Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Meetup

Meetup reviews

Is this your business?
13 reviews
10012
arbitration-opt-out@meetup.com

13 reviews with 3 stars

georgel253
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/7/19

I used Meetup to meet with other developers to code. This innocent activity works without any issue. But as many people said, there are some issues when you want to do political meetings. Another annoying issue is that I get every meetup 3 times in my Calendar. That is so annoying.

henryb178
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/26/19

Hi, i am a 24-year-old male, and i finde every one on the group is in there 30's and unwilling to talk that much. just be advised that some of the people you meet with are creeps. i remember one time i wanted to go out for a drink with someone and see if we could be possible friends, he seemed uninterested in what i had to say to him and tried to talk to evrey girl he could see. a red flag came up in my mind, as i was just trying to go out and have some fun, and get drunk, it's harder to do with some creepy guy there trying to flirt with every woman he lays his eyes on. i only would do it if she was interested in me, if not i just talk to other people. I used to go to this volleyball group in new west which i liked alot, but it was ruined when some new person came and decided to do two vs two volleyball, and treat me like $#*!. he literally camped out and hogged the second court alot longer than the 30-minute rule. also, he had his own possy and did not include me in the games.

i am still having a hard time meeting people, as the people that go to the meetup groups just seem like they want to "meet up only, and not make friends." i have had some good experiences from it though, and met some good friends, but still, watch out for the creeps people!

( sorry for the long review guys,)

martinj65
1 review
9 helpful votes
2/23/18

Meetup remains a wonderful idea for bringing together like-minded people. Unfortunately, the new web page and its tools for scheduling Meetup events are dreadful. The old system was fine and very easy to use. Like so many other businesses, Meetup has 'thrown the baby out with the bathwater'! A couple of updates and a bit of adjustment would have helped but Meetup techies have abandoned the old web page completely and come up with something which is far from user friendly and has made it much more difficult to schedule and amend events.
The only redeeming feature is that, in order to charge money for an event, you can transfer to the old page!

carlose27
24 reviews
71 helpful votes
12/5/17

This is the age of social media and Meetup is the new way to supposedly "meet" people. Although it is easy to sign up, some groups are excessively exclusive to join. Some group leaders also suffer from mental problems or drama and will block/remove you from their group for unexplained reasons. Some groups are just plain phony where you pay to attend an information seminar and the hosts are just charlatans who use it as their way of making a living.
Meetup has not helped me find real friends, yet there have been some good free events worth attending. Your Mileage Will Vary.

aayusha1
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/4/16

We all know Meetup is a famous platform and a concept very well implemented, but I gotta say that both the website and the mobile keeps crashing and hanging!

The tech end of the website sucks and there isn't even a feedback section!

Nuts.

meowem
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
3/14/16

I was a member since 2005. I attended my first meetup in 2006, met my longterm bf of nearly 4 years that day which unfortunately ended badly with a horrible break. I then met a close friend not long after the break up at another meetup and met many nice people, none of whom became more than meet up friends but who were nice people to occasionally spend time with.

I had my frustrations with meetup: endless rsvps and warnings not to cancel at short notice or you will be deleted from a group- I find this ridiculous since life happens, we get sick suddenly, emergencies come up etc. Bad instructions to meet up locations, early morning only events and such, event organizers who don't show up, don't wait for the group, don't communicate via email, and one who refused to give more specific parking directions to an event because I hadn't signed up for the meetup yet. The worst was probably when I was on a hike, my blood sugar was dropping and I and another woman who had bad knee pain lagged behind and the leader never even noticed or asked if we needed help. Overall it was a good experience and the people organizing events were nice.

I hadn't logged in on my phone/laptop for 2 months maybe due to having too much going on and I tried to log in the other day to find Meetup has deleted my account, with no notification. I received a response that various email providers such as yahoo/aol etc. require that if an email isn't working and or someone hasn't used the account for 6 months their account should be deleted. I know I had logged in in a six month period so this is bogus. My email is still working, it's not a yahoo/aol etc. I'm very disappointed that all my groups and friends are gone now, I had some old comments from friends I wanted to keep and who knows I might have wanted to click on those friends and look them up at some point again. How does meetup justify deleting a member account in good standing without even notifying them?? Very upset!

betsyk4
1 review
7 helpful votes
1/11/16

The success of any MeetUp is really about the organizer ( Westerville 40's = the organizer is not kind, graceful, nor diplomatic) and of course the people who join the group. But again, if the organizer is accepting, treats everyone equally, and doesn't promote gossip then it's likely the group will be successful. If an organizer has pure intentions of getting people together we must assume that people are adults...don't micromanage!

In my somewhat limited experience the best groups are the ones which draw sports minded people together, such as kayaking or cycling. As a cautionary note it is probably best to never use your full name nor tell where you live or what your profession is. There will always be creepy people and if someone messages you via the MeetUp site-- simply ignore them!

janed118
2 reviews
44 helpful votes
11/2/15

Meetup really is a fantastic concept. As with ANY "semi-anonymous" public forum in the new millenium, whether its online dating or meetup, its YOUR responsibility to use caution when using these venues to meet people. Like many unscreened social situations, there are a few good ones and sometimes just as many bad ones. Since the good ones arent a concern, I will mention more on what I think of as "predatory" people (this very much includes the organizers!) There are alot of "beware" articles about how meetup groups/online dating are the natural hunting grounds for antisocial people who need an endless supply of new "victims" to prey on. Its not scary if we just inform ourselves & learn how to socially screen better. Pay attention to behavior rather than words. Take note of people who seem to always be propagandizing some agenda or "fake image of themselves" that doesnt add up over time. It is quite common to find that many come in with "fabricated selves" (which is suspect in itself) & aren't actually who they say they are. They maybe are in deep financial trouble or have criminal backgrounds and looking for innocent/generous suckers to seduce. Lots of narcissists who burn through people like wildfire & need alot of attention. Similar to facebook addicts with 500 shallow friends who they create a false life for "instant-gratification-attention-getting". Ive noticed many organizers of these groups end up being exposed as very immature, childish &/or narcissistic. Some organizer may actually have 'Delusions of Grandeur' or are "doesn't play well with others" types, unless they, ofcourse are the "Master" of all. Disturbing are the ones who view the people in their group, not as adult individuals, but as their own personal fan club or dollies in their toy room that need to be punished if they "misbehave" (ugh, watch out for these types of organizers, possibly dealing with some "undiagnosed" mental issues...and Im being kind.) Ive seen some brutal games by women that would disgust even satan on his best day. When people complain that meetup is 'full of losers'...it actually may have to do with the fact that the organizer is "running off' the "winners" because they see them as competition, yes, sadly this is not at all uncommon.Narcissists, sociopaths, sex/love addicts, gold diggers, double lifers, CONS, stalkers,"poor lil' ol me, Im a victim" divorcees/bankruptees looking for kind & generous suckers (both male & female on all examples). Depends on luck & location sometimes, most of the rats are in the social mix groups rather than the specialized/focus groups. Refrain from giving too much sympathy/$$ generosity $$ /attention to anyone until you've known them awhile. If it feels like an organizer/member wants something more from you than what the meetup advertises ie. (trying to control who you date or befriend, tends to only focus on the wealthier people, expects you to be their personal "lackey", or coerces (every) nightly drinking companions) its NOT a good sign-- If an organizer/member seems to be asking more about your love life or wealth/employment/finances than you feel comfortable sharing...MOVE ON. Women, keep your information/address private no matter how attractive, harmless or charming the people seem (***beware of the MOST charming men AND women, they may be EXTRA charming for a reason). Girls be wary of other girls too, your new "bestie" may be stalking your house 3 months from now to see if you are dating a guy she is obsessed with. In this wonderful new age of internet connections, its OUR OWN personal responsibility to become more informed about social screening. If you dont know what a 'Narcissist" or a "Love Addict" is, GOOGLE it. Educate yourself! If someone seems like a fraud, run a background check.Feel free to share this review with others you know in meetup groups! Knowledge is the key to our social success in this day in age. You are in control of which social situations are best for you, be informed! Common sense in an anonymous world!

kayl263
4 reviews
30 helpful votes
6/7/15

The concept is a good one. The biggest problem with Meetup is the quality of people, and there's not a whole lot you can do about that. Every Meetup Group that I organized had a lot of people joining. The biggest problem is that people don't show up to events once they join, and they don't let the organizers know if their plans change. And they have no awareness that the organizers are paying to host a Meetup. They get irritated when you ask them to monetarily contribute to keeping the Group running.

I've taken to deleting people from my groups that don't check the page or haven't been to a meeting in 3 months. Everybody's busy, and they should choose activities that they really are going to participate. This is a big help, especially now that Meetup is now charging more money based on members of your group. It's pretty sad when you see groups of 200 people, and only 5 show up at a time to meetings.

Customer Service has been great. Quick response time.

markh102
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/22/14

Meetup has good facilities for organizing group members and events. It's easy to design your own page and set up events, even collecting money for them. Clubs who start using it need to be aware that it's really hard to stop using it, because if you stop paying fees, meetup will email everyone else in the group asking for another organizer to step up. So, if say you start a club called Harley Riders of LA County, but then decide to move to your own website, it's really difficult to take your meetup members with you. You need to email all the membership and then manually delete all group members, otherwise they will all keep receiving emails from Meetup that your club is closing down if a new organizer doesn't step up.

lawrencee7
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/26/14

It varies from one Meetup..to the next Some people are sincere, some aren't , some are well attended some aren't They try to get people to meet based on their interests and they have many actitivities

nealw11
3 reviews
8 helpful votes
11/26/13

I've used this site for years for organizing social network events. The reason I used this site instead of facebook events pages was because I didn't trust facebook. Facebook has made significant changes to their site without notifying subscribers on many occasions. Well... After using meetup.com over the years and PAYING for the page, meetup.com has made subjective format alterations to the page as well. It is one thing if Facebook makes changes to a free page. However, paying for a meetup.com page and having them reformat the product that a customer has paid for, without their permission was very disappointing.

davidt63
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/11/13

You really have to go and try some out. Some are worth the $ and others just rip you off and all they care about doing is TAKING your $ and offering very little (i.e. Soul City Social Club). The more the charge the more your should be weary or just avoid them completely.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

All Meetup has now is a database of names and a reasonably efficient way of routing new members to your group. But the tools for organizers are wretched and, by design, have gotten worse. This is the only company I've ever seen that doesn't care what the application users, in particular the organizers, want and need. The list of bad changes is very long--and they don't give a damn. And to add insult to injury, they are inept at application development and coding. They pushed out what might be laughably called alpha code and then scrambled to fix issues, saying "it was a work in progress." A major software release should not be a work in progress. Without comment, they remove functionality. For instance, when asked why they removed the ability to post a note on the calendar, their answer was that "only 3% use the feature. So what--now only 3% are pissed? leaving the feature cost them nothing. I evaluated software from Microsoft and others for a living. Meetup by far is the worst I have ever seen. The "show runners" should be fired and given bad recommendations. And when a competitor comes along that is competent and cares about its users, Meetup will disappear and we'll all celebrate. The organizers en masse don't just dislike the app, they dislike the folks responsible for the mess that Meetup has created.

By John E.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

What is truly interesting is who is supporting the #resist agenda. All these organizations and their leaders have past or present connection to the top politicians. #Resist is a simply a part of the agenda to justify the taking away people's guns and basic rights. They want you to resist so they can sit there and lie once again how it wasn't their fault and there was no other choice. Then Meetup comes up with their new rules which makes you sign your rights to privacy away just to be a member. Seems to me Meetup was also part of the agenda right from day one. And to think people stand up so proud and claim they are educated. What a joke, they controlled your education from the day you were born. If you really want to resist, educate yourself to the truth of what this world is about and where we are headed.

By Gerry S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Karen, each group leader sets the groups purpose and requirements so yes, many groups do not discriminate on marital status. To be sure, contact the group leader for the group you are interested in

By Susan S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

On the front page/landing page for the group click the more tab, then select "report this group"

By Scott H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It doesn't exist.

By Valerie P.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The only way to contact them is support@meetup.com and they only answer your questions when it's convenient for them. I am an organizer and have sent them several emails over the past month and I've received only 2 responses. The rest of the issues have not been address and I am still waiting on a reply.

By Jamile S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes. Organizers pay a fee.

By Laura C.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

@ MW. because they suck for service and protecting the members, but we all know that if you pay you get fantastic service right?

By Scott H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Most complaints about organizers have to deal with disagreements about how things should be run. If you don't like the organizer or how they run the show, find another Meetup. I have been a successful organizer for many years and there are personalities I just don't gel with. I look at the numbers in my group and listen to feedback and know it is not always me.

By Susan S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

When a organizer makes it personal how do you make a complaint.

By sherry A.
Questions? Get answers from the Meetup staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

9 Photos for Meetup

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Meetup?
Post Review