We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Heather M.

2 Level 2 Contributor
  • 6 Reviews
  • 26 Helpful Votes
  • 0 Thank Yous

Experience: Clothing & Fashion, Shopping, Computers & Technology

Member since November 2017

  • Reviews

    6

  • First Reviews

    0

  • Thank Yous

    0

  • Fans

    0

  • Profile Views

    269

Review Distribution

6 Reviews by Heather

5/30/18
I have had both p oily positive and negative experiences on wish, now first and foremost, all items are from China, even if it states a US seller, that just means they drop ship and have their items here instead of mailing/shipping from China itself. I have gotten decent, not great, but decent items from this site and I've gotten items that made me turn my head sideways and look confused. It really is a 50/50 shot on this site but the prices don't make you run away thinking " they want what for that!" It's normally a cheap price and decent shipping charges, but not always great items, it is definitely the epitome of You Get What You Pay For.
5/28/18
As almost everyone knows, ebay has high seller fees which has made a lot of sellers leave, which leaves most of the seller's from overseas. The shipping charges some sellers utilize is absolutely astounding... crazy high, I mean, there is no way that a bottle of nail polish costs $8 to ship or a shirt ships for $12, but because ebay allows any shipping to be entered you will encounter eye popping prices, so, if you factor in high fees and higher shipping costs, ebay isn't really a great option. Now to be fair not all sellers gouge on shipping and you can get a great deal, but they are few and far between. Unless of course you buy from China, which is the majority of sellers, than you can get a fantastic deal, but it is from China, so most likely to be low quality and a two month wait to receive if you receive it. Overall, it's okay but not my first or second choice in online buying.
5/28/18
I shop and sell on a few sites and posh is one of them, I can honestly say that this is by far one of the best! The only reason I have not committed to selling the hundreds of items I sell to posh is the higher selling fees, if they lowered them, I know many sellers would switch over completely. The customer service is amazing, better than eBay, mercari, depop etc... and most of the seller's are friendly and very accommodating. The items seem to be higher quality and sellers also take better care in their packaging and shipping. Now, I have had a couple negative experiences with a couple sellers but by far less than mercari sellers. I would definitely recommend Poshmark to buy and sell but be aware that as a seller the fees are a bit higher.
4/25/18
I'm not quite sold on it yet, but it's not too bad. My biggest complaint is that if your seller doesn't ship, you can't go through them to open a claim, I had to use PayPal, now don't get me wrong PayPal is completely fine, I just don't like having to go to two different sites to try and resolve an issue. I understand that no platform no matter how well maintained, cannot force a seller to ship, however there needs to be stricter guidelines on this, and I mean on most sites as this happens alot! I'm sure most of you, just as myself doesn't purchase something and say "meh, if I get it okay, if not that's okay as well". Nope, I purchased it because I'd like to have it and if you as a seller aren't going to ship, just let me know so maybe I can find it elsewhere. But overall, it's an okay site, lots of teenage sellers which can get tricky, but Mercari has the same issue with that, so I say try it, I have had some good transactions on here.
4/24/18
Just no! I joined tophatter over a year and half ago, maybe it's gotten better, but I doubt it. I purchased quite a few items, received only a few of them. One purchase wasn't all there and some were broken, but it was a too bad for you situation, I contacted the seller who told me and i quote " well what do you expect, I sell these for a lot more than they went for, so you get what you pay for". Now, I cannot help that no one bid higher than me on this purchase nor should that matter, you advertised certain items, that's what I bid on, but please don't think customer support stepped in and said now hold on that's wrong, nope, they said well we cannot do much about it! So, there's that, but it gets worse, about 7 items I bought never arrived, so i contact customer support about it and they say it says delivered and it did, however I went to my post office to inquire about it and they looked up the tracking and informed me that it wasn't a legitimate tracking site that tophatter uses. So, yes it shows delivered but no it's not legitimately delivered. One item arrived two months AFTER it showed delivered! I again contacted customer support to inform them of what my post office found out and they said well, sorry. So, unless you want to give your money away and hope your purchases arrive, I would stay well away from this site!
gracielam3
Graciela M. – Tophatter Rep
Hi Heather,

I'm very sorry to hear that items on Tophatter didn't meet expectations, and thank you for your review.

Tophatter is a Marketplace (https://tophatter.com/terms) that connects buyers with sellers, and sellers ship items through the postal service. Anytime a package is confirmed Delivered to the correct location through a valid tracking number, we do ask that shoppers follow up with their local post office for more details.

The USPS uses scanners which log a carrier's GPS location, and an inquiry to the local post office should be able to help track down the package's true location. The post office's tracking is more robust than the tracking available online, so if this ever occurs, please ask the post office for their expanded tracking details. After providing documentation from the post office a full refund can be processed.

Please contact our customer support team once the documentation is available and we'd be happy to help further.

Regards,
Graciela
11/25/17
When I first signed up I thought "Finally a place to sell for no big fees", and while that is still true, I can't believe how customer service isn't very fair to sellers when a buyer wants a return based on false claims, never do they contact the seller to get their side on the claims. They decide if something is not as described based on what? I always list everything in the description, it isn't a sellers fault if a buyer doesn't read it, but the seller will get decided against. I think that unless the return department is knowledgeable in all items they cannot possibly make a fair decision. But, they don't want to upset the buyer, however if they are not careful they will lose sellers, and no sellers mean no buyers, which means no Mercari. I have bought on there as much as I sell so I understand that there could be legitimate issues, but some are completely false. So, your item sits until they decide against you, than you wait for the buyer to hopefully return the right item undamaged, and have to relist. Thanks, I appreciate it! If you get an honest buyer, pray they rate you, otherwise, you wait and wait to get your money, I mean they already have your item and if they decide to not rate, you have to wait 3 days, then start the request which means another day to wait and when Mercari gets to it, they will finally release your money. Seems completely reasonable to wait that long to get paid right? I mean as a seller you have 3 days to ship or that's it, you can be cancelled on that transaction, but buyers well, they can give you the run around to get paid and that's okay. Come on Mercari, you could be great but you are sabotaging yourself, stop allowing false claims for returns and trust me if I am selling lots of one particular item, I think i know what I'm doing, so if you decide one transaction of 30 is not as described, who exactly is the expert on that? I believe it's the buyer who didn't read the description, not that it's falsely described, I would rather pay more in fees elsewhere than continue to see this kind of customer service that is unfair to sellers. UPDATE: since writing this review things have gotten worse! As most reviewers are stating, and I touched on above, the customer service is absolutely horrible, a business can thrive or die on the quality of their representatives, and mercari's is slowly killing itself, most reliable, trustworthy sellers won't stay with a platform that cannot provide at least decent customer service. Smart buyers won't be willing to trust in a company that can't do something as simple as provide a basic, courteous, knowledgeable and timely service. I just, like today had yet another horrific experience with their customer service. Honestly, I am going to close my account down and just keep my business to a few other sites, I can spend my money anywhere and I can give my selling fees to anyone, but not these people anymore. Please be mindful and cautious if doing any transactions on mercari.
jordanb96
Mercari R. – Mercari Rep
We're sorry to hear there was an issue with your transaction and a return was requested. Please keep in mind you still have an opportunity to dispute the return within 24 hours of receiving the item. We like to protect our sellers too, and we'll make sure to compensate you if we confirm the item was returned in a condition you did not send it in. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the rating period, and we'll be sure to pass this along to our Product team for review. Please reach out to us at contact@mercari.com if you have further questions or concerns. Thanks!^DE

Heather Has Earned 26 Votes

Heather M.'s review of Dependable Auto Outlet earned a Very Helpful vote

Heather M.'s review of eBay earned 2 Very Helpful votes

Heather M.'s review of Tophatter earned 18 Very Helpful votes

Heather M.'s review of Wish earned 2 Very Helpful votes

Heather M.'s review of Mercari earned 3 Very Helpful votes

Heather hasn’t received any thanks yous.

Heather doesn’t have any fans yet.

Heather isn’t following anybody yet.

Similar Reviewers on Sitejabber

lisaj747
Lisa J. reviewed Wish
8/11/20

The clothing does not look remotely like the pictures and the sizes run very large. The quality...

samanthad217
8/11/20

Double hammock advertised with metal Stand very clearly states but just a cheap canvas arrived...