Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of The Fabulous U

The Fabulous U reviews

Is this your business?
7 reviews
SITE CLOSED
Tel: 339-222-5115
customgown@thefabulousu.com

7 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

hannahv2
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/25/15

This company changes names (ever so slightly) every few months or every year because Visa and Paypal won't accept charges from the company anymore. You can guess why this is...

Way too many people received something extremely low quality or nothing at all and instead of the owner just trying to run an honest business he repeats the process of scamming people again and again. He pays people in India to write positive reviews about the company for $2 or $5 a pop to help new customers gain confidence, but if you look at these reviews carefully you can see they are written by people who speak English as a 2nd language and are just trying to make a buck.

hellisho
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/13/14

I was offered money to remove my factual postings that you can find on weddingbee(dot)com's forum areas - my username on that site is Hellish88. Very negative experience, I was shipped a poorly made item with the wrong color embellishments and they had run out the timer to my wedding. Their satisfaction guarantee means nothing - i was ignored for 3 months after I received the shipment - until they contacted me to pull down posts for a sum of money.

Watch out for fake positive reviews - again you can find evidence of this all over the forums of weddingbee(dot)com where they were creating their own.

maryw68
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/7/14

FaboulousU has unique bridal gowns at prices up to 50% off! They also have an the option to customize your gown so it is one of a kind. I was able to find my bridesmaids dresses here too. They made shopping for the perfect gown effortless!

clarissat
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/7/14

I had not one problem with fabulousu. They did a great job with my prom dress. I looked great and no one at prom had on a dress similar to my own and they matched the color or my dress and my prom date's shirt and handkerchief perfectly. And shipping was shorter than I expected. Thanks FabU!!

lucyc7
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/15/13

I am so very happy that my friend recommended Fabulous U to me for my wedding dress. It has been an amazing online shopping experience and everything was done to perfection. The communication levels between Fabulous U and I were astonishing! All of my questions were answered within a matter of hours (which has never happened to me before!) My dress was the finishing touch for my incredible day. Very happy customer!!

terryb44
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/8/13

This was a most important day to be and I didn't want to be duped so I did allot of research before I bought. I investigated this company thoroughly, double checked for fraud on their Facebook site and seeing the same photos on comments showing authenticity. I previewed their youtube site (they have 129 videos of success stories with custom gowns for customers)! I decided to take the plunge and contacted them by phone. I was assured and inspired by conversations with the actual people behind the scenes in the videos. I was even given some advice on making my special gown even better on my special day.

rl22
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
8/6/13

The owner Tony Goo had promised me my dress by the date given (April 2013). He said no problem and even agreed to make me a corset based off one of their dresses if I can get my payment before their Spring Festival (Feb 6th). I paid for one on Jan 28th and the other Feb 4th, days before the festival. He had promised me it would be expedited then among the other dresses they received.

The months go on on and I never hear anything until April comes around. After the date given, I finally hear that they are no longer able to do the corset nor and the dress was still being worked on despite being promised it would be finished by the date given. Tony promised me I would receive a refund on the corset since they can't finish the beading (he gave a song and dance about their beading vendor no longer providing said beading) and finally sent pictures around mid to late April of the dress.

It was hard to see and I was iffy about the dress but Tony promised me it would look much better in person. When I received the dress, it was nothing like the picture I provided. There was black thread weaved into the dress, a sewing pin left in the folds would I could have gotten stuck, some weird purple dye on the dress and a horrible smell from the material.

I contacted Tony but he stuck to the fact that I OK'd the pictures and he thought he was beautiful work. Great but I paid for the dress! Shouldn't it matter to me whether it was what I ordered or not? It wasn't at all what I ordered and the dye, the pin and the smell were not discernible from any pictures. He ended up blaming his workers for smoking and slacking on their job after hours (Seriously, who allows that to happen around gowns?!)

Tony promised me a refund on the corset and (after pulling teeth) a partial refund on the dress. To this day I haven't seen either one and the emails always have an excuse for delaying the refund (always a holiday or some accounting mumbo jumbo he has no control of, even though he is the owner of the company).

I can't recommend this vendor at all to brides. You will lose a lot of money and you will not receive any refund because Tony Goo the CEO will think he has created the best dress ever and will stick to that no matter how much the dress is defective. Even when he promises you a refund, he will delay it enough so that you can take no recourse from anywhere. Like a bad boyfriend don't be fooled by the sweet talk in the beginning because you will definitely be paying for it dearly in the end! It's just horrible that a company like this preys on brides during their special day.

Update: After a certain amount of heavy teeth pulling, I received only half of a refund. The owner still refused to acknowledge the pin left in the dress, the mysterious smells and the stains that were left on the dress. He also refused to acknowledge the potential dangerous situation of a bride getting stuck by the pin and just chalked it up to me being unhappy with the dress. I heavily advise brides to go elsewhere for their gowns.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the The Fabulous U staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
The Fabulous U?
Post Review