Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

The Language House reviews

Is this your business?
6 reviews
5 Pleasant Ridge Drive
Nice, B8 6000, FR
Tel: +33 6 84 83 85 59
info@teflanguagehouse.com

6 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

browningb1
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/30/18

I took the TEFL course in Nice. I was never really an academic and at the start, I wasn't sure if I would see it through to the end. The support of the trainer and my fellow trainees was tremendous and made a huge difference as to how I feel after finishing the program. The opportunity to do real teaching was fantastic and what sets this course apart from online courses. There were times when I found the workload overwhelming but with the trainer's patience, I made it though. I feel I have taken in so much information and experienced so many things that will help me start my new career.

connord12
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/21/18

Before taking this TEFL Course in Montpellier, I wondered how much I would learn as I am already a qualified teacher but I could not have been more wrong. When teaching ESL learners, there are different approaches with a focus on speaking skills and being able to communicate in real life contexts. I feel I now have a very strong foundation and a good understanding of best practices in methodology for teaching grammar, phonology, teaching styles and ESL lesson planning. We learned so much in the four weeks and I enjoyed the process completely. I couldn't recommend this program more!

alg89
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
12/6/12

I took the TEFL course in Antalya, Turkey and I thought it was a very well delivered professional program. The course built up my confidence and it was great to have open and on-going discussions about finding jobs throughout the course. I travel quite a bit and I have to say that I was impressed with the organization before I arrived concerning information for what to expect and housing arrangements. The trainers were knowledgeable and the materials were well presented. While our course size was on the small side, I was fine with it because that just gave us more time with the trainers and more teacher practice. I'm excited about getting started teaching.

maggieh2
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
11/11/12

I've have taken two courses with Teflanguagehouse in Montpellier, France and I would even sign up for another program if there were others. I first took the TEFL program in February 2011 and appreciated the high quality of teaching and knowledge of the trainer. The one month program was organized, well presented and my fellow trainees came from different parts of the world. The most valuable component was the teacher practice which we did with adult learners. I soon found part-time work, which I wanted, and aside from being nervous, I was able to start planning and teaching lessons right away.

I took the Teaching Business English course in early January 2012 and it was Gyl Golden who led this program. Again, I was very pleased with all the information provided and the level of quality. I would recommend these courses to anyone who wants to teach English and/or live in this part of the world.

glennj2
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
10/21/12

I had an excellent experience in my dealings with Gyl Golden. I initally sign up to take the course in Antalya but I couldnt attend that course location due to my time schedule and was easily able to attend the program in Montpellier.

The site and the company delivered what it promised . It was a very good course and I was still able to find work in Istanbul afterwards thanks to the job support offered. The only thing I would highlight that is not neccessarily evident is once you have the information on how to proceed with finding a job, you have to actively find work on your own. There are no job placements.

yogitad
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/20/12

After making a down payment to this school in 2012; moving to the course location (Antalya, Turkey) and renting accommodation; I find out the course has been cancelled. After one makes the down payment on their course a list of stuff is sent to you for you to purchase as well which makes all this unfair.

The worst part is to find out they haven't ran any courses there in Turkey since August 2010; the school could be more honest & transparent rather than inconveniencing potential students financially. Education should add to you not take away from you.

Gyl Golden is the person you will be in contact with most likely. She is a life coach & motivational speaker but seems quite unethical and dishonest.

If any student cancels with this school their deposit is taken/kept. This is there form of insurance to protect themselves from any losses. But when they cancel on you, all you get is 'Sorry, bye' or no answer at all to your phone calls or emails.

BEWARE! RUN! lol
Thanks & take care

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the The Language House staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
The Language House?
Post Review