Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Zoosk

Zoosk reviews

155 reviews
989 Market Street, 5th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94103, US
Tel: 1-888-939-6675
termsofuse@zoosk.com
2018 Customer choice award

155 reviews with 2 stars

lauran131
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/9/19

I met a total of eight men all have been a scam. Right off the top they want money. They either go to another country, announcing they are business people, then have no way to get home. I have met one gentlemen, we have connected, I'm keeping my fingers crossed. If you cancel subscription, I think your subscription ends and no more money is removed from your account.

marilyng79
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/15/19

I was duped twice by a scammer who stole identities of other men and after a few messages he wanted my phone number...BIG mistake...always do all communication on the site...This scum bag pretended to be a chemical engineer each time and pretended to be very rich...yadayadayada Zoosk does nothing about it...use another dating company

stevenc376
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/14/19

Met great gal....................................................................mmmmmm?mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

erpeseud
ERPESEU D.
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/9/19

Are you suspicious of a cheating partner..? I had the same issue of infidelity when i reached out to a tech savvy friend who introduced me to a Silicon valley recommended mobile iPhone spy expert...:(-: --Solidarity Hacker *AT* Gmail com-- :-)......
With this hackers services, I was able to gain unlimited remote monitor access to my cheating partner's mobile device, including whatsApp , text messages , Phone call logs history and it's audio conversations too. I would recommend the services of this mobile phone Spy/Hack expert for unlimited remote access to any mobile device.
Contact him on:.......(-: --Solidarity Hacker *AT* Gmail com-- :-)......

pamp109
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/3/19

Ok more chatting than dating. But fun site thank you had fun. Thank you xxxxoooooooxxxxxxx. mayne back if not work

jakev14
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/15/19

I don't have a lot to say anymore. I'm sure someone is reading all of this and I don't really care anymore I met someone back in the day years ago but it didn't really work out now just give me the cake lady hook up

michaelf688
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/6/19

Most people you get exposed to live hundreds of miles away. You don't know how far until check out profile. If you are looking to make and establish friendships this is the place to be. If you are looking for a good selection of people close to you only, better shop some place else. AND, if you submit a notice of cancellation they will use your profile to send out span messages to people you have never met directing them to profiles of people that you do not know. If you bother to tell the offended people you sent the messages then you will have your account terminated without notice and well before your paid term expires.

sharonh392
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/2/19

Noooooooooppppppppppppojjhhgff hang g tremendous.............oooooooookokoookook)llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll)lllkhgdegjg

amereiss
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/4/19

Why do we have to pay to meet someone on line or to CHAT with?
When we can just go out and meet someone just the same and not have to pay. Plus a lot of those guys are really not into getting to know you at all. They give you their number they talk to you once and thats the end of it. Why not be honest and say your not interested? I can literally write so much about these dating websites.

lauriec173
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/10/18

kKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKLKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

scottd260
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/27/18

I think the algorithm zoosk uses is that it tries to suggest every and anyone within a 100 mile radius within 10 years of your age as a match... that's it. Even if you try to filter by more select criteria, it will still revert to that. The whole aim of the app is to get you to look at other's profiles, and then to notify them that you had looked at them, so that then they look at yout profile. The idea is that people will get their hopes up that all these other people are looking at them and pay for the app. But people aren't viewing you because they're interested in you, they are viewing you because they have been informed that you viewed them or that you're online, and all they can see is a tiny 5mm image of you, so they have to 'view' you to see if they have any interest or not.
This cycle of viewing others and having them view me was gratifying for about a day, after that the incessant messages notifying me of random viewings became annoying, so I would only log in intermittently, and of course, if you're not logged in, you don't get viewed. I'm skeptical of most dating sites. Generally they are just profiteering off peoples desire for intimacy with others. You and others provide all the content, they provide an app, that links the content, that is virtually all they do. Give it a try, there's a chance that that connection will happen, but recognize that in all likelihood you're just throwing your money away.

markk399
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/12/18

Finding someone is difficult in here too many fakes n too many women that can care less..I have never met so many thoughtless careless insensative.. no values no sense of being a human ever in my life.

clarenceh40
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/27/18

I had a subscription to Zoosk a little over a year ago, I really enjoyed it and met some nice ladies. 2 months ago I subscribed again, totally different experience all together. No response on messages, I even paid so that anyone could respond. The amount of scammers on there has become Ridiculous. Then after canceling my subscription (the day after) it showed I had 14 messages. Smart picks, I seen woman that were not there the day before or, the entire 2 months I had paid for it. zoosk, a (bait and switch) scam now? I'm thinking that's pretty spot on, y'all should be ashamed of yourselves.

nancys524
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/18/18

Same people on here everyday! It doesn't matter what you put in your preferences because you'll just see pretty much everyone that's on here no matter their age or where they live. Zoosk emails me who they think would be a good match for me but they are always the same people who I have either replied "not interested" or they aren't even in the parameters of my search. I have been interested in a few only to find out that their profile is fake and they aren't real. They disappear within a day of just viewing them. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY - LOOK FOR FREE SITES.

mistis7
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/4/18

I didn't enjoy being viewed.
Completely inappropriate matches.
Hook up site.
Most messages sent didn't recieve an answer

carrien21
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/30/18

I'm pissed I've been charged again. I had today to cancel, but found out I've been charged anyway. If this relationship doesn't work I can't come back after your company has taken advantage of me. I will not recommend if I'm not credited my money.

letiep
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/29/18

I joined this site 6 month ago and met a potential someone; but he lied about his marital status... and acted kind of crazy. I am a middleage attractive woman with much to offer. The strange thing is, I only get messages from strange/ scary looking characters, which I block all the time and they come-up again ... How??? I just don't know. and approximately less than ten a month. I feel like I joined a ghost-town site full of crazies ! Not worth the time :(

lisaj277
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/14/18

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

lindaa277
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/9/18

Not enough information is listed on each person. I only got a few short messages after sending more hellos. I was hoping for more information about each person to help me choose who to contact.

doyleg6
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/29/18

Finding the perfect match is very difficult and time consuming. I don't think I will be back to this site. Dating sites are not for me.

joek201
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/27/18

I thought it was fun.i did get the chance to meet a lot of interesting females. And if I had to pick a date site it would be this one again

ianm224
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/18/18

Zoosk is not a bad site, it is just some of the women on here.They do not have the courtesy of replying to messages, not even to say thank you but not interested.
I am lucky in that I have met someone, but it is very early days yet.

maym30
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/7/18

I give this site two stars for ease of use. However, the site repeatedly sent picks of people I had had already declined. It sent picks for people way outside the distance parameter I had set. The site says it approves if a profile photo is accurate, yet so many profile photos were blurred enough to not provide a clear image, or the photo would be of a partial face. The site continuallThe final straw was Zoosk sent a 'smart pick' who wanted to meet me and there was only one profile photo. The profile photo was of the character Columbo from the TV show! Sorry, Zoosk is a hoax. I do sincerely wish people luck with the site. I'd rather be living life than dealing with this silliness. I terminated my subscription today.

avag9
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/9/18

You have to make an effort, and it usually feels like more trouble than it's worth. Searching, saving and browsing are awkward (constantly having to reset the parameters, and still getting matches who are too far away or otherwise unsuitable) and there's no way to keep a list of people you're interested in without them knowing that you are doing so. It's just a clunky site, and you get an avalanche of unwanted email/bad matches. Worse of course is that they make it super-difficult to pause or take down your profile. Having been around the block, I dug into the account settings and made sure that I "cancelled" it the same day I started it (Opt OUT of auto-renew). Really shameful the way these sites prey on lonely people with auto-renew policies, etc. On the other hand, I met some good people -- and am grateful to now be in a relationship with a man who could be the love of a lifetime, and whom I most likely would never have met otherwise. So I had to give at least a star or two.. But it was a LOT of work and hassle/tediousness.

Tip for consumers: Set boundaries on your searches and ignore/delete most of the auto-generated matches. Do your own research and commit some time to it, like a job. It can pay-off. (But there are better sites....)

Service
Value
Quality
denisem232
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/7/18

Never sent me anyone that was close to my age ..I hated that so much! The men that u did send were all filthy minded and wanted to send pictures of their penis or make crude and rude sexual remarks+

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 4
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Most of the profiles are fake. PROOF: After 26 days, I deleted all of the information and pictures on my profile and canceled but my subscription still had 4 more days. Each of those four days, I had numerous messages from women wanting to talk with me and each message then had an overlay telling me that it wasn't too late to change my mind about cancelling. Zoosk IS A SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By Herman M.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

NO MA'AM IT IS NOT. In fact I only used the coins when I could get them for free. Under the system that's no longer possible. Nobody takes that sort of thing seriously, and for a woman it's even less relevant.

By Kevin W.
Helpful answer 10
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

They aren't really viewing your profile...Zoosk populates your Views with people to make you think you are popular, so you will frequent the site. Zoosk is deceptive and playing games with your emotions!

By Don J.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Most of the profiles in Zoosk aren't even current, so what you are seeing are basically phantom profiles. For instance, once you decide not to renew your profile, they keep your profile up anway [instead of taking it down] and they use it sending out mechanical greetings attached to your profile to unsuspecting members. In other words, don't be expecting anyone to even write back. Chances are you will be communicating with an old profile that has expired a long time ago.

By Ray S.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Chances are you're sending a message to someone that was a member long ago and isn't registered any longer. Zoosk is a total scam.

By tom r.
Helpful answer 4
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I believe it is. But how safe is the internet these days. Just don't be quick to give too much information too soon you will know when its right to share. Good luck

By Anthony H.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yep, you gotta pay for the subscription!

By Mel D.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Just a damm good money making machine imho who the hell os going to go 300 miles plus for a date and the majority of profiles are expired but kept on to look like they are active save your money mate

By barry s.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I'm not sure. When I signed up, I thought it was only going to cost $29.99 for 3 months. When I got to the end they wanted to charge another fee, I think for processing or something. I backed out. Later I got an e-mail telling me that the fee was dropped. I did meet one man, he was nice, but wasn't for me.

By Debbie P.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I am a paid member and I keep getting the same thing. I don't get it either. It is usually after I message them and have have view my profile. I get a message at the lower left portion of my screen and click on it, and it takes to where you do the messaging, but there is NO WAY to accept the messaging. And I never get a message from that person! The Zoosk message that initially pops up saying that " " wants to chat with you just goes away and you are left wondering what the HELL just happened. I know your problem. It is infuriating!

By Justin B.
Questions? Get answers from the Zoosk staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Zoosk?
Post Review