Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Joswen

Joswen reviews

24 reviews
15 Floor, 150 Charlotte Street
Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
feedback@joswen.com

24 Reviews From Our Community

Service
4
Value
4
Shipping
4
Returns
3
Quality
4

All Reviews

cyndyloub
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/9/19

I recommend that you Do Not order from this company. I ordered a custom dress for my son's wedding. One color, dark green. It came in 3 different colors, dark green body, Christmas green sher upper and celery green embellishments. The custom sizing was also wrong. The dress was returned, at my cost, because of the color issues. They refunded a portion keeping approximately $80 for "administrative fees". The dress was unwearable with the color combinations. The product was NOT what was presented in the catalog. They shipped a dress made of 3 different colors and refuse to reimbursement for the money paid, they have the dress and approx. $80. Plus I am out the shipping costs to send it back. (Their so called legal dept is snarky to deal with and use poor grammar with misspelled words.)

I have reported them to the federal trade commission and other governing agencies.

ericab112
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/21/18

First the good -- Echo (customer service) is exceptional -- fast, reliable, easy to communicate with. When the dress arrived, the workmanship was outstanding and the dress looked exactly like the photo online. The two disappointments were that (1) while advertised as tea length, the dress barely crossed my knees, and I am only 5'4" and (2) the dress was too snug on top, although I provided my bust dimensions. Seems like they made the dress without any extra room to breathe. Arms are also a bit tight. The dress is certainly wearable, and I have no choice at this point, but it won't be all that comfortable and that is disappointing. They should err on the "large" side, b/c you can always get a garment reduced in size, but there is no extra fabric to let out.

dd258
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/20/18

Is there a Star minus? I ordered a dress for my daughter's wedding. I am a size 12 but because I knew it was coming from China I ordered a 14 thinking I rather it be a little big rather than too small. BUT no way, there were Spots on both the bodice and jacket, bead work is bunchy (resulting in tightening of waist and buttocks), Hemline is uneven. Back split was uneven and the jacket is a US Size 10 (measured it) and not US 14. They suggested I sell the dress and offered to make me a new dress at 50% of the cost or refund of 30%. Either way you lose!!

donnal268
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/30/18

I have gotten several dresses from this company. Even though I thought I had the correct measurements, I did have to have some alterations made to my dresses. Other than that, I don't think I have had one of their own dresses completely made for me. It has always been components of other dresses that I have liked and they have done a splendid job on all of them. My favorite dress, even though the bodice was extremely huge on me and I did have extensive alterations made on it was a component of 4 or 5 dresses and it came out so beautiful for our 50th wedding anniversary that I almost cried it was so beautiful--even more so than my original wedding dress. I am now in the process of combining two other components for another dress using the same bodice as the anniversary dress with a different skirt and fabric, and I know that the whole staff will come out with a beautiful dress for me. It will be a combination of Tahiti Chiffon and Lavender lace and both Melinda and Echo have been nothing but patient with my hundreds of questions and suggestions. I will continue to purchase my dresses from this company as they have given me the best service and "friendship" with a company. lol.

ileanac2
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/7/18

Im so inlive with my wedding dress I literally cried when I put it on I had ordered it a size bigger than my original size just Incase its a bit big but I rather have it like that then to have it extra small! Detailing on the dress is perfect just as picture the height on the dress its longer than my height which is perfect ... Im so happy with the services and I would recommend my brides to purchase their dress!!!!!

joh83
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/18/18

To be completely honest, I was hesitant about ordering my daughter's flower girl dress online but had heard positive reports about Joswen from others. The entire experience has definitely changed my mind! The communication with Joswen was nothing short of excellent! Every query I had was promptly replied to via email and the Joswen team were very particular in ensuring my measurements were correct (as the wedding isn't until the end of the year and I wanted to order a bigger dress to allow for growth). I was kept informed of the various stages and when I received the dress, I was extremely impressed with the quality. It has been beautifully made and the most important thing is is that my daughter absolutely loves it!! Thank you for this experience!

Tip for consumers: Don't hesitate to order from Joswen!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
annc177
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/30/18

The dress eventually arrived.
The bust area was placed very high on the torso so it looked stupid, the cup area was empty because boobs were several inches below. The length from shoulder to mid bust was severely wrong. There was no way you would go out in public.

I immediately emailed and sent photos. There were also no tags on this dress even though it comes with a warning that dress cannot be returned without tags. Hmmmm.
I posted dress back expecting a full refund. Ha Ha.
They think the dress is fine and gave me a $94 refund on a purchase of $154 + return postage.
Currently trying to get reimbursed through Pay Pal.
I would not recommend Joswen Dresses to anyone.

billier26
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/13/18

Joswen was amazing to work with! They were quick to reply and sincerely care about their products! The dress was beautifully made, and very nicely packaged upon arrival. Would totally recommend them to everyone!! Thank you for the great experience!

leilal7
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/11/18

This dress is absolutely beautiful! I received it within 2 week as they promised and the quality is superb. I would be buying again if needed.

Tip for consumers: check the size chart

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
carolyns111
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/5/18

My dress arrived securely packaged & beautifully made. I was a bit worried about ordering from an online company, but after reading all the positive reviews I decided to go ahead, I ordered a custom made one. The dress arrived exactly the colour I ordered and it fits beautifully. I cant wait for my sons wedding to wear it. Thank you Joswen team.

sm1256
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/2/18

The positives were that the custom sizing was completed correctly and the dress fit. The request to lengthen the jacket was also done. The lace fabric in the color chosen was nice. The rest was a disappointment. The dress was shipped from China. The jacket and dress were lined in a very course cotton fabric instead of a thin smooth fabric which is typical. It made the jacket and dress very heavy and bulky. The built-in bra was heavily constructed making the bodice stiff and way out of proportion. The decorative trim had large sequins which were not well seen in the pictures and created a very cheap look. Overall, not a dress that I would ever wear. It fit, but that was it. A gamble on an online retailer with a no-refund policy that did not pay off.

cindyd87
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/24/18

I have spent so many time to browse and look around at many online shops for choosing my dress. After I have considered and compared, I have decided to order one wedding dress and two veils from Joswen.com. The dress came in with a nice package and it is very beautiful in person and well made. I would say this is one of the best experience about online shopping that I ever have. I am thinking about making another order from this company. Thank you so much Joswen.com for your excellent services. I hope that my review could help those who are still skeptical about buying from this company to make their decisions. Wish the company could keep up with good work and delivery theirs best services to many more customers.

debi167
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
2/15/18

I sent them all my measurements for a custom dress to be made. I waited weeks and when it finally got here looks like a sack. Doesn't fit well at all. Would never order again Deb from Australia

Tip for consumers: Do not use this company.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
wandas39
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/30/17

The dress I received was made of high quality materials and the color was beautiful. The service was outstanding. Good quality. Very pretty dress. Highly recommended.

Response from Mary L., Joswen Representative
We are a Wedding dress manufacturer for Ladies Event and special occasion wear.

Upon advising John that the dresses and size chart are designed and cut for women and don't typically suit a mans body shape when ordering a standard sizes, he was willing to proceed with his order and take a chance on a standard size ladies dress.

We have a tremendous support base of men who buy our dresses for pageants and special events, and under our suggestion, they all choose to select a custom size option for a little bit extra $$$ and the results have been nothing but perfect.

Unfortunately, John in this case decided the extra spend wasn't worth it and insisted on the standard ladies size to suit his male shaped and cut body.

Under consumer law, we can't deny John the product and this outcome is unfortunate but expected.
johno184
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/27/17

This company sells dresses poorly made in china and never sized right. I have had two experiences with them and each was bad. The first the dress didn't fit, I have to send it back to the UK after several emails and offers to take 20...30 40% off. The 2nd was worse telling me it was my problem. Do not under any circumstance use this company

Response from Mary L., Joswen Representative
We are a Wedding dress manufacturer for Ladies Event and special occasion wear.

Upon advising John that the dresses and size chart are designed and cut for women and don't typically suit a mans body shape when ordering a standard sizes, he was willing to proceed with his order and take a chance on a standard size ladies dress.

We have a tremendous support base of men who buy our dresses for pageants and special events, and under our suggestion, they all choose to select a custom size option for a little bit extra $$$ and the results have been nothing but perfect.

Unfortunately, John in this case decided the extra spend wasn't worth it and insisted on the standard ladies size to suit his male shaped and cut body.

Under consumer law, we can't deny John the product and this outcome is unfortunate but expected.
lindah341
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/15/17

Dresses arrived very timely and well made they were Custom made for, 3 girls. They are absolutely beautiful for a 50 th Wedding Anniversary.

lisao59
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/10/17

I was weary of ordering my wedding dress online after hearing so many horror stories so I done my research on various review sites the only company that had no bad reviews was joswen so I contacted them and received a speedy reply from Echo I sent her pictures of the tailor made customized dress I wanted and she said they could make it with exact embellishments etc I had quite a few questions before ordering eg measurements etc that she was only to happy to answer any was very quick in replying I ordered my dress and received it just two weeks later the moment of truth I opened it and cried it was exactly what I asked for and the quality was superb so if you are dubious about ordering online believe me this is where you want to order from!!! As I said I would give more than 5 stars if I could extremely happy with my dress and all for under 300.00 I even got a ten percent off coupon so the delivery was pretty much free...lastly I would like to say a special thank you to Echo who answered about a hundred questions lol and really put me at ease so ladies if you want the perfect dress for the perfect price this is where to order it !!!

nickiw3
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/29/17

Awesome customer service from Echo. Nothing was too much trouble. Response was super fast. Love my Wedding Dress, its absolutely beautiful, very well priced and beautifully made. Will definitely recommend and purchase from again. Thank you so much.

alicec93
1 review
7 helpful votes
7/5/17

The dress was bought for my daughter. She is really difficult to please but she loves the dress. It was made of chiffon fabric and it was really soft and of high quality. The color we chose was burgundy, which was gorgeous! We didn't try the custom size as her size matched the size 6 on their size chart (her normal size is US 2 so I think suggest you choose two sizes bigger or custom size when you use this website), the dress fitted almost perfect but we still had to get it taken out in the waist part, but it was easy to deal with. We will try custom size option next time. For the price and quality, I highly recommend this website.

juliam85
1 review
8 helpful votes
6/26/17

I have bought three times with Joswen Dresses and each time was successful. The first time I bought from them, I didn't know what size to choose as their size chart seemed different from the shops here. I sent an email to them and I received a response within 2 hours! It was really fast. They offered me free custom size option and told me how to take measurements. I took my measurements and 11 days later I received an email saying that my dress was sent out! I was so worried that the dress might end up a disaster. However, I was so amazed and so surprised when I tried my dress on. It fitted like a glove! I couldn't believe how fast and how accurate they made my dress! I am so happy that I have found Joswen.com and I would love to recommend this webstie to anyone I know. Big thank you to Joswen Team! Thank you! Thank you!

Tip for consumers: Contact their live chat if you are not sure about the size or color. They are really helpful.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
annak120
1 review
12 helpful votes
3/5/17

Joswen.com was fast in resolving the issues I had with this amazing dress! I had a little problem with the size but they were so nice and helpful!

This dress is an incredibly well made dress! The picture of the model does not give this dress justice!

I received this dress in 2 weeks after ordering and i was very impressed!! Online live chat is great! they answer back very fast and help you with any questions or concerns you have.

Thank you Melinda and Rach! You were so helpful!

missarl
1 review
10 helpful votes
2/26/17

I was super nervous about ordering a dress online without trying it on first but I am SO GLAD I DID! It came in quick, it looks absolutely BEAUTIFUL. I would highly recommend ordering from Joswen.com

brandaw
1 review
13 helpful votes
11/22/16

hi echo and joswen team, i have received the dress and i wanted to say a big thank you to everyone who helped make the stunning dress! i really love it and cannot wait to wear it in next month. i will defo recommend your site to anyone who wants to buy a dress! thank you!!!

helenal7
1 review
12 helpful votes
11/16/16

The first time I saw the reviews on their site, I doubted it. How could it be true that all your customers were so happy?! I thought the reviews must be fake! So I didn't place my order with them. I placed my order on a different website which turned out a disaster! They even didn't let me return the dresses! Then I came back to Joswen.com and I saw the same dresses with lower prices! I read their return policy first and I decided to give it a try this time. I was so worried and nervous when I was waiting for my order. Today the package came to my door and I was so scared to open the box. I opened it, oh boy, I was shocked, in a good way tho! The dresses looked so stunning, gorgeous! I couldn't wait and tried on my wedding dress. I couldn't stop crying. It was so perfect! It looked even better than the picture. Planning a wedding is so stressful for a bride but Joswen.com made mine painless and worry free! Thank you so much Joswen.com for such a great experience! My mum and my bridesmaids will try on their dresses next week and I believe there will be no issues at all! Now I can tell you, ladies, if you doubt it as I did, don't! This is a true company who knows the real customer service and their dresses are great. Don't be scared! Again, thank you Echo, Melinda and everyone who helped with my order. You guys are awesome!!!!!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Linda. Sorry for the slow reply, we don't use sitejabber and rarely check this forum, best to contact us directly to ensure a timely response. We have multiple locations. Depending on what product you order, it will be made and shipped out from one of our different stores. You can contact us directly at https://www.joswen.com/contact , let us know your product of interest and we can tell you where it will be made and shipped from. Additionally, on the footer of every page you'll see the return policy and information attached to it. I have included also that link for you. https://www.joswen.com/return-policy.html

By Mary L., Joswen Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Sure Fenaa. If you order a standard dress it will take 7-9 days generally for us to make it. You can let us know also if you need any adjustments. If you need to return it, that is also possible. We'll do our best to get it right for you the first time. Most return issues are size based Fenaa, I've included a link here for you to help out when choosing a size, but if you need help. We are always here for you :) http://www.joswen.com/Size-Chart Thank you Melinda, Joswen Dresses - Service team

By Mary L., Joswen Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Their standard sizes DO NOT match other store sizes. Read the measurements on their online chart carefully. Most sizes are more narrow in the waist than normal.

By S M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Elsa. Sorry for the slow reply here, we don't really use Site jabber at all. You can order swatches online from our site if you're still in the market no problem at all. You can contact us anytime also. I've included 2 links for you. First is to the swatches and the 2nd is for direct contact. If the wedding has taken place already I hope it was a truly memorable day! https://www.joswen.com/fabric-material-colour-color-sample?search=swatch https://www.joswen.com/contact

By Mary L., Joswen Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Heya Cherry, Yep We do Indeed. It will depend on how heavy your package is. I've done a quick calculation for you. It should be around 18- 22 Pounds. for upto 2kg. You can contact us anytime on the site with our contact form, you can find it on www.joswen.com on the top bar, left hand side, or follow this link if you helps http://www.joswen.com/contact Hope this helps you our Cherry. Thanks for reaching out. Kind regards Rach, Joswen Dresses - Service team

By Mary L., Joswen Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hey Alice. Although we have chatted to you in our emails already, We didn't want people to think we never replied. We can, we have and according to you.... YOU LOVE IT!!! It was a tight deadline but we got it done :) Look forward to the photos! Kind regards Melinda Joswen Dresses - Service Team

By Mary L., Joswen Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Joswen staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

10 Photos for Joswen

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Joswen?
Post Review