Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Store-Credit.co.uk reviews

Is this your business?
52 reviews
SITE CLOSED
24 Nicholas Street
Chester CH1 2AU
Tel: 03301 225730

52 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
2
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
1

All Reviews

denyseb
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/29/17

I made a loan with them of about £2500,to witch they asked me in advance the amount of £150 to get the loan cause of my credit score being poor.They always told me that the conversations was being recorded and etc !! After a couple of days they said that they would need more £300 in order to transfer the loan to my account,witch I have refused !! Cause I don't need to pay money to get money isn't ?!? After this they told me that the loan would be cancelled and I would receive my £150 back in 3 working days !! Witch didn't happen ! When contacted them by email they called me and said that would be impossible to cancel the loan until I paid the £300 and I would not receive my £150 back (what was going against what the operator told me by phone)
When I insisted by email they start threatening me,calling me bad names,saying that I would never see my money back,that I could not make anything against them cause they are in UK but I cannot see them !!! They have been the most rudest persons by email !!! So be careful with this company !! I lost my £150 but I hope they cannot make this to more persons after me

emmam84
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/26/16

I had previously applied for a loan a while back and keep receiving txts for loans, this site was for a catalogue which I had to register for to then find out it wasn't legit & they took £66 from my bank account! It is a massive scam which happens probably hundreds of times a day to people who may not even realise, I was asked to pay 10p for a credit check then the next thing I know it wasn't a real website and they had my details then took the £66 from my account. I thought I was signing up for an online catalogue that I paid off over a period of time, how wrong was I! If anyone else has had this or is going through this then report it to Manchester fraud police ASAP this person needs to be stopped and the more people that report it, the more likely we will get justice for being a victim of this vile so called human being!

lisae75
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/16/16

I applied for a loan and said I had £200 after signing up I got £200 to spend with them on their $#*! products. They took £67 bank was wary about giving money back but I found these reviews and rang them and told them it's not just me. I got my money but it could get taken back. I've reported to trading standards and everyone should do them same and get them shut down. Fingers crossed and good luck to anyone else who falls for their trap

louisaw1
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/8/16

Please stay away from this company. they trick you into thinking you are getting a payday loan, then say its store credit after they trick you into signing things and getting your bank details. a few days later they take £62.50 out of your bank account and they wont answer your emails or phone calls!!! My bank is saying they are raising a dispute, but are unsure if I will get any money back as I signed an agreement. I have emailed action fraud and emailed catalogue club asking to cancel my account and that under act one of consumer rights I have a 14 day cooling off period, but I haven't heard anything back. I am hoping this review will save a least one person from falling into this scam trap!

celinem2
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/11/16

Have opened a fraud case with Manchester police and actionfraud I suggest you all do the same store credit has ceased to exist and catalog club are still in business but refusing to issue refunds anyone they needs information or help about this I will be more than happy to provide you with information I have

melaniea9
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/5/16

I accidently signed for this thinking it was a payday loan. The next day 65.90 gone from my account. Cant get a refund from the bank and cant get threw to these con artists on the phone. Emailed 3 times and still no reply. Stay clear at all costs. Absolute fraudsters who need locking up

peterd116
1 review
9 helpful votes
6/24/16

wish i did not signed now thought this was a payday loan dont want a store credit loan misleading i signed up by mistake and now worried they will be taking 62.50 from my account they are misleading and now worried ill be overdrawn with bank ill be phoning them up monday and bank also to try canceling it store credit is useless to me and no money has gone into account anyway misleading

alyna
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/1/16

Like all the rest reviews..... I wanted to buy a mobility scooter but I was £100 short I thought I was getting a loan until I logged in my bank and the b#^%*+¥$.... Had taken £50 out....my bank reported them to the ombudsman ..... Hope they sink and drown utter pigs...

fional16
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/30/16

I went on to a site for people with bad credit initially i was looking for catalogue then came across this as i am a bit broke and doing up my house i thought £200 at £66 per month repayments isnt bad so i gave all my bank details thinking they were putting it in my account, when i got the reply i was shocked as i knew at that point that something was amiiss i went on reviews and felt sick I have quickly gone and emptied my accounts and am now going to close the accounts i always thought i was quite careful and had sense this has shown me otherwise its that old saying if it appears too good it generally is just glad that i looked at it straight away or me and the family would be going hungry

susanr95
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/17/16

Took money from my bank set up a direct debit after i closed this account down after for a company of theres called whatlendercansee.uk i did not athourise this , I never used any of the credit and they are refusing too give money back which the have stolen , i am reporting them

peterj109
1 review
6 helpful votes
5/15/16

This company is in complete breach of every statutory law in the land. You have a legal right to cancel a contract within a 14 day "cooling off" period without charge. Ensure you quote when you demand a full, immediate refund. If you received a text, retain it as the message is misleading as it implies a payday loan and the intimation is you will receive a payment, not store credit.

If you don't get any joy getting a refund, contact your bank and advise them you cancelled the account immediately however; they still took the payment. The company can't dispute this and you will receive a refund from the bank. Do not enter a chargeback as they will argue that they have a contract signed (which they had for me however; it was signed under false pretenses) either way, you will get your money back.

After doing some research and checking other reviews, I have found they are also the same company as www.whatlenderssee.co.uk and when you sign up for this, they sign you up for other companies too and again take your money so check your direct debits as they will have also set up a mandate.

It also looks like they are based in Manchester, I have done some reviewing and discovered that they are related to a company called application link based in Manchester.

Good luck sorting this out and ensure you win!

pauls305
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/4/16

Had no money or products but they took 49.95 out of my bank from card! Then had set up a cpa in the name of a company called what lenders see! So cancelled that and my card! They then sent me a text to fill out a form to cancel my account! Which only asked for my bank sort code and account number plus a digital signature! Did not ask my name or for an account number for catalog club! So plane to see it was not going to be a refund as you don't have to sign for that conning b******s stay clear!!!!!!!

gillianc7
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/28/16

You CANNOT view the products before you sign up to their continuous payment authority therefore you cannot see that the products are ridiculously overpriced! a tumble dryer that would cost £200 in Currys or Argos is double that price in here. I never spent any money with them and they still took £49.50 out of my bank account. When I called to cancel my account, they told me i wouldn't be entitled to a refund!!!! robbing, scamming, thieving scum.

sted3
ste d.
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/22/16

scam asked to stop spamming said i applied for loan calling me a liar.What a way to do business!!! I posted reviews last year saying i had asked them to stop they said they would and have not do not do business with them. i have forwarded to action fraud. to make them aware and there liars they illegally obtain your information and call you a liar to be WARNED

suzanner15
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/18/16

was thinking of going with catalogclub but after reviews ive just read,I won't be,they sound dodgy

shanem54
6 reviews
5 helpful votes
4/11/16

This company is an absolute disgrace it takes money from vulnerable people who are obviously in desperate need of credit...such as myself on Carerers Allowance as i just wanted a catalogue for getting a few items for future purchases,applied for a loan and got store credit, didn't even make an order because the merchandise they were selling wasn't very good at all! Over priced and when you go on their main web page, they look absolutely legit,numerous amounts of products but when you sign into your own account on line the merchandise itinerary is non existent and limited options and over price products £150 for a breville fryer.Kettles £70 They having a laugh and to take some money out of my account even though I hadn't ordered anything; fortunately they had took my money out of my account and as soon as i phoned the catalogue club they wasn't very co-operative so i phoned my bank and asked to dispute the payment and informed the the fraud squad and Manchester trading standards regarding there activity straight away...There offering store credit that you can never spend and taking payments back in 12 monthly payments even if you haven't purchased anything, what a disgrace and this company should be shut down,also it is not registered in Manchester, their non-existent address trading business from a tower block in central manchester so they have no stock and purchase item via other sources and get posted out or get deliverd...CatalogClub.co.uk is the trading name of
R3TAIL LOGIC LTD
8th Floor, 80 Mosley Street, St Peter's Square, Manchester, M2 3FX.
Registered in England & Wales No. 08903635.
ICO Number ZA047839...but their really based in cheshire as the fraud squad say this address isn't even registered so all the details are fake.I think this company is also connected to store-credit.co.uk stay clear and avoid..report to Fraud line on 0300 123 20 40 or Trading standards on 03454 04 05 06 regarding a loan you don't have and can't spend but still the company takes payment for non purchases...absolute scammers.lets get this company shut down. Shane, Manchester UK.

Tip for consumers: don't use and avoid

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
taniah7
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/7/16

Do not trust this company. Gave me 350 today as I needed a washing machine. They immediately took a small amount from my account then sent repayment day starting tomorrow! I haven't spent anything, nor will I be after seeing their prices. Tried calling..qued ages then line goes dead! Had to contact my bank to let them know not to give these scammers any more of my money. Will be contacting trading standards too. How the hell do they think they can take my money when I've not bought anything. Absolutely furious, God help the person who does eventually take my call, I would be ashamed to work for this so called company!!!

samanthah38
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/5/16

i got sucked in to thinkin it was a payday loan didnt use the credit 2 days later they took over 75 pound out of my account told my bank they said they wound contact them then i got a letter of the bank saying it was my fault as i signed up so didnt get a refund. the thing is when your desperate you dont look at the review first but i will not make this mistake again been ripped of by two companys this one and happy crocky please beware im sick of getting ripped of

davew88
1 review
31 helpful votes
3/30/16

Thought I was getting a £400 loan and realised after it was a store credit thing , they have had just over £150 from my bank , I just phoned them and got through to someone after 3 long attempts , now bearing in mind I've never even logged into the account, got told no refund on the money that they have taken , is there anything I can do about this ?

simonf25
1 review
14 helpful votes
2/25/16

I applied to these guys after they sent me several text messages informing that my loan for X amount had been approved. There was no mention in any stage of the application process that in fact they weren't a loan company at all. They constantly go on about putting the money straight into your bank account when in fact this isn't the case at all.

After reading the reviews posted on this site and others, I contacted my bank first and foremost, to make sure that other than the 15p pre-auth payment they took, there was no way they were going to get any other money from me. I cancelled the Continuous Payment Authority (CPA), and then went as far as to have my card re-issued, as better safe than sorry.

This is the email I sent them, I'm posted it in case the content is useful to anyone else:

Hi Store Credit,

I wish to withdraw from this agreement with immediate effect on the grounds that I was mis-sold this product. At no point during the application process was I made aware that in fact I was applying for Catalogue Credit, and not a payday loan. I was told by your website that the funds would be available in my bank account and this evidently is not the case.

Your credit agreement has many unenforceable elements as well. For instance, how can I pay back all credit when I haven't spent anything. Just close my account and you will get your credit back.

Your agreement states that the first payment is due one calendar month after the date of the agreement (which would be 20/03/16), but then on other paperwork you have sent me, you inform me that my first payment is due on 25/02/16), which is not even the 7 days minimum notice you would have to give to a valid payment request. Your agreement also speaks about accrued interest becoming due after late payment, and yet the interest rate is quoted as being 0.0% so how is this possible?

I have informed my bank of the fraudulent nature of your company, I've cancelled the Continuous Payment Authority and I've had my cards re-issued to ensure you receive no payments from me, for credit I haven't used, through your fraudulent catalogue firm that poses as a payday loan provider.

If you fail to withdraw me from this agreement I will have no choice but to report you to Action Fraud. I will also inform the ICO, FCA and Financial Ombudsman of your unwillingness to co-operate and issue them with a copy of your bogus credit agreement for their records.

Kind Regards

**UPDATE**
Two days after sending this email, I received a one-line email informing me that my account had been closed. Hopefully this will be the end of it.

stevenc98
1 review
6 helpful votes
2/23/16

A big scam. i applied for a payday loan and was told i was accepted for £450, sent my bank details and card details as requested expecting the money to be paid in but i was then told it was for a catalogue, i didnt order anything but then when i checked my bank they had emptied my account. i phoned them up and when they answered they laughed at me down the phone and told me there was nothing they could do about it, i said it was fraud and they said they didnt care and that my bank had authorised it so it couldnt be fraud. i got in touch with my bank and they returned the money to me and said i would have to give a statement to the police and to the fraud team. This 100% is a scam as the police confirmed it to me, so if they havent scammed you yet then they will do at some point.....BEWARE !!!!!

loueing
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/19/16

They signed me up fraudulently, the signed contract is not hers (hence the Fraud). They attempted to take money, but could not as I proceeded to cancel any transactions from them. I suggest you consider filling a report with Police 0300 123 2040 and close these scammers down

sitah
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/18/16

signed up by accidant they tried takin money out of my bank even thou i had not used any of the money they said i have in credit limit,contacted them asking to close account and had imformed bank about there intensions to take my money for goods i had not recived closed my account a hour later

stefang14
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/11/16

Tried to email to cancel after applying in error from a third party site (was supposed to be a pay day loan). Then rang numerous times with no answer from there number listed on site. Had to call bank to block any payments, luckily I had no money in account when they tried to take funds. I have reported these to the police as they do not respond to requests and just seem to take money.

edytak
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/4/16

Again i hope i read this before ive applied! I was looking for a cash loan and got that! 300£ and i thought ok its a store catalogue i needed the money for some furniture so i'll be able use it anyway. But i didnt find anything worthy and interesting so i just left it. And then 75 quid went of my bank! I rung them they've cancelled my account but never give my money back as they say it was administration fee that they cant refund!!!!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There is no cancellation button as such. You have to use their contact form via their site and follow up with a phone call. In the meantime report ur debit card lost or damaged and get it stopped and reissued. The new card will have a different number and cant b used by store credit.

By Steve R.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I phone the bank because they took 75 out my account and when I phoned them to cancel they said they wanted a pic of my passport. Bank got my money back same day and said it sounded like an attempt at identity theft. Cancel ur card and tell the bank to block any transactions from them

By Carla W.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi there. Forget entering into ANY correspondance at all with this bogus company. Store-credit are just another name for Sell-Rent- Buyback limited, company num,ber 08376739. They are about to be struck off of the register and dissolved. You have inadvertantly entered into a Continuous Payment Authorisation (CPA) and if you contact your bank, using the phone number on the back of your credit/debit card, they are OBLIGED to fulfill any request to CANCEL these payments. Do it NOW! Good luck

By adrian b.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

you better not take any more money of me ive canceled

By samantha h.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

cancel your cpa with your bank

By simon j.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi there. Forget entering into ANY correspondance at all with this bogus company. Store-credit are just another name for Sell-Rent- Buyback limited, company num,ber 08376739. They are about to be struck off of the register and dissolved. You have inadvertantly entered into a Continuous Payment Authorisation (CPA) and if you contact your bank, using the phone number on the back of your credit/debit card, they are OBLIGED to fulfill any request to CANCEL these payments. Do it NOW! Good luck

By adrian b.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi there. Forget entering into ANY correspondance at all with this bogus company. Store-credit are just another name for Sell-Rent- Buyback limited, company num,ber 08376739. They are about to be struck off of the register and dissolved. You have inadvertantly entered into a Continuous Payment Authorisation (CPA) and if you contact your bank, using the phone number on the back of your credit/debit card, they are OBLIGED to fulfill any request to CANCEL these payments. Do it NOW! Good luck

By adrian b.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi there. Forget entering into ANY correspondance at all with this bogus company. Store-credit are just another name for Sell-Rent- Buyback limited, company num,ber 08376739. They are about to be struck off of the register and dissolved. You have inadvertantly entered into a Continuous Payment Authorisation (CPA) and if you contact your bank, using the phone number on the back of your credit/debit card, they are OBLIGED to fulfill any request to CANCEL these payments. Do it NOW! Good luck

By adrian b.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi there. Forget entering into ANY correspondance at all with this bogus company. Store-credit are just another name for Sell-Rent- Buyback limited, company num,ber 08376739. They are about to be struck off of the register and dissolved. You have inadvertantly entered into a Continuous Payment Authorisation (CPA) and if you contact your bank, using the phone number on the back of your credit/debit card, they are OBLIGED to fulfill any request to CANCEL these payments. Do it NOW! Good luck

By adrian b.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi there. Forget entering into ANY correspondance at all with this bogus company. Store-credit are just another name for Sell-Rent- Buyback limited, company num,ber 08376739. They are about to be struck off of the register and dissolved. You have inadvertantly entered into a Continuous Payment Authorisation (CPA) and if you contact your bank, using the phone number on the back of your credit/debit card, they are OBLIGED to fulfill any request to CANCEL these payments. Do it NOW! Good luck

By adrian b.
Questions? Get answers from the Store-Credit.co.uk staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Store-Credit.co.uk?
Post Review