Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

SelfPubBookCovers reviews

9 reviews
New York, New York, United States
Tel: 866-208-0266
sales@selfpubbookcovers.com

9 Reviews From Our Community

4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
2
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
2

All Reviews

leannee4
1 review
6 helpful votes
7/28/16

For many years I did photo manipulation as a well loved hobby. When I was asked by Rob the co-founder and art director of selfpubbookcovers if I'd like to join up, I was impressed with the site's presentation - it looked professional and they had a good way of how they set it up. Over the years they have added new features that benefited both authors and artists alike. They regularly advertise on social media, websites, venues and more. Since joining I've sold over 850 covers and am one of the sites top selling designers.

mariat71
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/26/16

I've been a digital artist for nearly 9 years. I used to make photo-manipulations and stylizations for a long time. But this was just my hobby and passion. Three years ago I accidentally found SelfPubBookCovers site. It turned out to be one of those encounters in my life. My book covers started selling and now more than 450 of them embellish books of authors from around the world. And this is wonderful!!!
Now I am concentrated on making premade covers which I sell through the site. Because, if you wish doing well, it's not enough just being a great artist. The next step is to promote and present yourself on a popular marketplace and this way the authors can see your works. This means a lot of work and money to invest. And this is my professional opinion as a Master of Arts in Marketing. As you can see, the Selfpub team is doing excellently. So we the artists can calmly concentrate on our main work: to create covers.
Rob as a creative director and top designer with many years of experience approves only the best quality covers on the site. He's in direct and non-stopping contact with us, the designers. His support, criticism, advices, guidance helped me a lot in my way and my growth as an artist and designer. We can always rely on Shoshanna's support as well.
I am happy and grateful that I am a part of this great team. ~ FrinaArt

Service
Quality
beej10
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/25/16

I have been a contributing artist with SelfPubBookCovers.com for almost 2 years now and I have sold close to 150 covers, thanks to the amazing team behind the site -- specially to Rob and Shoshanna, who have both guided me from Day 1 and helped me sell and promote my work through their website and other social media platforms.

As a multi-discipline artist who have been in the industry for over a decade, I have become very selective with the type of team and people I work with. I specially prefer SelfPubBookCovers.com as they treat me like family - to them, my success is their success as well. They 'get' me as an artist -- they understand my style and give me the freedom to produce works that truly represent me as an artist and designer. Rob is very handy when it comes to technical support (being a designer himself) and he has a keen eye when it comes to appreciating the aesthetic side of my work. While Shoshanna (who is a best-selling author herself), provides all the knowledge and experience from the publishing side.
Such a dynamic combination!

My sales on their site are always paid on time and conveniently itemised for my records. Also, they help me generate more sales by promoting my works through social media. As a result, I have also been commissioned to do back/spine covers for those authors wishing to move their works from digital to print. They are truly an amazing service and support both for authors and artists.

I could only say positive things about SelfPubBookCovers.com -- because that is what they are: a team of positive, supportive and caring people who are always there for the authors and artists alike. They are a force for good -- and anyone who has worked in the creative industries knows that's a rarity.

michelled92
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/25/16

I've been an artist with Selfpub for a couple of years now and they have shown me only great things, helping me get my covers out. Rob and Shoshanna treat me like family, I'm thrilled to be a part of Selfpub, it certainly has served me well. With close to 400 covers sold to date :) During my time with them if any problems ever came up they were very fast at resolving them professionally. All you have to do is look at the statistics and see the many happy artists and authors, to know this company works exceptionally well, treating authors and artists with respect and integrity, that is hard to find with any other companies out there. I'm very happy to say that I am among the hundreds of fellow artists and authors who consider this company as family.

victorh52
1 review
6 helpful votes
7/25/16

I have been in the design profession for well over 35 years and in that time I have worked with the good the bad and the dam right ugly. So when I joined Self Pub Book Covers I was prepared to see what category they would fall in over time. Well, I can honestly say from day one they have been one of the most professional, friendly and innovative companies I have had the pleasure to work with. There mission is clearly defined as is their terms and conditions leaving nothing unanswered. Any problems that I have encountered have been dealt with in a timely fashion to my total satisfaction.
Over the past year I have sold over 40 covers within my own particular are of choice, other artist have sold literally hundreds. What we have in place is a company willing to accommodate many tastes and styles giving artists from all over the globe a single market place where we can all work together providing finest selection of pre mades available to the market.
Of course we all know its business and we want paid for out time and this two is a simple straight forward transaction no catches.
There are many self covers companies out there but I have yet to come across one which is run with such enthusiasm or professionalism.
All you have to do is look at the statistics and the many happy artists and authors to know this company is head and shoulders over the competition and I am happy to say that I am among hundreds of fellow artists who consider this company as family.

ravenb6
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/25/16

I've started selling book covers about 1,5 years ago and had trouble getting the word out on my own. A friend recommended SelfPubBookCovers.com and after some research, I decided to upload a few covers to test the waters.
Rob, the owner, is extemely nice, very patient and always ready to extend a helping hand to a new artist, no matter the time.
Artists can decide on their own prices and only the best covers get approved. If the quality is not on par with SelfPub's standards, it will be declined.
As to date I've sold nearly 200 book covers thanks to this site and am now able to do this for a living.
Quite a few authors have told me how happy they are with their covers from SelfPub. If I weren't an artist myself, I'd definitely buy the covers for my books here (I'm also an author).

Tip for consumers: If you have any trouble with the fonts, don't hesitate to request help!

Service
Quality
rebekahs9
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/25/16

I've been freelancing as graphic designer for more than five years, and I have NEVER found as amazing an opportunity as SelfPub. Rob and Shoshanna are amazing to work with, and open to hearing concerns and questions from authors and artists alike. I honestly don't know what I'd do without SelfPub as a venue for selling my art, because it has opened a whole world of possibilities to me.

Rob's guidance in vetting covers and working together on projects has helped me to grow as an artist, and his critiques have helped me to be more critical of my art, pushing me to have an eye for excellence. This is a good thing for artists, and a good thing for the authors who buy art from SelfPub.

I can't say enough just how grateful I am for the way the SelfPub community of artists, authors, and owners support each other. It's been an all-around amazing experience for me to sell covers through them, and I hope to continue working with them for years to come.

danielao2
1 review
6 helpful votes
7/25/16

I am a digital artist, working with digital art for 11 years and my work is recognized worldwide. About 2 years ago I joined SelfPubBookCovers.com site, with only 10 covers posted I had already sold 3 in a few days, then I decided to focus almost 100% of my time doing covers for this wonderful site! Since I joined SelfPub, I have published about 730 pre-made covers, and has sold more than 320 for authors from all over the world!! Today, my greatest pride is my gallery at SelfPub: http://www.selfpubbookcovers.com/Daniela, to which I devote myself faithfully. The greatest pleasure of my life is to see my work stamping hundreds of book covers - ebook and paperbacks - around the world, and I'm sure that this would not be possible without SelfPubBookCovers! I can't imagine my life without this place that brings to my life so many good things. Thank you so much SelfPub's team and all the loyal authors!

halsp
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/24/16

Stay away from this place if you are serious about earning as an artist. They have very shady back door rules for designers and will hold your artwork hostage. The moment you have a seller, they try to sweeze more money out of them, making you look bad. These people are money hungry at any cost!

Response from Rob S., SelfPubBookCovers Representative
We are disappointed to hear that this artist had a bad experience selling a cover with us. Though we have hundreds of happy artists selling covers every week, who follow the Artist Terms of Service agreement, we have had only this ONE artist who broke the agreement and had to be permanently suspended from selling with us. In several emails, we informed the artist that he couldn’t post a cover on our site and then turn around and sell it privately “off the site”. We would not have so many repeat clients: authors who keep returning to buy cover after cover with us and artists who make their living working with us --if we didn't treat everyone fairly and with respect. We have opened a new revenue stream for artists- you name your price and get paid your commission automatically in 48 hours. Here’s a link to see all the artists who have sold covers on our site and the testimonials of the many authors who keep returning to buy their covers with confidence on SelfPubBookCovers.com. http://bit.ly/1mGobyS
Thanks!
~ Rob, Creative Director and Co-Founder. SelfPubBookCovers.com

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi there! We have quite a few werewolf covers on the site. You can either search for them by using the search bar at the top right of the page or, if a certain artist caught your eye, you can click on the artist's gallery and then search for werewolf covers there. If none of the covers fit, but you like the style of a certain artist, you can alert Rob via email, who will then help you make contact with the artist for a custom cover.

By Raven B.
Questions? Get answers from the SelfPubBookCovers staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
SelfPubBookCovers?
Post Review