Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of HelloCosplay

HelloCosplay reviews

Is this your business?
8 reviews
35 Soho Square
Shanghai, SH 200433, CN
services@hellocosplay.com

8 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
1

All Reviews

danielp146
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/10/17

Horrible products and horrible services, I was promised a refund as the costume I bought was nothing like the pictures. I sent the item back with registered mail. Now they have stopped answering our emails and I am out with over 250 and the item is waiting in Shanghai.

ameliab9
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/2/17

I ordered a Canada wig for my hetalia cosplay around September 12th. Paid about $80+ for it only for them to say that I did not buy anything, I gave them my trans ID and everything else they wanted. It's been nearly 8 months and I'm still fighting to get that wig, although I think I'm about to give up on it as I doubt I'd get it. Do not buy from them, they are a scam!!!

hongt3
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/17/15

It's kind of hard to explain how frustrating my experience with this company has been to this date. My situation is still unclear and it has now come to a point that I am convinced that they are not a very honest company despite all of these hit and miss comments.

Back in early April 2015, I had ordered a costume from this company as I am not someone with experience with sewing. I had read the warnings that there would be a possibility of colour difference from their photo example, but what I received late April was far beyond just a colour difference. The colours were not only completely off, the cutting of the details and their sewing were sloppy and parts of the costume were attached with safety pins instead of being secured on properly to the rest of the costume. It was unfinished and completely different from what they were advertising on their website.

I had emailed them immediately to notify them of my displeasure as the costume itself was not cheap. They then sent a response a few days later, stating that they would forward this to their manager.

Almost a week passes and no response, so I decided to contact them again inquiring as to why there was no contact and also requested for a refund as this was not what I paid for. At that time, I had also issued out a complaint with paypal in hopes to get their attention.

One day after my request for a refund, they responded that they were delayed in contacting me back due to a holiday, and that they could either fix the costume for me if I send it back (with me paying for the shipping of course) or that they would issue me a 15% discount on the costume while I mend the mistakes myself. I responded that I want a refund for the costume price as this item was not what was advertised, and I had stated that if I was able to sew the costume myself, I would not have turned to their company for their services.

One day later, they responded that they had noticed that I had issued a paypal dispute with them and that they will agree to the refund if I send the costume back.

Two days after that email, I sent them an e-mail stating that I have mailed the costume and even supplied them with a tracking number. This information was then added to my order. They then responded that I should check with them to see if the package had arrived. And with domestic shipping is not as cheap as a business account (since the customer is expected to pay their own shipping for sending anything back), it arrived early July upon confirmation with the Post office records from both my country's postal service and China Post.

I then emailed them to confirm if they received the package, and they responded on July 7 that their "finance department will arrange to agree the refund with Paypal within 3 weekdays, hope you be patient. Please keep checking your Paypal account to receive it."

July 16 rolls around and I emailed them inquiring about the status of my refund as it had not showed up. This where they began to act even stranger. In their e-mail, it stated:

"We see that your order status is still "pending", and you don't close your case, we think you need to close your claim, so then we could give your money back. If you don't close it, then we could not operate. When you close it, please tell us at once, so then we could let our financial department refund you at once. Thank you in advance."

It was strange as I think this involved the paypal dispute which was CLOSED since MAY 27, 2015. I inquired further as to what was "pending" as even in my order file with their website, my account stated "UPDATE" with the tracking # I gave them included. I supplied them the paypal email I used to pay for the item along with my transaction ID and this was their response on July 20:

"We are terribly sorry for keeping you waiting such long time because of our weekends.
Okay, we have arranged our financial department to check this transaction again."

July 30 rolls by and I inquired about the status of my refund with their finance department. At this point I was becoming increasingly concerned.

August 4, they responded with:

"We are terribly sorry for keeping you waiting such long time.
Could you send us your order's payment picture to show the transaction ID? We have found the only one trans ID: 6TR852628T741544R"

This was not the transaction ID paypal gave our transaction. So I sent them a screencap of the number I already supplied to them to further support my case along with the date that is included in the screencap as well as the email I used to pay for the costume order.

On August 8, 2015... I then received this:

"We are terribly sorry for keeping you waiting such long time because of our weekends.
We're so sorry that our manager is out of work for holiday, so then we could not check it for you. Would you mind waiting for several days? Hope for your understanding."

At this point, I was angry. This was now inexcusable as they have used holidays, after weekends, after holidays and I requested for the name, phone number, and email address-- ANYTHING-- to contact their manager or their finance department so I could speak to them directly, and I received this instead on August 14, 2015:

"We said many times that we sent your money back, you could check your order're transaction ID with Paypal. The only one order transaction ID is 6TR852628T741544R.
We could not find your other trans ID. One order has one transaction ID. You could check it with Paypal, and we could not find payment which was not sent to our payment account. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!"

I am now stuck in a situation with almost $200 USD out of the bank, plus $80 for returning the item. I am still fighting to receive a refund that I was promised back in April despite their insistence that they are accusing me that I never sent to their payment account. This accusation was made despite the fact that they received notification of my paypal dispute with them. This company is not to be trusted and from my experience, they will do what they can to cheat you out of your money, saying that they refunded you already (NOT until the last email did I get this mentioned and NO I did NOT receive payment AT ALL) and go as far as accuse you of lying.

I don't know if they'll ever refund me, but I will make sure to spread my story so that everyone knows the extent of how terrible of an experience you can have with this company.

Tip for consumers: Don't order. There are likely more trustworthy businesses out there than this...

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
skylorb
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/11/15

First off, these people are VERY difficult to contact. Said I needed my costume on a specific date, it came very late. I had to contact the mail place to see where my package was. Apparently they had the wrong address. I accidently ordered two packages instead of 1 because the website said it didn't go through, but they fixed that for me real fast. They asked for my measurements a thousand times, and when I finally received my package, it was WAY too large. The quality of the material and sewing was very high, but probably not worth the price. I wish the costume was wearable. Asked for a refund and they never responded. This website is terrible. Buyer beware!!!

karil3
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/6/14

SCAMMERS! Purchased a dress and sent specific measurements beyond what they asked for. Dress was 3 sizes too big..not the color I ordered..zipper broken..hole in dress..large defective material line and bodice was crooked. I sent over 25 pictures and they said I can have a 12% refund or PAY AGAIN TO SHIP IT BACK! THEY DO NOT CARE WHAT THEY SEND YOU! I HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE THE DRESS FIXED! This site should be shut down.

daniellek6
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/27/14

I don't believe this company deserves even one star.

I ordered an 11th Doctor dress from hellocosplay in November for a sci-fi party my friend was having. The product came very quickly, but was dreadfully made. I complained, and they sent a very genetic reply telling me that they were sorry and offered me a 10% discount to shut me up. I was very offended. After MONTHS of arguing with them, I sent back the dress at MY OWN expense, only to have them turn around and tell me that 'the perfume was too heavy'! I never sprayed anything on this dress! Now they are trying to get me to admit to something I didn't do. I have now spent close to $200 on this dress and have absolutely nothing to show for it.

Hellocosplay are by far the worst company I have ever dealt with. They are money hungry pigs who do not deserve to be in business. They are a SCAM! DO NOT BUY!!

josefineb
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/5/13

Not to happy about it. Have only bought a wig from them and that wig is a hell to deal with. I need to keep it in a braid 24/7, otherwise it will get all tangled and messy. Not happy with the wig at all and it's almost I don't dare to use it because it doesn't need much for it to get tangled.

cassieb1
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/4/12

Love this site, Ordered two costumes from them in the span of 2 years (first order in 2011 for a Black Rock Shooter costume second this year for a GUMI costume), asking for a custom made fit they said it would take 7-14 days depending on the complexity of the outfit (this is for both shoes and costumes)
Both costumes I ordered arrived in 14 days (I order outfit, shoes and wig) came in fantastic condition, great communication through live chat (don't think they respond to emails however)

A fantastic site and it was money well spent, I would defiantly recommend them.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the HelloCosplay staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
HelloCosplay?
Post Review