SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Venus

Venus reviews

Is this your business?
359 reviews
31%
Categories: Bikinis, Shopping, Swimwear
11711 Marco Beach Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32224
Tel: 1-888-782-2224
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

359 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
33
Value
40
Shipping
39
Returns
27
Quality
41

All Reviews

jenniferp114
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/25/16

I always wished that Venus had reviews provided for each of their items in the way that Amazon does, actual customers' viewpoints of both good and bad aspects of fabric, sizing, service, etc. I ran a search and found this site and have to say, I'm not surprised by the low ratings. Here's what I have experienced, both positive and negative.

Positive: Venus has an exotic type of clothing line that is unusual and you won't find their pieces everywhere else. On the flip side of this, many of these pieces are over the top unless you are both 25 and advertising a "very good time to a man", i.e., not subtle. On the other hand, if you search with a discerning eye, you can find lovely pieces that are very feminine, unique, and wearable in public; its 60/40. Prices are reasonable, but borderline if you are a good shopper and check out H&M, etc.

Negative: First, they dont offer customers reviews of their pieces as do most other sites; it would be nice to know if the particular piece was found to run a bit large, or small, the color was consistent with the representation, the fabric is of quality, etc. BIG negative for me. Second, inconsistent quality. Ive ordered items that were exactly as I expected, quality fabric, appeared as represented in terms of color and fit, etc., and others that fell way off the mark. For example a dress described as Oatmeal, shown as a nicely barely crème-ish white; it was lemon yellow. Awful. Third, I receive an email EVERY SINGLE DAY notifying me of some huge sale on items, I take my valuable time and check on items that Ive been interested in and the prices are the same. Never fails. And if Venus Marketing is listening to this, please take a que from it because what we do is ignore your ads we receive because we know that maybe there is something thats marked down but nothing much. And lastly, which drives me crazy. Venus advertises something I really want and am willing to buy right now at full price, I click on it, and its not available for THREE MONTHS! I give you this example as of today, 09/25/2016: Item Y69503, Printed Lace Detail Dress. Clicked to order, not available until 12/22/2016!!! And this has happened before with other items. Items that were advertised as not available until XXXXX date, then I go back later, and the date is pushed back again, and again.

Bottom line, Venus has some great items, but theyre listening: here are the things you can change. You can offer customer reviews of items to reduce disappointment of items purchased. You can offer free return shipping on items that are a disappointment because they are not as represented. (If you have to, increase all items by a about $.50 to cover the overall cost of doing thisIm okay with this.) And you can stop bombarding us with ads for sales when nothing is really reduced. Just tell us when there is really a sale on CURRENT CLOTHNG and then well pay attention and go to the site and buy what we wanted. If need be, send the ads marked Summer items clearenced in the Fall, And then if its truly a sale of current items send the ad as Our current Fall items are marked down for today only. Thanks, hope this helps other customers and maybe even Venus to consider some changes. JP

Ask Jennifer about Venus
Advertisement
lawondap
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/24/16

I love Venus. I love the variety, prices and quality.

Ask LaWonda about Venus
daniellel41
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/15/16

I tried to UNSUBSCRIBE at least 50 times. And I am still receiving an email every day... I reported the incident 5 times. Nothing to do. Of course I would never make an order with them, their customer service is inexistant.

Ask Danielle about Venus
oliviah24
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
9/13/16

When I order an item from the magazine or online, the quality looks great. But when it arrives after I have ordered it, the material looks nothing like in the photos. I honestly think that they make high-quality stuff for the models to wear, and make cheaper versions to ship out. Also, the restocking fees and shipping label fees when you're doing a return ( because everything I've ordered from there has been made out of low grade material, nothing like what you see in the pictures) are outrageous, makes it to where you hardly get your money back.

Ask Olivia about Venus
irmam9
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/4/16

So, I have ordered a total of 3 times, all together I spent about 500 dollars on clothing from here. Most have been dresses and tops. Some were gifts for my daughters. Overall, the items look nice in the photos and for the most part they are okay, fit semi decent and look okay on me. My problem is the fabric is super thin and not the best quality, maybe that's why it's priced so well? I do like the clothing in general, colors and styles are okay but every little figure flaw is visible. I am a size 12-14 and never once in my life have I had to wear a body shaper with any other dress except for the ones I buy here. I wish I could upload a photo..I guess we get what we pay for. The customer service and shipping has always been great. I wish I could upload a photo of me wearing one of the pink dresses, my panties and even my belly button were visible.

Ask Irma about Venus
jillf21
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/2/16

I order online all the time and this is unheard. Not only did I pay the $6.95 return shipping I had to pay the original $12.95 shipping when I returned a couple items and my order dropped below $100. I ended up paying $20 in shipping! This is not clear and their Customer Service team is beyond rude and unhelpful. The clothes are fairly cheap as well, hence the pricing.

Ask Jill about Venus
velynns
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/1/16

I must say that I am normally very happy with my purchases from Venus and would give a 5 stars for all of my other purchases and the items I had to return. However, this time I purchased the crochet tunic in March 2016 and wore it in July and then again in August. I hand washed it in August in the washing machine and it falls apart at the bottom. I have washed similar items using the same method and have not had any issues prior to this one. When calling Venus to complain they were very customer nice but could not return my item because of their 60 and 90 days return and exchange policy. This policy needs to be changed for poor quality items or they need to fix these items. I filed a complaint with Quality Control and I will see what happens next.

Tip for consumers: Be care when purchasing anything with a crochet pattern or fringes.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Velynn about Venus
jenniferw181
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/1/16

They have great clothes but if you have an issue horrible customer service My friends bought me a gift card for $200 for my birthday and I cannot tell you what a hassle it is been to try to deal with using it. Buyer beware did not buy a gift card from Venus!! Good luck!

Ask Jennifer about Venus
cherij6
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/30/16

I've bought from Venus for the past 3 years and they are perfect!! Sexy but classy is all I can say. There's a huge problem going on and ppl are using Venus's pictures and they're are taking orders and they're making the clothing as they go. It takes forever for the clothing to get to you and the clothing isn't made good at all and the customer service from these ppl are just ridiculous!! These ppl are pretending to sell Venuses stuff and Venus is paying for it in a huge way. Ppl don't trust them, ppl are giving Venus bad reviews, ppl are accusing Venus of things and Venus is trying so hard to STOP these ppl from doing this by suing them because they are selling you things that aren't venuses products. Please do your research before you get something that's not made from Venus. It happened to me two separate times. But not once with Venus. I called Venus directly and the woman I spoke with was extremely nice. She said she has to explain to so many that they're legit and all kinds of things. I honestly don't think they deserve any of this. It's not coming from Venus, I can guarantee that you will get exactly what you order and you'll love what you order. Just make sure it's straight from Venus , don't look at a picture and click on it cause you saw it in Venus cause you won't get what you ordered. Customer service is always pleasant and their clothing is always perfect when it's straight up Venus. Get catalogs and order from them, don't order from Amazon cause again they're just pictures and not straight from Venus. I've trust them and so many do as well and have been ordering way longer than I. Venus is a very trusting place.

Ask Cheri about Venus
sandrar23
4 reviews
44 helpful votes
8/26/16

I purchased three dresses that I received from Venus. I decided that the material was too thin and cheap for me so I sent the items back using their label.

I was expecting ALL of my refund back minus the return shipping 6.95.00 Well, I received partial credit back to my credit card and a CREDIT SLIP for $15.00 to use towards future purchases at Venus.

I told the gal I didn't want a credit slip and NO where on their site does it say you will receive partial refund and a CREDIT SLIP if you are dissatisfied.

I asked the gal to close my account immediately and refund ALL of my money and she said, I can close your account right away and you can give your credit slip to a friend to use.

I said no, and she said their was nothing she could do about it, when I asked to speak to a manager she hung up on me.

Ask Sandra about Venus
janiceh47
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/25/16

I ordered a bathing suit in a size 12, every store I've shopped in, the 12 fit me and at times I needed a 10, the Venus bathing suit was too tight so I had to pay $7.95 to have it shipped and $6.95 to return, it's a total rip-off. One other thing, it's impossible to stop their e-mails from coming, I've unsubscribed 3 times to no avail, then called and they supposedly connected me to their IT team who said the twice a day e-mails would definitely stop, they are still coming to me. Stay away from this place, they don't even deserve one star.

Ask Janice about Venus
aprilt26
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/21/16

So I have LOVED Venus for Years! I am not a small woman because my shape I can go between a size 14-18 depending on the Item. I have been able to buy tons of things with Venus and have always been so Happy, never had a problem with shipping and handling either. This latest Order I cant say I am as happy with! I have this Emerald Dress I got years ago and Loved!!! So I was soooo excited when I saw that now had a black and purple Version of "the same dress". I got my Item and pulled it out of the bag. First thing I noticed was the Material was Different. It was a lighter thinner material. The other was a nice thick strechy Material. I would call this new Material Slinky and see through. Not at all the same, but I put on... Yeah, the stich of this dress is not great. Its a little off kilter and its no wear near as long as the other dress and way way more see through in the Black version. I still like enough to keep because it can be worn, but its not anywere near the quality I expect for Venus! They best grt their acts together, maybe go back to having clothing made in Lithuania rather than China! I looked at the tags ... That is the differance... Everything made in china seems to be cheap and crap quality now n days... So if Venus is now getting their Items made in China then the great quality they used to represent is no more. Maybe new owners, who Knows ... But if they read this, I highly recomend you switch your manufacturers back to the old ones! Or your business will suffer a great deal.

Ask April about Venus
stacys53
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/16/16

Haven't had a problem with clothing or shipping but, always advertise she same pieces for the last 2-3 years so I stopped ordering. Only a few new items but for the most part.... it's the same clothing. I used to be excited when catalog arrive but now I just toss it.

Ask Stacy about Venus
dissatisfiedh
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/16/16

My wife placed an order never received item...forgot about it got a bill for item and a latecharge,prior to her bill had a 0 balance ,so she called and was told the item showed delivered....no item = $51.00 bill (item never received and now 2 late charges for not paying bills)

Ask dissatisfied about Venus
ginao4
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/12/16

Did not receive my order... Then told by customer service "did the shipping receipt state it was on back-order"... Hummm it didn't state it was on back order at time of ordering, shows the item was shipped, no notifications, just not received and nothing denoted... Worst customer service, no advance notice, they just don't come through and are good with that... And unless you follow up you will never see what you purchased - stay away from this company it's a sham

Ask Gina about Venus
brienm2
1 review
4 helpful votes
8/11/16

Venus allows you to use coupons on their site. Then they charge you the original price, thus allowing you to think you are saving money until you look at your credit statement. They have very disappointing customer service. They will not give you the correct amount- DO NOT TRUST THE PRICE!!!

Ask Brien about Venus
naomis8
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/9/16

In the past I have been happy with Venus, however this order was different. They shipped the wrong item twice and when I called said that they no longer had the item I ordered. Very upset and offered nothing to right the wrong.

Ask Naomi about Venus
brendam98
1 review
7 helpful votes
8/9/16

A huge sigh of relief! I recently placed a $200 order that I received within 3 business days- I ordered 3 swimsuit tops and 2 different bottoms and a cover up. My intent was to pick one and send the others back but I am very pleased to say that all of them fit just right and I am keeping all of them! Being able to mismatch sizes between tops and bottoms was a huge help. I am a curvy girl and finally feel comfortable wearing a swimsuit after not doing so for quite some time! So overall- the size and quality are a hit for me...I can't comment on the customer service since there was no need to contact them.

Ask brenda about Venus
colleenb33
1 review
6 helpful votes
8/4/16

I am really surprised by all these negative reviews... I had my girls in my wedding order this teal wrap dress and it fit everyone beautifully... I buy many many cloths from this store and have never had any issues.. Many of the shirts and bathing suites were purchased a few years ago and I am still wearing them... I love their prices and have never had issues with the size or quality.. I will continue to order from this store... Thanks Venus!!

Ask Colleen about Venus
angelc37
1 review
6 helpful votes
8/3/16

Ordered 100$ of stuff and received within a week. The clothes do run on the longer and larger size but the swimsuits fit amazing especially if you are one size on top and another on the bottom. Returned two items with the label they gave due to being large they kept me updated by emails when they received, processed, and shipped out the new items. Everything processed and new items revived in 2 1-2 weeks. my best friend has placed several orders and returns without issue as well. The sizes that come in bra size are right on, the maxi dresses, skirts ect run long and go down one size. Never ordered shoes, pants, or accessories. Would love to here if they run big as well?

Ask Angel about Venus
angelak42
1 review
4 helpful votes
8/2/16

This site is like most others...if it sounds to good to be true it's because it is to good to be true...CHEAP is what you PAY and CHEAPER is what you get....DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY!

Ask ANGELA about Venus
veniec2
1 review
8 helpful votes
8/1/16

I spent over $100 and the quality is worse than Walmart, nothing like the pictures. Fabric is see through on all items, stitching looks like a 10 year sewed it and threads everywhere. I'm positive these items will fall apart. They look great in the pictures and look extremely cheap in real life!! The quality is so poor and I advise anyone NOT to order from Venus!!! I'm 100% dissatisfied and you will be also!!!!!!!!

Ask venie about Venus
jamiev13
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/31/16

I have bought 4 different bathing suits at 70 a piece. Two of them fell apart and broke, stiching came out right away. One fell apart after one use. Never ever purchasing anything from them ever again!!!

Ask Jamie about Venus
laurenf25
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/28/16

I ordered a bathing suit in a sz 6 and it ended up being a little snug. I looked online and there was sz 8 available. I called customer service and they said to fill out the return for and put what size you want to exchange for. I asked if I should order the size I want right now and get a refund on my credit card when they receive my return. the woman said "no there's plenty in stock." after I sent it back in the mail I noticed that they were now sold out of it online. I called and all they can say is "there is nothing we can do about it, we will make sure the person you spoke with is retrained" now I'm out a bathing suit and $6.95 for returning it

Ask Lauren about Venus
amberr25
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/26/16

Venus has very cute clothes and swim suits and they fit very well. The quality is usually good, but I've had a few pieces that were not good quality. Their customer service is probably the worst customer service I have ever come in contact with. I'd rather contact my cable/phone company than Venus. If they make a mistake on your return, they will charge your card without your permission. When you fill out their contact page, it says they will respond within 24 hours.. so far I'm on day 4 without a response. If you plan on keeping everything you order, you will be better off. God forbid you have any returns, be wary. Keep track of what your returning and what they are refunding you, because chances are they'll get it wrong.

Ask Amber about Venus

62 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Venus staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
8/19/16
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
8/17/16
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
LoadingLoading...
Questions? Get answers from the Venus staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

13 Photos for Venus

From reviewers

Similar Pages

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Venus?
Post Review