haven't visited yet, go take a look - even if you aren't a photographer yourself, there's so much great quality work to see here.

Ask Chris about Flickr
kaylieh
3 reviews
7 helpful votes
5/29/09

Yeah I like flicker too they have the easy picnic tool you can use to edit your photos into artsy fartsy stuff or make you look better in photos for free. But if you want the premium stuff you have to pay for it. I totally dig it over photobucket.

Ask Kaylie about Flickr
tamarad
3 reviews
9 helpful votes
4/9/09

flicker review - seems to have a little of everything. with more investigation I'm sure I will be a return user. will there be a photo post?

Ask Tamara about Flickr

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Flickr staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Flickr?
Post Review