We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide


Gemma S.

1 Level 1 Contributor
  • 4 Reviews
  • 7 Helpful Votes
  • 0 Thank Yous

Experience: Travel, Shopping

Member since March 2018

  • Reviews


  • First Reviews


  • Thank Yous


  • Fans


  • Profile Views


Review Distribution

4 Reviews by Gemma


We have never received such rude customer service in our lives as from Alaska Motor Home Inc (Alaska RV Rental). The manager just paid no attention to any of our comments and issues, and after one very rude email, actually just ignored my follow up emails.

Alaska Motor Home firstly overcharged us when we made the initial booking. After contacting them, they did refund the difference. However, when we turned up for the booking, they again had a higher charge written in the contract, so be aware of what you are being charged at all stages of the booking and read everything carefully before signing or paying anything.

If you do rent from this company, make sure you get the full contract (Terms and Conditions) from them before paying anything, since their fines are much higher and stricter than other car and RV rental companies we have used in the past, and once you have paid you cannot refuse to accept these terms without losing all the money you have paid. We were only provided with the Terms and Conditions after paying in full and on collection of the RV, so we didn't have any option but to accept them.

Alaska Motor Home Inc. are also very strict with applying fines. We had filled the RV full of gas before returning it. The fuel pump had shut off at the garage to indicate it was full, however the fuel gauge read a little lower than full. When we returned the RV, the staff member mentioned that the fuel looked a little short, and we said we agreed and explained that the fuel pump had cut off when we filled it, so assumed it must be full. He replied saying it doesn't matter if it is just a little short, so we thought all was ok. However, later that day, we were charged almost $400. For one, this is higher than the fine stated on the contract, and secondly, we were shocked since the staff member had not mentioned the amount of the fine when we dropped the RV off. We can't prove that they did actually fill up the fuel as much as they said, since it is just their word against ours, so be aware. The terms and conditions in general are also negatively weighted against customers, with all the liability for any tiny issue falling directly on the customer, and Alaska Motor Home able to just fine customers for issues which have no or limited cost to them.

There were equally problems with the RV, such as the microwave not working at all, and windows which didn't lock and shut properly, meaning the RV could not be securely locked. However, there was no compensation for these issues and while the employee on the ground acknowledged these faults, the manager just refused to accept any problems and didn't even apologise. Any tiny problem on the customer's side and Alaska Motor Home fine you, but any problems with the RV and there is no compensation for the customer, meaning that they can make a lot more money from you than the original charge you pay, and you may not get what you expect for the money you are paying.

Worst of all however was the manager's response to our message about the fine and problems we faced with the RV which was rude, dismissive, didn't acknowledge any of our problems, and in our opinion, demonstrates a company that doesn't care or have any interest in its customers, apart from to make money from them. We recommend using another RV rental company which cares about its customers, treats them fairly and with respect, has reasonable fines, and equipment which functions properly.


Emirates NBD offer the complete opposite of good customer service. They overcharge you, and then refuse to explain why, in spite of constant calls and online exchanges. They don't call you back, so you can never speak to anyone with any authority. I have been overcharged on several occasions for international transactions. I have asked for them to explain the charges. Some people tell me the charges, and when I explain how mine are higher they just log it as a complaint. The online team even gave me a breakdown of what I should have paid. I replied and told them I paid over 100dhs more than this, but they just referred me to the telephone team, who then just never returned my calls. Another person then suddenly said that charges can be as higher as 7-8%. Mine was actually closer to 15%! I asked them to show me where in their terms and conditions they can charge 7% and they said they cannot provide this, ie. They are just lying. It is absolutely atrocious service and I will be closing my credit card and never using their services again. They just rip customers off and have no idea of what good customer service is. In many other countries, they would not be allowed to continue functioning.


I have been a frequent user of booking.com for many years. However, recently I have had several issues with them. Firstly, I was charged for some unknown payments. I had to call on numerous occasions and chase with emails. After 3 weeks, they didn't know what the charge was for, but they finally said they would refund me. I am still waiting for the money at the moment but hopefully will get it soon.

Secondly, I was given an offer to get 20 GBP if I made a booking with a special link they sent me. I followed the instructions exactly, but there is nothing on my account about my 20 GPB. I have again emailed and tried calling several times. They just ignore my emails and the 'local' phone number does not work. I therefore had to call an international number. After 15 minutes on hold, I finally got through to someone. The operator said he would call me back immediately but never did, so I have to call again and waste even more money on international calls. The amount of time and money I have wasted chasing money they have incorrectly charged me, I could have booked plenty more hotels. I think I will start looking at other options for booking my hotels from now on.


My experience with Rehalt has been extremely negative. The website is not user-friendly and when you select an airport, it offers different ones to the one you selected, even if you specifically request a particular airport. It just lists the city as the final destination rather than the airport.

I did not originally notice the error as the city, time and price were the same as I had checked on Skyscanner. When the booking confirmation was sent, I then could see that it listed the incorrect airport than the one I had selected in the search criteria on Rehlat's website.

My experience then just got worse. The customer service centre you have to call is terrible - on one day, I was cut off 4 times by different agents - they are very rude to customers and just cut you off rather than trying to sort your problem. I had provided my confirmation number and name to one agent, and then he asked for some other number. When I asked what he was referring to, he just said, you need that and then cut me off! I have never known such terrible customer service. Unfortunately, you have to go through them and wait for a call back from the main customer centre.

When I finally received a call back from the main team (after several days), I was offered a change of flight price that was the same price as buying a brand new flight. I could get the price cheaper by going direct to the airline.

They tried to insist that there is no problem with their website, but finally they saw the error. They have still not sorted my problem and have just offered to pay for a taxi between the airports, but it does not solve the problem that they provided me with an airport that I did not select on their website and their local customer service team is very rude and unprofessional to customers.

Candida A. – Rehlat Rep

Dear Gemma,

Greetings from Rehlat and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience faced.
I am very sorry for any destabilizing encounters you had to face as per your feedback submitted. Kindly note that one of our strengths is the way we respond to our customers promptly.

Please give me some time as I am getting your booking investigated as per the feedback provided and I will ensure that we will get this sorted with integrity.

Have a nice day!

Thank you.

Team Rehlat

Gemma Has Earned 7 Votes

Gemma S.'s review of Alaska RV Rental earned 3 Very Helpful votes

Gemma S.'s review of Rehlat earned a Very Helpful vote

Gemma S.'s review of Booking.com earned 3 Very Helpful votes

Gemma hasn’t received any thanks yous.

Gemma doesn’t have any fans yet.

Gemma isn’t following anybody yet.

Similar Reviewers on Sitejabber


This is the most unreliable site ever. I booked a night stay at jfk a week before my stay with...


My friends and I booked a little getaway weekend through booking.com. They sent us 2 different...