Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of AOL

AOL reviews

Is this your business?
7 reviews
76701
advertise.with.us@aol.com

7 reviews with 2 stars

matth2634
15 reviews
22 helpful votes
12/2/18

Aol doesn't help much with spam. Keep getting spam from their advertisers that seem to be mostly from Russia.

nissimm
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/4/18

Up to very recently AOL provided excellent customer support. But today I had a very Frustrating & bad experience with the Technical support team of AOl. I have been a Member of AOL for some 25 years. MY AOL Gold suddenly Stopped Working and I called the Technical Support Team of AOL and was told by the same group that once provided the service to contact another team specifically for AOL Gold. Could not reach them at the number provided Several calls during the work hours. Tried to send message by email not possible as they had shut down any further inputs by email tried to call accounts not possible. went back to Tech Support same story. Made 4 rounds. Tried to download AOL Gold as per Posted Directions not completing and shutting off. With This frustrating experience from the technical experts of AOL I Just Wonder How President Donald Trump is going to make America Great Again. He is one great President but somehow something has gone wrong in The Professionalism of the AOL Staff.

ginnyd2
34 reviews
27 helpful votes
11/10/17

I never really bothered with AOL as I prefer to use Outlook without logging into a site to get my emails. There are tons of sites with local news that you dont have to log in to, so its really a matter of preference. But what drew my attention to them was Verizon purchasing AOL. As a Verizon customer with all three services, emails are a part of the internet service. But, Verizon requested that customers migrate their accounts to AOL and the email accounts would remain intact as original and you could avoid the hassles if they became AOL email accounts and re-linking them because of a change in email provider. But since then, I noticed a pattern Outlook frequently having problems, getting bombarded with ads and notices that could lead you to lose those Verizon accounts if youre not careful.

So I was getting these notices to update settings with a deadline. In my case, I didnt have to do anything. But, I called AOL and asked Customer Support if they could briefly explain if my assumptions were correct and it became a Technical Support issue with a monthly fee of $4.95. So, theyre telling you that the world will cave in if you dont update, but want to charge you to tell you why. Meanwhile, as a Verizon customer, youre already paying for the email support which you can get from Verizon free of charge. So this is merely a ploy on the part of AOL to try to coerce you into taking on this unnecessary support fee by suddenly causing intermittent email problems that didnt exist before. Verizon claims it might be AOLs servers, but thats nonsense because it happens very selectively with maybe only one email account out of a bunch.

Then I log into AOL and now they want to offer ad-free email experience for $4.95 a month because they need advertisers to support their revenue needs. Thats rubbish. AOL makes plenty of money on the fact that they can treat your emails anonymously for compiling statistics that they can use to make tons of money by providing all types of information to companies willing to buy it.

Bottom line: AOL wants to inspire fear so that you fork over a monthly fee for peace of mind by pulling more than your strings. I suspect Verizon would love to lose those legacy email accounts because many customers would rightly or wrongly assume that they now belong to AOL. Dont take the bait. Save $60 a year.

jamesl123
3 reviews
21 helpful votes
6/3/15

Much like a rerun of "Love American Style," AOL just hasn't aged well. Its Mac software no longer works on the Yosemite OS for Mac (though AOL says it is a priority to fix it, it has now been a "priority" since October 2014), and its Windows software is hoary with age. Not that I use it much at all, but every once and a while I think to myself, "I wonder what AOL is like these days" and I will take a whirl at its website, play around with its Desktop software, and tinker in its AOL Mail. It's like time has stood still. It kind of works, sort of, but not really well. I like the idea of a walled-garden proprietary desktop program -- but it has to do something, or provide some benefit that the web itself, unwalled, does not provide. AOL fails in this regard.

Much like Hollywood has done on some film properties (like Star Trek and Spiderman), AOL needs to be "re-imagined." I'm sure I'll look at AOL again in the next few months, but I expect nothing pleasing about it, except, a dose of nostalgia.

Service
Value
Quality
amelad
5 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/9/12

AOL- America On-Line , has been used by Americans for online and email purposes. While its popularity has decreased, many users were accustomed to AOL for more than email and contact purposes, but also AOL Music- entertainment.

Aol Music provided its users with in-depth and live sessions from artists and bands. These 'incentives' were appreciated by AOL members who in turn paid for the internet service. However, overtime, people's interests change and find themselves no longer giving the time and money for these types of entertainment. The actual website is effective to a degree, but its lack of purpose prevents it from being completely effective. The pros are the idea behind the product, but due to the time of technology, its popularity and fame have since declined and I would not recommend this to a friend.

tinar2
42 reviews
125 helpful votes
9/20/10

They have a lot of articles on saving money, and alerting the consumer. But they turn around and endorse many affiliate programs that are designed to make you spend money. And not in wise ways either. One time they even promoted a book for "saving" that was actually $30-$40 bucks! Where is the savings in that. Plus they also have gained the reputation for editing comments to an extreme degree. They will sometimes take only one sentence from a comment to make themselves look good.

armenb
83 reviews
358 helpful votes
10/30/09

http://www.fanhouse.com/news/main/martina-navratilova-rips-andre-agassi/744936

affiliated to AOL.com in the sponsored links there are Scam sites like:

Sponsored Links:

Jobless Mom Makes $81/Hr (Online)
Unemployed Mom Makes $8,643/Month Part-Time! Read this Special Report to See How.

News18.TV

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the AOL staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

3 Photos for AOL

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
AOL?
Post Review