Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of RentalCars.com

RentalCars.com reviews

Is this your business?
385 reviews
Sunlight House, Quay Street
Manchester, LONDON M3 3JZ, UK
Tel: 1465368706297
peterrooney@rentalcars.com

385 reviews with 1 star

angelab398
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/22/19

Booked a rental car and then tried to cancel but could never get through on the phone. Never used the car but they refused to refund me. Scam. Do not do business with this company!!!?!

victorias230
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/20/19

They charge me doble.
For 8 days Usd1,725 and usd 3,000 as warranty
I've been fighting since January and I still have nothing returned to my account.

ellenv21
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/19/19

Total fraude, they Made me pay 400 extra. Answer of rentalcars : you signed so you agree to,our terms. Scandalous , it was signing or not going on a holliday with my kids

markr734
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/18/19

Fraudsters/Criminals. This company gets you involved with Eurocars in Cancun Mexico. Then the problem begins. The insurance they sell you is not accepted and when you get to Cancun the price triples. Fraud. Unless you pay a $20,000 deposit. If you read the reviews you will see hundreds of others with the same experiences.

benw246
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/17/19

This company is a fraud. They took my money, gave me a confirmation code and left me high and dry. Customer service is non existent. I called from the airport but they were closed. I have sent numerous emails and have received no reply. They left me stranded at the airport and they could care less. Numerous emails to their corporate headquarters go unanswered. Given that they are in the UK there is not much I can do.

dc332
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/14/19

Rented a cheap car for £15, but after confirming I received the certificate outlining over £80 in additional and unaviodable fees. Although this was from Goldcars, it is rentalcars.com hiding these fees that make them accomplices. Scam company, avoid!

I will update if company contacts me for a refund.

jodya32
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/13/19

I booked a car on rentalcars.com. Got to the rental counter - no such reservation. They charged my card and I had no reservation. On hold for 40 minutes with of course no answer. Had to rent another car at very high rate. Now have been charged for 2 rental cars reservations and can't get refund. I am filing compliant with FTC and also filed fraud claim with my credit card. USE ANYONE TO GET A RENTAL CAR EXCEPT THIS COMPANY NO MATTER WHAT THE COST!!!

billyo21
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/9/19

Avoid rentalcar.com under all circumstances

My flight was cancelled so I was unable to get to the hire office before closing. I tried on numerous occasions, through email and phone calls to contact them to inform them I would be late due to a cancellation,to no avail. The following morning I finally got through on the phone to be told my hire was cancelled and I was not entitled to any form of refund. I explained if I was not entitled to a refund I would pick up the car later that day, only to be told if I wanted a car later that day I would have to rebook it and pay the full amount again.

Through no fault of my own and very unhelpful staff I am out of pocket.
I contacted enterprise car rental . The staff were courteous and could not do enough to help me. They were very apologetic for my treatment on my first visit to their country.

AVOID RENTALCAR.COM AT ANY COST THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF!!!

marcelom30
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/7/19

I reserve a car with them in Portugal, but I needed to cance my reservationl and no costumer service to answer my calls, and they keep over U$500 from me.

teel12
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/3/19

They charged my credit card for the rental and sent an email saying they had issues and can't process my credit card. I'm looking at my credit card charges and see the amount charged FIVE days ago. So I went ahead and canceled the reservation (30 days prior) and they NEVER sent me an email confirmation nor did they refund me for the amount... it's been 2 weeks. I just got off the phone with them. The rep said they had a system' issue and never received my payment nor did they receive my cancellation! Wow, really!? I'm staring at my charge right now! They told me it will have to be manually entered to get me reimbursed and that It will take 5-7 business days. I highly doubt it and will dispute the charges with my credit card company if I don't see any updates within 5 days. DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY!

jackk168
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/1/19

I booked $1,500 3-week rental for a mini-van in Austria. Same day of booking I arrived at airport and the rental car company didn't have the vehicle I needed, so I cancelled and went with Avis, who had what I needed. Now rentalcars.com charged me the full amount, saying that I can't cancel less than 48 before the pick-up. How can you cancel more than 48 hours before if you booked the same day of arrival? Also, how can one be expected to pay $1,500 for something they did not receive? This is fraud, and I am disputing with my credit card company. Whatever special deal you think you will get booking with rentalcars.com, believe me it's not worth the risk. Don't do it. Use a real company and don't pay anything up front. No voucher, just a reservation. Warn everyone you know... do NOT do business with this company. If my CC company doesn't charge this back, I am going to sue rentalcars.com. I don't care if it costs me $20,000... as long as it costs them more than the $1,500 they are trying to STEAL from me. They will not make a DIME off of me now. Had they charged me some reasonable cancellation fee (under $100) I might have grudgingly paid it. But no way are they getting a penny from me now. I will see them in court first. At this point it has become personal.

christineb352
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/1/19

No bargain here, believe me. They are not up front with hidden fees. Wound up paying an extra $211 for a what was quoted up front as $267 rental.. TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. Don't rent from them!!

missye8
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/26/19

I would give them a"0" if I could.So were pick up our car on Jan 17 in Liberia at the Budget Counter and the rep for Budget says the Liability insurance provided by you guys is insufficient and we will be charged $5000 if we so much as nick someone's car. SO frightened w and he says"GO AHEAD AND BUY THE ADDITIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE AND YOU WILL BE REIMBURSED BY US WHEN GET BACK AND FILL OUT THE CLAIM". He assures me he has noted all conversions and there is also a recording of our conversation and exactly what he told me to do and that we'd be reimbursed. I do as he said and purchase the extra $114.94 insurance ONLY because I was told we would be reimbursed. Get home, fill out the form, get a letter via email from Rental cars.com that they are processing my refund. Never see it show up. Then I get an email today that "they have reviewed the case" and will not be reimbursing us. A a top sales travel agent I will be posting for our 6000plus agents to suggest no one use this company. Terrible service., and directly lied to the customer. I am a travel agent and want to make everyone one aware not to use them!

vitaliil3
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/5/19

I rent the car on Check24 for 7 days, after that I came to the Frankfurt airport and they did not have the car what I booked and paid for. Also, they told me that I paid nothing, and if paid, it means not to them, and I need to pay extra. I do not know how the system works in this business, but it looks like I booked the car on Check24, then they booked on rentalcars.com, and they booked on "global rent". In the end of this story, They told me that they can refund only 50% of the amount that I paid, but it was there mistake that they did not have the car what I booked and paid for. Also, they charged for boarding crossing extra 20 EUR.
My booking number is 321780134

janisb36
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/27/19

just scam service, they charge before you can see actual cost of renting the car. and the fact, that you choose full insurance does not change that you need HUGE deposit.

albertl76
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/26/19

I booked a car with 2 drivers for a trip to New Zealand. Instead this company charged me for two cars, instead of 2 drivers. I notified them immediately in October (before I even left for my trip) and have had a huge run around ever since. I have proved this with everything they have asked for. My trip now is over so the car rental company in New Zealand even notifies them that only one car was taken. Still no refund. Every email is from a different service rep, they all ask again and again for my credit card statement, my booking number, and more. They asked me to phone and was left on hold to the uk so long my cell phone bill was outrageous. Still no resolution. I have had the run around so often I have now reported it as fraud to my credit card company. Beware! I will NEVER book with them again.

khwajas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/20/19

Have just returned from holiday to find out car hire company has charged me double rate for my hire and this after i already paid rentalcars.com..

normann13
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/15/19

Nice app, but if for any reason you have to cancel your reservation after the scheduled time of pickup, you will not be refunded. Even if you did not pick up the car. A cancellation fee would be fair, but they take the entire amount. My planned pickup time was 20:30 on the 3rd of Jan, I informed them of my cancellation 10:24 the morning after.

sandram507
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/6/19

I rented a car for our trip to Maui 2 weeks before arrival. Got an email to download the app to get my voucher. Wasn't my first time ever renting a car so waited two days before trip to download voucher from app which was required. I didn't realize this until I tried to get the voucher thru the app for which I had to create an account. To create the account I needed the app to send me a password to activate the account. I never got the password emailed to me and there is no way to speak to a human to try to resolve the issue. I ended up having to book directly with a rental company at the last minute meaning I had to pay a premium price.

avielr
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/27/18

I advise to stay away - deception and lies
Be aware! Don't order with this Company!
Fraud and deception can easily be written as the company's values.

I booked a car, received a confirmation with green arrow and the transaction was completed (could see it in my bank statements).
When I reached to Budget to pickup the car, they didn't have my reservation approved, claiming that I only received a quote by email.
I showed the representative at the counter the printscreen, confirmation email and bank statement with the visible transaction and he referred me to renatalcars service center.
A call of 30 minutes didn't assist us, the on the line representative didn't have any clew what happened, his manager basically told us that he managed to find the problem, probably related to an error with the online booking system. he told us that the money was refunded without offering us any real assistance to solve the situation in which we already had plans for our weekend vacation but didn't have a car (we checked with other agencies in parallel, all were fully booked) - so no solution and our weekend was ruined.

I filed a complaint. after couple of days another representative called me, asking what should be compensation that will satisfy me as a client. although I really wanted to tell him that 1,000,000 will do the job, I was polite and told him that he should be the one whom makes the offer.
he offered 100 Euros, I didn't think it was sufficient but I just wanted to get it done and move on.
I was told that the complaint center will revert to me by email.

3 weeks after this call, the complaint center did revert to me, stating that a compensation of 100 euros was approved and will be transferred to my account within 10 business days.

2 weeks after, when I didn't receive any reply I sent them a reminder. they replied that they before the will transfer the compensation amount they need to see over the bank statement my name, my IBAN and the SWIFT/BIC code - all on the same document. I replied that this is absurd but nevertheless i will search for such a document.
I dragged myself to my bank branch - they were surprised as well, mentioning (something that I already knew and mentioned already to rentalcars) that the BIC/SWIFT codes are non confidential details which can be found over the bank website, and also not
being printed over the bank statement.
They offered a solvency statement Instead, which I happily sent to the complaint center - another official document from ING bank which they confirm that I hold an account with them, adding a fancy signature of the bank's CEO.
I though that now rentalcars will come to their senses, but they didn't. I sent over 15 emails, called 5-6 times talking to multiple representatives and nothing helped - their answer remained, asking for a document that doesn't exist.

I was thinking out of the box and offered them an alternative - I will book a car with them, and they can apply 100 discount over this new booking. they agreed.
I did as they said, also have 2 emails from 2 different sales managers that confirmed that i will get the refund in a form of 100 discount, but nothing happened.
Instead, the representative from the complaint center was blaming me that I didn't followed their procedure in order to apply the discount (BS).
You just made me paying you more money... sold me another product by misleading me (and it is irrelevant if this time the rental went smoothly).

RENTALCARS - as i have stated in my last email, you can keep the 100 euros for yourself, it's fine... my compensation would be the collateral damage that this bad review will cause to your revenues.

100 Euros is a small amount... but seeing how you are dealing with your costumers, can't even keep your own promises, makes me wonder how impossible it may be to receive a claim refund from you for your so call 'full protection insurance' (yeah right!).

If anyone from you quality control wish to dig into my story feel free, my complaint booking ref number was: 533330728.

mirnar5
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/13/18

I have booked a car by using their online website, I was supposed to rent from Europcar Ponte Nuovo (RA) Italy, for one day.
I checked if my debit card was accepted and their website (you can verify this) said yes. They have immediately withdrawn about 80 euros from my account.
When I visited the local agency to get the car, the clerk was in a hurry because she had another client after me. When I paid, she tried once to use the card, then she said it was not working. She quickly asked another customer, while suggesting to ask rentalcars for my refund. She didn't even greet me.
The overall story took about 5 minutes.
I have contacted rentalcars, and they replied they can only refund half of the amount.
Basically, I have wasted about 30 euros and didn't have the honour to have a second attempt for my card.

The customer service of rentalcars has contacted the local agency and the lady has promptly replied that mine was a prepaid card. I have a bank account and this debit card was emitted from the bank. It is not prepaid, since their website had withdrawn my money.
Keep in mind, they accept a card when you book, but then refuse it when you go to the agency, then you waste the amount you paid.
Update.
The customer service suggested to contact them today, after the end of the "supposed" rental, and this is what I did. But I have just received this email:
"Gentile Sig.ra xxx xxx

Grazie per averci contattato in merito alla Sua prenotazione con Europcar in Ravenna, numero di riferimento 326556030, completata in data 2018-12-13 11:00:00.

Ci dispiace venire a conoscenza che non sia riuscito a ritirare l'auto.

Europcar disponeva dell'auto per l'orario previsto dalla prenotazione.

Sfortunatamente, a causa della Sua mancata comunicazione in tempo utile, non siamo in grado di effettuare il rimborso.

I termini e condizioni sul nostro sito indicano che non sono previsti rimborsi per le cancellazioni richieste dopo l'orario di ritiro. Potrà inoltre consultare i termini e condizioni della Sua prenotazione dal voucher.

Ci dispiace che non abbia potuto usufruire del Suo noleggio e ci auguriamo di risentirla per la prossima prenotazione.

Il Servizio Clienti di Rentalcars.com"

Basically, they say I have informed them too late ( so, yesterday was too early, today is too late, the length of the rental was 1 day, so..)

aracelif2
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/13/18

Rentalcars.com needs to vet and consistently evaluate its rental car partners - I had a TERRIBLE experience with Green Motion in Orlando, FL; judging by the queue of 10 people in the customer service line that day, I know my experience was shared by many others. Green Motion rented me an unsafe car - the car had a broken speedometer and tires that could not maintain safe air pressure. I realized the car was unsafe about 30 minutes into my first time driving it; however, I was in Orlando to officiate a wedding and had a very tight time table, so I couldn't immediately drive back to return the car. I called Green Motion to notify them of the issue, and after over an hour of back-and-forth, they finally took responsibility for the unsafe rental. They proposed to offer me another rental car, but at that point, I did not trust their quality of service and safety precautions - I declined and asked for a refund. They said they could not refund me the cost of the rental, which I contested for weeks.

About a month later, I decided to pursue the refund with Rentalcars.com since Green Motion refused to refund me. At that point, I was told by a Rentalcars.com customer service representative that because I did not call Rentalcars.com directly during the incident, I could not receive a refund - this is ridiculous! I did my due diligence of reaching out to the actual car company, which took several hours of back and forth. I shouldn't be beholden to then follow up with Rentalcars.com within the same window, especially when I had other more important things to attend to, such as OFFICIATING A WEDDING. I placed my trust in Rentalcars.com to secure me a reliable rental so that I wouldn't need to worry about the car and could focus on the reason I was in Orlando in the first place; instead, my trip was interrupted and impeded by getting an unsafe car - I had to take taxis/ubers to get around which was HIGHLY inconvenient and deal with an unnecessary issue of bad service during a very important trip. To be told that I couldn't get a refund because I waited to report the issue to the third party booking agency is frankly unacceptable. AVOID AVOID AVOID RENTALCARS.COM - it's not worth saving a few extra dollars to then have your whole trip messed up.

marcm161
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/4/18

One agent of Rentalcars canceled our reservation by phone with us, as we needed to do a new one due to some wrong information. They told us the money would get paid back to us immediately, as we needed to pay again for the new reservation. But we never got the payment of the first reservation back! On top of it WE HAVE BEEN CLAIMING SINCE AUGUST THE REIMBURSEMENT and their argument is that since then they are incapable of verifying with the local supplier office that that car from the first booking wasn't picked up. Is totally ridiculous and a total scam !!
Don't spend your money on these service! It's a pain!

markf388
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/4/18

Even though they admit that I am due a refund of my deposit (about $200 USD), they have refused to refund it for more than three months despite my constant demands. They constantly engage in evasive tactics, including writing to you from e-mail addresses that they say you can't respond to. So how are you supposed to respond?? The point is that they get you make a deposit with no intention of ever giving it back. It's theft, plain and simple.

angusd11
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/29/18

Booked a hire car with full protection Insurance. Advised I would need to pay a deposit on collection. I was advised that I would get this back if I returned the car. The deposit was only partly refunded, £122 withheld saying this was an additional insurance Policy! Don't use Rental Cars or GoldCar

1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Took their bait of "Free Cancellation" and made a reservation then found that the coverage they were including for Iceland was bare bones. Found that for the same cost other rental car companies in Iceland include CDW so cancelled my reservation to get an email back that my deposit had been 'forfeited'. So beware "Free cancellation" is a bait and forfeiture will be the switch if you cancel. If you don't cancel your cost for CDW could double your cost. Then you can also imagine the CDW that a sneaky and scammy outfit would provide you. To carry your own CDW for any car rental I recommend the coverage provided by Allianz. I found them under my AAA membership. Go to aaa.com then look under Travel > Travel & Trip Insurance. Currently the per day cost for 40K USD covergae is $9.

By A M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I totally agree and I also mentioned the same in my review but the 1 thing I always wonder that when you search for the rental cars, this company appeared with 4 star ratings. It seemed that this company is so CROOKED THAT THEY EVEN TEMPERED THE RATINGS AS WELL.

By Javed W.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Stay away, if something goes wrong and you cannot pick up the car, they will keep your money. All of it.

By Norman N.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

John P Mate I was unfortunate enough to contact these Criminals and pay them money I have nothing to do with them and am simply warning other people not to be fooled by them and to loose therehard earned money. Take up your complains with Rental car. Com if you want to f and blind direct it to them. I understand the frustration with this company. Steven P thank you for your response to John P What a world!!!

By Jean l.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No.

By Xophe X.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the RentalCars.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

4 Photos for RentalCars.com

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
RentalCars.com?
Post Review