Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Gourmet Secrets

Gourmet Secrets reviews

40 reviews
43%
Categories: Food and Drink
#206, 8712 - 48 Ave NW
Edmonton, AB T6E 5L1, Canada
Tel: (780) 437-1166
questions@gourmetsecrets.ca

40 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
4
Value
4
Shipping
4
Returns
2
Quality
4

All Reviews

ronh96
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/27/16

Wow, what to say!! First of all paid for a VIP membership, what a waste of money!! Service was very poor! Free steaks did not show up, but were promised with my second order, of course I was not foolish enough to place a second order! Steaks were ok but nothing special, chicken was ok, surprising the hamburgers were the best thing in the whole order. the potatoes with ham and cheese were simply inedible and we had to throw them out, they appeared to be a ball of potato flakes out of a box and if there was actually ham in it, it must of been microscopic!! I truly wish I had read other people's reviews as I basically wasted hundreds of dollars and will never buy from these people again

Advertisement
lisel10
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/15/16

Like so many others who posted reviews I am totally disappointed with the service. I have been a member for many years and the service used to be good but the last year it has gone downhill. They are very quick at selling you repeat packages and charge you upfront for all of them but then they can't deliver and you have to call, and call, and call to try and get a refund. I will NEVER order from them again. They still owe me money and wonder if and when I will get the refund.

clairee12
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/11/16

I would like to know when I will get my refund. I bought 6 packages of meat in November 2015. I ONLY got 2 packages and then the excuses started. They keep saying they will refund my $300.00, but they are not doing that. I'm very upset with this company

jenng12
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/26/15

I have been using this service for almost one year, and have never had a disappointing meal. We like to try some of the new items, and fully recommend the tuna pizza. It was amazing. Love coming home to a new box of food. I like getting an occasional phone call, reminding me of the current specials. These calls are only occasional, as they do not "bug" for orders or call every week. Fantastic company, fantastic food, fantastic service.
Jenn from Ontario

bs69
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
8/24/15

I ordered a deal through SWARMJAM for 6 sampler packs back in February 2014 but had to wait for "special codes" to place my orders. I had to contact them a couple of times before I actually received the "codes". After I received my first 2 orders (over 4 months) I was told that the company was closing for the summer to expand and I would get replacement codes for the months they were closed. After that I was told that the prices of meat has gone up and the sample packs had to be redone and to be patient. Finally I was able to order 2 more packs one of which came on time but the other I had to phone about because according to them they forgot about me. My order finally came about 4 months later but I still have 2 codes I am waiting for. I was told I could get a refund on my credit card but since they never had it initially (swarmjam did) I asked them just to send me what they owe me and forget about the stupid "code" or to send me a cheque for what they owe me. I was told a credit card was all I could do. I asked for the persons name and he hesitated before he said it was MICHAEL so I really don't know if that was the truth or not. I asked if he was the owner and he said no just a worker and I asked to speak with the manager and he said that she was in a meeting and wanted to know what I wanted to talk to her about. HELLO!!!! when someone asks for a manager it might be something they feel you aren't capable of handling!! I was then told to call back within the hour to speak to her and that her name was AMANDA. So an hour later I call and get to talk to AMANDA who advised that they can't give me my product because they don't have time to make up codes (a year and a half after my initial order). I asked why couldn't they just put the product together without a code and was told that it won't go into the system without a code. Now I really have no choice but to wait for a refund. I will never order from Gourmet Secrets again and would never recommend them to anyone!. I truly do not know how they stay in business. Another unsatisfied customer.....

Tip for consumers: The service sucks. The value - I would never pay their original price for the products I received. Shipping was free but not quick by any means. Returns - I didn't do any just waiting for a refund (August 2015) which I hope I get but time will tell. Quality - the meat was good but not worth the hassle of dealing with the company. I placed a picture of what they wanted $70 for, I would never pay that, If I wouldn't have got a deal I wouldn't have bought it.
****UPDATE after getting direct

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
judyc24
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/15

why are there no real cooking instructions for your product ?? I have the chicken and rib medallions and this is all it suggests. "Grill, broil or bake until no longer pink inside and juices run clear. " Doesn't really help you cook it to perfection.

marilynl6
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/13/15

I was not happy a few weeks ago with their customer service. Things have been sorted out and the product not received has been reimbursed. We are not fans of the replacement food given as we have allergies but everything has been fixed.

richarde16
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/10/15

I have been ordering for several years now and i have to admit, nothing beats this food.

I always like to keep a little bit of everything in my freezer so having everything portion control makes it easy for me to pick and choose what i want to bring from my deep freeze into my fridge freezer.
It's neat because when i entertain, i always get enourmous compliments on the different meals i make and they always want more! I've gotten a lot of my friends to try out their services and I've recently became a VIP member and they sent me a steak gift box and now i get free shipping whether i send gifts (huge save on time, money and everyone likes food btw!) or for my monthly order!

These services are awesome. They got an awesome guarantee (they actually replaced my whole order once) and the customer service always let me know if anything was up with my orders. 5 stars cant wait to see more unique products!!

anitam16
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
1/1/15

My Christmas this year was a success because of Gourmet Secrets. First, I've sent some of their steaks as a gift to my 3 brothers in Vancouver. This was easy plus my brothers were thrilled. They already BBQ some steaks and loved them! Second, I ordered their Christmas combo, the turkey roast was a great hit with my family, the large cooked shrimps were delicious, the best we've had! They got me for life! I highly recommend them.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
francesm37
1 review
6 helpful votes
12/1/14

Do not do business with this company. Just making excuses for why they cannot deliver what they promised. Their website is very confusing to navigate. When you call the woman on the phone keeps asking you to buy other things. I am never going to buy from this company again.

edwardk26
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/29/14

Unfortunately two things never change at Gourmet Secrets:
1. Stealing from their customers.
2. Terrible customer service.
During 2015 I ordered 11 parcels of meat. In 8 deliveries of ordered 11 at least two items were missing.
Last delivery I got on December 17, 2015 and as usual two items were missing. I immediately called Gourmet Secret. Of course, they didnt answer and I left a message on their voice machine letting them know about incomplete delivery and asking to call me back ASAP. Today is December 26, (10 days passed) and I still didnt get any phone call back. No apologies, no explanations, nothing
Probably, this company is underperforming and needs to increase their cash flow. If they expect donations from me, they should have asked. But I dont think that stealing from the customers should be considered as donations. Its rather extortion. And its, definitely, the wrong way of doing business.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
geraldl20
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/29/14

I am a retired business owner in Ontario. We owned a Butcher shop in a small town for over 25 years I am always looking for quality steaks. One of my friend talk to me about Gourmet Secrets and I decide to give them a try. Well let me tell you their steaks are just the best and my wife just raves about their chicken and seafood. The service is great Amanda and Micheal are always helpful and polite. I love this company and hope that many people will supported them as a retired business owner I understand how hard it is to keep a business going these days. I highly recommend them!

dougn3
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/29/14

GS used to have good products and decent shipping speeds.
Now the products are sub par, they are often packaged poorly with lots of air in them or with holes in the packages, and the order processing and shipping speeds are beyond ridiculously slow.
We are VIP members that wont spend another dime with GS.

christiem2
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/28/14

I've been buying from this company for nearly 2 years and have nothing but good experience. It all started with an online coupon which was very easy to redeem. The food is exceptional. The customer service people are incredibly pleasant. I've had no problems with delivery or communication. I highly recommend this company and their products. Every time I get a new order, I tell my family/friends that they need to get on board as well.

andrewi3
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/21/14

I have been dealing with GS for a few years- Exec Membership. In general the food is of good quality and we have been pretty happy with the food. Recently the service has become TERRIBLE and I have had lot of issues getting my shipments and orders processed. I have to say the team is useless when you need to deal with them. On top of this in the last year the price of the steak has gone through the roof. An average steak is now $12-18 when you purchase 8+ boxes of items (the steaks are not large portions). They were much better to deal with a year ago!!!!!!

tianal
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/8/14

Last Xmas we gave Gourmet Secrets steaks to our employees (18). This year we asked them for some suggestions and unanimously they requested more of those fabulous steaks (Ribeyes 8oz). Thanks to Gourmet secrets our corporate gift choir became easy and made our employee super happy. If you own a company and you are looking for corporate gift this is great, you will not be disappointed! PS My husband and I love there stuff we became good customers.

jacquesb12
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/31/14

I always order their combo, the variety is great plus I get free shipping and a $50.00 discount. We find this is the right size for our family.  We order 1 combo every 2 months it is great.

tomb119
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/29/14

I love their steaks , chicken, fish all of the non-prepared items. My wife is a great cook so I am spoil so I do not order prepared items but the rest is great. We order every 2 months we have a a VIP membership so shipping is free and we get extra discount.  We are happy with them.

sananthag
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/28/14

Just received my first order, I was very sceptical because of some of the reviews I read. But I got to say they are very wrong this company rocks. My experience with them has been first class the food is absolutely marvellous, they go beyond to help you, and delivery was perfect. This is great do not let these negative review stop you from ordering from them. If I could I give them 10 stars.

wendyl14
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/28/14

There jumbo cooked shrimp are the best you can buy anywhere! Served them as shrimp

$#*!tail to company and they said they had never had such large and tender shrimp. So

easy too; just thaw them overnight in refrigerator. I always keep these on hand. I won't

make Shrimp Scampi without them.

amya22
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/27/14

I love all their new Kabobs ( Chicken, Lamb, Beef and Turkey) Can't keep enough of these in the freezer. I BBQ or broil them. Their so easy to make. When ever my daughter comes over with her family. I have to make them some. Great to keep on hand.

ritab17
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/24/14

I have been a customer since 2010, I love their products everything has been 100%. Our family favorite is there new Salmon Pie it is delicious and like suggested I serve it with a nice Caesar salad.

wendyk2
1 review
7 helpful votes
10/20/14

I purchased a plan with these people through Buytopia. They said they were in Ontario. Turns out they are in Alberta. They insisted that I buy more than what I had contracted for, or they were going to charge me for the shipping. They were closed part of the summer. They don't respond to email. They lie on the phone.
Run, don't walk, away.

desmondy1
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
9/22/14

Scam, scam, scam company. They are now pulling tricks for the people who brought sampler club coupons.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
trishr3
1 review
4 helpful votes
8/18/14

so disappointed!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Gourmet Secrets staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Gourmet Secrets?
Post Review