SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Picaboo

Picaboo reviews

Is this your business?
100 reviews
15%
Categories: Photo Printing
255 Shoreline Dr. STE 100
Redwood City, CA 94065, USA
Tel: 888-374-7771
info@picaboo.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

100 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
7
Value
10
Shipping
10
Returns
4
Quality
9

All Reviews

tarag23
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/19/17

I've made photo books and calendars for my family for years and I've had the worst customer service experience with Picaboo I've ever had. I ordered calendars on December 12th and due to an addressing mistake, I still have not received those calendars on January 19th. I've contacted Picaboo four times, but is always like a brand new case. I've contacted the Post Office several times. There is no other company from whom I have received less concern about missing items. Buyer beware.

Advertisement
annes92
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/12/17

We have used Picaboo several times and are very pleased with the design tool and the quality of the printed books. Recently, Picaboo didn't ship out my order when they said they would and my books did not make it to my house before we left on vacation for Christmas -- even though I had paid for 2nd Day Shipping. I had to have a neighbor pick them up off my porch and overnight them to us before Christmas. The good news is that Picaboo refunded us both shipping charges. Because they made up for their mistake we will definitely use this company again.

allisonr17
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/14/16

This review is not based on the quality of books because I may never get them. I live in a city building with no doorman so I need to have all large packages delivered with FedEx or UPS because the drivers know to deliver in the evening. I emailed Picaboo and they said they ship FedEx. This is NOT true. They ship FedEx Smart Post which means they hand off your package to USPS. This adds 5-7 days to your delivery time and in my case does not work. Unless I take off of work I may never get my albums which were holiday gifts. I wish they were very clear that they do not really ship FedEx.

dianem101
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/12/16

I tried to change the shipping address (because the book I had just ordered took 10 days to arrive) and they would NOT change the shipping address even though the book was in production and hadn't shipped yet! Will NOT order from them again! I can understand if it was changing anything about the printing of the book, but the shipping address! Very poor customer service!!!

jz29
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/2/16

I always use Picaboo for my photobooks and have for years. I've also had good luck with using them for Christmas cards. I love how customizable it is. I love being able to put as many pictures or text where ever I want.

rosep42
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/17/16

I received an order of 156 prints and 3 8x10s, yesterday. While I waited for my order, I was interested in tracking it. However, this is the second order that I was unable to track, even when I looked at my order history.

When I received my order, I was grateful that my husband stopped our mailcarrier from bending the Picaboo envelope and pushing it in our mailbox, especially when I found that the envelope holding my order was a thin white envelope (not cardboard like other companies) and that there was only a handcut piece of cardboard, which had gotten slightly bent, itself, inside this envelope, to protect, in a minimal way, the 3 8x10s from bending. These large photos were not covered in any way or even protected from the smaller white envelope, placed on top, (which was wrinkled) holding the smaller photos. The thing that most surprised me was that the smaller photos had been trimmed. Although trimmed to the proper size, the trimmings, which were uneven sizes and lenghts, were left with the order, and were even mingled between photos. This is very unprofessional. I would have done a better job, myself, with packaging and presentation, and I'm not the owner of a large photo processing company. I will not be using Picaboo again.

kathryns26
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/18/16

Shutterfly has the worst customer service I've experienced in a long time. I ordered photo calendars for relatives last December, specified that they should begin with January, and somehow they thought that meant I wanted 2015 calendars at the end of 2015. Their website should not be set up to allow for such a stupid default. It is sloppy, and worse, they blamed me for the mistake and refused to replace the calendars. They have lost my custom forever.

michaeln69
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/13/16

We tried to use software to put together photobooks. Not only was it cumbersome to use, there was no way to sort pictures or an autofill feature (after the initial option). Stay away from Picaboo

jenniferf56
9 reviews
5 helpful votes
12/30/15

I made photo books for my mom and siblings for Christmas and they were a HIT! The printing was very crisp and vivid -- and the web application was easy to use. I love the redesign of the app! I also printed my Christmas cards through Picaboo this year. There were tons of great designs to choose from.

summerh9
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/21/15

Ordered my Christmas cards on 12/6 with expediting shipping preference (which I paid for). They were scheduled to be delivered between 12/11 & 12/16. On the 16th I called because they never arrived and my shipping tracking information was never updated. They agreed to reprint, expedite the processing and send next day air. It is 12/21 and I still have not receive them. My Christmas cards will now officially not make it out in time for Christmas even though I originally placed my order on the 6th. No offer to refund or credit me anything and believe me, I asked. I am shouting it from the virtual rooftops! Do not use Picaboo for your printing needs. I get that mistakes happen, but companies need to provide a better customer experience when they do. Never again, Picaboo!

tehsingn
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/20/15

i designed my Xmas cards and had a difficult time ordering the card. Customer service was very helpful but it took awhile. Because of the difficulty in submitting my order I checked it carefully to no avail it seems. Received my card where picture orientation was incorrect and I received someone else's envelopes with addresses on it.

nicolep50
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/13/15

They have horrible customer service and wouldn't let me edit my order 45 minutes after placing it! Ridiculous shipping fees as well!

joanneb38
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/7/15

I have used Picaboo for every photo book I have made. I travelled extensively for a year, and created books for all of my trips. I did read the reviews about the images appearing dark in the final product, so I lightened the pictures before printing to avoid that problem. The lay flat books are expensive, but I love the one that I made. I love their unlimited pages deals, as I have created a couple of these for my more extensive trips. As for the shipping costs and product arrival dates that people have complained about, if you look on the website, the costs and dates of product arrival are clearly indicated, so even though it might stink to pay for those costs (which aren't unreasonable), you can order or not with full information. Picaboo is easy to use, the options for page layout are as simple or as complicated as you wish for them to be, and the uploading of images takes a reasonable length of time (never hours!). My feeling is that the angry, dissatisfied customers have been enraged enough to write reviews, but happy customers that will continue to order fabulous Picaboo products have just neglected to post their stories of satisfaction.

mikel218
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/28/15

these guys are the kings of coupon discount scams! they offer great value coupons until you place an order and find out that you'll pay shipping, shipping surcharges in some cases and only one coupon per order--at the end you pay more than most other sites. what good is a free shipping coupon or offer if they won't let you combine it with another voucher you bought? Be careful in buying their coupons!

kas372
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/7/15

Horrible experience. Bought groupon (which does not accurately reflect the fact that the value in parenthesis is the discounted amount not the value of the photo book), so what I thought was a good deal really wasn't. Next I went online to make the book only to have problems. I tried over and over to upload images and when I reached out to the chat line they stated I needed to use a different browser. Used different browser which helped the time frame of uploading but when I went to save my project it kept saying it couldn't save because my internet was down. I wasn't having any problems with my internet and tried for over an hour to keep trying to save. I wouldn't have tried that long but I already put hours into making the book and wasn't going to waste even more time trying to re-create again. Plus I had the groupon I needed to use. Ended up opening up another tab on browser only to find out that it actually saved....ugh!!! Then to find out that I still had to pay $35.00. Needless to say, I should have looked up reviews and I'll never use Picaboo again. Wasn't worth my time nor money. Now let's just hope the book actually turns out nice.

bethp26
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/5/15

I purchased a voucher to use on my Christmas cards. I've been trying to construct the card for the last two hours, and I can't get anything to load. Picaboo is the most user-unfriendly site I have ever experienced. So disappointed...in 2010, my photographer made us a family photo book which is absolutely gorgeous. Now, with what is happening, I may just forfeit my voucher and go with another site. Angry, frustrated, defeated. I will not be back to Picaboo.

amyh79
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/16/15

I have used Picaboo in the past and not had any issues, but when I recently tried to place a large print order everything kept crashing. When I called they said my project was too big, break it up. I did. Still crashed. Called again 45 minutes later after telling me to connect to a landline - super inconvenient, even though we tested my internet speed and they decided it was more than adequate. If I didn't have vouchers that I needed to use I would've already gone elsewhere. I requested to talk to a manager... more than one person told me, "The managers don't talk to customers." Are you kidding me? Apparently they are too busy to talk to customers but will email me. This is an ongoing problem. I've spent hours working on adjusting my prints and none of my work will save and I can't even get into my cart. Customer service can't either. I asked for a refund on my vouchers and was simply told, they are past the 30 days that they will refund them. So what am I to do? SO DISAPPOINTED! This is absolutely ridiculous!

st10171
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
9/14/15

I used this company for the first time about 3 years ago. Recently I decided to start printing my photos again in book format and used them again. I didn't have the same results as most of these reviews.
The quality of the book the first time around was exact to my screen. The second time around I decided to use the layflat paper. This options resulted in fantastic results. It was a book of sunsets for my mother. She was pleased as I also was over the color rendition. I printed a b/w photo book with images that range from contrasty or deep dark tones and yet the details within still held up. I had two issues with the book - I could slightly see the image of the back side of the page. If I went layflat, this wouldn't have been an issue. However with the layout of the book it would have been unnecessary for the extra expense and other book companies have to same paper weight for paperstock. My second issue was the book came in bent. I called the customer service. My response was very different then what is posted here. They told me to take a photo of the book and send it to them for their records. They had no problem replacing it. In fact, minutes later after sending the images I wanted to check the status of another book I had in production and notice that the bent on was already reordered by them. They overnighted the book once it was printed.
The last book I made in color came in last week. The print quality was good. Things were the same as usual. Nothing out of the ordinary. Colors were very close to accurate. A slight drop in vividness but essentially the same as the computer.
After reading some of these reviews I can't help but wonder if some take into account that user errors isn't a fault of a company. I'm not trying to bash anyone because these are things I have and could easily do too. But having spend money I make sure to double check things.
Like for example the yellow crop lines that say that they image 'may' be cropped is a rough estimate. So yes, the image past that point may show up. If you stop the image right at the line, you run the risk of the white of the paper showing up. Or leaving blank pages. I've done it but caught in when I looked through what I was getting printed. After all that effort why not take 5 more minutes? Again these are mistakes I've caught myself making too. These were my thoughts with some of what I was reading.
Anyways, overall I'm happy with what I'm receiving. I have 4 more books to print so hopefully all stays this way. I've never tried another company as I've had no need to this point.

dianeb54
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/14/15

last year, I got sucked into a bogus scheme with a price reduction on yearbooks that you refused to honor. The books were late for reunion. Worse they were shipped from Canada and went thr customs for the full amt, not the discounted amount. We had Visa correct the flaw and got near the promised price. Lo and behold, over a year later, I get a State tax on a $3000. " import." The cost was $1200. And it was not a business import. I paid the $200 to be rid of you once and for all. You have fraudulent business practices, and an irresponsible service Department. do not do business with this company. Ok for 1 book perhaps but NEVER order multiples!!!!! Terrible.

patriciae10
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/21/15

This has to be one of the most user un-friendly sites on the internet. The Amazonlocal vouchers are rejected, customer "service" is a joke and you will lose hours of your life trying to put your photo book together and check out. A nightmare! I've been burned 3 times now so I will probably remember to stay away from them. Use Photobin or Adorama or Costco--anything but this miserable company.

herbf1
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/17/15

I just received books that I ordered only a week ago and they are beautiful!!!
Just wanted everyone to know that though there are many complaints from
people out there..... I had a great experience and can't wait to hand my books out to family and friends!!!

HCF

sergeym11
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/1/15

I ordered a custom photo-book from Picaboo. It arrived today.
The print quality is terrible. It looks like someone did a draft print-out and sold it instead of the quality product.
Every page in photobook product contains clearly visible grid-like pattern.
This is terrible even compared to results of one-hour photo service prints.
It looks like a bad Chinese quality, but for an exorbitant price.

Costco has less scrapbooking options, but their print quality is very good compared to that scrap.

I am completely dissatisfied with their product. It isn't worth even the shipping costs.
Their customer phone support service is also horrible and rude.

Tip for consumers: run away!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
jennifert47
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/1/15

For a $35 coupon for $100, you end up paying $20 (Tax and shipping). It will end up costing $55 for the book. Expensive, not worth it. I give them 5 star when they offer free shipping at the beginning.

Value
Shipping
Quality
darab13
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/31/14

I have used Picaboo for several years to produce calendars for my parents and my in-laws for Christmas. Additionally, I had produced a photobook of our wedding. I have been happy with all these purchases.

I was worried this Christmas (2014), as I saw many negative reviews about the quality decreasing over past years. The calendars that arrived were wonderful, as always. Very happy with the continued quality. In fact, my mother commented on a couple of the images that were old slides we've had converted...that they looked better and brighter than they ever have printed anywhere else. As well, I ordered the calendars on the last day that they guaranteed Christmas delivery and was pleasantly surprised that they arrived with at least a week to spare.

I can't really comment on customer service as I haven't had to deal with any unfortunate issues.

Something new I did learn this year. though.... if you have a Groupon/deal/etc and the expiry date passes, you do still have the purchase amount as credit, but you can't combine it with any other discount offers that might be happening. It seems you must use it for regular priced product. I'm not necessarily thrilled with that, but a)it's my own fault that I couldn't finish a project in the 6 months before expiry and b) there's enough special offers and sales out there that next time, I'll finish a project first and then wait for the deal to print it with. It seems to be an issue with the fact that that you can only use 1 code per order, so after you use your gift certificate code, you can't put in the code for the deal/sale pricing

Value
Shipping
Quality
aliciap7
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/23/14

Absolutely terrible costumer service!! I bought photo albums of my wedding for my family and my in-laws. They were not shipped in time to meet the deadline the company claimed they would meet (that the packages would arrive before the holiday season). One of the package's shipping got completely screwed up, Picaboo would not acknowledge the situation at all. The costumer service representative was rude and so unhelpful (I was being very kind and patient despite being very frustrated but she was still very rude). If I could put less than a star I would - DO NOT use this site for any cherished projects - I will most certainly not be using them again.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

6 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Picaboo staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
natalieh32
Natalie H.
on 4/1/16
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
wendyk15
Wendy k.
on 3/1/16
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 4 more questions
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the Picaboo staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Picaboo?
Post Review