Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Meetup

Meetup reviews

Is this your business?
283 reviews
10012
arbitration-opt-out@meetup.com

283 reviews with 1 star

fuky8
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/16/19

Meetup for Event Hosts is an ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE !!! If I didn't read these reviews I would still be certain someone has hacked my account and is undoing everything I post. GET IT TOGETHER !!! WHAT A WASTE OF TIME !!!!

aaronf93
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/22/19

I have nothing nice to say about Meetup. Let me just give you the #Facts and by stating the facts with Meetup will automatically place in you on their $#*! list bc your words are Conservative. I have created harmonious and enjoyable events and there were ppl who did not RSVP but had the intention to bring their negativity to a sophisticated party. I had reported accts that had vile nudity as their profile pic and Meetup attacked me by banning me instead of solving the issue. Meetup allows bad behavior if the acct appears to be liberal left. I have not brought politics into until now. But Meetup has shown me prejudice bc I hold a higher standard and support those who enjoy class and sophisticated events. This is why when you decide to sign up with Meetup. The members do not attend or engage in discussion bc they are silenced when they have done nothing wrong or never went against these policies. https://help.meetup.com/hc/en-us/articles/360002897532-Usage-and-content-policies-Rules-for-using-Meetup

cala7
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/17/19

Meetup claims they are against pedophilia -- but if you post an event against a public figure with ties to pedophilia -- Meetup harasses you, forbids the event, and tries to get you taken off the platform.
Meetup does NOT believe in free speech. They believe in their own perverted pedophilia-friendly agenda, and that's what they want to promote.

leighm65
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/13/19

I tried to organize a meet-up group and it turned out I couldn't do it. No problem. I cancelled my organizer subscription ($20/month) prior to the renewal for the next month and I was still charged. I then reached out to customer service to get a refund and they denied me. repeatedly. I would avoid working with them at all cost if I were you. They are not honest and their customer service sucks.

johnl1353
1 review
6 helpful votes
6/9/19

I do not recommend. Website is not user friendly. Unable to speak directly with reps to resolve issues.

christinap150
1 review
6 helpful votes
6/7/19

I am a single woman who is 58 years old. I searched out speed dating in NYC.
This is what I saw;
From Meetup.com: This event is for Men ages 43-58 and Women ages 40-53.

WHY ARE WOMAN REQUIRED TO BE YOUNGER????????? I want answers Meetup!

tariqb2
2 reviews
10 helpful votes
6/2/19

I am an organizer of a large Meetup group. There is so much instability in the system. I have reported 20-30 problems to them over the last few months but nothing gets done. Their standard response is to clear cache and try again. They do not even try very hard to reproduce problems reported. They keep making cosmetic changes to the look and feel but have not provided any new features in the last 10 years. In fact they keep going backward as far as features are concerned & things that worked before, do not. ABSOLUTELY THE WORST SITE.

billf197
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/27/19

It is an unfortunate time in history.
Or perhaps it has always been it just wasn't tweeted about.

When it is not uncommon to be scammed, exploited or in some cases lured to your death or perhaps raped. Sad but true. I have now had the displeasure of being solicited through my partners own meetup. A (will not say gentleman) has used a clever ploy to insinuate himself into meetups by playing the ' little lost and wounded animal ' that no one loves or understands. This ploy is used to achieve what he really is about. Luring unsuspecting people to 'adult photo shoots in the woods for
modeling purposes'. He plays a game of being ostracized by people who misunderstand him, and refers to himself as a 'computer geek' thinking self deprecation will put people into some kind 'awe what a nice guy' mode of thinking. He gives a link literally in the first exchange to an art site called Deviant art. On this site you will see anything from him urinating while covered in mud to women in bondage in what I have come to realize is his fetish, in isolated forested areas. Do I care? NO not really. But, as accepting as I am this is using a feigned facade to do darker things on a public site that was initiated as a liberal place to effect positive change. This man in subsequent conversations brags that he makes thousands of dollars a month selling photos. This man is on the wrong side of town. On meetup's site there is plenty of room to stretch out on a nice comfortable rack or placed in an iron maiden or hanging bound and blindfolded upside down from a tree or......And that place is clearly marked 'Adult.' Predators come in many forms and there are far too many. He also said that he is a member of various fetish sites so why the F is he trolling on a site that is clearly about progression for a better world? It might be conjecture but all the evidence points to someone that is not to be trusted. Meetup has deigned to not address this issue and ironically doesn't even seem to know it's own policy regarding this obvious crossover of intentions. Meetup as anyone can read is rife with dysfunction and in general ineffectual. To end, I strongly suggest that you vette people much like you would in any social circumstance. This guy is the equivalent of someone who 'innocently' yet nefariously orders a pizza and when it arrives 86's the delivery boy/girl. Meetup is a mess and if you start one my heart goes out to you. People have no desire or convictions and much like FB the only people that you will meet and connect with will be out of hundreds 2-3. And they will be in some other county or will not participate. I have started 3 sites. Each one just abysmal and life sucking. 'Buyer' as they say 'beware'. By Meetup's refusal to take this man down they only encourage fellow miscreants to act as they see fit. In further insult to injury this B------d had the gall and arrogance had the b--s to erect his own site taking a shot at my partner's site starting with the words, 'Some people call themselves progressives..Progressive doesn't mean being solicited where it's not invited or warranted. Clearly this clueless a-- didn't get the memo. By Meetup ignoring this they will only proliferate further, others abusing their site for their own selfish and potentially
harmful agendas. If it walks and talks like a predator um, it's a predator.

Peace and positive change,
B5F

novaw6
4 reviews
10 helpful votes
5/27/19
• Updated review

I've had problems with meetup that were rectified eventually, but this recent one is much more serious. Started a progressive social activist group for volunteer work, protests, etc, and got 9 members pretty quickly. One was a man who started out seeming to be a person aligned with the liberal ideas of the group--environmentally conscious, focused on sustainable living, pro-Bernie Sanders. Then, in the first message, he started telling me how he had no friends that could accept his lifestyle...and directed me to look at his photos on deviant art. Well--he's got pictures of himself naked, covered in mud, peeing in a swamp, bondage photos of women in the woods, tied to giant metal spiderwebs, etc. So--I wanted members. I'm open-minded. I felt sorry for him because he said he had no friends. I told him I didn't judge. In my mind, I thought, yeah, maybe he doesn't know about appropriate boundaries when he first gets to know someone, and I'll let it go. Boy, was I an idiot. For a guy who has no friends, suspiciously enough, in his next message, he starts telling me that he is a member of Fetlife, and the "local fetish club." He also starts telling me that he makes "extreme" porn videos on sells them on Clips4Sale. Says he makes $3000-$6000 a year, but "this is not a sales pitch." Bullsh*t. He was giving a "woe is me" story because no one was interested on attending a "camping trip" he planned--this is code for porn photo shoot--many of his photos are taken out in the woods. I blocked him and reported him to Meetup. Guess what? They did NOTHING!! In fact, he started his own group, and insulted me right there on his intro, calling me a "fascist" for blocking him. Meetup did nothing when I reported that. Didn't even contact me. Another female member of mine who runs a group of 250 people messaged me and said she also had issues with him. Meetup did NOTHING. What are they waiting for? This guy is a predator--he saw that my group was liberal, and assumed that referred to sex, when clearly, we're not about that. Meetup's policy is cut and pasted it below He skirted around the first 2, but he definitely violated the third one. Also, I googled him--he owns a "videography" business and he's advertising for "adventurous" adult actors...basically, he's using meetup to solicit business for his porn business, and they don't care. I REALLY wish I could post his business link so I can prove what I am saying, but it's enough that I already sent to to meetup. They ignored me.

Meetup's Policies:

Content and Nudity
Pornography is not allowed on Meetup. Publicly shared photos must be appropriate for general audiences. Nude or sexual photos are not allowed in public spaces.

Nudity
If nudity or sexuality is part of a Meetup's identity or lifestyle, organizers must keep the group Private in order to limit access to this content to members of that group. Meetup expects leadership teams to monitor this content.

Sex Solicitation and Prostitution
Meetup prohibits groups that, or individuals who, use Meetup to proposition for sex, or to promote or engage in prostitution. For policies on Meetup groups that may contain such content, please see Sexual Interests and Adult Interests and Identities in Meetup Group Policies.

So, this guy continues to go unchecked. My group is clearly NOT in the sexual and adult interests category, and I am not the only person who reported him.

“Customer service made it right!”
9/20/18
• Previous review

**I revised my one star review because after the disaster that happened in my original review, customer service reached out to me again and made things right--restored my group for me, and agreed to re-announce it next week after the hurricane clean up is over, and people will actually see that the group exists! Much better than the original response I got.

“Intractable customer service”
9/20/18
• Previous review

I created a meetup group and unfortunately, it was announced the same day as a mandatory evacuation was issued for the town I live in, in which the meetup group would meet. This was due to Hurricane Florence. Nobody in their right mind would be online signing up for my group or seeing that the group existed when they were busy evacuating their families and pets and boarding up their houses. I kindly asked customer service if they could re-announce my group next week. They said, "NO." And their solution was that I should completely close down my group and start it all over again! They offered me a paltry 15% discount if I were to re-sign up...do you know how long it took me to create my group in the first place?? I had to write the description, my profile/bio, upload photos, schedule events on the calendar, and set all of my privacy options, alert, etc. All I asked for was a simple re-announcement of the group. I paid for a 6-month subscription. Customer service was unreasonable and intractable. Because of this, they lost a customer. I will NEVER use their service again. Below is the answer I received from them. Courteous, yes, but ineffective.

From: Irina (Meetup Community Team) <support@meetup.com>
Sent: Thursday, September 13, 2018 6:32 AM
To: Nova Waite
Subject: [Meetup] Re: my new meetup was announced during a mandatory evacuation

Meetup Logo

##- Please type your reply above this line -##
Your request (170757) has been updated. To add additional comments, reply to this email.
Irina
Irina (Meetup)

Sep 13, 6:32 AM EDT

Hi Nova,

Irina from Meetup here. I'm so glad you reached out about this. I can't imagine what you're going through right now, but I hope you and your loved ones are safe.

I definitely know how important it is for your group to be announced at the right time, but I'm afraid that we're only able to announce a group once. For this reason, the best thing to do is to close the group and restart a new one when you're ready.

Here are the instructions to close your Meetup group.
Here are the instructions to start a new Meetup group. Make sure to copy and save all of the details you've worked on, so that you don't have to start from scratch.

Additionally, with your confirmation - I can expire your organizer subscription and issue you a full refund. Then, when you're ready to start your new Meetup group, you can restart your subscription as well. This way, your new subscription will reflect the dates that you're actually able to organize events.

I acknowledge that this is inconvenient, as you've already put in so much effort into creating your Meetup. For this reason, I'd be more than happy to attach a 15% discount to your account.

If there's anything else that I can do to support you during this time, please don't hesitate to let me know. I'm here for you.

Warmly,

Irina
Community Support Specialist
Meetup HQ

P.S. If you have a moment, would you mind rating my service? I'd really appreciate it! Thank you.

lisam991
1 review
9 helpful votes
4/14/19

I have been a member and also an organizer of several meetups. I was hoping to make some new friends. What a waste of time for the most part. Anyone who is "normal" already has friends and meetup is good for a fill in when they are bored. Then there are the Debbie downers and negative Nancy's who want to use the organizer and other members as their personal psychotherapist. Listening to other people's problems and health issues are not my idea of a good time.. I have my own problems. Lastly you have the members who think the organizer is their private cruise director or court jester. Put on the earth to entertain them. The biggest joke of all is that the gets to pay $14.99 a month to do this, plan and execute all events, and then actually get reviewed! Imagine a completely volunteer position where people can actually rate you on a 1-5 star basis! Talk about insanity. I deleted my account and swear to never return.

seonf
3 reviews
10 helpful votes
4/5/19

They lied: first they said they sent me an email regarding my speed dating event. That was a lie, they never sent it, second: they allow speed dating events now. SO they targetted my singles group for no reason.

magicm11
1 review
10 helpful votes
3/7/19

As a group organiser, I can honestly say that I agree with all the experience's listed here.

The same thing happened to me just like the rest of the reviews. Absolutely ridiculous!!

debbyq1
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
2/4/19

I'd been looking for a group to join, any group that I had something in common with. One group was NYC Fibroids Meetup. Well this was over 3 years ago, and I'm still pending, whatever that means. I then found our Meetup was acquired by WeWork. What a company that deals in spaces for rent has to do with an online group such as Meetup I'll never know. The organizer of the group never responded. I came to the realization they were exclusive

josephr449
1 review
7 helpful votes
2/4/19

Our meetup for a club was not getting much, if any response. I swear I set my profile/account to NOT auto-renew. I figured when the renewal notice came, we could evaluate whether or not to continue. I just got a notification that I was auto-renewed and billed for another six months. I have been searching the web site to see what I messed up. Apparently, they have changed there methods, and all subscriptions auto-renew. This must be something new, since they mention they will not refund if you failed to turn off auto-renew. Which you can't turn off any place I can find. So, if you were foolish enough to sign up, make a note on your calendar to cancel before the six months ends. Believe me, you will want to cancel.

kg87
2 reviews
14 helpful votes
1/30/19

The meetups look good from the outside. But the private ones are exclusionary. They ask for your information, then turn it against you. They do it in a nasty way, pretending to be nice. I would avoid them at all costs.

purei
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/16/19

The organizer, Kat, doesn't read her emails, can't accommodate those that got accepted as attending the event, and can't handle feedback when told that she's not reliable or responsive. She accepted 19 attendees for a trip to Moab and later limits the number of available spaces to 8 for the tour. She doesn't respond to the ones who signed up first for the trips until 15 days later. What a joke. Worst Meetup I have ever run across.

rods58
1 review
10 helpful votes
1/10/19

Setting up a meetup group was easy. Paying was easy. After that, nothing was easy, and support was slow. On line help was dense. Very frustrating.

bobt280
1 review
9 helpful votes
1/9/19

Horrible. Absolutely horrible. A nightmare for event organisers. Went from a terrific feature-rich site to one that continues to be less and less functional. No question that they are doing everything they can to chop code and reduce data usage. I'm an organizer for a group with over 5K members and we are dumping them.

robinh274
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/3/19

Bad app trying to be social network like facebook, users not important. posts/comments/messages disappear. Try and find something, I dare you. You click on it and they take you to another thing they want you sign up for.

donaldg126
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/2/19

I have paid for this service, but they lost bio and all the information I put into the site before paying. It is not a very well run program. Very disorganized.
I will contact the Better Business Bureau to get my money back.

elonh
1 review
7 helpful votes
12/2/18

I'm just an average person looking to meet normal people. Alas meetup.com is useless for that. Most of the groups are scams selling something. The rest are run by highly biased people e.g. who spam you with their political views.

leapsterl
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/11/18

I organized a meetup 3 years ago , and my hosts stole it from me , when i contacted meetup they werent cooperative so i will take legal approach

The meetup has overall 80% bad quality , ran by bunch of thieves who didn't do the work themselves and stole it from the original founder

overall its a no go

teeb22
1 review
15 helpful votes
11/9/18

The first thing I understood after joining Meetup.com is that many of the groups are exclusionary. It just doesn't separate by interests, such as playing a musical instrument, or a writers group, that makes sense, But often groups set about having people join that are exactly like them, certain age, a certain gender, a certain ethnicity, a certain race, a certain religion, etc. How else will we get to know one another. I've gone on walking group meetups where there are almost 100 people and no one talks to each other. They just walk. I tried striking up a conversation on several occasions to no avail. I went to a some movie and lunch or dinner meetups, no one seems to have an interest of getting together outside that particular event. It's kind of sad that people don't want to be around other people who are not exactly like them by race, religion, etc. I guess that's the condition of our country.

garyj129
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/6/18

I signed up to create a meetup group over the weekend. Nothing risque. Nothing shady. Just a group to enable people and business owners to develop and maintain a WordPress site. Before I could even announce my first meetup, I got an email stating that my group had been cancelled. Granted, I did plan on coming back to add more details to my profile. According to the email I received, my group "wasn't a fit" for meetup. No specific reason. Just a link to their terms page. Also that it would take 4-7 days to refund my money. Hogwash. If they have the time to review every new group, then they can reach out to new members to correct the issues before cancelling their group and making them wait 4-7 business days to refund their money.

tm205
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/20/18

Las Vegas Modeling and Photography....I didn't know it was going to be handled like a professional business as it is only a meetup to help teach, educate, and meet other people in this. The organizer, Gia, seems to be a bit too forward with people if any issues having certain people photos that they like as their favorites same to her photographers but doesn't seem to be fair and reasonable. She tells me after I realized my single photo wasn't out there that this is the way it operates in the industry whether I like it or not, the way she is putting it. Now her last comment back to me was 'no one asked me to come to this' as it only is where anyone can come to this to see if it's a good fit or good group. I"m shocked of her taking charge how she handles customers coming in. Not sure if she's been doing this in charge thing for long or not. She has two other assistance on this program assisting her.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

All Meetup has now is a database of names and a reasonably efficient way of routing new members to your group. But the tools for organizers are wretched and, by design, have gotten worse. This is the only company I've ever seen that doesn't care what the application users, in particular the organizers, want and need. The list of bad changes is very long--and they don't give a damn. And to add insult to injury, they are inept at application development and coding. They pushed out what might be laughably called alpha code and then scrambled to fix issues, saying "it was a work in progress." A major software release should not be a work in progress. Without comment, they remove functionality. For instance, when asked why they removed the ability to post a note on the calendar, their answer was that "only 3% use the feature. So what--now only 3% are pissed? leaving the feature cost them nothing. I evaluated software from Microsoft and others for a living. Meetup by far is the worst I have ever seen. The "show runners" should be fired and given bad recommendations. And when a competitor comes along that is competent and cares about its users, Meetup will disappear and we'll all celebrate. The organizers en masse don't just dislike the app, they dislike the folks responsible for the mess that Meetup has created.

By John E.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

What is truly interesting is who is supporting the #resist agenda. All these organizations and their leaders have past or present connection to the top politicians. #Resist is a simply a part of the agenda to justify the taking away people's guns and basic rights. They want you to resist so they can sit there and lie once again how it wasn't their fault and there was no other choice. Then Meetup comes up with their new rules which makes you sign your rights to privacy away just to be a member. Seems to me Meetup was also part of the agenda right from day one. And to think people stand up so proud and claim they are educated. What a joke, they controlled your education from the day you were born. If you really want to resist, educate yourself to the truth of what this world is about and where we are headed.

By Gerry S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Karen, each group leader sets the groups purpose and requirements so yes, many groups do not discriminate on marital status. To be sure, contact the group leader for the group you are interested in

By Susan S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

On the front page/landing page for the group click the more tab, then select "report this group"

By Scott H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It doesn't exist.

By Valerie P.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The only way to contact them is support@meetup.com and they only answer your questions when it's convenient for them. I am an organizer and have sent them several emails over the past month and I've received only 2 responses. The rest of the issues have not been address and I am still waiting on a reply.

By Jamile S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes. Organizers pay a fee.

By Laura C.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

@ MW. because they suck for service and protecting the members, but we all know that if you pay you get fantastic service right?

By Scott H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Most complaints about organizers have to deal with disagreements about how things should be run. If you don't like the organizer or how they run the show, find another Meetup. I have been a successful organizer for many years and there are personalities I just don't gel with. I look at the numbers in my group and listen to feedback and know it is not always me.

By Susan S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

When a organizer makes it personal how do you make a complaint.

By sherry A.
Questions? Get answers from the Meetup staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

9 Photos for Meetup

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Meetup?
Post Review