Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Metro Garage Door reviews

Is this your business?
4,446 reviews
Tel: (612) 276-3891

4,446 Reviews From Our Community

All Reviews

judyl90
Judy L.
7 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/12/18

MGD services were unbelievably prompt for routine service, showing up early the next day after I posted an email request very late the previous night. The service person, Will, was friendly, accommodating, and completed the requested services in a very short time, in spite of very cold temperatures that he had to work in. I am a repeat customer of this company and have happily recommended him to my son who is a new homeowner.

frankd184
Frank D.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/12/18

everything was great...timely, professional, exactly as quoted... would definitely recommend to friends & family...

reneek33
Renee K.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/12/18

Great customer service when scheduling appointment and the technician was very professional, my door is working perfectly, couldn't ask for better service!

kennethr98
Kenneth R.
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/12/18

The first guy that came out did not know the spring had popped off so he didnt have the parts - so they had to reschedule causing me another day of lost use of my vehicle. Why did not the person who took the call tell the repairman what the problem was?

susank106
Susan K.
24 reviews
1 helpful vote
4/12/18

Very responsive, service within hours of being called. Technician assesed problem and was able to repair immediately. Price competitive with other garage door service companies. Technician very polite and efficient. Thanks!

brianm383
Brian M.
18 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/12/18

Chad helped us select, and Will installed it all and made it work. Metro showed up when they said they would, were informative and pleasant, did a great job, and picked up afterwards. We're very pleased.

marissas31
Marissa S.
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/12/18

i have always been very pleased with the service and jprofessionalism that i received from Metro Garage Door. until march 16, 2017, that is.

the garage door opener that i just had installed within the last three months was not functioning properly, so i called and made a service appointment. i explained the specifics, asked/verified that there would be no charge to me, since it was still very much a new installation.

after the serviceman spent all of 18 seconds assessing the situation, he informed that the eye sensors must have been misaligned. they weren't by the time he got here, of course. and apparently this misalignment is the ONLY time the overhead light blinks (unless there has been a power outage).

to add insult to injury, i was now being charged $72.00.

which brings me to my complaints about how this was handled.

1. after explaining that my overhead light was blinking, and because there is only one cause for this to happen, i feel that the person answering the phone could have mentioned this. i realize she is probably not a garage door opener technician, but we all pick up the easy things when we work at any given job. lights are blinking? oh... there is only one reason that could be happening. and if she didn't know the answer? ask! or at the very least...

2. when the technician assigned to the call saw in the description that the overhead light blinking was one of the "symptoms" described, give the customer a phone call. explain the simplicity of correcting the problem. give THEM the option of trying to troubleshoot the problem themselves, or make the decision of going ahead with the service request.

3. specifically asking about the possibility of my being charged apparently was not sleuth-like enough. on the back of their tickets it lists a couple of the things that are not covered under warranty. okay...that's one thing i guess i need to learn to do better. read the fine print.

but the way they word the initial trip charge is an altogeither different issue. the trip charge, i believe is $42.00. period. if they drive to your house, you owe them $42.00. what they DON'T mention is that the initial 15 minutes of their visit is an additional $30.00 ... so in essence, their trip charge is $72.00. because i doubt if they drive to your house, are they not exiting their vehicle. for even 18 seconds, which is what happened in my situation.

it's really too bad, because i thought i'd finally found at least one place i could recommend with no hesitation.

andyc154
Andy C.
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/12/18

Call Thanksgiving and the tech was out here the next day, Tech was quick and friendly. Great service!

craiga24
Craig A.
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/12/18

Great , quick and efficient. Friendly nearly instant service when needed. No hesitations on recommending

debrag101
Debra G.
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/12/18

We have been using your services for 20 years, excellent job with time. Quick and great job, Thanks!

4.4K additional ratings and reviews were submitted through Shopper Approved, but only the most recent reviews above 100 characters are displayed.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Metro Garage Door staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Metro Garage Door?
Post Review