SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Freelancer

Freelancer reviews

1238 reviews
9%
Suite 52, Jones Bay Wharf, 26-32 Pirrama Rd
Pyrmont, New South Wales 2009, Australia
support@freelancer.com

1,238 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
222
Value
212
Shipping
155
Returns
178
Quality
205

All Reviews

bethw58
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/20/17

OK, I admit, I did not research freelancer.com before signing up. I was beginning to feel it was more just a waste of time than a scam until two days ago when I actually heard back from an employer. Since then I have had two fake projects awarded to me that cost me $50 in project fees. One pretended to want a legitimate job but then quickly asked for naked cam work. The other disappeared. Of course, crickets from freelancer about my enquiries and my account has been restricted because I queried the payments on Paypal. Urrggh! I wish - wish, wish, WISH - I had done a little research before I signed up with them.

Advertisement
mickc17
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/19/17

UNTRUSTWORTHY BUSINESS

Too long and frustrating to go through blow by blow but in summary.

Support, 24 hr wait, some things are urgent
Bug ridden app. They want us to fix it.
They claim to have Support Live Chat. WRONG
Unsolicited withdrawals from credit card
Complicated/confusing systems
Easily award your project to wrong person the app when trying to veiw their profile
Communication via text and pictures is difficult when discussing engineering concepts.
So many more problems
FREELANCER CARES LITTLE FOR CUSTOMERS, EMPLOYERS AND EMPLOYEES ALIKE.

SAVE TIME AND FRUSTRATION AND FIND AN ALTERNATIVE COMPANY TO WORK WITH.

gusd20
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/17/17

Yes, It's true freelancer.com has become the largest freelancer site but It's true too that it has the worst quality jobs available. I paid 3 months "professional" subscription for nothing.

This subscription allows you to make 300 bids in a month but I used 10 as much each month because the work is for pennies.

The "jobs" are things like "want to hire some whatever" without no more description and paying $20.

And then, works thousands dollars worth are required to do in days and at small fraction of the real valuation.

This site is more an offshoring and outsourcing job marketplace that must be reviewed and controlled by authorities.

andread64
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/15/17

You are charged a project fee regardless of if the project begins or not. So in essence money is leaving your account before you even or ever earn anything. If you find out that the project is not as it is described you can't get the "project fee" back. I had a situation where after I accepted a job, I was requested to do something differently. I cancelled that day and was given the run aroung

frankf72
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/14/17

After my first job, it took three weeks to get paid (for 'security reasons' - yeah). A while later my second job was accepted, but the employer never contacted me. After trying many Freelancer emails, I contacted support (chat). They would try and send the employer an email. Never heard back The project fee however had already been taken from my VISA account. More chat... can I get a refund then? Oh no, project fees are non refundable.
In frustration I try to close my account only to find that I cannot close it due to a $0.01 balance. I need to request an international transfer for that amount before I can close my Freelancer account.
In the meantime, I find an additional entry on my VISA bill (almost the same amount as my first project fee). More chat... no - no us (Freelancer). Talk to the bank and finally decided to close my VISA account and request a new one.

In hind sight... (read the title of this review!)

PS1 go to the Freelancer website and watch the 'total members' counter. It increases every two or three seconds without ever stopping for more than three seconds - yeah?!

PS2 watch jobs like "I want to you translate something" - no other info. Yeah?!

PS3 watch jobs like "Ivan8923, I have read your profile and would like to offer you...". Yeah?!

PS4 watch jobs like "For this next assignment you will write....". Really?

There is a lot of bull$#*! going on on Freelancer - be aware.

jessicad104
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/13/17

No stars from me. Here I thought I had found a great writing job this past Monday and when today (Friday) comes after working 36 hours and I can't see the project I was working on or the money I made. I can still see the skype chat where I talked with the person giving me work but no body answers me. I'm just sick and crying because I really needed that money. I will put in a dispute but after reading all the complaints I wonder if I will get anywhere. I have all the emails they sent me and copies of everything so they had better do something about this. How do they get away with such fraud?

abdullaha65
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/9/17

1. One Employer hired me for a project with $55 so i lost $5 to accept the project.
2. Next day i completed the project and i found the client is not responding me.
3. I created a dispute and then i saw he responded on dispute and wanted to pay me $0. I accepted as if i didnt accept $0 he may give me negative feedback.
4. OMG he marked the project as incomplete and gave me negative feedback.

Can you imagine a worked didnt get paid for his work, he lost some money to accept the project and now he got negative feedback although he didnt take any money from the project.

God will never forgive them.

fag6
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/7/17

Freelancer take from you money when you accept a project. The guy who offer to me a project for 2600 USD seems a normal project but after I accept it, he wanted to me perform naked virtual assistant to him by video call and other task to his pleasure. So I reject and of course want my money back that freelancer.com took. Freelancer charged me 250 USD just for accept the project and now they said they MAY be cannot give me back the money, because I accepted the project! I told them all the chat and proof about it and I haven't get a reply. They even don't care to took faster your money but don't reply back. And also that this project is in clear violation of the terms of use of Freelancer said to respect that no xxx content or projects relates to. So guys stay away from websites like freelancer.com

anshua2
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/7/17

I am a newcomer freelancer. I choose this site to start with. I got very less chance for bidding even though I was eligible for job.

silviat2
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/6/17

This website has extremely poor facilities for freelancers. Is basically a mockery at any freelancer work. There are employers that abuse the freelancers and they can anytime consider you didn't do their job according to the requirements. The only solution possible is conducting an endless dispute where the Freelancer keeps exclusively the employer's part and you never see any penny for your work. :( Also, the customer service is unresponsive to any logical complaint, even though you are charged for the projects you involve in. I really hope they will face the law someday for this kind of business.

ceceliar2
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/4/17

I picked a freelancer to do some website work,this was on the weekend . Even though the bid was 260.00 ,the milestone was the same. Years ago the milestone was a deposit a portion. Well , I paid it reluctantly. Not 5 minutes after making the payment, my bank's fraud department called my home phone. They wanted to know did I authorize 3 not one charge for 250.00. Visa apparently had them in their scope and flagged payment immediately. If fraud alert hadn't caught it they would have taken 750.00 instead of 250.00. From what I'm reading I'm sure I would have caught hell getting it back.

muriithim
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/2/17

2 different guys post a job, we agree, and I take it up. Freelancer.com take their commission, leaving my account -50.5 USD. The guys disappear. I spend more than 2 months requesting for the cancellation of the projects. They get cancelled, 5 months down the line, the negative remains.Project 11133404 and project 11113420. Now I have to work to earn USD 50.5 BEFORE MOVING ON...ITS HELL!!!!!!!!!!!! NEVER EVER THINK OF WORKING THERE.

dianes139
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/31/16

I wrote Freelancer 5 times. After 2 coders could not complete my projects the coders cancelled the milestones (monies put into escrow to pay for the job). Freelancer charged my credit cards over $1250 for jobs I never received. Their deception trickles down to the employees, the freelancers who demand more money up front after completing their bid for your job. I have met 2-3 wonderful coders on their website but lately it has not been code.

bronsonc
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/30/16

Very poorly designed service that has limited functionality. In addition deceptive billing arrangement, unhelpful and rude support who openly admit their signup design is to charge people fees they don't agree to or realise. #scam #freelancer.com

Tip for consumers: Don't Bother

Service
Value
Quality
maryh276
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/29/16

Although I was able to find the artist I needed and working with him was great, it was not without going through HELL with Freelancer.com. This company has NO centralized customer service. NO phone number that is viable for anyone who lives in the U.S. to call. When I had an issue to resolve it took them so long to resolve it and in the meantime they locked up my Freelancer account and the account of the artist I was hiring. If it wasn't for the artist I would report this site but I know that this is a way for him to get work.

But be warned, if you work with Freelancer and you need customer assistance, be prepared to wait 2-3 weeks to have your problem resolved.

If you're in the U.S., it's better to find someone local or go direct to the artist or service provider.

pauls388
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/29/16

Thiss site is set up to trick people and to scam them. It's total disgrace. Everything set up by it is to scam your money.

michaels539
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/25/16

The site is full of spam bidders. They abuse buyers and the site does not take care of it. When contacted they say they have taken proper action against them, but they do nothing. Buyers stay away if you want to keep your pride. I complained 4 people who abused me. Even called me the F word. And their account is alive and the site closed my account.

alexh156
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/23/16

We posted the project 8 months ago , and the guy from Pakistan name .. Nawaz Ashraf company name Software4u took the project for £8500 bcos project is too big he asked us to pay upfront money and we did .. He only show us some link on his testing page and ask us to give feedback all the time and we gave good feedback and then he was dissappeared for 6 moths . So we reported to freelancer.com and they just restricted his account but our money £5400 is gone and we got nothing .. now he came back and ask us to contact freelancer to open his account again then only he will transfer our file to us .. but we think he will run away again after we open his account again.. So BEWARE OF FREELACER SCAMMER SOFTWARE4U NAME ASHRAF

mundanef
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/20/16

I was an idiot for not looking for Freelancer reviews before I tried to work with them. I hired two unrelated contractors through Freelancer, both of whom I now respect. None of the money I deposited with Freelancers was paid to the contractors, and none has been returned to me. If you want to hire Freelancers, try Upwork. I haven't had problems with them.

dominicb33
1 review
8 helpful votes
12/20/16

Below is Follow up of my initial review on freelancer.com ...try and read my first review on this site

On Thu, Dec 22, 2016 at 10:04 AM, Freelancer.com Support <support@freelancer.com> wrote:
Hi Sunny,

Thank you for reaching Freelancer.com Support Desk.

We understand that you wish to be refunded of the fee that you incurred for accepting the project "Do some data entry" (ID: 12536262). Please note that project fees are non-refundable regardless of the outcome of the project. This is the reason why we strongly suggest that you be meticulous when you accept a project award. It is also recommended that you ask for a pending Milestone Payment to be created first so that you can be assured that your employer has the funds to pay you for your services.

Nevertheless, we can review your refund request once the project gets canceled. We suggest that you ask your employer to cancel the project first. If they will remain unresponsive, you may request to cancel the project on your end. This option is available on the project page seven days after the proposed deadline. Once requested, your employer will be notified of this. If they will not cancel the project after 28 days, the system will automatically cancel the project.

Feel free to contact us back should you need further assistance.



---
Regards,
Kathrine A,
Freelancer.com Support

"BELOW IS MY RESPONSE TO THEIR FAKE EMAIL TO ME"
=================================================

please stop fooling yourself, I know that this is Scam simple, how can your company survive with Scamming innocent people?
You said.

NO 1) the EMPLOYER is fake (the account is created by your company to steal people money , ie, Awarding fake project)

NO 2) According to you message, I quote" This is the reason why we strongly suggest that you be meticulous when you accept a project award. It is also recommended that you ask for a pending Milestone Payment to be created first so that you can be assured that your employer has the funds to pay you for your services.

THEN I ask: (A) IF you are serious and sincere and not part of the group creating fake accounts to award fake contracts, just to steal innocent people money, Tell me what an outsider who is not part of your SCAM GROUP can gain from wasting his time to create fake account just to award people fake contract - targeting to make innocent poor people waste their money? (THIS POINT make is obvious to the public to know that your company is scam)

(B) Tell me why you put such scam,cruel and wicked policy of stealing people money upfront just because they innocently and of course desperate to get job then "ACCEPT FAKE project" put up by your "SCAM GROUP" , why didn't you change that policy since people have been hurt seriously through it? you charge and deduct people money as you wish without their consent - so many people are crying for this,

(C) How come you are not making this an important issue by creating "Serious Awareness" and "Educating people through "VIDEO and Advert" about that upfront charges and the consequences of accepting PROJECT without proper verification of the Employer" - (of course your company supposed to do those verification work on behalf of the freelancers, since you are getting your fees from their work) - Instead your awareness is to push Freelancers to Accept the job very fast, telling them if they fail to accept it very fast it will be Awarded to someone else-(Wicked Scam - to steal their money) "if you even have that warning at all, it means you hide it where nobody can notice it, so that you will always quote it to innocent victims that you already stole their money who is fighting back - just to prove to them that you are Legal and have the right in stealing their money, this is why I call your company ( LEGAL SCAMMERS )

(D) Instead of running too much advert telling people to upgrade or pay to make their BID stand the chance to be awarded fake projects, why not take your time to EDUCATE people obviously about accepting fake projects consequences and Educate them how it will not help them to make money from your website, don't you know that every freelancer on your site is Jobless and in need of Job to feed their family? "instead you steal from them"

Conclusion you know yourself that you are SCAMMER COMPANY, Everyone knows your company as SCAMMERS, we are creating AWARENESS to educate people about your company scam,

I have reported your company to so many Authorities with all the points I quoted above and even more points not listed here, just everything I study from your website how you scam people, I have given them to the Authorities, SO CONTINUE YOUR SCAM, TILL THEY WILL GET TO YOU SOON.
Thank you for scamming me and innocent freelancers. God must judge your company soon.

elektrob
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/20/16

They will close your account for no good reason and then keep the money. They are basically stealing money from people

ibrahimj5
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/19/16

I have posted a project in freelancer Wordpress Template convert to website.
A company called Zappiers from India have sent me a proposal and agreed to complete the work. Paid USD400 and little more,all that wrong happened she misleads me to wrong position, at first she asked to realise funds and give feedback and positive comments so all that done and now this lady from Zappiers disappeared and I can't do anything to have my miobey back. All comments, feedbacks and money given and project is closed at lest no way to comment or communicate with her

leonardob19
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
12/19/16

For more than two years working on freelancer.com I have had some unpleasant experiences, this is an extremely unsafe platform for any freelancer, my last experience was with a client that after I delivered the project and he was happy with everything at the end Requested to freelancer the return of several payments that he made me (4 months ago), I sent all the documentation to freelancer studied my case and they told me that I was right but they could not do anything because the client had requested the refund through his bank. Freelancer told me that they had closed the account of my client but unfortunately had to return the money to the bank, then they took out $ 1000 of my balance that I had at that time and also I was left with a negative balance of $ 1100, now I am working with upwork.com and I go excellent, I do not recommend at all freelancer, it´s a extremely unsafe platform.

joshy11
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/17/16

they are horrible. let me tell you i put in 1,000 dollars to get a projects done. i spent 4 months on it to find someone to do it or to do actually do work and project wasnt done but my money kept dropping from the fees. so i gave up having around 700 left. 3 months later i come back. and wow just WOW my account was closed. so i contact the support to get my account back. and guess what my balance was $0.00. i had 700 and it was all gone. i contact them again. they said "The funds have been automatically liquidated due to the closure." now they want me to verify. what kind of monkey donkey crap is that. the user agreements "User Accounts that have not been logged into for a continuous period will incur a maintenance fee per month, until either the account is closed or reactivated. " they expect you to have millions of projects to do. that is so stupid what a scam! i am not dealing with that so im just going to give them the 700 and get it over with!! DO NOT waste your time or money with them.

Tip for consumers: STAY AWAY!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
jint4
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/17/16

they get money in my paypal account and block my account. legit

70 ratings were submitted through the SiteJabber Browser Extension

197 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Freelancer staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
frankiel13
frankie l.
1 week, 2 days ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
johnw593
john w.
2 weeks, 3 days ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the Freelancer staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

116 Photos for Freelancer

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Freelancer?
Post Review