SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Groupon

Groupon reviews

1560 reviews
27%
600 W. Chicago Ave Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60654
Tel: +1.3128705288
sysadmin@groupon.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

People interested in Groupon are also interested in:

1,560 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

robinr24

Tried for almost 3 weeks to resolve my issue using email and Groupon's posted customer service number - and nothing. (in 346 reviews)

angela334

I also got confirmation email that they received my return & my $$ had been credited back to my credit card. (in 72 reviews)

debbiee3

Just got back from a vacation 2 weeks ago where we bought the hotel room with a groupon. (in 45 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

deepikaa
5 reviews
2 helpful votes
7/26/15

I have used groupon to buy some home goods and have found the quality to be very average. I get better quality outside and at good prices .

Ask Deepika about Groupon
Advertisement
patriciam69
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/26/15

I have used Groupon since its inception. Along the way, I have had a few glitches - products that weren't up to standard; services that definitely weren't up to par, and a couple other issues. Each time Groupon stepped up and corrected the issue or refunded my money. I feel comfortable dealing with Groupon knowing that they have my back. Keep going Groupon! I love the way you protect us consumers!

Ask Patricia about Groupon
deborahp22
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
7/26/15

I've ordered many times and taken advantage of many offers and never had a problem

Ask Deborah about Groupon
richarde23
16 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/25/15

some things are good. Don't buy hotel rooms here though. I meet good small business owners at an initial discount. The savings is enticing and I often stay with those I have great experiences with

Ask richard about Groupon
brendas43
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/25/15

Groupon offers discount, could be a good thing except with Restaurants. Cheap is NO GOOD!! Cheap for no good reason is especially bad.

I was skeptical about Groupon when my partner wanted to try out with restaurants. As soon as he brought up about that we must present the groupon as soon as we walk in the restaurant or even when we make the reservation. I sensed something fishy.

Restaurants want to boost volume at a lower price, that is understandable. But do they want to loose solid money for these discounted volume? This is questionable.

We found our answers and proves during our restaurants visits. How the restaurants remain consistent profit? They cut corners....which correspond to their need to know that the suckers (discounted eaters) are coming when you present your coupon.

There is no better explanation or any other reasons that Groupon holders must show it up front (before they are served).

You do the math.

Ask Brenda about Groupon
lisab149
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/25/15

Groupon obviously does not vet the companies they are recommending to their customers. I was just put in a very dangerous situation in South Florida. I was actually given a massage by a man who was NOT a massage therapist. I am shocked. It was an illegal business and I have reported it to the police and also code enforcement. This was after I did as much research on the Day Spa as I could. I also had a horrible experience by a housecleaning company who has since closed their doors. Then another business left a message on their voice mail saying "if you've purchased a groupon, better get your money back...". I am thoroughly disgusted with Groupon and am closing my account. They know they were wrong because they actually charged back my $149 onto my credit card and they NEVER do that! I would rather pay full price then be referred to these disgusting companies that do not deserve my business.

Ask Lisa about Groupon
lilaw2
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/25/15

purchased deal for $50 worth of food for $20 only to find out you can't use it Thursday through Sunday

Ask lila about Groupon
latherb
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/24/15

few nice trips from this site

Ask Lather about Groupon
kennyb10
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/24/15

I tried to purchase something from Groupon that was "a deal in my area" but when I clicked "Complete Order", I got a message saying that my address was invalid and to correct it? How can I correct the address that I get mail at now?! I contacted customer support and they just sent me a link to the USPS and then ended the chat without any kind of conversation or answers to my problem or anything. Poor business in my opinion.

Ask Kenny about Groupon
karenc71
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/23/15

IF YOU USE THEM 1 TIME, THEY SAVE YOUR CREDIT CARD NUMBER. I WAS SEARCHING THEIR WESITE AND 4 HRS LATER AND UNATHORIZED RESERVATION WAS MADE AND THEY DEDUCTED 550 FROM MY CHECKING AOCCOUNT. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE "MANAGER" YELLED INTO THE PHONE "i CANT HEAR YOU" AND DISCONNECTED THE CALL, i WASNT YELLING

Ask Karen about Groupon
satisfiedc2
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/23/15

I bought a deal from groupon for the Jennifer Bradley Class for a 1 hour make-up.I tried calling the lady at the center to book an appointment several times for weeks but she never answered the call or would tell me to call back at another time.One day she told me she will call back in two days.never did.and guess what ?the promotional value has now expired.
Bad company and poor customer service.

Ask Satisfied about Groupon
tims84
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/23/15

Ordered product 17 days ago. No shipping info provided yet. Contacted cust service via email. Got a response saying someone would respond within 72 hours. Called live support....agent could not tell me anything because a "service request ticket was filed and it was less than 72 hours" Unreal. Is the US Government running this place?

By the way....ordered from Amazon two days ago...my package will be here today.

Ask Tim about Groupon
prestonr6
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/22/15

Great service, Awsome deals. Have always gotten refunds no problem.

Ask preston about Groupon
brians145
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/22/15

Occasionally get bargains, good site, no problems

Ask Brian about Groupon
pamd11
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/21/15

I have read some of the reviews to groupon goods, and I'm having the same issue of not receiving the goods and then not being given a refund from them. They are a rip off. Who has my stuff? I've ordered about 4 different items in the past 4 years, and the same thing every time - shoes twice, a watch, and a hair band. You'd think I'd learn my lesson, right?! And the people that I finally heard from were NOT helpful, but actually a bit snarky, but perhaps it's just the email communication thing.

Ask Pam about Groupon
johns935
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/21/15

Many places will not accept Groupon coupons. So watch out!

Ask John about Groupon
derrickb11
5 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/21/15

You do get what you pay for if it seems too good to be true.

Ask Derrick about Groupon
tanyas15
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/21/15

Most excellent deals

Ask Tanya about Groupon
gaganc
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/20/15

I get email with promo codes, but when u try to use them they don't work. My question is why do you advertise promo code with items which are not eligible... This is all fake and just trying to bring people shop thru their websites....

Ask Gagan about Groupon
giod4
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/17/15

I purchased thru Groupon a vacation package Tour of Bangkok, Hong Kong, and Dubai with Airfare for my family and 2 weeks after we purchased it we were informed by the Tour Operator that the travel dates have changed and they can not honor the dates we purchased the tour for.
I am trying to get my money back and keep going back and forth between the tour operator and Groupon. No one is seems to own the issue and willing to help!

Ask gio about Groupon
michaelw159
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/16/15

I ordered an iPad AIr from Groupon and after 8 days received the following email-
We messed up. We didn't have enough inventory to send you the product you ordered—we're so sorry for failing to deliver.

We've canceled your shipment, and are automatically issuing a refund to the original form of payment.

Please allow three business days for the refund to process—you'll receive an email after your refund is issued.
They can't deliver on what they sell. Never buying another Groupon ever!

Ask Michael about Groupon
faeema
20 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/16/15

AMAZON MUCH BETTER BUT FOR FOOD STUFF OK

Ask Faeem about Groupon
anthonyh53
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/16/15

A seemingly convenient exaggeration of saving lures buys into convincing themselves they are saving more than they are. Expiration scams are rampant and groupon does not give refunds. Groupon is the shifty manager of a restaurant that offers you coupons on future visits after the chef wipes his butt with the toast on your $400 chicken sandwich. Customer service is outsourced to save them money where 3rd party call centers cannot refund your money.

Ask Anthony about Groupon
lauras94
5 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/15/15

I save a lot of bucks thanks to them. However, there also many invalid coupons that make you lose too much time.

Ask laura about Groupon
carlyj5
7 reviews
2 helpful votes
7/15/15

My experience was horrible, support is outstanding bad
Don`t use it!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Carly about Groupon
anirudhd
5 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/14/15

Groupon used to be really the in-thing a while back. But, nowadays it has sort of gone down. Needs to imrpove

Ask Anirudh about Groupon
dannyg21
5 reviews
30 helpful votes
7/14/15

Love those Groupon offers. I subscribe to all the cities we travel. Can't miss.

Ask Danny about Groupon
geryc
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/14/15

Purchased Groupon dining offer for 2. Paid $49, value, $178.90. Used 7/11/15. Included: Wine tasting for 2; 3 whites, 3 reds. Value: $35, per person. Wines were mediocre and pourings, skimpy. Appetizer for 2: Each serving consisted of: 1 piece salami, 1 piece pepperoni, 1 piece rolled ham, 2 pieces of cheese, 4 olives, 1 mini hot pepper & 1 piece of toasted bread. Terrible!! Value: $26, per person?? Value: In reality, $3!! 2 Entrees: skirt steak with spinach. Steak was barely chewable. Spinach was burnt & tasted like "dirt!!" In lieu of 2nd entree, chose 2 appetizers. Roasted egg plant; mozzarella cheese was not edible, neither was egg plant, which was floating in a red sauce that had the consistency of tomato soup. Stuffed portabello mushroom looked awful & tasted worse!! Value: $21.95 each!! Server had an attitude, decor was dated, sparse and worn. The WORST dining experience......... EVER!!!!

Tip for consumers: My tip..........DON'T frequent 1742 Wine Bar, 1742 Second Avenue in NYC. Money would be better spent at McDonalds!! $49 can buy lotsa Burgers and fries!!!!

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Gery about Groupon
shayp3
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/14/15

GroupOn says 3 days refund, but you can't reach them in three days, be aware buyers. You call their telephone number 1-877-788-7858 and I was put on an hour wait, I really mean it...Automated machine stated "wait time is one hour", so, poor customer service, poor web site, you can never edit/cancel a purchased item the next day.

This is sad, the last time I use GroupOn, big mistake.

Ask Shay about Groupon
kristib10
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/14/15

I went to groupon found a great deal for 4 addmission tix @$40 half price... but then I have to go to the La County web page to enter a code and print tix. I do this and I am CHARGED A SECOND TIME for $40 so basically I paid FULL price on something I was suppose to get at half price. !! And yes I followed dierections and read ALL Fine print. Feeling kinda pissed off

Ask Kristi about Groupon
surinderr
3 reviews
21 helpful votes
7/14/15

Offer for £19.... We regularly buy at £15 so why is £19 + £1.99 a good deal. It's a con!
Leave it out

Ask Surinder about Groupon
lindat60
7 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/14/15

Fast service

Ask Linda about Groupon
jenniferb115
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/13/15

We used Groupon for several sevices (facials, dinner, hair ext) I Loved it, even switched for good to some of the new businesses, but DO NOT order any goods. We have given them several chances to redeem themselves but it's just one disaster after another. Fakes, broken & pieces missing, and just Total bait and switch Junk. Although I did not find CS as bad as others did, you will be on hold for days but most of CS do try to be helpful and apologetic.

Ask Jennifer about Groupon
pattib14
11 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/13/15

Bought tickets, for my granddaughter and I, to attend YoGabbaGabba! Live at Memorial Auditorium in Sacramento. It was easy to purchased the tickets, got a great deal and awesome choice of seats. My daughter in law uses Groupon all the time to find restaurant deals, mani/pedi spa deals, and local attraction discounts. It's great!

Ask Patti about Groupon
michellec83
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/13/15

I accidentally pressed the purchase button on a Getaway that I was still mulling over. To my dismay since my Groupon account is linked to my credit card information it immediately purchased the vacation. I immediately wrote to their customer service and received a reply that they had to ensure that the voucher they just gave me was not used by the travel company. I called the next morning to Groupon customer service and they said they had not heard back from the travel company. I waited 2 days and called again and Groupon customer service said they have heard nothing from the travel company. The representative refused to try to do anything for me. He said there was nothing he could do but wait. This is $2000 they have stolen from my account and based on how redeeming works I only have 3 more days before the offer expires and I'm screwed anyway. I have a feeling Groupon never contacted the travel company and will send me some email stating that the offer code, coupon, voucher blah blah has been used and there is nothing they can do. Which will then force you to have to re book some other god awful vacation through them at another time. This is daylight robbery, poor customer service, and has SCAM all over this website. PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS SITE! Save yourself from losing your hard earned money and giving yourself a headache.

Ask Michelle about Groupon
michelles98
7 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/13/15

I have used Groupon for gifts of Wine, Jewelery, Hotel trips to casinos for myself, vitamins,
electronic devices, new telephones, bathroom shelving, sheet sets --you name it.

I have always been 100% satisfied. When I needed help customer service was there when
I needed help and straightened out my issue. I love Groupon. I always get am excellent
value!

Ask michelle about Groupon
dheerajm1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/13/15

Good products

Ask Dheeraj about Groupon
deborahp21
6 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/12/15

I've used Groupon and was happy with the experience. I ordered a Groupon for Shutterfly--good value and Shutterfly accepted the discount code without a hitch. Mine was a first-time order, so Groupon sent my friend her $5 referral groupon as promised. She uses Groupon quite often for local museums, restaurants, and zoos, so I've benefited from the service even when I wasn't the shopper. I can't always find a Groupon for something I need, though--can't have everything.

Ask Deborah about Groupon
michaels277
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/11/15

Pictures on the website are way too off from what I've got. And at the end they gave me $50 of Groupon money. $#*!ty website and helpless CS I've ever deal with. It was expensive mistake. Never deal with this guys. App deleted and lesson learned.

Ask Michael about Groupon
janetk15
5 reviews
3 helpful votes
7/11/15

product bought was different from what was shown online

Ask janet about Groupon
anjalit
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/11/15

I took one offer (999) where it say body massage 60 min... Since I m carrying I took head massage and foot massage instead of body massage. They finished head massage in just 10 mins.money also they took before I started taking services.

Ask Anjali about Groupon
mitt9
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
7/10/15

Cheap and affordable travel packages..

Ask Mit about Groupon
michellem100
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/8/15

I purchased 4 tickets to an exhibit - intended on using them but my family has been dealing with a very serious illness. The exhibit is still there, and is still ongoing but my tickets are no longer valid due to their "fine print" - which means i am OUT $120.00. When I ask where my money went to, i get the same song and dance, too bad, so sad, better luck next time response. I will NEVER use them again. RUDE, arrogant thieves.

Tip for consumers: make sure to read their "fine print" as I have been reminded OVER AND OVER AGAIN.

Service
Ask michelle about Groupon
selcuki
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/8/15

All items I purchased here, watches, perfumes even iphone chargers are fake

Ask Selcuk about Groupon
js160
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/8/15

Groupon is awful. They have no concern when their groupons are not honored or when the products are not received! I purchased a hair color/cut from them a year ago and the stylist could never seem to work me in to get schedule no matter how far out I called. Groupon said "too bad - not our problem".

Then last month I bought some earrings from them. I only received 2 of the 3 pairs and again Groupon said "too bad - we show the post office delivered them so we don't care. They told me to check with my neighbors but there was nothing Groupon would do. "

NEVER will I buy from them again!

Ask J about Groupon
danielat4
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/7/15

i bought a tv in groupon. WOST DECISION EVER. they have this craZy 14 day policy for returns (not even clothes stores have a 14 day policy) and they took a month to deliver my tv. Soby then the 14 day policy was over. After a month of using my tv, the tv stops working. I sent an email complaining and they cant do anything because of their policy. Groupon is not reliable and every experience I had with it was just a bad and sad. Please stay away and don't waste your time here. You have been warned

Ask daniela about Groupon
jagroopa
6 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/7/15

I have my eyes on this all the time, I've made a lot of purchases and I've always been happy.

Ask Jagroop about Groupon
stevec115
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/7/15

Best experience

Ask Steve about Groupon
xeniac
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/7/15

Every time i call its a hour wait then when i get someone, they just offer a refund not an equal value of what was paid, they dont check merchants they do business with. ALL SCAM u can find things cheaper yourself or any other respectable website. GROUPON does NOT deserve your money

Ask Xenia about Groupon
mary-lynnw
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/6/15

I have bought many things off Groupon & if I have ANY issues they give me a refund (only to their website) but I always find something great to buy.

Ask Mary-Lynn about Groupon

18 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Groupon staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
Q: What should I do to get back vouchers that I bought but haven't redeemed yet from the list of My Groupons? When I get into the MY GROUPONS , it stated that "My orders-You have yet to make any Groupon purchase(s).",but actually I bought 3 vouchers already.They disappeared from the list after one month purchased.Please tell me what should I do to get them back by email to me (quikping@gmail.com)!Thanks in advance!
8/2/13
Answer
michelef14
A: I have never had a problem with any groupon I have purchased. I just used a voucher today without any problems. There was one instance when I knew I was not going to be able to use my groupon and I went to my account, clicked on my groupings and asked for a refund. I'm sorry this has happened to you. Hopefully you will get it straightened out.
6/25/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
Q: I'm looking into buying a gold chain for my boyfriend. Reading the reviews, I noticed groupons isn't great for services or vacations. Its a solid gold chain for about 80 bucks. Can somebody tell me if this purchase is yay or nay. I do not want to waste money
4/11/15
Answer
anastasiac5
A: Never buy gold, diamonds, or jewelry unless you can see it in person. That should be your new motto.
6/9/15
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the Groupon staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

2 Coupons for Groupon

×
No coupon code needed
Shop now at Groupon to save!
Go to Groupon
Groupon.com

20 Photos for Groupon

From reviewers

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Groupon?
Post Review