Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Debate.org

Debate.org reviews

Is this your business?
18 reviews

18 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

rahjeeb
8 reviews
48 helpful votes
6/26/17

Debate.org is exactly what it sounds like. A website where you could debate topics give your opinion on polls and topics and there's even a forum. I came to Debate.org after Sodahead.com cut all of the user off for financial reasons. Unfortunately however, the website suffers from a bad community, poor moderation and a lot of technical issues. Most of the users are desperate for attention teenaged trolls and the older ones are mostly stubborn $#*!s. It's nearly as worse as Yahoo answers. The Debate sections is riddled with stupid debates that wind up turning into conversations. Not to mention when you start winning the debate, they resort to the troll card. People tend to use a lot of Plagiarism as well and the debates are mostly rigged because debaters normally has a couple of friends waiting to vote for them. The Opinion sections and Forum section are full of flammers who make threads and tend look to attack people who don't agree with them. Not to mention all the dumb polls and topics that are allowed to be put up. Certain members get away with a lot $#*!, due to moderators either being overly laid back or for favoritism reasons. The website is poorly managed. Sometimes I can't click anything in the Opinions section, pages don't appear, the forum section design is so generic and the topic sections seems really useless and to use the debate section you have to do a verification. It's not the worst opinion base websites, but I can't recommend something like this.

Advertisement
harikrishb
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/16/17

I was an active member on many Christian, Skeptics, Religious, philosophy and science forums before I joined Debate.org. I found the site to be liberal, tolerant and extremely patient with those who otherwise would have nowhere else to go. The majority of people who frequent forums are basically looking for people who agree with their worldview or looking for material they can use to effectively challenge those they disagree with. The moderators on DDO understand that and allow posters to display their insecurities and Freudian fantasies.

My own research is based on dysfunctional societies and the choice was always limited by the control exercised by moderators on their members. But on debate.org you find a fair cross section of the disfunctional society and the poor level of education and limited grasp people have of issues that affect their lives which is the very reason why Democracies fail. But being surrounded by idiots can be very uplifting and being allowed to express such disdain or disparaging observation extremely liberating.

Don't be swayed by my scholarly opinions which you will find are many and diverse. Just pick one that you agree with. I am Harikrish, the most spiritual member on Debate.org.

ddd24
10 reviews
15 helpful votes
4/16/17

Before we get into the community, I just want to point out that the website is poorly set up, and it will constantly give you errors when you try to access pages. The debates section is inactive, and most of the "debates" are young members holding ridiculous contests (e.g. TV Character vs TV Character, best joke, etc) and troll debates (e.g. vi_spex and crap like "morality= survival truth"), rather than serious discussion such as religion or politics. Even then, in what is meant to be serious discussion, people will troll you if they don't like what you're discussing and votebomb you because they want their friend to win a debate, and also there have also been many instances of noob sniping in the very few serious debates (when a skilled debater challenges a noob knowing they will win it.), with new debaters flooding in from the Polls and Opinions sections. The moderation team is both strict and biased. The head moderator Airmax holds a list of favorites and refuses to ban them if they break the rules. Most of those are people who voted for him before the whole Prexit drama, and this includes active bullies and trolls such as YYW and Imabench. Voting moderator whiteflame has a dictatorial voting policy, and his strict moderation has been abused to the point in which it has hurt debate quality, since people would rather win by reporting votes than with arguments, and alot of the votes he takes down are serious votes and I rarely see him taking down actual votebombs. Atleast PetersSmith takes her moderation seriously. Most of the activity on the site comes from the forums section. Important forums such as Philosophy lack activity, and it's usually the same exact group of people in more active serious forums. The most active threads are usually playful threads such as mafia games or "last comment wins!", and many users have accounts purely to spend their time in these forums. They might as well make this a redirect to mafiascum.net at this point. I will give an extra star for the few serious people left. In other words, the minimum amount of stars. I would never use this website if you wish to have serious discussion. There are many alternatives to debate.org which exist, and if you want a serious forum to discuss serious topics, then try out one. DebateIsland is a personal favorite. On an unrelated note, I wouldn't be suprised if "kibbelt C." is just one of their staff members writing a false review. And on another note, have you noticed that most of the positive reviews are from years ago? Exactly. This website was one an excellent debating forum, and now it's basically a bunch of kids lying about their age and teenagers spamming and discussing unimportant bullcrap.

This website is basically Sodahead, just stay away.

trashtrashwi
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/16/17

The moderation on this site is poor, and it seems to attract psychopaths and sociopaths who have nothing better to do than to bully people with mental health issues. Two trolls, YYW and imabench, are particularly toxic. Imabench specifically has threatened to murder and rape teenaged girls on the site simply for having political disagreements with him, and YYW has harassed numerous members in astonishingly hypocritical and toxic ways. He even called a member creepy and said that the member made his skin crawl and probably would be inappropriately touching people at Youth groups. YYW very specifically targets people for their insecurities and accuses people of having mental health disorders, likely because he has one himself (which is why his family has cut off all contact with him, as he admits. They were so horrified at having raised a sociopath that they kicked him out of the house). Hopefully the moderators deal with these trolls so that the site can flourish.

rightwinga
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/15/17

There has been an uptick in mafia and forum drama.

However, seeing as this is not 4chan, idgaf about social aspects and games. This is DEBATE.org. Debates hardly ever mean anything anymore. You can't get better if you are a noob. Why? Because noobs have to start at their own pace, meaning they must debate the lesser debaters before they can achieve their goal of becoming an exemplary debater, but the noobs just will cause the forfeit glitch and the old members will crush the noobs. Thus, they become uninterested and leave. DDO will not survive these years. There can always be a temporary surge in activity, but if we don't get enough new blood to join the site, the old members will get sick of it and leave. 2015/16 was drama filled and it caused lots of members to realize what a joke this site was and left, leaving it in a state of dullness and stagnation for half of a year. History is doomed to repeat itself. Without some sort of company to fix the problem, there is no permenant solution to bringing DDO back to the golden ages.

stevens177
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/23/16

Don't bother with debate.org. The site doesn't even load 90% of the time and there is a lot of moderation. Freedom of speech is unheard of.

yywf
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/28/16

As with any site that involves political disagreements, some people allow those disagreements to become personal. As a result, those members either leave or are banned if they engage in misconduct which rises to a level of incorrigibility.

DDO is an excellent community of individuals who desire to interact with others who are interested substantive political discourse. This is, however, not for everyone as is shown by some of the reviews here.

fdsfdsfd
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/25/16

This site used to be cool. A place to test your debating skills and logic against other people. Now a few years later popularity has shrunk and only the leftist progressive hoards remain. If you try to debate on an issue they don't like they will troll you and downvote your opinions. Mods may also outright censor you if you deviate from said leftist progressive ideology.

It's virtually a Obama hivemind.

cliftonj3
1 review
7 helpful votes
9/28/15

I just wanted to puke when I read one of the four star reviews for this site written by kibbelt C. The brain dead idiot first said ys how the moderators are dictatorial and then goes on to lavish praises of how they are fair and open to dispute. This is true idiocy people!
I wrote a huge opinion piece on illegal immigrants in this country. No swear words - no racism. It never showed up on the site. My opinion was censored by those wonderful dictatorial moderators.
There is a quote "debate" on this site regarding whether or not we should have freedom of speech and it speaks volumes. The worthless bleating sheep who support censorship are winning this farce they call a debate! Who needs freedom of speech right????
This site is a training ground for brainwashed teenagers. Move along and don't waste your valuable time trying to debate with the narrow minded slush brains this site is infested with.

wrichcriwi
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/18/15

Horrendous. Moderation doesn't care about you unless you're among their favorites, and applies double standards (banning people for minor offenses, but letting bullies like YYW, who regularly berates people to fulfill his sociopathic tendencies in spite of his lack of reading comprehension, get off scot-free).

The "favorites" are sanctimonious arsholes, and the vast majority of the userbase incorrigible sheep who eat it up because they're too unintelligent to think for themselves. The site president is a sh1t-eating, patronizing figurehead, but people herald him as an intellectual of sorts. But he is nothing of the kind. The same goes for the site head's administrator. Both are reprehensible hypocrites, and it's embarrassing for the website that either position any semblance of "authority."

Don't waste your time. You won't find intelligent content, just a "community" of stupid kids spamming the forums and playing stupid, useless mafia to stroke their own inflated egos, which shouldn't exist because they're on an online debating website.

kibbeltc
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/13/15

Site moderation is dictatorial but fair and open to disputes.

Userbase is diverse- plenty of conservatives and liberals. Mostly focused on US politics though there is an international presence.

The debate aspect of the site is unparalleled, excellent if you are looking for a 1 on 1 forum for arguing your viewpoint and having others evaluating who made a better case.

christianf19
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/1/14

The people that gave this 1 star are either retarded or former trolls.

Update: Wrichcirw is one of the consensus worst members of DDO history. I can say that much. He thinks that it is true that the moderator, Airmax1227, and assistant moderator Bladerunner060 are the same person, and Airmax was running a dictatorship over the site...well Bladerunner and Airmax have both been on camera, and they are most definitely two different people. Yet, he does not buy this still. He's also engaged in unethical behaviors throughout the entirety of his time using the site.

The top review guy is so unbelievably stupid. There is no such thing as free speech on a website. If you post something political in the site's main forum, then it will be deleted. Why? Because it doesn't belong there...I can't name a forum that doesn't regulate the content in forums. It also doesn't help if the post was unable to show any comprehensive thought.

Just saying.

Second update: This site is not a progressive echo chamber. It's never been that in it's 8 years. It used to be heavily right-libertarian, but has since moved to a more balanced demographic - but definitely not what that guy said about everyone loving Obama and being progressives.

georgel38
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/9/14

This is a silly site for mainly whinny teenagers who complain if you question their dishonest debating techniques, e.g., plagiarism. Plagiarism and others forms of debate cheating are rampant; but, the member/voters are too immature and uneducated to care. And, DDO does not moderate or judge the debates, it is left completely up to the voting members. So, almost anything goes, and it goes unchecked.

DDOs software does block most common swear words, as long as they are in English. However, if you want to upload a picture in a debate that has profanity on it, e.g., I throw my hands up in the air sometimes Saying AYOOO Iam a $#*!ing Turtle that is OK, which was done by Mikal in a recent debate. Airmax1227 response when this was reported was that it wasnt that important, which I am sure the owners of DDO would not agree with.
http://www.funnyjunk.com/funny_pictures/4095527/I+m+A+$#*!ing+Turtle/

Most debates are won by in-group/friend bias, i.e., if you have the most friends, you will win most debates.

Censorship is high, mainly by Airmax1227, the head moderator or the head member of DDOs Gestapo. He was elected twice as site president and owes many favors to those who elected him. He will take sides with those members in all disputes. He will defend his favorites, e.g., Thett3, YYW, Subutai, Sargon, etc. even if they are wrong. Airmax1227 does not enforce the rules he creates uniformly. It is really a joke. His rulings are final; there is no appeal.

Ninety percent of the debates are silly debates (e.g., Rap battles, best super heroes, best Yo Mama Joke, etc.) by teenagers or younger.

The average number of voters/judges on these debates is two members; the median number of voters is one, and usually no one votes on the debates, mainly because they are silly debates. Many of these debates where no members vote are debates done by members who have no friends at the site, so nobody votes for them. Again, most debates are won by the debaters that have the most friends.

Fifty-six percent of the members that join dont fill out their profiles with their ages.

DDO claims to have 148,101 members, but have only had 37,935 debates in 5 years. And, many members do from 10 to 22 debates or more per month. Probably less that 200 of those 148,101 members are active members that debate on a regular basis. Those that do participate most frequently are teenagers.

Most of those 148,101 members are inactive members, but DDO does not publish those numbers. DDO does not purge inactive members, e.g., my wife joined 8 months ago and never posted anything. DDO does not purge inactive members because it needs to prove to it advertisers and potential advertisers that it has a high volume of members so they will continue to advertise or become advertisers. The amount of advertising at DDO is problematic and a joke. Again, DDO is not devoted to debating and having fairly judged debates.

Dont bother joining this site, you will be disappointed, unless you are an immature teenager.

sitaras
7 reviews
27 helpful votes
9/9/13

I love it. I just joined and had a few rough experiences, but joining has proven to be one of the best decisions. There is a certain cute moderator who is fair and fun to talk to. It is a serious debate site that is not about spam, and I do not work for the site, so no accusing!

benea1
20 reviews
128 helpful votes
7/21/13

They really went downhill. Before it was interesting, now it's close to Sodahead. Jesus Christ, dude. If I want to debate, I rather socialize with people outside. Just stay away from this.

akemim
44 reviews
128 helpful votes
8/22/12

This is the China of the Internet. The level of censorship is very high here. And if the moderators don't like what you said, they will edit your post and make it look like you said something stupid. I know this, I had it happen and it was highly embarassing since I couldn't do anything about it. You are not allowed to cuss, which is crap. They act like if someone cusses then all 7 levels of unholy hell will break lose and fissures will open up in the earth, swallowing cars, buildings, and people whole whilst simultaneously causing children to start dying in droves, and bodies will start blocking out the sun as disease spreads faster than an STD at a condom-free sex party.

gardinerh
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/6/12

Counter VBing that annoying person.

jasonc23
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
6/6/12

It has a great community and friendly members. Love it <3

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Debate.org staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Debate.org?
Post Review