SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

Craigslist.org reviews

99 reviews
68%
Tel: +1.4155666394
hostmaster@craigslist.org
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

99 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

davidc19

He posted my full name, my email, my phone number and my license plate on craigslist! (in 5 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

hopem3
New Reviewer
12/8/14

The Place at 117 in Savoy, IL has TERRIBLE business practices with no regard for financial status changes in individuals lives. Do not rent from them if there is any chance you won't be able to come up with $7000-8000 on the spot to give their greedy faces for rent. If you lose your job they WILL NOT work with you to come to an agreement about getting out of the lease. Plus, your apartment will probably flood, they'll stick you in a storage unit for 2 weeks until you finally are told to return where you find mold all over the place. This is my experience. STAY AWAY!!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Hope about Craigslist.org
pauln42
New Reviewer
11/26/14

Great work, usually use this site. Here you'll find anything you want! Well, sometimes on dating you'll see a lot of nude pics. Not, I lie, you'll see them always. But if you're searching something else - site will help you
So I think it's cool

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Paul about Craigslist.org
tabithah1
New Reviewer
10/10/14

I usually surf this site 1-2 times a week just to see what's out there. At 1 time I furnished my whole 1st apartment from here. Now I own a home so they really come in handy now.

I got a Vizio 52 inch flat screen tv for $300, you cant beat that at Walmart. It's just a great place to find stuff, even free stuff like hangers, desk and stuff like that.

Tip for consumers: Never take the 1st price. Seller are typically always willing to negotiate.

Ask Tabitha about Craigslist.org
vancec10
New Reviewer
9/30/14

craigslist is helpful site but there are spammer are lots.So i use craigslist little.But many people like craigslist so much.

Tip for consumers: little love

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Vance about Craigslist.org
willardp5
New Reviewer
9/28/14

I like Craigslist but every user just has to be careful of scams. It's not Craigslists fault because they can't control everything that happens on their site.

I have used it to sell my furniture, electronics and clothes. I sold an iphone for $500. I met the person at a Starbucks and had no problems. When selling an expensive item make sure you meet in a public place and ask them to pay you in small bills. I would never take a check. Occasionally you will get creeps who respond to your posting telling you that they want your item and they are willing to pay more than your asking price. Be very suspicious of these people because it's a scam. Never give out any personal information. You can read more about it on the CL site.

Tip for consumers: I like Craigslist

Service
Shipping
Quality
Ask Willard about Craigslist.org
kentm10
New Reviewer
8/30/14

Free ads - yeah right - but too much restriction make the advertiser feling agitated most of the time

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask kent about Craigslist.org
jerryt20
New Reviewer
8/21/14

Craigslist has gotten way too scammy. You can not even post an item for sell with out getting a ton of SMS messages from scammers. I find it very frustrating. But they do nothing, they only decide to make it harder for you to post ads. I had a hard time making my ads (For sale by owner- Furniture) go live. They kept getting ghosted.

tomr66
New Reviewer
8/7/14

Why over and over do we try to hook up with women on craigslist? Just for kicks I spent about 2 weeks emailing and texting random adds. I stayed away from the obvious prostitutes wanting what they call "roses, eg. Anything goes just bring me 60 roses" in the 2 weeks I tried to contact 138 women. Out of those 138 contacted 6 were real. All the others would show some goddess that would have no problem hooking up anywhere. There catch is they will send a picture of themselves and say they have had bad experiences so do me this little favor, it doesn't cost anything and only takes a minute to be verified... Don't Do It!!!! Big scam if you give your credit card to them kiss about 150 bucks out of your account and you now have access to 3 porn sites that do not exist. Bottom line if you want to spend endless hours getting frustrated then go ahead. Guys if you really need to hook up then get an escort. 250-350 bucks and your done. No hassle, just stay away from all the robots on craigslist. One last note one girls email said "you forgot to send a picture,"so I emailed a picture of my dog. She replies something like your hot here's another one of me. That's when the get verified crap starts. Hope this helps someone out there..

jennifers93
New Reviewer
5/22/14

I love this site!! It is great for selling furniture or even for picking up a good deal here and there. After my son told me about it, I was able to sell a whole heap of things we had sitting in our garage. Very happy with the overall experience and the best part is that it is free! Thank you Craigslist.

mal771
New Reviewer
4/29/14

I wanted to buy ten iPhones.
But first read some reviews about the site on http://wotweb.com/craigslist.org
I found just negative feedbacks.
And decided first to buy case from that buyer.
And he scamed be. Thanks to wotweb.com I lost just 30 bucks, not 6000 dollars.

stephanien3
Apprentice Reviewer
4/21/14

I use craigslist mainly for looking for housing and then furnishing my place. If you are patient and don't mind driving around your area, you can get a lot of good deals on used things.

lilliyak
New Reviewer
4/1/14

This is a great free advertisement service. I use it to find potential clients and to post ads. It works good for me. For users is nice, that you can create ad without using your personal information. You will be contacted only with Craigslist email service. It helps to avoid spam. Great find.

lalee
New Reviewer
3/31/14

I always happen to find what I need here and more. Infact I made a business deal thanks to the ads posted here.

jamesf62
New Reviewer
3/23/14

Yet again, another website that plays tug-of-war with my emotions! I found my first full-time job on Craigslist. On the flip-side, every other apartment listing is scam; usually an archaeologist currently stationed in Africa who chooses you as the lucky person to send him money in exchange for the keys before you ever get a chance to look at the apartment. I've participated in a handful of promotional gigs and studies for money. Flip the coin! Every other job posting is a door-to-door sales job that masquerades as a prestigious sales job with 100k potential. I sold my collection of video games for a great price in a matter of 2 days. The "Personals" section is basically 42nd street in the 70s and 80s (Don't ask me why I know this). On craigslist, there's good, bad, worse, pathetic, and downright disgusting! Once you find that diamond in the rough, it's usually worth it!

bp18
New Reviewer
3/22/14

I've done well through the years (I am female and older) selling tools and sports equipment in NY and Asheville. Ah, sold my ten-year old car quickly and a motorcycle just as fast - good poses and facts help. But most people here still ask stupid questions (ignore them and move on). Take photos, price your items well and they move. Sure, there are some flakes but c'est la vie. I never had a no show. No want when they came to my place, yes. But that's okay.

House rentals or selling: Don't even bother. We ended up at one final CL ad (we had had it with the junk on CL) and called the agent (?) and said never send us to a dump like that again. It doesn't work for rentals or selling. Use an agent or the MLS or Mountain Xpress.

Personals: Most people seem to be illiterate. In women only, they are mostly men posing as women or pretending to look for their chick. So, I'd read and report - one couple wanted a woman for polygamy (I explained what illegal means) or just stay clear.

The monitoring is baloney and automated. I wouldn't bother with it.

juand6
New Reviewer
3/19/14

I'm always checking this site for cool things to buy, rent, try and do. They've really made some substantial improvements on the functioning of this site lately and the iphone app is great! I'm always posting things and finding hidden treasures. Very cool!

kathleenr6
New Reviewer
3/5/14

I'm pretty happy with CL. I've only run into one scammer, and it actually turned out to be the person who stole my uncle's scooter (so we actually ended up getting it back).

I mostly stick in the free section, and I've found tons of hidden gems among the items that most of the people are practically throwing away. I found an almost brand new desk, a great bookshelf, and tons of books.

We got evicted and had to move a few months ago, and in the few months of living in our new house I've completely refurnished my new room with stuff in great condition from Craigslist. I really like this site.

roseannam
New Reviewer
3/3/14

Since day one I have been a fan of craigslist. I have found everything their is on facebook!!! I have brought and sold cars, furniture, gave away free things and had jobs through craigslist

ryanh52
New Reviewer
3/3/14

Craigslist is AMAZING when it comes to finding last second tickets to phenomenal concerts and things of that nature. You are putting trust into humanity when working with Craigslist, though. I have heard stories of individuals going to pick up what was advertised and they were mugged or worse, but these are few and far between. I have had great encounters with people, and have been able to get some amazing things along the way!

griffinl5
New Reviewer
3/2/14

After using Craigslist for quite some time, I give it four out of five stars. The pros of Craigslist include plenty of listed ads in a very quick manner in addition to a variety of different listings such as: jobs, cars, housing, etc. One of the biggest cons of Craigslist is definitely the scammers. In my experience of finding housing ads on craigslist, three out of five ads ended up being an obvious scam. Thankfully, the site moderators take them down very quickly, but it would very beneficial to Craigslist if they were to take more preventative measures against scammers.

jennifert21
New Reviewer
2/6/14

I like using this website to look for work ONLY not dating LOL. Decent amount of job ads. I found a job thru this site-NO JOKE. But I think that was more pure luck IMO. Still,it works-I've received many job interviews thru Craigslist.org.

allisong19
New Reviewer
1/25/14

I will always be 50/50 on this site. Sometimes I sell furniture or items that I don't want, and I was get the I'm interested but not sure. It seems the users sometimes don't get the fact that I don't want them wasting my time.

nafeesaha
New Reviewer
1/18/14

Craigslist to me is a joke of a classified site. I was looking to find clients for massage and came across some weird people on here. Some of the men I've communicated with are married looking for happy endings which to me makes the massage field look trashy and low class. I am just trying to make money legitimately not just doing sexually inappropriate things to men who are not getting any attention from their wives at home. I even had a potential client try to cheat me of money to ask me to do two back to back 90 minute massages for $30...WTF was this fool for real? A standard 90 minute massage runs about $90-100 per session and knowing this moron tried to supercede me via email I passed on the gig. You have to really screen people you meet on Craigslist before you agree to meet them in your home or in public. I have also seen people posting things for specific ethnic groups since some of the men here think asian, latin, and eastern european women will do sexual favors for extra money. Again the behavior of some of the people on here makes you wonder how trashy they make the massage field with them asking for happy endings when your client should want the session to be kept professional. Either way screen everyone you meet on classified sites so you know who is coming to your place of business or your personal residence.

alexisd13
New Reviewer
12/30/13

This site is great for finding different things, however it is growing with non legit characters signing on. Make sure to never go alone anywhere when answering any ads.

reals
New Reviewer
12/22/13

Love this place for finding deals or selling something, however there are way to many shady people who use the adult personals part. Other than that it is great, one of the best places on the internet.

marinav
New Reviewer
12/8/13

I love craigslist, but you have to be really careful since there are a lot of scammers there. There are some simple security measures like buying only locally, meeting real people before making any financial decisions, etc. I bought my first car from craigslist from a local guy in Minnesota, and although I was very afraid since the car was used and the price cheap, it turned out great. My 1997 Geo Prism ran just great until an idiot smashed it on a road 3 months ago (thanks God I'm alive!). I also like to browse craigslist for free stuff, garage/estate sales and musical instruments, but seldom buy anything. I think it's a great site to connect with people. I got very little scam BTW, actually only once and it was very obvious.

jennye3
New Reviewer
12/4/13

This is just about the best classified site you can use....how could I not give it a perfect review!?!

leightonr
New Reviewer
11/14/13

I have to say I enjoy the site, It is a little bit like a treasure trove of whatevers...You do not know what you might find or who you might meet BUT you do have to be somewhat cautious on there just because there are so many people who could be out to scam others.

jamesf50
New Reviewer
11/12/13

I once posted an ad on craigslist personals, it was the casual m for w NSA section, where I posted an ad and a cpl pics. BIG MISTAKE. Soon after, my junk mail became flooded with spam, these spammers send u emails from supposed women who are lookin to hook up. The messages are composed with subtle discrepancies of English, as if the sender is from overseas (Nigeria?) and doesn't quite grasp the commonality of the language. The names of these "women" are obvious fake (ex.: Foxhorn Lippy, States McBroom, WTF?!?) and they'll actually use the same pics for different names. Also, each message they send provide a link to some b.s. Dating website where they are obviously a scam to get hold of ur bank acct #. I constantly have to erase my junk folder bcuz of these a-holes flooding my folder with this nonsense. I even tried to post a rant on CL about this. The same day, I was told that my post was flagged and removed. WTF craigslist???

willys4
New Reviewer
11/11/13

I like craiglist. But I want to give a little advice. I almost being scam, but fortunately decided to call pay pal and found out the truth. DO NOT take payments through pay pal when selling something in craiglist. It is very easy for people to request a refund after getting merchandise and you ending with no money and no merchandise. CASH ONLY. Believe me, I was save because I contacted Pay pal and they warned me of me being scam. Even if they provided you with personal info like ph #, address, dl #, dont do it. Its easy to create a person identity.

amird21
New Reviewer
10/26/13

A guy lived for several months all over the state, off of finding people on Craigslist. This tells you the mentality of this website.

I love it when people get together and make things simple. You'll find everything on Craigslist. Everything is cheaper. It's awesome.

elyssap
New Reviewer
8/30/13

A real old timer. No photos, no excitement, just the bare MS DOS-like approach. Very outdated, plus no effective policing of bad ads. Just try finding an apartment to rent in New York City from someone who claims to be a property owner and IS actually one.

darrent5
New Reviewer
8/29/13

I love using Craigslist to buy stuff... just make sure to meet in a public place and NEVER allow someone to "pay" with paypal (they can make it look like they did even though they didn't)

dreamzi
New Reviewer
7/31/13

This Site majorly Helps in finding locally homes for rent, buy and sell across the world. This is the prefect place to hunt for homes.

adamp21
New Reviewer
7/30/13

Craigslist is an amazing site. Yes it's full of scammers and con artists but it's free and if you know what you're doing, it's one of the best sites on the internet in the US.

royr23
New Reviewer
7/26/13

For local products or services such as rentals or tree service, I have found Craigslist to be indispensable.

nathand19
New Reviewer
7/19/13

good and bad experiences on craigslist. I've had people show up and be great, then I've had people that were a complete waste of time. Wish craigslist could screen users so i know who they are and the bad ones can be avoided

ernestd5
New Reviewer
7/17/13

The website is good in finding whatever you want or need.

But, here are some reasons why I do not like Craigslist so much:

1. It seems to attract many shady, dishonest, corrupted people.

2. Most of the sellers probably would do not accept Paypal, debit/credit card, and/or any other safe payment from buyers. MOST OF SELLERS KEEP ASKING FOR CASH WHICH IS NOT SAFE AT ALL.

3. You may see a bunch of items that are worthless, damaged, or slightly disgusting.

4. Some sellers may require buyers to meet or pick up their item(s) at their house.

kaylah4
New Reviewer
6/30/13

This site is amazing; I have gotten my car, my rat cage, and my kitchen table/chairs here, all at ridiculously low prices for great quality. Plus 2 jobs that I found posted here. It just has every major thing you could ever need!

Obviously just make sure you see photos of what you are buying, do your research, see it in person before committing to the sale, etc so you don't get ripped off.

lillyo1
New Reviewer
6/3/13

I like this site, you find what you are looking for as easy as it can be....I would give a 5 stars but the job search is most likely to be Education programs about the work position you are looking for. I don't say that there are no real jobs in there, but..my search wasn't that lucky.But overall, I think is a great site and I recommend it to others.

gregoris
New Reviewer
4/19/13

Is a daring bulletin board system directed toward the major cities in the US, Canada, the UK, and (soon) other countries. The magical distinction of Craigslist is its use of anonymous email forwarding: your email address is invisible to the public. A pointer (which expires after several days) forwards all responses to you. Visit Craigslist if you want to sell or buy something, if you want to meet new people (romantically or otherwise), if you want to look for a job, or if you want to share your ideas. Almost all of its features are totally free, except job listings for employers.

vicenzos
New Reviewer
2/13/13

We have had a lot of very good transactions on craigslist. The only concern is all the emails that come wanting to give you money and all those emails. If you get them, you know what I mean. Craigslist does a good job at preventing that stuff so I give them praise. That's the only thing I don't like about it. When we list something and get replies, we don't know if they're real interested buyers or it's going to follow with a western union email and then ask us to send it to another country.

barbh5
New Reviewer
2/8/13

I wish I had thought of it. It doesnt seem to matter what I am feeling like, from selling a xylophone to writing a Haiku, I inevitably find a reason to browse. Be mindful of using your personal info, especially your phone number. Be sure to look at other ads and do some browsing to see how other users successfully navigate the site because trolls abound. (everywhere, not just here) It is a really fun site, and always interesting.

terresap1
New Reviewer
1/6/13

Craig's list is okay if you are a buyer but to be an advertiser was a real waste of my time. Each time I posted an ad to sell something the only replies I got were morons who don't know how to read the part that says not to solicit me. The only ads that got the desired results were my cell phone ads and my software ads. I answered a couple of job ads on Craigs list that turned out to be scams. I stopped using this site and went elsewhere. If you want to use this web site that's up to you. Use it with caution. I don't reccomend Craig's List.

tn10
New Reviewer
12/15/12

PROS:
Shop local advantage
Negotiate option is sometimes available


CONS:
Meeting site can be risky
Sometimes ads don't have phone number and seller is slow to return emails
People sometimes say they are coming to see item or sell item but they don't show up or are late.
Some ads don't have images of item


CAUTION and GOOD ADVICE:
Meet at a local safe place when possible such as Starbucks, Community Center or City Hall parking lot.
==> Having strangers come to your house - or going to their house is sometimes risky.

kerrim2
New Reviewer
11/27/12

Great place to find unique items and good deals! There is always a certain risk factor when meeting a stranger, so take the necessary safety precautions when a sale takes place. Meet in a public area for the exchange, make sure you are never home alone, only bring enough cash to pay for said item, and be aware of your surroundings. Either way, I have had MANY great exchanges via this website! Great idea and I highly recommend using!

norrism14
New Reviewer
11/17/12

Transactions needs to be done personally, not online. Most (Again, the term used is "Most" not "All") of the job advertisements on this website are high risk and some of them don't exist.

As for the products advertised, needs to be cautious as most of them seem to be too good to be true!

shelbyd4
New Reviewer
10/8/12

craigslist.org was a good site most of the things are legit. The emails that they give you don't work and some things are spam or very inappropriate, but on the whole it is a good site.

sherrys5
New Reviewer
10/7/12

I know there are scammers out there, but when you do find legitimate people it is truly a great site with tons of information. I was able to purchase my pug puppy, a Pontiac Trans Am and tons of other things at very reasonable pricing, just have to be cautious with the people you are dealing with.

patrickb17
New Reviewer
8/16/12

Yes it has it’s crazy people on here, but this is America, let them speak, as long as you are careful its a great site to get a job or buy something cheap

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Craigslist.org staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business