Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Abine

Abine reviews

28 reviews
50%
280 Summer Street
Boston, MA 02210, USA
Tel: 1 (617) 492-0024
support@getabine.com

28 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

formerc1
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/9/17

They cannot do what they claim. They auto renew each year taking money without asking. There is no staff to talk to. If you leave they open the floodgates and pour out all private info they can find. When that isn't enough they add you to spam lists. Vindictively they continue in this progressive manner unless you sign up again. Don't be surprised when these activities are followed by an Abbie DeleteMe ad. I advise to shun this hateful, worthless service. They can delete your complaints about them too.

Advertisement
jerrys93
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/11/17

Works well if you only need a password manager, phone line, email, etc. But if you need to keep your information private they are no better than other free or less expensive solutions. No one can keep your information 100% private and they quickly lose value when they can't measure up, even close in many instances. Why pay a lot for mediocre service? It's like owning a car that still runs, but most of the controls stop working or only work sometimes.

Try to cancel your account and be ready to be talked down to, told your reasoning is flawed and told you should reconsider your decision. Overtime you think you've seen all the companies that couldn't possibly have any worse regard for customers, but these guys will surprise you.

billyd29
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/8/17

Abine offers amazing services for those concerned with online privacy. Abine's Blur software is an AWESOME all-in-one Password Manager, but also allows you to create throw away email addresses in a few clicks.

Abine's DeleteMe service has helped me and my family to remove our personal info from the internet for YEARS. these guys are great, they run an amazing service, and the customer service reps are ALWAYS extremely helpful!

bettyg25
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/21/16

what is the price for this service? where is my answers?

pauls278
Paul S.
9 reviews
45 helpful votes
3/1/16

Firefox, without much warning, stopped supporting MaskMe in favor of Blur, also an Abine product (an upgrade). I was able to contact them by phone to get my old MaskMe account deleted (one masked e-mail address was compromised and had at least 1500 spams in a short time). The tech support was fabulous and I had a Blur account up and running quickly. I am happy again not getting a ton of spam and / or malware coming my way. UPDATE: Blur by Abine just works great (in Blur is Do Not Track Me). A great upgrade from MaskMe.

danielleg23
1 review
15 helpful votes
11/4/15

Delete Me did absolutely nothing to remove my name and sensitive info from the Internet. Complained numerous times to Delete Me. Always attempted to assure me they would "take care" of the situation. The Internet also shows I lived in a city in Ohio in which I never lived. Complained about this with no assistance. I'm not even able to log into my account any longer. This website was recommended by USA Today. Will never trust that news outlet again for suggestions. Delete Me was a huge waste of time and money.

lindsayg19
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/20/15

I've been using the masked emails for about a year and was very happy with the service. Later I decided to upgrade to the premium version and test out the masked cards. The first problem is that I signed up for a 1 year subscription, got charged for 3. Then the masked email that I set up for my masked card purchase (first time through the premium set up) never worked, but the credit card charge did. I'm out $132 and until this gets resolved likely to cancel my premium account.

michaelh141
1 review
23 helpful votes
2/10/15

The free stuff works fairly well, but BEWARE of using credit cards with this site. I'm currently trying to recover a bogus charge and their phone line (800-928-1987) puts you on hold for about 1 minute and then a recording comes on that states :I'm sorry, no one is available to take your call, goodbye." You are then promptly hung up on. I'll keep you posted on what happens

billc71
1 review
13 helpful votes
11/16/14

the mask cc is not worth it. charged my card 4 times for the same purchase even though the website replied that the masking was not established correctly. Finally had to use my cc in the clear to complete the purchase so was charged 5 times for 1 purchase. and now have to file dispute between CC company, vendor, and Abine.

barbarai4
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
10/28/14

DNTM has blocked 75,000 trackers; works very well. Masking my email and phone is fantastic; enjoying the feeling of privacy. Had a few problems with credit card masking but the staff at Abine has been first class. Especial thanks to Samantha who worked with me to solve the problem, kept me informed, was unfailingly courteous, prompt, and made sure my ordered birthday gift for a child got to me in time. The error in using credit card masking was probably mine but at Abine Samantha never made me feel as though it was. Not crazy about either Google or Google Chrome. Do not intend to use either one again. Google for privacy reasons; Chrome doesn't work so well.

salinag
1 review
12 helpful votes
3/17/14

I added the ad tracker b/c I didn't want to be tracked, said no ads etc so I signed up. Then to day as I was working online I get this page https://www.abine.com/donottrackme-post-install/?b=ie&o=DNTP_www_abine_com&v=2.2.9.1112&t=www_abine_com#

that auto pops up, closed it, comes up again. REALLY?....YES I SAID REALLY! So then I proceed to tell Olivia the agent to tell the CEO not to lie to people and she smarts off with "well you signed up for it and things
(I worked sales in & out for over 5 years and I can tell when a CSR is being rude, smart, and just doesn't give a crud about her job. Yes, low wages and everyone tells her off all day but that is NOT how you make a sale/commission!!!!! PERIOD.)
I then tell her to not be a "kunt and not have an attitude" and she just ends call (it's two curse words for her to do that, and she broke protocol, plus if she cared she would listen to 100. I did and had an 36% client turn over rate on great discount membership cancellations. She don't care, or give a crud AT ALL!!! Or she would have tried to make a sale/commission for me to keep your product but didn't!!!
1St: STOP LIEING TO CUSTOMERS AND YOUR CSR WOULDN'T GET CALLED A "$#*!".
2ND: TELL THE CEO TO GIVE ME HIS WIFES PERSNOAL CELL NUMBER SO I CAN SEE JUST WHAT SHE CALLS ME
3RD: FIRE CLAUDIA AND SEND HER BACK TO BURGER KING WHERE SHE BELONGS.

Now I'll apologize for saying the c word and such, but the problem with companies is YOU CANT BE HONEST. The truth will set you free, be upfront & honest and you will achieve your dreams. Till then, keep getting called a C and put up with jerks like me that can sell anything and flip an irate customer upside down, buying triple of what your offering.

PS: You unsubscribe me or I will report this to the Kansas State Attorney General's Office for your "borderline" illegal practices!!!! Cold/Warm email marketing.....come one magazines did better! And fire that HR person that hired Claudia because she can't trained a wet dog!

Thank you, have a wonderful day (truly do have a good day)
PS: DON'T CALL ME B/C I'LL BE MUCH MUCH NICER!

xxxx2
1 review
15 helpful votes
7/16/13

A Google search of my name came up with hundreds of links to offensive sites. The various domain owners were listed from New Jersey to Latvia. Google stipulates that for them to remove the links, you must first contact the spammers PERSONALLY and request the deletion! Can you imagine doing that?!? The "deletion-specialist" at Abine, who also happened to be an attorney, was absolutely great! She actually contacted these people, and before long, the links revealed "Error 404" messages, opening the door for Google's monthly "crawl" of the web to eliminate them.
We're talking hundreds of offensive links! My name was Mud and now it isn't, Thanks to Abine. Hearing the recommendation of this company by Wall Street Journal reporter, Julia Angwin, on the NPR show, "Fresh Air" was a pivotal moment in time. Thanks Abine!

jacka15
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/10/13

i cant tell any difference from the amount of files that DNT stops compared to InPrivate browsing.Both seem to allow tracking to some extent ,based on the number of temp files and cookies that are deleted when i run my ccleaner.

tomm723
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/15/13

It seems to be doing as advertised however I get a security certificate warning that the websites certificate was issued for a different address? Any way to resolve?
Tom M

garyp19
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/24/13

Abine is providing a tool do not track me. i installed the tool and it looks working fine. But my concern is they are tracking us by showing number of trackers stopped by Abine tool using some sort of their own tracker that is not blocked by them. They say the data they have is safe but that's what all companies say. How about when they are getting acquired by a bigger company? Data will be sold to them. Irony - Do not Track itself tracks me.

robbiem19
4 reviews
15 helpful votes
2/3/13

I have barely started using 2 of the Abine products, free versions. Do Not Track Me & MaskMe. I get an email request from Abine to take a survey for Abine:
http://deletemecj.surveyanalytics.com/

Help us develop our next privacy tool

Here at Abine we're hard at work developing the next big tools in online
privacy, and could use your help to make them better. We rely on user
feedback to make sure we're developing products our users will love.

If you have 1-2 minutes, please help us out by taking a quick survey.
Thanks!

So, I agreed & got into the survey. First question was which of their products I use, Second question was wanting to know if I pay for an identity theft protection. Third question is about all my insurance coverage.. health, auto, etc. & I just closed the survey window.. I don't think this was cool, at all. Why do they need to know what kind of insurance I purchase & use? I agreed to take the survey to help them better their product & they want to know my insurance usage, almost at the very beginning of the survey.

It appears that they were not trying to better their product, but sell me another product. I went back and went through the survey & it just seems like a convoluted hot mess.

I have no use for companies that aren't more honest & to the point. Just try to sell me something else. Do not mask your sales attempts! Especially when you are trying to sell me privacy software.

Also, I noticed that the MaskMe program had recorded my log in info on a couple of my accounts that I have had for years, that I had not used the MaskMe service to create. I got no permissions requester, at all, to do this. Found it odd that it only did this on a couple accounts, rather than all that I had logged into, since I started using MaskMe.

MaskMe is still in beta & only offered after I installed Do Not Track Me.

josephs21
1 review
13 helpful votes
4/9/12

I downloaded this program on advice of a friend. It worked great, that is until I updated to a newer version. Then my IE8 browser would not work. It would open and then immediately close. Removed the program and have had no problems since. Would like to know what caused this so I can once again download this program.

kylej4
4 reviews
15 helpful votes
10/13/11

I'm taking the time to actually review them because I had a great experience with their customer service on chat. The person I spoke with was really helpful and walked me through updating an Abine add-on. That kind of patience and attitude is hard to find these days, let alone in customer service. Their software is awesome, too. Easy to use.

marko5
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/20/11

I have been using chrome blocker since August, 2010. I use it to block all, including the 4 trackers on the Jabber website. I assume it is working. But, I will telll you that I have never been directed to purchase anything from Abine; it just keeps working quietly in the background.

Now that I know they have something that will do the same for IE, which I have to use at work since other programs I need only tie into it, I will let you know.

justinn
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/4/11

I use abine to keep sites from tracking me and stealing and selling my information. Works great!

jasonr7
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/3/11

Excellent hands on customer service to help me plow through the red tape and confusion surrounding account deletions. A very committed team. Highly recommended.

heatherc5
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/26/11

The Taco 3.6 with Abine is a useful add-on, yet you almost need a PhD to understand all the terminology that goes along with it. I'm not sure it's something that I'd use on a regular basis to monitor the activity on my computer while I'm on the internet, and it almost makes me more worried with all the products out now days...is it *really* protecting me, or just another scam to get into my computer?

derekp1
9 reviews
40 helpful votes
2/19/11

Found this site after a friend told me that they deleted her name and address from spokeo for free, which was cool. I had a live chat with someone from deleteme, their site that deletes accounts and pages and things, to see if they'd be able to remove my name from mylife.com. I have no idea how they had my info, but it's one of the top google results for my name. They were able to do it no problem. It's a good concept for a service and I can see a lot of people needing to use it in the future.

joshr4
11 reviews
41 helpful votes
2/18/11

My gf used deleteme, owned by Abine, to get rid of an untrue review of her shop that her competitors put up and she was really happy with their service. I have more experience with the software end of Abine because i've been using chromeblock since it came out. I like that it's hands off unless i want to see which trackers i'm blocking, but it lets me do that, too. All in all, great customer service and cool software.

tommym
6 reviews
15 helpful votes
2/16/11

I'd hate for this to sound like overkill, but Abine really has changed the way I use the internet for the better. I haven't had a chance to explore all of the features yet, so I can't speak on the product as a whole, but I like what I've seen so far. The opt out functions and protection against tracking are more effective and easier to use than the add-ons I was using before I found Abine.

I also like being able to see all of the accounts I've signed up for (and allowed password save permission) but forgot existed. One such site had my credit card info stored on it as well. I was able to find this easily and delete the stored access info with the Abine privacy suite.

Finally, the email alias function and identity manager allows me to send inquiries and sign up for offers and accounts without having to worry about an onslaught of followups, surveys, and spam to my main email account.

I have to give a 4 out of 4. It's just too cool and too easy to use. I would definitely recommend it to all of my fellow privacy-conscious web surfers out there.

7 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Abine staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
johns476
John S.
on 3/27/13
Answer
asaw11
Asa W.
on 6/12/16
Answer
reneej8
renee j.
on 8/19/15
Answer
joand35
joan d.
on 9/2/16
Answer
Be the first to answer
kayv8
kay v.
on 6/29/15
Answer
Be the first to answer
steves155
Steve S.
on 6/12/15
Answer
Be the first to answer
michaelc166
Michael C.
on 5/21/15
Answer
Be the first to answer
Questions? Get answers from the Abine staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Abine?
Post Review