Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of FatWallet

FatWallet reviews

Is this your business?
53 reviews
100 East Grand Avenue
Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Tel: (761529-0020
2017 Customer choice award

53 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
1

All Reviews

stevew254
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/7/17

Just got this email. Didn't know I had a Fat Wallet account, but am very reluctant to click on any link that supposedly "refunds my account balance." I guess they will grab $2 from my account until the balance is zero, and I don't have a clue how much that may be. Merry Christmas Fat Wallet!

Advertisement
ab4819
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/14/17

Fatwallet no longer offers cash back as a shopping portal, so the only "value" is through the forums. With each successive buyout/merger, now owned by Rakuten (formerly buy.com), the management has become increasingly more involved in the forums. At one time Fatwallet was a great place to find deals and tips on a daily basis. Deals can still be found, but the signal-to-noise ratio is much higher. FW staff intrude in the forums with staff-promoted deals. FW is much more heavy-handed in the moderation of the forums, and the moderation is very uneven and unfairly administered. Silly badges and worthless status contests have encouraged users to post quantity over quality. Overall, the quality is pretty mediocre compared to what it once was. Most alarmingly, if one doesn't "toe the company line" and questions the arbitrary, inconsistent, and silly "rainbows and unicorns" artificial sense of community, one can expect to be singled out. Two forum moderators in particular, with usernames Virgil27 and Nellium have behaved so rudely unprofessional to me it's disgusting. They should be fired. Though, I expect it all trickles down from the top. Fatwallet is what it is. It will never be the gem it once was and sadly, it looks to continue to decline.

workerl
5 reviews
3 helpful votes
4/18/17

Use it from time to time just because it's possible to buy the things I need with saving. Why paying more?

kib24
6 reviews
6 helpful votes
4/10/17

I easily find everything I need in one place and at the right moment. Their emails help be be in touch with the latest offers and save on whatever I need. This is great!
Thank you for creating such a good website!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
lorak4
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/27/17

Used to be decent. But they got rid of cash back, and now forums are full of crude, vulgar, and just plain asinine people. I'm all about being a part of a frugal community. But these people are a**holes. Terminated my account. Take my deals elsewhere now.

mariums
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/8/15

I love fatwallet.com. This company has heart and soul. More specifically, after having all my accounts hacked and drained I went over to fatwallet to request payment for the $10 I had in my account. drained from my PayPal account in addition to both bank accounts.To my utter dismay and disbelief, not only did this thief drain both of my bank accounts in addition to my PayPal accounts but to add insult to injury they had substituted their PayPal address in place of mine anywhere that I was paid for work or received cashback.

All it took was them finally gaining access to my email and the rest is history. After noticing this, of course I was devastated. So I started the arduous task of contacting every company that was paying this criminal instead of me. To my surprise, fatwallet.com called me back right away and went even further by crediting my account with $20 which I desperately needed at that time.

I love fatwallet. However, I did not feel this way at the time after realizing that I had to leave a message in order to have someone call me back. I really thought they were a scam too and was not too nice in my message which entailed accusations of them being a scam to some degree. To my surprise, they were kind and quick to fix my account and boost my spirits at such a low point. I never expected such great treatment after leaving a couple less than kind messages and truly felt embarrassed for my behavior towards such a great company.

rickn15
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
10/5/15

I have used this website for several years and have saved hundreds of dollars. I have never had a problem receiving cash back. I am rating them a 5 for cashback. I am rating them a 4 because their forum could be better. For example, the slickdeals forum is better.

nicoles94
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/3/15

Their website clearly states that they cannot respond to missing inquires until 14 days have expired. I waited the required 14 days and submitted a request to review a missing transaction. The website provided clear instructions regarding what information was needed for them to investigate and said I should hear from them within one business day. Since it was a Saturday, I wasn't expecting a response until Monday at the very earliest. However, Marge resolved my issue to my satisfaction within three hours! Wow!!!! I never would have expected such stellar service in such a prompt manner! Amazing!!!

aarond27
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/26/15

It is becoming obvious that Fatwallet is a shady company. Cash back is almost never processed automatically. A ticket has to be filed and followed up on. Given that the cash back is usually a few dollars it is often not worth the effort. I will be looking for a more honest company and I suggest others do the same.

adams147
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/20/15

FatWallet.com already turned into a shameless place that runs bait and switch. and they even canceled my referral credit based on false claim that I self-refer. In fact, the people I refer don't even have a similar name with mine, how can that be the same person? A retarded and ridiculous company.

daveh69
9 reviews
24 helpful votes
5/14/14

I've used fatwallet for a few years now and for the most part I've been happy with them. I've have had to file a few claims, but they've all been approved for cash back in a pretty timely manner. If you don't mind a little leg work, this can be a great site.

sams125
4 reviews
11 helpful votes
1/26/14

I used Fatwallet to order a hotel through expedia. Fatwallet offered 5% cash back.. I Got ZERO.. I have contacted them and like a fellow reviewer said they didn't get paid by my click so i dont get paid. The place is shady ass hell.. They are owned by ebates.com... STAY FAR AWAY! Goto slickdeals.net for a deals site.. Atleast u know what u r getting.

js98
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/23/14

Made a few small purchases to test the cashback, it worked fine.
I then made a very large purchase through a referral link, had all the documentation, but had the cashback denied for apparently no reason.
The deals themself are mostly junk, a few good things here and there but nothing you wouldn't find on your own.

greggorc
1 review
6 helpful votes
1/21/14

The site is flooded with spam and bad deals. It used to be such that only truly hot deals were posted, but now many postings are for expired offers, offers with negligible value and self-serving, self-promoting "offers" for those whose sole purpose in posting is to get "badges" of dubious merit.

More recently, the site underwent an "upgrade," and fatwallet's own review pages on the botched upgrade were negative from the start. The fatwallet website editor is still flawed, and complained about often, and has not been fully fixed.

The site owners were in some sort of dispute with their former home state and belligerently left the state for another. They also refuse to discuss how they make money, how they are compensated and how many of their "offers" and deals contain kickbacks. Their rating system used to be fair and subjective, but now they require one to give a reason for a negative review and they are known for banning those who give negative reviews to any offers for any reason -- including common and self-evident ones like not a deal based on price or a bad merchant reputation.

Don't waste you time for a few potential pennies you may get back from a big purchase made through this site --- the site is so poorly managed and operated that you will receive nagging emails from the site itself wanting to know if your pennies ever arrived. It can take many weeks or months to receive anything.

Stick to better sites with objective ratings and you will do much better.

it55
4 reviews
9 helpful votes
1/18/14

I get a lot of cash back from them. What I do is login into the website where I want to make a purchase, e.g. West Elm. Once I'm ready to check out at West Elm, I open fat wallet and log in. I click on West Elm through Fat Wallet, which opens a new browser tab at West Elm and keeps everything in my shopping cart. Then I close the old West Elm tab, keep the Fatwallet tab open, and check out at the new West Elm tab. That works. I think if you keep the tab open too long or close the fat wallet tab you might not get your rebates. Good luck!

aramk
5 reviews
11 helpful votes
11/5/13

I used to find all my godaddy coupons here, but lately none of the posted coupons work :(

asdasda2
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/16/13

I've spent thousands of dollars through FatWallet in the past year or more. In my experience, they are terrible at paying up. Most of the purchases do not register cashback. I always use a fresh window of a browser that's currently not open, always log in before finding the store on FW, and use as few clicks as possible to avoid glitches. The only store that has been consistent on registering purchases is NewEgg. EVERY other store (Adidas, Rakuten, Maidenform, Dell Business, many other large online retailers) does not register. I have to manually submit a ticket. After waiting for 3+ months they often reject the request because the merchant "didn't submit" information they needed to make the decision. So much money wasted that I could've got back through other incentives. I would not recommend FW. Don't waste your time.

sharont9
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/12/13

I've been a member since 2006. Sometimes I have problems with getting cash back for qualifying purchases. At first, those problems were as simple as just giving them my order receipts and them verifying my click to that merchant. However, this is where their policy, or lack of policy, fails. My last two cash backs were not honored because the merchant (I shopped at the same place) claims I used a different referring source. However, the merchant wouldn't reveal what that source was because it was part of a secured transaction. So what am I left with? Without being able to verify if what the merchant said is true, Fatwallet basically tells me too bad. Here is their quoted response: "After a thorough investigation of this transaction, we have learned that this purchase did not qualify for Cash Back. We were informed that a different source actually referred this order to the store that you made your purchase from. Since this was a secure transaction between yourself and that store, the referring source is considered to be part of that secured transaction. Because FatWallet did not receive credit for referring your purchase, we will not be informed of the name of the source who did receive credit."

This peeves me to no end since I am intelligent enough to know that if I was surfing the merchants site before I went through Fatwallet, then Fatwallet might not be considered the referring site. Because of this, I always make sure to delete cookies and clear my cache so I start with a clean slate through Fatwallet.

quinns2
5 reviews
3 helpful votes
9/13/12

after teaming up with Ebates, they lost alot of users i think. Or maybe it's been on a downward slide for a while. I'll never know.

allenm8
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/30/12

Since they were bought by ebates they are only interested in deals from their sponsers. To prove my point you just have to look at the promotion they are currently running where you get a free t-shirt if you post a deal by one of their sponsers. They don't care about real deals anymore, only deals that make THEM money (referal money kicked back to them). Deals are now poor or late after having been posted at another board hours earlier (They even give credit to other boards for the posts, why not just go to the other boards?). They favor a few posters and don't apply the posting rules to them so it has become a very poor site for people to post at and the board reflects this. Not what they used to be and going downhill from there Look at all the reviews of this place (here and other review sites) and you will see almost all negative reviews for 2012 since the changes

steves62
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/21/12

hot deals have gone downhill since top poster left. Ssite purchased by ebates and now they push the deals that give them the most return. Seems everything is either a Sunday sale item or copied from slickdeals.net a few hours after it is posted there. Free stuff section is terrible.
Not close to what it used to be

ryanm18
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/10/12

ight

jessiew
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
1/28/12

Been shopping at this website for a while. This is a pretty cool and easy to use website. You basically get all the deals out there in one place plus they will sometimes give you cash back. Remember to click through fatwallet to directly transfer you to other discounted websites like groupons or tigersdirect to get your cash back.

coryp
5 reviews
7 helpful votes
6/21/11

i love this site, I always check there first before buying something and the financial section in the forum is priceless.

presb
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/12/10

Fatwallet is the best place to find up to the minute ongoing deals on everything. I highly recomend it for anyone looking for a deal on anything. The only problem I have is that I end up buying somehting that I didn't plan on because it was such a great deal.

24 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the FatWallet staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
FatWallet?
Post Review