Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of RockAuto

RockAuto reviews

Is this your business?
7 reviews
6418 Normandy Lane
Madison, WI 53719, US
Tel: 608-661-1376
service@rockauto.com

7 reviews with 4 stars

stevec263
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
1/18/18

The good. Have used rockauto several times. I have always received the parts on time or earlier and they were as expected,dirt cheap compared to locals and were the right part. Their site is easy to use and parts are very well described and many options are available.
The bad. This last shipment was a horror. Not all rockauto's fault. I order a water pump, a fan clutch, a ckt position sensor (verry cheap), and radiator hoses U/L. The fan clutch was in right box but part was wrong (stamp on part different) not RA's fault. The CKT was right and very well priced. The waterr pump heater tube was against the alternator hard and was not acceptable as it would work loose and leak. The lower heater hose had a bend that was too shallow and rested against the a/c condenser which would rub a hole in it. To their credit this hose was the same at all three major auto part stores with the exception of NAPA who had the right hose at twice the price. And RA gave me credit without returning the hose. Great. The water pump and clutch were returned with them giving me a "paid" shipping label which I consider a big plus to their credit. I will have to wait and see if I get credit for the returned parts but I am optimistic so far that it will happen.
The Ugly. Well, I paid extraditing shipping to get my ride back on the road and of course this shot that to hell I had to buy local parts to get it going which of course cost more though not that much more if you consider all of these problems. I would still definitely use RockAuto because despite these issues they made good up til now. The biggest black eye is they have absolutely no number to call or live chat to communicate with to get the ball rolling which is why I went local for the parts. Their only number is a corporate number which is a joke.

mikem501
4 reviews
3 helpful votes
6/17/17

I like the fact that the carry many different manufacturers of the same part. Rocks descriptions are good making it easier to get the correct part. Whats really cool is they offer kits, for ex. they offer a brake kit that has 2 rotors, pads at a reduced price.

The cons are: if you order a few different parts, they come from different places and each place adds shipping.

Tricks, you can get an oil filter for $2.5, but 4 bucks to ship, so order 4 at a time, this works well for items that are small and lite.

wernern3
18 reviews
17 helpful votes
10/6/16

Having order most of my parts from them, I find their pricing
and shipping to be on the excellent side of things.

They will in many case offer both economy, standard and premium
parts. The consumer has more options with Rock then with many
local parts stores.

Most of their shipping have been on time or quicker than expected.

The only issue was a return of a core, which required $20.oo bucks
via Fedx. I should have paid the ten dollars for the shipping label.
It took them about two weeks to process the return and credit the core
charge. Much to long, IMHO.

Do not order items on the Internet which will have a core charge, as the
hassle and shipping cost are not worth it. Just go to your local parts
store and avoid the core return.

I am surprised that customer service, in Madison, Wisconsin received so
many complains! I have called them on several occasions and never had issues
with the guys on the line.

Next time you call, press nine that you are a Packerbacker and maybe that
will improve phone service.

I give them four Stars.

damonh24
11 reviews
51 helpful votes
3/15/16

Good on all aspects. Have started using a different site now due to poor canadian dollar.
EDIT: back to being my #1 goto for parts.

daniele64
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/21/16

You can not beat the prices they offer.

carolc23
7 reviews
10 helpful votes
8/11/15

I use this company all the time. If a part is wrong, they have no problem either correcting it, exchanging it, or giving a refund. BEST PRICES around. The only draw back, don't be in a hurry as shipping takes a week - faster shipping is too expensive for the heavy parts.

steved72
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
7/17/15

Received part 3 days after ordered by USPS! :0)
Staff was friendly and glad to help.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Whare is my package. An $85 inside door panal. Part # 4029357733 .ca ordered 12/22/16 rock auto had no problem taking my money but apparently don't know how to make a shipment. Pissed

By Shawn c.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the RockAuto staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

4 Photos for RockAuto

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
RockAuto?
Post Review