We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Yeah guys, it's a scam

asked by Zack A. on 4/6/10

8 Answers
This is a very weird-looking and -reading site. The registrant is masked so we cannot tell who it is. The page is actually just a free form created at formsite.com, a free web form creation service, which makes the very first statement, "We have spent a lot of time and money" potentially suspect. Another potentially suspect aspect of the text is the poor spelling, and the almost threatening language: "if you are not 100% commited (sic) to ordering from us and following through with a payment then we do not want to be bothered". Well, fine then. Lastly - aside from the overall yuckiness of the page, which is entirely printed in pink - I would be very, very careful about dealing with anyone who is only going to tell you the payment method by email. That sounds like it's going to be Western Union or some other untraceable cash transaction to me.

It really all depends on whether you have a good feeling about a site or not, in the absence of any evidence one way or another. But since used treadmills are a decoration of many thrift stores and garage sales, at least around here, I'd be inclined to move on to another deal myself.
Helpful (0)
I responded via email about a Gold Gym 550 treadmill on craigslist.org I received a response with a link to www.prorder.org. Googling this site indicated this domain name was created on October 13,2009. This may be a scam on craigslist.
Helpful (0)
You know whats kinda weird? This Donald p guy has only posted one thing ever... and it's about this...
Helpful (0)
To address Greg L. My first time post is because the only business i have here is to give my review of the business i have done with prorder.org. Otherwise i have no business being here now do i? Im still a happy camper and enjoyed my 5 mile walk on my treadmill this evening. Ciao.
Helpful (0)
I was the same situation as Kalfred. I inquired about a treadmill on craigslist. I'm sorry, but isn't craigslist supposed to be about local resales so that you can see and feel the products? If... and that is a big IF... this "company" is legit, then they need to be on ebay or amazon instead.

Informational email you get from the "company" is full of spelling errors. (A serious red flag for any legit business in the US.) This is my first post to this site too, but I have to agree with Greg L -- the spelling errors in Donald P's posts are suspiciously similar to the ones in that email I got from the "company".

Zack A -- the phone number I received for the "company" is a Florida area code. No snow there. Ok, they are an outfit that is just going to place an order for your from somewhere else, but... the areas of the country that actually had snow and ice are areas that know how to deal with snow and ice. Any delay would be a day or two and no longer.

So, form your own opinions based on facts, evidence, and your own interpretation between the lines. My opinion is... SCAM.
Helpful (0)
Yeah I checked the phone a long time ago, and the whois for their site goes to arizona, to a proxy building that hides domain information for business. I'm not banking on it being legit, I still trying to be hopeful. There still technically isn't a report of them being fraudulent... yet
Helpful (0)
Zack, I'm in the same boat. I purchased a 360 and still have not received it. They received payment on 2/12. I also keep getting emails blaming weather delays and saying there is only two people packing things and sending them out. But I still haven't gotten a date or a time frame when they will send it. Please let me know if you get yours.
Helpful (0)
I have been waiting for my treadmill for 3 months.
Helpful (0)

Add your answer

I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines

Ask a question

Get answers from the Prorder.org staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines

Is this your business?

Owners and employees, register now to answer these questions from potential customers. Register now

Have a question about
Post Review