Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of VirtualTourist

VirtualTourist reviews

Is this your business?
10 reviews
90266

10 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

jonb231
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/23/18

VirtualTourist is sadly no longer with us, as it was bought up by another company, that closed it down. It was the best travelsite on the net without any exceptions. I was a member from 1999 untill the end in 2017. It will be surely missed.

saevarp
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
8/30/16

OK, I may be a bit biased, as I have been a member of Virtual tourist for seven years now, and it is simply the best travel site out there. What makes it a unique place, aside from the great fellow members, - is the VT Staff. Involved, open, helpful and they are known by the members involved employees, who interact with the members on a daily basis. Using a airline lingo, if the umbrella company TripAdvisor is coach, then Virtual Tourist is 1st Class. On TA, you do not really know who's advise you are reading. On Virtual Tourist, the active and helpful members have their own travel pages and if you receive advise from one of them, you can then review their travel pages, and see what kind of person responded to your questions. The VT forums (fora), are simply better than any other such site. Why do I say that? Well, because I am a big part of the forum family there. After visiting 150+ countries, I do have some stuff that might help other travelers. Even so, if I decide to take off to anyplace, including where I have already been, I will get updates from my friends on VT. The most unique aspect though, is that at any given time there are VT meets all over the world, including an annual Euro Meet, visited in the past by several hundred members. Personally I have met several dozen members, and they are all good friends now.
VT Rocks!

rebecac
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/11/14

Great travel site, used it for the first time. i really like the idea of people behind the places. Planned my vacation in Bangkok and it was amazing. I will use virtualtourist for all my travel plans in future.

mejov
5 reviews
7 helpful votes
8/21/14

Virtualtourist is really good network place where common netizens share their reviews on hotels and vacations. If I'm going abroad, I would go on the this travel review sites to check the online information on the country I will visit where to stay, dine; what to see and do; travel tips and tour traps, etc.

davidhb
4 reviews
6 helpful votes
3/9/14

It was a great site, I used since 2000. But, after TripAdvisor bought it few years ago, is not the same and the content is stale!
Too bad...the big monster companies are buying good sites just to kill it & kill the competition!

andrewm87
8 reviews
6 helpful votes
12/25/13

One of the coolest travel sites on the web. I am a fan of this service for a while. Recommended and on the list of my other favorite travel sites.

nicholag
10 reviews
15 helpful votes
10/28/13

Being an occassional tourist is not a walk in the park. With this website, I get to update myself with the latest featured locations. Love it...

rabigaila
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/1/13

This is my first year using virtualtourist guide for vacation. Absolutely satisfied with the service, hotel reservation and whole vacation trip. Recommend this website!

jillf3
7 reviews
17 helpful votes
6/17/12

Absolutely terrific !

This is an excellent travel guide.

When trip planning recently , I was stuck for where to find information about a

country I was totally unfamiliar with, and people from this site were kind enough

to answer my all of my questions.

People who have traveled post comments, reviews about what they have seen or

where they have visited frequently accompanied with photos.

Great place to pick-up first hand tips about travel to places you are interested in.

After my travels I intend to post on this site myself .

HIGHEST RATING !

monicao1
63 reviews
185 helpful votes
8/25/10

You can search any city in the world! Whether you are planning a trip or curious about a certain city/country, this site has a lot of valuable information. Cool pictures from exotic places, good tips about going to foreign places.. it's fun and realistic. A seemingly helpful forum.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the VirtualTourist staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
VirtualTourist?
Post Review