Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Retrotoys

Retrotoys reviews

Is this your business?
18 reviews
Alief, TX 77411, US

18 Reviews From Our Community

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

alv1040
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/12/14

03/12/2014 So now I check their reviews . . I just received a purchased item from Retro Toys / US Purchase based in Texas. Well it was delivered but in pieces. I bought a reproduction wind up robot in it's original box. They wadded up two small pieces of paper and expected that to hold a toy inside a shipping box that was almost three times larger. The toy came out of the retail box and proceeded to beat itself to death from Texas to Illinois. Shameful - they have no right to sell ANYTHING if that is all they care. How convenient that you can't reach them by phone - EVER!

trishm4
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/2/12

Do not order anything from this site. Under the umbrella of uspurchase.com, this company also includes other sites listed below. They claim to have items in stock when they don't. If you try to contact them by email, (because you can not contact them by phone) they unleash the most insane rants on you by email that are as humorous as they are psychotic. Do not order anything from this trash can of a company. Here are several sites owned by the company active/inactive

70s Store
Action Gadget
Active Gadgets
Astro Toy
Astronaut Lunch
Battery Free Flashlight
Coke Retro
Favors Fast
Gay Supermarket
King Novelty
Mari Gras Discount
Novelty Toys
RC Jo
Retro Coke
Retro Novelty
Retro Tin
Retro Toys
Rubber Ducky Depot
Spiritual Imports
Toys Seller
U.S. Purchase

kennethn2
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/12/12

I placed an order with them. I never received it. I sent them a few emails that went unanswered. Finally, frustrated, I sent them an email containing the review from THIS page. they FINALLY responsed...by telling me that they don't pay attention to reviews and they canceled my order. I never asked them to cancel my order. They did it to be snippy because I dared tell them that they have a negative review. They were nasty in their email and not customer friendly at all. Not a place I wish to do any business with ever again. They are terrible. Stay away from them. They sell cheap junk, never answer an email and it is a rip off as far as I am concerned. Obviously there was other issues involved and they used my email as an excuse to cancel my order. THey made no effort to assure me my order was still open or would ship anytime soon. Just dumped me.

annam18
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/15/11

I ordered a Make your own hot sauce kit, which was suppose to arrive in 2-3 days after the order shipped. I never received my order, then found this website with all the terrible reviews. I then emailed him to cancel the order and called him out on his scam. He sent me an email calling me a "$#*!ing $#*!." Then he sent a following email about how to cancel, which I did. Then he sent me a long sarcastic email about how I should alert all authorities and the newspapers and saying "You would be a hero" and basically calling me an idiot. Then I responded sending him these reviews and wishing him "honestly a happy holiday season". The he told me to go "$#*! yourself", to which I replied "Will I still receive my full refund?" He then claimed I had been instantly refunded, which was visible on my website account. However, when I checked this on my bank account, no refund was to be seen. I filed a claim through my bank, and I also filed a police report for harassment. I also filed a complaint to the FTC, and to Zen Cart, which is the web provider that powers his websites. Since he has all my information, I was worried he could come after me with all those vicious emails. DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THIS SITE. You could literally send him the nicest email, and he will send you internet threats and call you names. Be careful.

erar
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/16/10

It is the WORST merchant I've ever dealt with. They charged my credit card however did not ship my item for one week after charging it. When I emailed them regarding status and my need for the item, they replies as follows:
"Sorry your book is too much read and we are just too busy to read it."

I replied by saying their service is bad and that I will not order in the future. They sent me this:
"Go f*** yourself you stupid b****.

I still don't have the shipment. Absolutely the worst. I simply do not understand how & why these arrogant imbicils are still in business.

victoriam5
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/10/10

I agree with all the above. I have never seen customer service as bad as at Retrotoys. It's laughable!

to323
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/5/10

DO NOT under any circumstances do business with this or any of the companies that US Purchase owns.

below is the exact transcription of an email exchange tracking down my order:

> Subject: RE: order #
>
> Thanks,
>
> We shipped your order overnight at lost money on the order.
>
> We will be more than happy to cancel the label and cut our losses.
>
> Just for the record Go $#*! yourself $#*!. You $#*!ing lowlife piece of ship. We hope your spawn gets $#*!ed in the ass by a HIV infested pedophile.
>
>
>
>
>
> From:
> Sent: Friday, November 05, 2010 1:07 PM
> To: Retro Toys
> Subject: Re: order
>
>
>
> Give me a refund now. I will never do business with anyone who treats their customers this way.
>
>
> On Nov 5, 2010, at 10:21 AM, "Retro Toys" <info@retrotoys.com> wrote:
>
> Just FYI,
>
> You are not that important to us. The only way this is going to get overnighted is if we still make a profit doing it so otherwise you will just get a refund.
>
> The next time you want a company to do something just to make you happy try leaving out the attitude. People respond better to nice over attitude. If you are serving up attitude we have already lost so why would we even try after that point.
>
>
>
> From:
> Sent: Friday, November 05, 2010 11:49 AM
> To: info@retrotoys.com
> Subject: Re: order #
>
>
>
> reference order #______
> We ordered 5 dozen ninja rubber duckies last Tuesday, October 26. We need this shipment asap as it is party favors for a shower tomorrow. Please give us an update on where the order is and when it will arrive. It MUST be here by Nov 6. You have already accepted our payment. Do what ever needs to be done to make this right.

ellenc1
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/6/10

I ordered an item with plenty of time for delivery, and when it had not arrived 10 days later I had to track them down (via email, as they do not have a phone number). I was told my item was "lost." I asked for it to be sent via upgraded shipping to meet my deadline. The response? I was told (with misspellings and poor grammar) to take my snippy attitude elsewhere.

I found the same item on Amazon... cheaper... and it shipped the same day.

Take your business elsewhere. RetroToys is terrible, both in terms of fulfillment and with their horrible customer service.

janinec1
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
6/28/10

This company accepted my order for 600 ducks knowing they only had 4 dozen on hand. I needed them for a fund raising event. when I sent an email asking when they would ship, I was told on the 21st. When I sent an email onthe 22nd asking for tracking, that is when they told me that they did not have enough to fill my order. Then I was told that I could cancel on the 24th if they did not get stock in. On the 25th, I sent 2 emails requesting that they cancel the order. I did not receive a response back. Today I sent an email stating that I did not recieve an response back and that I would like an acknowledgement. I also stated that I was surprised that they took my order knowing they did not have enough stock and did not let me know this fact. This is the response I got
From: "Rubber Ducky Depot" <info@rubberduckydepot.com>
To: pcarpenter1@frontiernet.net
Sent: Monday, June 28, 2010 1:26:39 PM
Subject: RE: Message from Rubber Ducky Depot

Oh really,

You want to serve up attitude them demand something.

Do your really think an email like this is going to get anyone to help you?

Why don't you call your credit card company and dispute the charge?

Customer Service
I wouldn't do business with these people if you paid me

silvanaw
2 reviews
12 helpful votes
5/12/10

Do not buy from RetroToys.com Item returned per their instructions and refund never given. No correspondence.

chriso1
656 reviews
3,146 helpful votes
5/11/10

Wow, what a remarkable bunch of reviews, how could I resist looking a little further into this one?

Frankly, though, a little is definitely far enough with this guy. Any further and I'd feel the need to wash.

This site is one of several hundred (though he wishes there were more, apparently, and was hoping to make 1000 by 2012) which are owned by a guy named Gary Giddings, self-described internet entrepreneur and political activist, retailer of rubber ducks to the gay community, and owner of both this mission statement:

http://garygiddings.com/

and the company which "holds" his domain names, some of which, including Retro Toys, have developed into sites and some of which have not.

Amongst the ones that have so far failed to join the list of 1000 out-and-out internet success stories are: "barelylegaltwink.com", "barelylegalvirgingirls.com", "amateurboycams.com", "barelylegalboysfu**ing.com", the frightening "whenbuttsattack.com", and "bendablefigures.com", which I fervently hope is just another toy site.

His company is called Big Top Domains (I hope that's also not a double-entendre) and it can be found online by adding a dot com to the end of that name. There may be adult language on the page and links may lead to adult content.

Covering his bases in other fields, he has invented some unusual religious domain names, including the oddly paired "christianssuck.com" and "gaysforchrist.com" which really should be mutually exclusive, though er well never mind.

Going back to retro toys, the site has attracted complaints on the complaintsboard.com site as well, so all in all and with the number of unfavorable reviews here already, I'd have to say this one should get some sort of award for Site Least Likely To Make It Beyond One Star on Sitejabber. And if there is no such award, yet, then here's a good reason to invent one.

bethp1
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/11/10

Complete and downright disrespectful, uses profanity! Never in my life have I EVER been treated this way by "customer service". When I failed to receive my $6.00 order for a stinkin jump rope, I sent a email to RETROTOYS, with no response back. Sent out another email bout 2 weeks later stating that this was the 2nd attempt at emailing and this was the reply I got:
-------------------
WE RESPONDED TO ALL YOUR EMAILS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
WE ARE NOT GOING TO DO IT ANY MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
YOUR ORDER HAS BEEN CANCELED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
GO $#*! YOURSELF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Outraged and confused by this. I sent another email saying:
HOW DARE YOU!! ALL I ASKED WAS WHAT I PAID FOR..WHY WAS MY ORDER CANCELLED???? WHERE'S MY MONEY THEN??? IT'S JUST A JUMP ROPE! IS THIS HOW YOU TREAT YOUR CUSTOMERS???? I HAVE A F WORD FOR YOU!! FRAUD!!!!!

Luckily right after i sent that one, i had a email come thru from paypal where they did refund me. So I sent off another one and said "thanks for the refund" To his reply:

You're welcome you $#*!ing $#*!.
------------------------------

I did get the last email in..
YOU GOT ISSUES!

Hope they get shut down..

caseym
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/27/10

they send nasty threat notes to their customers. I was shorted several items in the package they sent and they called me names and refused to help at all. The customer service is lousy. I am complaining to PayPal and also, please report these people to
https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

if anyone wishes to file an investigation with me, let me know. I plan to contact several agencies at once and get their site removed and out of business altogether.

darwind
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
4/27/10

these guys are crazy and unprofessional. they won't ship the correct things to you, or give any refunds

sethb
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/25/10

This guy needs to get back on his meds. I should be mad at the response but I can't help but laugh. Read on for a chuckle:

My Wife:Writing concerning shipment on Order #xxxxx

Ordered Sunday and it's now Thursday and the status has not changed from
"processing" also one of my items were refunded to me as an "out of stock"
item (X-Ray Glasses), but I see that it is in stock listed on your website,
if my order has NOT shipped and my previous item removed is IN STOCK than I
want it re-added to my shipment.
I did pay for priority shipping so that my package would be delivered by
Easter and if you are unable to ship to arrive before Easter than my whole
order needs to be canceled.
Please let me know ASAP when it expect my package and if we can reapply the
item that was removed.
Thank you!

Retro:The status never changes.

You know the order shipped because of the refund for the X-Ray Gogs.
If you received notice of the refund you should have received the ship
notification and tracking. If not check your spam filter. You can also look
in your PayPal account for the info.
USPS Tracking number xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
The X-Ray Gogs are a regular stock item. It never shows out of stock even
when it is.
You email is full of attitude. We don't play that game.
Feel free to refuse the package when it arrives and take your business
elsewhere.
You account is canceled and your email address has been added to our spam
filter so don't waste your time sending anymore emails.
Customer Service

My wife forwarding to me: lol

Me to Retro:Attitude? Really? Are you guys serious? If a customer is inquiring about the status of something why would you turn around and call them names. Thank you for your email though, I'm excited to share it with the reporters here, as well as all the other ones across the country We appreciate this kind of behavior from "businesses" so we can alert the public to the kind of people they might have the misfortune of dealing with.

All the xxxx newspapers thank you
Good luck in the future

Retro to me:
Print this.

Go f**k yourself, a**hole.

brookeb
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/25/10

Costumer service is laughable!!

My inquiry about "status and shipping" several days after order received this reply:

The status never changes.

You know the order shipped because of the refund for the X-Ray Gogs.

If you received notice of the refund you should have received the ship
notification and tracking. If not check your spam filter. You can also look
in your PayPal account for the info.

USPS Tracking number 9101128882300069604064

The X-Ray Gogs are a regular stock item. It never shows out of stock even
when it is.

You email is full of attitude. We don't play that game.

Feel free to refuse the package when it arrives and take your business
elsewhere.

You account is canceled and your email address has been added to our spam
filter so don't waste your time sending anymore emails.

Customer Service

After my reply, they replied back to me with:
"Go F**K Yourself A$*Hole"

Nice huh??

kellym2
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/13/10

these guy are absolutely crazy. I bought some items and five out of 14 were missing, they claimed someone "stole" them out of the box after they shipped, which is ridiculous, they tape on the box was never tampered with. they threatened all sorts of stuff: here are the letters I wrote and received from them:
Retro Toys
to me

show details Feb 12 (2 days ago)

If you are missing 5 then someone removed them after we shipped the order.

The package weighed to the ounce what it should weight when the postal
workers weighted the package.

We will have to report this to the postal police in the morning and let them
take it from there. This is a felony and taken very seriously by the postal
police.

As far as what we can do for you will have to wait until someone farther up
the chain of command comes to work in the morning.

Customer Service
- Show quoted text -

i requested a partial refund and they threatened "fraud" and "postal police" etc. all for like 13 bucks. so i went to paypal and was denied a claim. here is another letter:

We have been in business for more than 20 years. We have had to deal with things like you before.



First of all the package weighted 2 pounds as indicated by the electronic receipt provided by the postal service.



If it was short when we sent it out it would have shown up on the postal scale.



That is just a stone cold fact that can't be disputed.



We believed you when you told us the package was short. Reread the previous emails. No one made any claims that you had anything to do with the shortage. Someone removed the items before it was delivered to you. You made a false claim. Why did you feel you needed to do that? Did you think it would help you? Why did you feel you needed help?



We are a large company. We have over 10,000 items for sale spread over more than 500 websites. We have procedures to follow that take a few hours to complete. You filed your claim within minutes even though you were told someone would get back with you in the morning. Why would someone feel the need to be so impatient?



The fact that you filed a claim within minutes without giving time for our people to review and come up with a plan of action is very telling.



An action had been passed down on your case that would have instantly resolved everything but that is now delayed because you filed a claim, a claim that you will lose.



As soon as you either drop your claim or escalate it we will move on to the next step.



If you escalate the claim we will let you know our course of action as soon as the claim is denied, which it will but you don't believe us so please get on with it.



If you drop the case completely then we will let you know our course of action and get this behind us.



Your actions have delayed the process. If you had just taken a moment to think about how a large company would handle this we believe you would have taken a different course of action. Think about how much labor cost is involved in something like this. A large company like ours would take the less expensive course. The labor cost of dealing with this costs more than the order. So if you think about that you could have easily determined our course of action and you would not have felt the need to file a claim. A claim that is now delaying everything. A claim you will lose.



Customer Service

from me: the tape was never removed from the package.

here is the last letter:

This could have been concluded in just seconds but you want to do things the hard way so go ahead.



Your 5 astronaut ice cream would have shipped but you are hell-bent on taking a different course.



Doesn't make since to us.



Whatever course you take makes no difference to us as it will not change the outcome in any way it only harms you.



Now that you have made threats we can't even ship the astronaut ice cream. We can no longer communicate with you at all.



In the future you may want to consider that when you are dealing with a large company you need to give them some time to follow their institutionalized procedures and come up with a course of action. Same all your threats and time consuming actions for after you don't get what you want. Had you just keep cool and waited just a few hours you astronaut ice would have been on its way like would have been so much easier for you.



As to your conclusion about the label, well you are completely mistaken. The label has the eBay logo but has nothing to do with eBay. It is generated by Pitney Bowes via PayPal and this why the eBay logo is on there. We weight the package and generate the label. This is done electronically meaning the scale, the computer and the Pitney Bowes software talk to each other. It is actually very complicated and advanced software that takes the weight of the package and determines the best carrier to use then generates a label. If the package was short a USPS First Class 13oz label would have been generated. The biggest mistake you are making is the second weighing by the postal people. The package is weighted and scanned at the Alief, TX post office. The package is weighted twice. You lose.



Customer Service

from me: luckily I got a chargeback from my bank. do this if they do this too you. comments are welcome

julianneg
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/29/09

In business 20 years & this is your customer service best? - I tried to do business with Retrotoys.com, they also go buy the name US Purchases. They definitely had the best price on the item I needed. I placed my order on a Friday, two weeks before the items were needed. By Tuesday the status of my order had not changed. I began to get concerned as the only way to contact them was via email and their business address was listed as a PO Box. I learned from another order placed, these are two red flags and very suspect online business practices. I requested the status of my order within an hour and asked for a phone number to contact them. That set off a chain of offensive emails riddled with swear words and personal attacks such as don't you have a wife to beat, perhaps because I live in the state of Kentucky. While I tried to explain my reasons for setting a time limit on the response, their responses continued to get more and more insane. I urge you not to be tempted to do business with such unstable people on principle alone. Clearly they do not know the meaning of customer service. I am not sure how someone like that could stay in business for 20 years as they claim to have. Do not be wooed by the cheap prices. Something is obviously not right here. Order at your own risk and if you do, at least choose the Paypal option to better protect yourself. Maybe I caught them on a bad day but if not, consider yourself warned.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Retrotoys staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Retrotoys?
Post Review