Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Stack Exchange

Stack Exchange reviews

Is this your business?
8 reviews
10038
Tel: +1 917-979-5453

8 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

susant493
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/4/19

You will be argued with till the cows come home. There are so-called experts who dominate and babble away, with you kept at the bottom of the pile. There are plenty who come along and say.."this is not the right category for your question,go somewhere else". Somewhere else will be very similar to where you are ie. pickiness.There are also very nasty unhelpful commenters who will resist another opinion with even if you get the facts and show them. The concept is interesting but its confusing to have to open a new profile for each subject site.I have had in the past ,a few worthwhile answers and points for my questions on Interpersonal Skills and Writing, but the overall experience is that you will seldom be rewarded for your efforts or create any meaningful dialogue with anyone. Also there are too many questions on Interpersonal Skills and related categories of the type " how can I avoid being jealous of my boyfriends' mother? how can I stop my boyfriend from looking at other girls ? and..how can I get my girlfriend to look only at me" ie. limited in depth.

thesweetigerc
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/10/19

this community is the worst network on the web, each network is seperate and this is soo abusif at the point you feel a newuser each time,
you have an issue and found an another have the same issue and want to add detail in a comment it's not possible need an amount of reputation on this specific group WTF , you can only add a reply , if do in this way it was removed be some staff
Also if a group of people think this is no a good question they attack the question and vote down for it and if reach too much down , the question is removed
This website was in violation of the human right at the onu

yesm2
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/19/19

I was trying to ask a question but it was stopped as it apparently was not clear, so I edited to make it as clear as possible but apparently that was not good enough. I contacted customer support and just got sent a generic email with a link to a post that was not helpful in any, way, shape or form. Would not recommend asking questions on this website unless you're willing to keep editing the question until someone can actually answer it

paulc635
9 reviews
66 helpful votes
8/27/18

Not a good place for novices as the best answers are often downvoted whilst the worst rise to the top. If you have no knowledge of the subject you are asking about you will not notice this and end up being misinformed. However, if you are already familiar with a subject and just want further specific details, it can be useful as there are some good, knowledgeable contributors. Put bluntly, there are too many geeky sci-fi fans posting on hard science and engineering subjects they have zero experience of, who get angry when corrected on their ignorance and downvote their superiors.. Poor moderation allows this behaviour to prosper.

dongl2
12 reviews
20 helpful votes
5/23/18

Usually, I ask questions and get the information I want on two platforms. One is Quora, the other one is Stack Exchange. Stack Exchange is a forum where people from different fields can discuss, communicate, and help each other in classified communities. Due to a large user base, there are insanely amount of information. You almost can find any info you need on the exact problem there. Besides, you can expect a quick response to your question. Personally, I think two best communities of Stack Exchange is "Stack Overflow", centering lots of web programming questions and English Language & Usage, gathering questions primarily about idioms and grammars.

toddh20
119 reviews
138 helpful votes
9/4/17

What's acceptable about them is the amount of available topics they have. What I can't stand is that they make it too hard to create a new profile for the different types of forums they have such as math and workplace; therefore, you can't easily link to more websites/blogs of yours where your niche matches the forum service. I was able to overcome this problem with a Google search before but I can't do it now.

nicolasg9
24 reviews
66 helpful votes
11/5/16

My advice:
Don't share your knowledge for free on Stackexchange, you will never get rewarded for it. Better create a blog.

The information quality of this website is over-estimated. Normally we should have answers from very wise people. However, they are users on this website who don't deserve their points and don't really answer or get in a debate rather than answering.

From a technical point of view, many answers should be very simple to get. Either the person who answers has the necessary lines of code, lines of command or directive. Most of the time, they argue and you can do NOTHING with what they say. They just fill up the blank. I am suspicious about the +1 those low quality answers get. I wonder if some people didn't create bots just to get a better ranking.

You may read 5 answers thinking they are helpful and after thinking about it, you discover none of them are useful for your problem. Stackexchange is an ersatz of a help website.

Just like for Quora, people pretend to be knowledgeable about subjects but they don't.

There is only a small percentage of knowledgeable people on Stackexchange, and those people are never rewarded just like they should.

chriso1
656 reviews
3,145 helpful votes
12/18/10

Stack Exchange is an index to a collection of question - and - answer sites that cover a range of topics as varied as general physics, Ubuntu, Wordpress, cooking, photography and many other subjects attractive to geeks and nerds such as myself. Why do we think there are only three generations of fundamental particles? Who knows? Suppose that $g$ is a bijection on the real line, and $g^{-1} \circ f \circ g$ is a $C^\infty$ function whenever $f$ is $C^\infty$. It seems howlingly obvious that this can only happen if $g$ is

well, I'm fairly sure you don't need me to explain that.

The good thing is, that unlike just about every similar site out there, there's no registration required, not even for free. Just ask your questions. And there seem to be some really good answers and problem solvers here.

If you acquire a reputation for utility and knowledge, you'll also acquire points that give you some extra goodies, such as the ability to create new tags and take part in chat.

Definitely worth a look if you need to know how forgiving you need to be on new employees, or what you can do with frozen eggs (both genuine questions), and "throw them around" hasn't been a successful answer for either, so far.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Stack Exchange staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Stack Exchange?
Post Review