We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    Better World Books

Corporate Values

Overview

Better World Books has a consumer rating of 4.88 stars from 19 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Better World Books ranks 12th among Books Other sites.

  • Service
    14
  • Value
    14
  • Shipping
    14
  • Returns
    14
  • Quality
    14
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 94.4%
Positive
17
Neutral
1
Negative
0
View ratings trends
How would you rate Better World Books?
Top Positive Review

“Truly are building a better world!”

Eddy J.
1/17/21

They are a really good company for conscious buyers. Much more responsible and fair than amazon, yet the purchases can arrive quickly. Also very personalized and friendly, will help with any issues you have.

See positive reviews

Reviews (19)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

eddyj14
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 17th, 2021
Verified purchase

They are a really good company for conscious buyers. Much more responsible and fair than amazon, yet the purchases can arrive quickly. Also very personalized and friendly, will help with any issues you have.

Tip for consumers:
Christmas time is hard to get on time (but still better than amazon this year)

Products used:
Books

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
georgeo358
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 5th, 2021

Cheap, easy, fast shipping and delivery. Good for the world to reuse books. Better than Amazon, Amazon don't pay enough tax. Down with bezos.

Tip for consumers:
Check the condition the book is in. Website is v.accurate with descriptions in my experience. Have a healthy guide for what exactly they mean.

Products used:
Books.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
jc1286
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
March 30th, 2021

I have ordered twice from Better World Books and have been very pleased with the quality and service. It was a pleasant surprise that I could find the rare books I was looking for-- easy to use website and cram-jammed with inventory. Shipping was quick. My order a year ago was delayed somewhat at the beginnings of the covid lockdown but Better World was helpful by email with tracking (they sent my order right after receiving it but it got delayed in the mail). Recent order was delivered surprisingly quickly (international shipping!) They are friendly and funny on email, a pleasure to deal with. Will order again.

Tip for consumers:
Socially conscious company

Products used:
book

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
dianneh175
0 reviews
0 helpful votes
April 9th, 2021

Ordered the book online and was very pleased to receive it. Great condition and will definitely buy from them again. Price is great and arrived in Australia in a great timeframe

Products used:
Books

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
sk553
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 12th, 2021

I received my book really quickly, well packaged – just what I needed and when I needed it! Very many thanks

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
anned316
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 25th, 2021

Received. A new copy as expected, in great condition and with very reasonable postage. An excellent bookseller.

Tip for consumers:
It does take a while to receive your book if you're in Australia, however it's still worth shopping there.

Products used:
Paperback book.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
carolem203
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 25th, 2021

Excellent book to read. I would recommend it. It is thought provoking and intriguing. A true story.

nicolag59
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 18th, 2021

betterworldbooks.com excellent service and delivery.
I received a second hand book that wasnt quite as expected and they replaced it, no quibble, immediately.

Tip for consumers:
Quality as described and better value than buying new

Products used:
School books

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
joanner213
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 15th, 2021

The quality of the books was disappointing.
Two of the books were wrong.
We have used wold books for years and never had a complaint until recently. We are very disappointed

ebelea
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 26th, 2021

Great book selection and excellent delivery.
The book i was looking for was one I read several years ago. I'm amazed they had it.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
susanp1634
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 14th, 2021

Once again I was not disappointed. Better World Books always delivers an excellent product. They have a wonderful search engine and I always find what I'm looking for and often, books I wasn't even aware of.

Products used:
Books, books and more books

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
lka1
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 21st, 2021

Reasonable price with a free world wide delivery. Books received In 21 days to Hong Kong. The condition of books reasonable

arianat12
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 12th, 2021

I got the book quicker than I thought and at a good price, too! There was even a cute update email.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
martinj212
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 23rd, 2021

BWB have a great selection of books and are reliable about sending them or your money back. I am a rampant bibliophile and a bit of an ancient history nerd and they always keep me happy!

Tip for consumers:
Be prepared to wait a little while for your books.

Products used:
Books

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
susand1316
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 6th, 2021

Fast fulfilment of order even during covid times. Thank you. I would recommend them to anyone. Good value for money

dianeg695
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 7th, 2021

I'm all about reusing, and recycling, so I support this business.
I ordered 3 books, from two different sellers, and I'm very pleased to add them to my bookshelf.

gabriellen26
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 30th, 2021

The book arrived on time and it was utterly fantastic! I bought it for a 50th birthday gift and it was so well recieved.

janb1
508 reviews
1,228 helpful votes
February 29th, 2012

A 2nd hand book seller - and this one is a little difficult. I bought there twice, and twice it went wrong. But there are no doubts that the company is honest and want to give good service. I would have no issues to buy there again.

Order #1: I ordered the wrong book because their website had a mismatch of the book title and the ISBN. After I got the wrong book and informed them they gave me immediately a refund - in fact, they didn't ask me to return the book! (I returned it anyway at my expenses, it's a small thing)

Order #2: It went lost in the postal system. Not their fault. After I notified them they ask me to wait another week or so. After that I was given again a refund without any discussion.

I hope next time I will have more luck.

thomasb1459
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
March 20th, 2021

Very pleased with order, but I'd prefer it if Better World Books did not use plastic packaging material.

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the Better World Books staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Better World Books?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Better World Books?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business