Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Topix

Topix reviews

Is this your business?
67 reviews
Forum, News, Tabloid
Palo Alto, California, USA
Tel: 49116122157
topix.com@myprivacy.net

67 Reviews From Our Community

Service
3
Value
2
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
3

All Reviews

lisad241
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/5/17

Hello everyone i am Lisa Dave, i live in USA here in this forum i am so glad that i have this great opportunity to come out here and share my testimony on how Doctor EREDIAWA OKOH, was able to cure me totally from Diabetes, i have been suffering from this Disease for approximately Six Years now, i have tried various ways to get rid of this Virus out of my body, i have also purchase for Medical treatment from my doctor but they all failed,sometime back now while i was browsing the Internet i found some good quote concerning Doctor EREDIAWA OKOH Herbal Medicine, and how he has been using it to save souls from Different Disease including Herpes, Cancer, someone also said she was been cured Hepatitis of true his Roots and Herbs, they gave out his contact details in case anyone needs his help, i decided to contact Doctor EREDIAWA OKOH and i told him about my Diabetic illness he told me not to worry that he was going to send me his herbal medicine all he need is my personal details and i did all that was required by Him, i took the medicine just as prescribe by him, an i took the ROOTS AN HERBS for two months after which he told me to go for check up in the hospital which i did and to my great surprise my Doctor told me the Virus is gone) was no longer there, i even went to other hospital for better confirmation its was still the same thing, Today i am so happy that i am Negative again, Doctor EREDIAWA OKOH, has given me reasons to share tears of Joy, you can reach Doctor EREDIAWA OKOH on his email address:drerediawaherbs@gmail.com or his WhatsApp Number: +2348159412586.

Advertisement
kiml147
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/31/17

I searched some of cultural lifestyle threads, and all the comments are everything about hating that country and insult people in that country... I read all the stories, they all had many personal stories that seem legit, but had to check the credibilities since all the IDs are seems unregistered, I did not know if they made up stories or one person made clone ids and made a lot of stories... However, I will avoid this site from now all.

andersa4
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/3/17

Shadow Banned all atheists and they give free trolling rights to christian trolls to destroy the atheist forum

fedu13
1 review
6 helpful votes
12/1/16

A band of aged trolls. Worst accusations and lies I've ever seen.

jeffs190
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/12/16

I registered there and posted for a few years. Only reason I was there that long was once in a blue moon there would actually be an informative thread (perhaps 1 out of a couple of hundred). The site has always been plagued by libel, racism, and horrid threads in general. Finally got fed up and stopped logging on after very questionable moderating started taking place. The very rare legitimate thread would be deleted while disgusting threads that violate their own ToS were allowed to remain. Some of the most head-scratching moderation I've ever witnessed. Post about criminal activity in a neighborhood or near a school...thread gets deleted. Post about a business you had a bad experience with...thread gets deleted. Start a thread about "___ being a *****" or "why aren't <insert race> run out of town?" and the threads are allowed to remain. The moderators and admins must have some serious issues of their own, either emotionally or mentally. I've never experienced such a deplorable online community. I would give it negative stars if I could.

christym18
2 reviews
15 helpful votes
4/18/16

There has never been a worse site ever created on the internet. Topix is a basically unmoderated website that doesn't make its users register for accounts, does not archive old posts and is basically a free for all. Topix claims to be a source for community news yet most forums have zero news in them. Instead it is just an excuse for keyboard cowboys to go in and post people's names and attack one another. The site has ruined many reputations, marriages, businesses, and even in extreme cases lead to suicide. The company, however, never seems to take any responsibility and unlike most other websites it seems to almost encourage poor behavior.

josephw46
1 review
27 helpful votes
12/10/15

I have been on there for quite a while and even had a few words with the mods about what was going on. They told me not to feed the trolls but report them and the thing is the mods get tired of recieving so many reports that they slack off and let the trouble continue. So I took matters in my own hands and started attacking the trolls back and then I got punished. I mean really. They tell me that they are doing all they can but there is only so much they can do because the trolls keep coming up with new IPs. But yet today they tell me because I wasn't using a domestic IP, I was being filtered. Okay well why don't the trolls themselves get filtered out, that would fix the problem right? Well I believe that they were just blowing smoke and that they honestly don't care. They have allot of advertisments which suggests that they are being paid, okay now here is the thing, why can't they add more security then? The thing is they are just like the trolls they just use their little web buttons to bully their users.

I wouldn't recommend that site too anyone, you want news view your local news stations or CNN. There you will get the most reliable news ever without being trolled!

brandons49
10 reviews
53 helpful votes
11/10/15

This site lets people bash other people and when you defend yourself from the bashers they think it's funny to ban you and you never done anything. Topix sucks don't let your kids on this site either or they will use it to bully other kids. If you see something that is not news or that is more along the lines of gossip report it to topix and have them take it down.

reverenda
4 reviews
28 helpful votes
8/11/15

The Topix moderators are as much uninformed bullies as are most of their members. Trolls use the moderators to bully other members and the moderators are only too happy to oblige. The mods are unfair and play favorites. Trolls and their many sock puppets make false reports and Topix acts on the false reports with out investigating if they are true. If you post proof for one of your claims your post will be removed. All the good people leave and you are left with trolls and their sock puppets.

dohns
13 reviews
9 helpful votes
8/7/15

I like the idea of what this website is trying to do but I hate that everything is rerouted to other sites.

waynen5
2 reviews
29 helpful votes
7/30/15

I cannot believe how much bad stuff is on the Topix website. The website does not require user registration which should immediately tell users to stay away. It also contains next to no moderation. Your only option is to go on there and report abuse meaning you are forced to go on their website and that makes them money. In the last few years, Topix traffic has declined quickly, so there are few users left. The ones that did say are primarily "internet trolls" that get a kick out of posting people's names and trashing the person or persons. The community forums are a joke when it comes to "news" as there is very little of it there. It is a site that appeals to cowards who get a kick out of hurting others and any person with morals should have no use for that.

Tip for consumers: If you are not a coward, avoid using this site and find one where people are respectful and the web company cares at least a little bit about content.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
chrissya1
17 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/2/15

If you need info and news this site is the way to go

michaels272
4 reviews
28 helpful votes
6/16/15

There is probably not a worse site on the internet. The Topix website which has around 400,000 forums is a place where cowards go to attack one another. The website does not require users to register for accounts before posting which is unfathomable for a so called community news forum to do. The company defends its actions claiming registration and moderation don't really help. In truth, they don't require registration because they show no confidence in their users. They know it is a site of community forums that appeals only to cowards who want to attack one another. Many of the forums contain over 80 percent of the posts libeling and defaming others. In the last two years, however, Topix has lost over half its audience because the good users have been ran off due to Topix refusal to do anything about the content. The website is slowly beginning to die and that is a good thing.

julianneo
1 review
27 helpful votes
1/14/15

This is a site that has no interest in moderating its forum or the content posted. Seriously,it's a magnet for every sociopath, lowlife criminal to post their illiterate comments while hiding behind a false name. Most comments are not only lies, but they are insanely defamatory,cruel and malicious.Why would any reputable company allow such filth to attach to their site for comments. It really has just become a site for trolls to terrorize their victims while ping ponging insults against a business or an individual. Honestly, I pray for the children in this world as it has become a S***HOLE

bjd1
1 review
31 helpful votes
12/21/14

full of obscene, unsavory comments posted by racists, those seeking pornography, are lacking any education and seem to all come from areas in rural W. Virginia and Mississippi. No point to it other serving as a forum for uneducated haters/those looking for pornography.

bobm118
1 review
24 helpful votes
11/21/14

The whole problem with Topix is that people think it's real and it isn't. They will start a forum, as an example I will use " I'm moving to (insert town here), is it a good area or how are the schools? The problem is EVERY town mentioned has gone from good to basically a ghetto. They and try and do this early on when the town is changing so the people who live there or did live there get into a online argument with the new residents. They occasional troll post and people go at it. Here's what is going behind the scenes. Topix started the forum and will occasionally fuel the fire. The more traffic to the site, the more revenue they generate. Basically they start most of the inflammatory forums, when the comments die down they will troll it to start it back up. I have looked the Chicago suburbs and have counted more then 20 of these forums. "I'm a single mother and was thinking of moving to (insert town going downhill here), will I be safe? All towns that are turning or have turned, not one affluent suburb. Basically we are supposed to believe that nobody talked to a realtor and a forum that is mostly trolls are the ones you want to give you advice? You aren't moving because it's closer to work? You just decided out of the blue that you want to live there for no real reason. I have known about the trolls for quite a while but believe me if I was going to shell out probably the most money that people will ever spend in their lives, Topix is the place to ask? Just how dumb do they think the public is? The funny part is pretty dumb because people will argue for years which equates to site traffic which equates to revenue through advertisement. Don't fall for this scam site. It's basically just a business that pretends to be a legitimate news site. It attracts a lot of trolls who don't work for Topix but have nothing better to do. A social network for adults who live in their parents basements.

anitak4
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
10/21/14

I started here a few months ago and absolutely love it! I always feel welcome by both the staff and the kickboxers...even though, I couldn't do a push up to save my life at first. Everyone is so supportive as you go through your fitness journey. Can't say I'd think I'd be happier anywhere else!

Except maybe in bed in the morning instead of burpee-ing my ass off at 7 or 7:45 am!

Service
Value
Quality
cvs1
1 review
21 helpful votes
10/20/14

I posted a comments on news story on the Topix Nursing forum about foreign nurses displacing nurses who were American citizens with the link to the news story in question. The News Story was from the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston stating that foreign nurses were displacing American nurses.My post was removed. I assume that it was removed for political reasons and because some believed that it was not politically correct.My post had no defamatory material in the same. There is a high probability that sexism was involved as I am a male and the forum is predominantly female.

Service
Quality
sunnys16
1 review
28 helpful votes
7/13/14

The WORST forum I ever went to was on Topix and it was for a health problem.
Some jerk created an account with one name and posted bossy and inflammatory posts, criticizing people for what they were asking, why, just really acting like a NUT. Then he (I think it was a he) posted under multiple names, but you could tell it was the same person because of the wording of the rants. Turns out he was booted off another medical site for being a jerk. This forum had people needing to exchange ideas about health issue, so he was a real detriment. Stay away from Topix, that's the best advice I have. A

benea1
20 reviews
127 helpful votes
6/11/14

Meh, they want to talk about Obama and Romney, but you should know that I hate politics so much. I can't stand with their stupid IQ. Therefore, stay away.

UPDATE 6/11/2014: Full of "Patriots" and paranoid schizophrenic people. Not again would you visit these deranged chumps.

kimberlyn8
2 reviews
43 helpful votes
5/12/14

It's a place for trolls. There's no point in using it. You will never get a serious answer if you ask a question. It is AWFUL!!!

walkerp9
5 reviews
151 helpful votes
3/11/14

Never in my life have i encountered a website so racist as topix. I got called the n-word among other inflammatory comments made to me. There was also a guy with multiple user accounts pretending to be hundreds of different people. Also, some of my posts and messages were deleted for no reason at all. But the worst i experienced at topix was the disheartening questions other members would post. Finally one day i just couldn't take it anymore, i decided to just leave. Though there was no feature to close my account.

katiej11
3 reviews
34 helpful votes
1/13/14

An absolutely trashy site that's only audience is those who love to gossip, libel, and harm other people. It has no appeal otherwise. There is very little actual news on there, just a group of cowards who post people's names, usually post a bunch of lies, and then try to destroy their reputation and the company justifies it. There is not a worse,moralless, evil site on the internet.

danh49
1 review
6 helpful votes
12/22/13

Straight no bull$#*! tell it like it is NO political correctness. Got to love it!! You can hear the real voices of people on this site, good, bad, or whatever. No moderation per se!!

katee4
1 review
28 helpful votes
12/17/13

A site that appears to have no interest in moderating it's forums and the content posted on them. A magnet for every bigot worldwide to post their educationally subnormal, semi literate perspectives inciting racial, religious and gender based hatred. Companies choosing to advertising on Topix should declare their position with regard to the site and it's forums or make more responsible advertising choices. I rate it a zero.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Topix could IP ban that person but there are ways around IP bans. It would look good on Topix's part if they at least bothered with this route, but they won't. They actually encourage this type of behavior. To be honest, I'm surprised they even went to the effort to remove the offensive posts.

By Jeff S. on 4/30/16
Questions? Get answers from the Topix staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Topix?
Post Review