We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    Ottawafurnacefilters

Corporate Values

Overview

Ottawafurnacefilters has a consumer rating of 2.75 stars from 4 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Ottawafurnacefilters ranks 36th among HVAC sites.

How would you rate Ottawafurnacefilters?
Top Positive Review

“M1 1056 furnace filters box of three”

tim f.
6/13/17

Our furnace installer provided us a quote of $70 per filter but we were able to find a better deal from Ottawa Furnace Filters. They provided a box of three identical filters for $95, including free delivery.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Avoid this company”

Jeff W.
7/17/19

I ordered a box of MERV 11 filters back in late October 2018. They were backordered and said it would take 7 weeks or they could give me MERV 8 filters. I told them I could wait. On 21 Jan I told them I could not wait any longer, I would go with the MERV 8 filters or a refund. I was told they would look into it. On 28 Feb I reminded them and again on 8 and 17 March. On 18 March I was promised a refund. Despite multiple emails and promises nothing has happened. My last email to them on 24 May was not answered. So I am faced with taking them to small claims court as the time period for credit card reimbursement has been exceeded.

See critical reviews

Reviews (4)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

timf61
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 13th, 2017
Our furnace installer provided us a quote of $70 per filter but we were able to find a better deal from Ottawa Furnace Filters. They provided a box of three identical filters for $95, including free delivery.
johnw180
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
January 24th, 2014
I was trying to find a M1-56 furnace filters and could not find it anywhere, and if
I did it was expensive. I found ottawafurnacefilters.ca and they were cheap and they dropped the filters off for free! Thanks guys!
jeffw350
1 review
6 helpful votes
July 17th, 2019
I ordered a box of MERV 11 filters back in late October 2018. They were backordered and said it would take 7 weeks or they could give me MERV 8 filters. I told them I could wait. On 21 Jan I told them I could not wait any longer, I would go with the MERV 8 filters or a refund. I was told they would look into it. On 28 Feb I reminded them and again on 8 and 17 March. On 18 March I was promised a refund. Despite multiple emails and promises nothing has happened. My last email to them on 24 May was not answered. So I am faced with taking them to small claims court as the time period for credit card reimbursement has been exceeded.
toddb25
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 29th, 2015
Ottawa Furnace Filters will scam you out of your money, with a classic bate and switch maneuver.

Heres the scam:
Ottawa Furnace Filters will sell you a product for a reasonable price with a reasonable shipping cost.

Next they will send you an email for shipping costs 7 times higher than originally stated.

The customer will ask to cancel their order due to the extremely outrageous shipping costs.

Ottawa Furnace filters will then gladly refund your money with the exception of a 30 dollar fee.

There you have it, they just got you to pay them 30 dollars for nothing.
ottawaf
Ottawa F. – Ottawafurnacefilters Rep
In regards to the above statement, claiming that OttawaFurnaceFilters.ca is a bait and switch company is completely false and is simply a misleading accusation, in regards to the transpiration of events.
First, OttawaFurnaceFilters.ca is proud to sell hundreds of furnace filters, of all sizes and brands, along with HVAC parts throughout Ottawa, and across Canada.
We have sold hundreds of products to hundreds of satisfied customers throughout Canada, over the last couple of years.
In respect to the customer above, this customer wished to purchase size 30x36x2 filters, which are very difficult to find. Not only is this size very difficult to find but it is also difficult to ship throughout Canada; the reason for this is that the size of these boxes are very large. We make this known on our Terms and Conditions and on the blogs that we have posted. Despite the attempts to inform all customers about this, the customer above writes that we did not inform him regarding extra shipping charges before purchasing, and that we just randomly sent an email after and asked for more money, which is completely misleading.
On all of the listings that sell the sizes, 30x32 or 30x36 and higher, there is a consumer warning for customers, who are not located in the Ottawa area, that extra shipping will likely be needed in order to ship any of these sizes out. Also indicated in this warning, is that cancellation fees can be applied for customers who order this size and then wish to cancel this order, as cost has been generated, as soon as the order is placed. This is something that we do not wish to do and this is the reason why we try to warn customers, in advance of ordering this size, who are not located in the Ottawa area, that they are required to pay more for shipping, as indicated.
This was respectfully brought up to the customer, who then tried to inform us that our mobile phone site, which he used to purchase this product, did not show the consumer warning. Upon examination, we discovered that it did but that the customer would have been required to review the listing details, which he did not do. This was also brought to the customer's attention.

Please read below to view the consumer warning, that is listed on all of the descriptions on the pages with the above sizes of filters, that require additional shipping charges. This warning was also listed on the page which the above customer purchased from and also on the description on the mobile site.

“If, you are not located in the Ottawa area, please understand that extra Shipping will have to be added to your order, in order for us to ship this size out.
Shipping provider will be Canada Post/Purolator. In most cases the shipping cost will be $40.00 to $80.00 dollars. But this is an estimate only, shipping could be more.
Please contact us before ordering to see what the shipping will be to your order.
If you proceed in purchasing the filter item without contacting us prior to your purchase, and then wish to cancel your order due to the extra shipping charges, a cancellation fee may be applied.
Shipping indicated above is only for the Ottawa area.”

The customer failed to read all of the information and never contacted us in regards to additional shipping charges.
The customer failed to acknowledge to us that we have a consumer warning on our listing, in advance of ordering the product, which this customer did not do.
This customer still believes that we have somehow used a bait and switch tactic on him, which was not the case.
The cancellation fee was applied in order to cover the administrative fees, as indicated on the listing.
We have since removed the Ottawa shipping prices to all of our 30x32" and higher filter, which was a very low price for shipping; we have now changed it so the shipping price reflects a large cost for shipping, in order to prevent future customers from ordering this size, without fully understanding that the shipping charges for this size of filter are very high.
For more information on this issue or any other issues, please feel free to contact us.

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the Ottawafurnacefilters staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

2017 Top brands all sizes of Furnace Filters Canada, brands include Aprilaire, Generalaire, Honeywell, Carrier, Lennox P102-1625 and M1-1056 MERV.

Company Representative

ottawaf
Ottawa F.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Ottawafurnacefilters?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Ottawafurnacefilters?