SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

Craigslist.org reviews

87 reviews
Tel: +1.4155666394
hostmaster@craigslist.org
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

87 Reviews for Craigslist.org

Review Highlights

One word of advice: don't use your real email with craigslist.

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Rating Distribution

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

New Reviewer
8/30/14

Free ads - yeah right - but too much restriction make the advertiser feling agitated most of the time

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask kent about Craigslist.org
New Reviewer
8/21/14

Craigslist has gotten way too scammy. You can not even post an item for sell with out getting a ton of SMS messages from scammers. I find it very frustrating. But they do nothing, they only decide to make it harder for you to post ads. I had a hard time making my ads (For sale by owner- Furniture) go live. They kept getting ghosted.

New Reviewer
8/7/14

Why over and over do we try to hook up with women on craigslist? Just for kicks I spent about 2 weeks emailing and texting random adds. I stayed away from the obvious prostitutes wanting what they call "roses, eg. Anything goes just bring me 60 roses" in the 2 weeks I tried to contact 138 women. Out of those 138 contacted 6 were real. All the others would show some goddess that would have no problem hooking up anywhere. There catch is they will send a picture of themselves and say they have had bad experiences so do me this little favor, it doesn't cost anything and only takes a minute to be verified... Don't Do It!!!! Big scam if you give your credit card to them kiss about 150 bucks out of your account and you now have access to 3 porn sites that do not exist. Bottom line if you want to spend endless hours getting frustrated then go ahead. Guys if you really need to hook up then get an escort. 250-350 bucks and your done. No hassle, just stay away from all the robots on craigslist. One last note one girls email said "you forgot to send a picture,"so I emailed a picture of my dog. She replies something like your hot here's another one of me. That's when the get verified crap starts. Hope this helps someone out there..

New Reviewer
5/22/14

I love this site!! It is great for selling furniture or even for picking up a good deal here and there. After my son told me about it, I was able to sell a whole heap of things we had sitting in our garage. Very happy with the overall experience and the best part is that it is free! Thank you Craigslist.

New Reviewer
4/29/14

I wanted to buy ten iPhones.
But first read some reviews about the site on http://wotweb.com/craigslist.org
I found just negative feedbacks.
And decided first to buy case from that buyer.
And he scamed be. Thanks to wotweb.com I lost just 30 bucks, not 6000 dollars.

Apprentice Reviewer
4/21/14

I use craigslist mainly for looking for housing and then furnishing my place. If you are patient and don't mind driving around your area, you can get a lot of good deals on used things.

New Reviewer
4/1/14

This is a great free advertisement service. I use it to find potential clients and to post ads. It works good for me. For users is nice, that you can create ad without using your personal information. You will be contacted only with Craigslist email service. It helps to avoid spam. Great find.

New Reviewer
3/31/14

I always happen to find what I need here and more. Infact I made a business deal thanks to the ads posted here.

New Reviewer
3/23/14

Yet again, another website that plays tug-of-war with my emotions! I found my first full-time job on Craigslist. On the flip-side, every other apartment listing is scam; usually an archaeologist currently stationed in Africa who chooses you as the lucky person to send him money in exchange for the keys before you ever get a chance to look at the apartment. I've participated in a handful of promotional gigs and studies for money. Flip the coin! Every other job posting is a door-to-door sales job that masquerades as a prestigious sales job with 100k potential. I sold my collection of video games for a great price in a matter of 2 days. The "Personals" section is basically 42nd street in the 70s and 80s (Don't ask me why I know this). On craigslist, there's good, bad, worse, pathetic, and downright disgusting! Once you find that diamond in the rough, it's usually worth it!

New Reviewer
3/22/14

I've done well through the years (I am female and older) selling tools and sports equipment in NY and Asheville. Ah, sold my ten-year old car quickly and a motorcycle just as fast - good poses and facts help. But most people here still ask stupid questions (ignore them and move on). Take photos, price your items well and they move. Sure, there are some flakes but c'est la vie. I never had a no show. No want when they came to my place, yes. But that's okay.

House rentals or selling: Don't even bother. We ended up at one final CL ad (we had had it with the junk on CL) and called the agent (?) and said never send us to a dump like that again. It doesn't work for rentals or selling. Use an agent or the MLS or Mountain Xpress.

Personals: Most people seem to be illiterate. In women only, they are mostly men posing as women or pretending to look for their chick. So, I'd read and report - one couple wanted a woman for polygamy (I explained what illegal means) or just stay clear.

The monitoring is baloney and automated. I wouldn't bother with it.

New Reviewer
3/5/14

I'm pretty happy with CL. I've only run into one scammer, and it actually turned out to be the person who stole my uncle's scooter (so we actually ended up getting it back).

I mostly stick in the free section, and I've found tons of hidden gems among the items that most of the people are practically throwing away. I found an almost brand new desk, a great bookshelf, and tons of books.

We got evicted and had to move a few months ago, and in the few months of living in our new house I've completely refurnished my new room with stuff in great condition from Craigslist. I really like this site.

New Reviewer
3/3/14

Since day one I have been a fan of craigslist. I have found everything their is on facebook!!! I have brought and sold cars, furniture, gave away free things and had jobs through craigslist

New Reviewer
3/2/14

After using Craigslist for quite some time, I give it four out of five stars. The pros of Craigslist include plenty of listed ads in a very quick manner in addition to a variety of different listings such as: jobs, cars, housing, etc. One of the biggest cons of Craigslist is definitely the scammers. In my experience of finding housing ads on craigslist, three out of five ads ended up being an obvious scam. Thankfully, the site moderators take them down very quickly, but it would very beneficial to Craigslist if they were to take more preventative measures against scammers.

New Reviewer
2/6/14

I like using this website to look for work ONLY not dating LOL. Decent amount of job ads. I found a job thru this site-NO JOKE. But I think that was more pure luck IMO. Still,it works-I've received many job interviews thru Craigslist.org.

New Reviewer
1/25/14

I will always be 50/50 on this site. Sometimes I sell furniture or items that I don't want, and I was get the I'm interested but not sure. It seems the users sometimes don't get the fact that I don't want them wasting my time.

New Reviewer
1/18/14

Craigslist to me is a joke of a classified site. I was looking to find clients for massage and came across some weird people on here. Some of the men I've communicated with are married looking for happy endings which to me makes the massage field look trashy and low class. I am just trying to make money legitimately not just doing sexually inappropriate things to men who are not getting any attention from their wives at home. I even had a potential client try to cheat me of money to ask me to do two back to back 90 minute massages for $30...WTF was this fool for real? A standard 90 minute massage runs about $90-100 per session and knowing this moron tried to supercede me via email I passed on the gig. You have to really screen people you meet on Craigslist before you agree to meet them in your home or in public. I have also seen people posting things for specific ethnic groups since some of the men here think asian, latin, and eastern european women will do sexual favors for extra money. Again the behavior of some of the people on here makes you wonder how trashy they make the massage field with them asking for happy endings when your client should want the session to be kept professional. Either way screen everyone you meet on classified sites so you know who is coming to your place of business or your personal residence.

New Reviewer
12/30/13

This site is great for finding different things, however it is growing with non legit characters signing on. Make sure to never go alone anywhere when answering any ads.

New Reviewer
12/22/13

Love this place for finding deals or selling something, however there are way to many shady people who use the adult personals part. Other than that it is great, one of the best places on the internet.

New Reviewer
12/8/13

I love craigslist, but you have to be really careful since there are a lot of scammers there. There are some simple security measures like buying only locally, meeting real people before making any financial decisions, etc. I bought my first car from craigslist from a local guy in Minnesota, and although I was very afraid since the car was used and the price cheap, it turned out great. My 1997 Geo Prism ran just great until an idiot smashed it on a road 3 months ago (thanks God I'm alive!). I also like to browse craigslist for free stuff, garage/estate sales and musical instruments, but seldom buy anything. I think it's a great site to connect with people. I got very little scam BTW, actually only once and it was very obvious.

New Reviewer
12/4/13

This is just about the best classified site you can use....how could I not give it a perfect review!?!

New Reviewer
11/14/13

I have to say I enjoy the site, It is a little bit like a treasure trove of whatevers...You do not know what you might find or who you might meet BUT you do have to be somewhat cautious on there just because there are so many people who could be out to scam others.

New Reviewer
11/12/13

I once posted an ad on craigslist personals, it was the casual m for w NSA section, where I posted an ad and a cpl pics. BIG MISTAKE. Soon after, my junk mail became flooded with spam, these spammers send u emails from supposed women who are lookin to hook up. The messages are composed with subtle discrepancies of English, as if the sender is from overseas (Nigeria?) and doesn't quite grasp the commonality of the language. The names of these "women" are obvious fake (ex.: Foxhorn Lippy, States McBroom, WTF?!?) and they'll actually use the same pics for different names. Also, each message they send provide a link to some b.s. Dating website where they are obviously a scam to get hold of ur bank acct #. I constantly have to erase my junk folder bcuz of these a-holes flooding my folder with this nonsense. I even tried to post a rant on CL about this. The same day, I was told that my post was flagged and removed. WTF craigslist???

New Reviewer
11/11/13

I like craiglist. But I want to give a little advice. I almost being scam, but fortunately decided to call pay pal and found out the truth. DO NOT take payments through pay pal when selling something in craiglist. It is very easy for people to request a refund after getting merchandise and you ending with no money and no merchandise. CASH ONLY. Believe me, I was save because I contacted Pay pal and they warned me of me being scam. Even if they provided you with personal info like ph #, address, dl #, dont do it. Its easy to create a person identity.

New Reviewer
10/26/13

A guy lived for several months all over the state, off of finding people on Craigslist. This tells you the mentality of this website.

I love it when people get together and make things simple. You'll find everything on Craigslist. Everything is cheaper. It's awesome.

New Reviewer
8/30/13

A real old timer. No photos, no excitement, just the bare MS DOS-like approach. Very outdated, plus no effective policing of bad ads. Just try finding an apartment to rent in New York City from someone who claims to be a property owner and IS actually one.

New Reviewer
8/29/13

I love using Craigslist to buy stuff... just make sure to meet in a public place and NEVER allow someone to "pay" with paypal (they can make it look like they did even though they didn't)

New Reviewer
7/31/13

This Site majorly Helps in finding locally homes for rent, buy and sell across the world. This is the prefect place to hunt for homes.

New Reviewer
7/30/13

Craigslist is an amazing site. Yes it's full of scammers and con artists but it's free and if you know what you're doing, it's one of the best sites on the internet in the US.

New Reviewer
7/26/13

For local products or services such as rentals or tree service, I have found Craigslist to be indispensable.

New Reviewer
7/19/13

good and bad experiences on craigslist. I've had people show up and be great, then I've had people that were a complete waste of time. Wish craigslist could screen users so i know who they are and the bad ones can be avoided

New Reviewer
7/17/13

The website is good in finding whatever you want or need.

But, here are some reasons why I do not like Craigslist so much:

1. It seems to attract many shady, dishonest, corrupted people.

2. Most of the sellers probably would do not accept Paypal, debit/credit card, and/or any other safe payment from buyers. MOST OF SELLERS KEEP ASKING FOR CASH WHICH IS NOT SAFE AT ALL.

3. You may see a bunch of items that are worthless, damaged, or slightly disgusting.

4. Some sellers may require buyers to meet or pick up their item(s) at their house.

New Reviewer
6/30/13

This site is amazing; I have gotten my car, my rat cage, and my kitchen table/chairs here, all at ridiculously low prices for great quality. Plus 2 jobs that I found posted here. It just has every major thing you could ever need!

Obviously just make sure you see photos of what you are buying, do your research, see it in person before committing to the sale, etc so you don't get ripped off.

New Reviewer
6/3/13

I like this site, you find what you are looking for as easy as it can be....I would give a 5 stars but the job search is most likely to be Education programs about the work position you are looking for. I don't say that there are no real jobs in there, but..my search wasn't that lucky.But overall, I think is a great site and I recommend it to others.

New Reviewer
4/19/13

Is a daring bulletin board system directed toward the major cities in the US, Canada, the UK, and (soon) other countries. The magical distinction of Craigslist is its use of anonymous email forwarding: your email address is invisible to the public. A pointer (which expires after several days) forwards all responses to you. Visit Craigslist if you want to sell or buy something, if you want to meet new people (romantically or otherwise), if you want to look for a job, or if you want to share your ideas. Almost all of its features are totally free, except job listings for employers.

New Reviewer
2/13/13

We have had a lot of very good transactions on craigslist. The only concern is all the emails that come wanting to give you money and all those emails. If you get them, you know what I mean. Craigslist does a good job at preventing that stuff so I give them praise. That's the only thing I don't like about it. When we list something and get replies, we don't know if they're real interested buyers or it's going to follow with a western union email and then ask us to send it to another country.

New Reviewer
2/8/13

I wish I had thought of it. It doesnt seem to matter what I am feeling like, from selling a xylophone to writing a Haiku, I inevitably find a reason to browse. Be mindful of using your personal info, especially your phone number. Be sure to look at other ads and do some browsing to see how other users successfully navigate the site because trolls abound. (everywhere, not just here) It is a really fun site, and always interesting.

New Reviewer
1/6/13

Craig's list is okay if you are a buyer but to be an advertiser was a real waste of my time. Each time I posted an ad to sell something the only replies I got were morons who don't know how to read the part that says not to solicit me. The only ads that got the desired results were my cell phone ads and my software ads. I answered a couple of job ads on Craigs list that turned out to be scams. I stopped using this site and went elsewhere. If you want to use this web site that's up to you. Use it with caution. I don't reccomend Craig's List.

New Reviewer
12/15/12

PROS:
Shop local advantage
Negotiate option is sometimes available


CONS:
Meeting site can be risky
Sometimes ads don't have phone number and seller is slow to return emails
People sometimes say they are coming to see item or sell item but they don't show up or are late.
Some ads don't have images of item


CAUTION and GOOD ADVICE:
Meet at a local safe place when possible such as Starbucks, Community Center or City Hall parking lot.
==> Having strangers come to your house - or going to their house is sometimes risky.

New Reviewer
11/27/12

Great place to find unique items and good deals! There is always a certain risk factor when meeting a stranger, so take the necessary safety precautions when a sale takes place. Meet in a public area for the exchange, make sure you are never home alone, only bring enough cash to pay for said item, and be aware of your surroundings. Either way, I have had MANY great exchanges via this website! Great idea and I highly recommend using!

New Reviewer
11/17/12

Transactions needs to be done personally, not online. Most (Again, the term used is "Most" not "All") of the job advertisements on this website are high risk and some of them don't exist.

As for the products advertised, needs to be cautious as most of them seem to be too good to be true!

New Reviewer
10/8/12

craigslist.org was a good site most of the things are legit. The emails that they give you don't work and some things are spam or very inappropriate, but on the whole it is a good site.

New Reviewer
10/7/12

I know there are scammers out there, but when you do find legitimate people it is truly a great site with tons of information. I was able to purchase my pug puppy, a Pontiac Trans Am and tons of other things at very reasonable pricing, just have to be cautious with the people you are dealing with.

New Reviewer
8/16/12

Yes it has it’s crazy people on here, but this is America, let them speak, as long as you are careful its a great site to get a job or buy something cheap

Apprentice Reviewer
5/7/12

It is a very nice place to find deals whenever you need to buy or sell something. It is free, well organized and there are plenty of genuine ads for anything you may need.
Of course it is necessary to take some safety precautions. If your deal implies personal meeting it is more than better to bring a friend with you and also to choose a payment method safe for both sides.
In order to protect your private information from stammers use a supplementary e-mail address to create an account on Craigslist. This will also protect your main e-mail address from extra spam. Be smart composing your ad: choose the best category and put exact instructions how to contact you if somebody is interested in dealing with you; replace some numbers in your phone with letters, this also helps to prevent spam.
It is a perfect place to find some cheap used or discounted products.

New Reviewer
4/3/12

There are so many spammers on this site you don't know who is real and who is fake. I found my second job on this site a few years back and everything went well. Recently, I have been looking for a new job (because I moved) as a teachers assistant/substitute. There were (what seemed to be) very legitimate and promising ads. When I sent my resume, the only responses I got were that I needed to send my credit report in order to "qualify" for the position. Are you kidding me?? Then, I kept getting junk emails from random, unknown sites that I never signed up for.

Furthermore, I tried to post an ad in the gig section and my ad would either never show up or would be flagged even though they clearly followed the rules and there wasn't profanity, etc. When you try to send CL customer service an email about it, they just send you a generic response telling you to look at the help forum giving possibilities on why your ad was omitted or flagged. They don't help at all!! No matter how many emails you send them it's the same response email over and over. I think it's too easy for people to flag ads. If you go on backpage, in order to flag an ad you need to specify why you are flagging, etc. That way, people take it a little more seriously. I found with CL if any little comment offendeds somebody or doesn't sit well with them, they can flag too easily. This site is just a hassle all around. Way to many spammers and scammers out there. My adivce is to be better safe then sorry, STAY AWAY!!

Apprentice Reviewer
3/17/12

This site has been immensely helpful in so many ways. The apartment ads are often scams and we have driven to some ads thinking it was for real only to learn it was a sure fire scam. I felt bad that so many who are new to the area or English is their second language may not know what to spot as a scam. This site used to be excellent but because of the scams it has gone down hill. I still use it, but buyer beware!

New Reviewer
2/3/12

Who needs local garbage newspapers? I have bought and sold on craigslist.org many, many times. Even if I'm not buying or selling, I find it very entertaining just looking at what's out there. I love motorcycles and check the ads everyday to see other peoples toys. The only note of caution is to limit your level of trust when doing a deal. This site gives lots of tips and warnings on this. Usually, people who actually call tend to be sincere and on the level. The ones who just respond with emails are more suspicious, especially if they say they're from out of town or being a middleman for someone else. Overall this site is invaluable.

New Reviewer
2/1/12

I have always been able to search and find what I am looking for at a reasonable price. Even though you have to watch for scammers, for the most part, Craigslist team does a great job trying to remove all the spam.

New Reviewer
1/18/12

CraigsList was so good back in the day that I put all my marketing eggs into that basket. Then, the day I opened a store, they put my account on hold after doing craigslist for three years. There was no support and nobody to talk to, so it has been on hold ever since. Even a new iNumbr phone number didn't get any response. I now use EbayClassifieds.com which is far, far better in every way except that few people know about it yet. Well, now you know.

New Reviewer
1/13/12

Great online classifieds site. Have had mostly positive experiences with buying and selling. Be careful when meeting buyers/sellers and beware of scams. Also, the overposts and miscatigorization from apartment complexes are really annoying. At least in my area. I usually flag them when I can. Anyway, if you use common sense in your dealings you should have little problem.

The Best Apartment Rental Sites Reviewed by Consumers on SiteJabber

See more »
Badnycapartments.com
Badnycapartments.com
1 review
Craigslist.org
Craigslist.org
87 reviews
Craigslist.com
Craigslist.com
62 reviews
Rentjungle.com
Rentjungle.com
1 review